Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Gentry Ford Subaru

Ontario, OR

N/A
9 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

1802 Southwest 4th Avenue

Ontario, OR

97914

Directions

Is this your dealership?

9 Reviews of Gentry Ford Subaru

Sort by Write a review
September 07, 2018

"Don't go here if you're traveling through."

- Bongcayao

I had the opportunity to visit the service department here on 9/1/18. However I didn't get my vehicle serviced here as I was passing through pulling a trailer and broke down and only 391 miles from my home dealer. I had the pleasure to deal with Lori Lupo the only service advisor working on a Saturday. I had a charge air cooler tube blow off. I asked if she could check to see if its covered under warranty. I was told that she didn't know how to do that and the guy that does all the warranty work isn't there till Monday. I walked her through the process of looking it up through Ford Oasis. Which it was covered under warranty. Then was told that they couldn't take a look at it until 9/14/18. I even asked if someone could come out and just take a look at it to help band aid it so I can get to my destination. I completely understand that it's hard to take in walk ins and especially on the weekend. However taking a couple of minutes out of the day to have a technician come and take a quick look isn't too much to ask. Needless to say I had to band aid it in their parking lot. On a good note I did make it to my destination later that day.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lori Lupo
October 04, 2016

"From sales department to the service department 5 stars!"

- ronhawks12

I bought my 2016 fusion from a very knowledgeable salesman. He wasn't pushy and the sales manager worked with me to get me in to my car. A few months later I came in for a tire rotation and balance of my tires. Shortly after this service I noticed a bouncing in my rear tires and a noise that was getting louder and louder. I made a appointment for it to be checked out and they found that the alignment was off, the tires were out of balance, and these new tires were nearly warn out on the inside. This alignment and balancing issue should have been noticed during the rotation. They put new tires on and alignment, as well as gave me a rental so I could get my son to school. This was such an amazing example of customer service and made me a customer for life. I will refer them to everyone. Thank you so much gentry Ford!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
El flipper, sales. And the Service manager
July 02, 2016

"Happy Customer"

- Happy Customer

We of course met at the door by a very nice gentleman. He listened to our needs, concerns and price range. He and management were willing to explore several options which we had. They came up with a nice clean car with good gas mileage at an acceptable price/payment.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Juan. Mike
May 26, 2016

"Too casual"

- Benny5000

So I'll start by saying that I live 300 miles from this dealership. The inventory in my immediate area is slim, for what I'm after. So I expanded my search radius to include Washington and Idaho. Well.... gentry ford had a vehicle just inside those boundaries. I'll keep names aside, because I don't feel like blasting them. But I can say I dealt with two people--one in sales and one in management. I received a callback from the salesman, regarding my email inquiry. I explained to the man that I live 6.5 hours from the dealership, so I wanted his assurance that the truck was mechanically sound and worth the trip. (The truck was loaded, clean, and well below kbb) He assured me that the truck had passed their mechanics inspection with flying colors. When I asked him why he thought such a great truck was prices so low, he said that folks in that area are more interested in the larger engines (this one had the 4.6l). So there's clearly only so much I could do, beyond ask Q's. Once he'd assured me the truck was good, my next move is to take it out for a drive. So I took most of that day (Tuesday) setting up insurance and a loan, which meant shopping around for the best rates. It took a majority of my work day. The next day (Wednesday) was set aside to drive 6.5 hours to buy the truck. To do this meant taking another day off, as well as asking my girlfriend to take the day off. But we did it, under the assumption that we were being fed honest information. We get to the dealership around 10am, after leaving our home at 3:00am. We were greeted by the salesman I'd dealt with over the phone and quickly allowed a test drive. All was good... until a few miles down the road. The truck stalled in the middle of an intersection. xxx!? I hit neutral (while rolling at 35mph) and restarted it, then proceeded to drive. Clearly I didn't expect a low mileage truck to die a few moments from the dealership, but sometimes S-%t happens. So I chalked that up to an anomaly. Then it dies again while braking and turning. Now I'm curious. I continue taking corners and braking in various ways/speeds. It dies 3 more times. Always starts and drives fine afterwards. I called my friend (who's a ford mechanic) to run the symptoms and build by him. He offered a few possible causes, but nothing I could fix on my own. I looked under the hood to see if I could spot any vacuum leaks or other obvious maintenance issues... when I noticed the aftermarket K&N air filter was caked in debris and dead bees. Clearly this vehicle hadn't recently received even the most basic maintenance. Had they even changed the oil? If they were capable of overlooking the first visibly obvious item in need of replacement, what else might they overlook? I returned to the dealership and told them what if discovered, and that I couldn't buy the vehicle. Clearly I can't say wether or not the salesman had any knowledge of how poorly the truck was maintained prior to sale. I also can't say if the manager was aware of this crap. But I can certainly say that it's not my job to make them do what's right. I was given answers that just weren't true. So they obviously "felt bad" about it and wanted to "make it right". Which meant that they'd like to have a technician look it over. I agreed to wait until their mechanic could review the truck. They returned from a test drive and said they were unable to duplicate the symptoms. They the asked if I'd like to take a drive with the mechanic, to see if I could duplicate the stalling, and I said yes. We drove the exact route is initially taken and I was unable to stall the truck a single time. I was obviously perplexed. But the one symptom that the mechanic and I both agreed was still apparent, was that the engine surged randomly and/or idled very low when braking. So I decided that while i was glad to see it wasn't dying while turning anymore, I was also very uncomfortable driving 300 miles home in a truck that had no warranty and just died 5 times on a 5 mile drive. Would it do it at the start of every day? Was it an isolated incidence? What's the deal with the low idle/surging? How much money would I need to spend in the next month to find the answers?? Those were all questions I was now asking. If I felt like these guys had at least given the truck a basic service and detail, prior to a sale... I may have worked through the issue. Because they did offer to have a mechanic walk thorough the problem and see if it could be resolved. But at this point, it was a little to late. I feel like they should've taken care of me before I got there, rather than trying to fix an issue that I shouldn't have even been bothered by after such a long trip. Of all the vehicles I've ever purchased, and from all the dealerships/private party sales... this is the worst yet. Even if the name for this is not dishonesty, on gentry's behalf. They're most definitely incompetent. Someone here at gentry must be responsible for making sure their quality control is at least up to a basic standard. I think having a washed vehicle, with fresh oil and filters, awaiting a guy who's driving 6.5 hours to buy it... would qualify as a "basic" minimum standard. Of course they tried to keep me in the deal. They even offered to take $500 off the price. But they weren't willing to offer a short warranty on the vehicle, just as a "peace of mind" gesture to me. They apologized profusely and swore that they'd never knowingly have had me make such a drive if there were problems with the vehicle. Maybe they're honest? Maybe they'd just trying to keep a sale together? Who can say? But again... missing such minor items sure doesn't leave a guy feeling like he's in good hands. I cannot recommend doing business here, unless it's just a matter of a few wasted minutes for you if the deal turns out to be a flop. Do not make a special trip here for a used vehicle. That's my advice.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
A salesman and a manager
January 31, 2016

"Well worth the drive from Boise"

- badger

Purchased a Subaru Outback in Apr. of 2015 from Juan Hernandez, Sales Associate at Gentry. I have nothing but praise for Juan, and his associates with whom I came in contact. Every step of the purchase process was professional and enjoyable. In addition, I saved at least $2000 over the prices quoted to me in Boise, Id. for the same vehicle. My Subaru has been a joy to own and drive and the entire family has fallen in love with it. I returned to this dealership this week for scheduled maintenance, and the experience was totally enjoyable once again. Juan remembered me and extended a warm greeting and I had the pleasure of being introduced to the new Gen. Manager, Dave DeBilzan who made me feel like part of the family. And the advisers in the service dept. were equally professional and courteous. If you want an exceptionally pleasant experience and the best deal around, don't pass Gentry Ford/Subaru in Ontario, Or. All dealers are NOT the same.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Juan Hernandwz, the service advisor team, and Dave DeBilzan.
September 28, 2015

"Misinformation"

- sfranks118

We bought a 2014 Malibu LTZ from Gentry. The experience was good the only thing that bothered us is that it was advertised as a one only vehicle but no mention that the one owner was a lease or fleet out fit in Florida.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Vaughn Hunter, a very nice young man.
March 23, 2015

"Don't Buy here"

- 2quiker

I have had issues with my 2013 Ford F150 and i have taken my truck to this dealer. My battery keeps dying, i am on the 3rd ford battery replacement. i have also have issues with my transmission delaying when going from park to reverse or reverse to drive. I mentioned that there is an obvious issue with the battery dying and the delay in the transmission to this dealers service department and every time i get the same response "we can't find anything wrong with it." So i decided to be a little pro-active and preformed a power drainage test my self. I followed Ford's shop "service manual" to preform the test and behold there is a .30 ma draw and according to Fords "service manual" there shouldn't be more then .05 ma of drainage and there is a service bulletin for 2013 Ford F150's for the delay in transmission. I have brought this up to this dealers service department all 3 times they just nod their heads and nothing is done. When i first was looking to purchase a truck i a took at this dealer butI did not purchase my truck at this dealer (thank God). I wouldn't consider purchasing any vehicle or recommend this dealer to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nathine
March 22, 2014

"I bought a 2009 Saturn vue the 26th of February FWD and..."

- sltram2500

I bought a 2009 Saturn vue the 26th of February FWD and they were great after a matter of weeks I then wanted to look into trading the Saturn Vue FWD for the same year ford escape and same miles but they wouldn't respond to my inquiry email. I would recommend this dealership and the salesman to everyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt, Figgy
June 01, 2013

"Made reservation and had confirmation of appointment to..."

- tickedoffroyal

Made reservation and had confirmation of appointment to get vehicle and vehicle was sold out from under the deal worked on. At least communicate. Don't nag someone About an appointment and then call back to say that it was sold from under you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
sales
1
1 - 9 of 9 results