About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Hobbs Automotive

1.0

10 Lifetime Reviews

32 Manchester Road, Auburn, New Hampshire 03032 Directions
Sales: (603) 483-5803

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

10 Reviews of Hobbs Automotive

Sort by Write a review
March 11, 2017

"Glad we didn't buy it"

- AM

Last Saturday we drove to Hobbs to look at a 2003 Chevy Silverado (25000 miles). The truck was at the body shop to fix a dent on the door so we were unable to see it. In good faith, because they seemed honest and the truck a good deal, we made a $100 deposit (refundable if we changed our mind) to have 1st look at it when ready. We told them that we would be back today. We got there and Frank took us to the truck telling my husband to hop in and go for a ride (he didn't seem too happy with my husband looking around, opening the hood, looking under it). There was a fair amount of rust (crumbling to touch) by the back wheels and a very strong anti-freeze smell (as well as wetness) when you opened the hood. We voiced our concerns, he said there was no leakages and that he drove 150miles with the truck and no fluids needed to be added, and that the rust was normal and the piece could be replaced in a year or 2 for $10... We told him that we would like our mechanic to look at it, he said that the truck wasn't going anywhere - he failed to understand that we would buy it and return if our mechanic found anything wrong with it. When I asked about his return policy he said that we would still have to pay/finance it and that makes all more complicated... Frank called my husband "just a guy off the street", had an extremely rude and condescending attitude. When Frank refused to even talk about negotiating a price (almost $1500 more than KBB shows) we left. He sounded seriously pissed off, told us he didn't know how to refund our card for the deposit and that Julie would take care of it... we'll see how long that takes! This man needs a serious crash course in customer service!!! If you are looking at this 2003 Chevy, be careful and make sure you take a good look - and take a good whiff when you open the hood!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Frank
December 21, 2015

"DANGER HOBBS AUTOMOTIVE SALES INC. BEWARE STAY CLEAR 03032"

- JD

I would not do business with this dealership ever again!!! There are so many complaints out there that I could not even explain the expense I have incurred buying a used car from them. And please do not be fooled because they are an inspection station and claim they will inspect the car and pass the inspection... You may find that it would not pass the inspection at another inspection station and if you make it the year without any major repair problems [sic.], When you go the following year to have the car inspected, you most likely will realize that you should have read the several negative reviews were your warning to stay clear.. And the only positive reviews were written by friends or family of this business...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Frank Hobbs
May 27, 2015

"Do NOt BUY HERE!"

- joe

DO NOT BUY HERE!! If I could give negative stars here I would. I bought a Nissan quest from Hobbs. I have "scarred" credit so my deposit was large, and the van had high miles. There was an issue with the gauges and the horn didn't work, Julie gave us a discount on the price and increased our warranty to "full coverage" to have it fixed for free, should have been a red flag but she seemed to know what she was doing. During this process I noticed her father was speaking with another customer who had come in with an issue as though he was a total idiot and thief. We had completed our purchase so as uncomfortable as we were with that scene, we left with the van. Right away more and more problems occurred, first the horn not working was a major issue and we could not get a sticker, after trying to avoid it Julie finally agreed to fix the problem which was a coil spring for the airbag. Then the van started stuttering as it shifted gears, increasing each time we drove it, then it began running rough, losing power and almost stalling out. We called the so called warrantee company and SURPRISE none of this is covered, the $4,500 transmission replacement, dashboard gauges, misfires and engine problems, nope not covered! All this within the first few weeks of owning this vehicle, yet although Hobbs was aware they did nothing, We called our finance company with each new issue that arose and were told a supervisor would be informed and would call us back, on our last call I told them we needed help because we were not going to be stuck with this lemon and have to make payments on it, they told us they would extend the due date of our first payment for a week, that we had done the right thing by creating a paper trail and to call Hobbs and try to work it out. John from Hobbs called us a couple of days later and said that Julie had bought back the loan and we should bring the van to them so they could fix it and we would then make payments to them or they would get us financed again. We were suspicious of their motives, I think the finance company wasn't too happy with them and that they were forced to "buy back" the loan but they made it sound like they had done it for our benefit. Well, we brought the van last week, while talking with Julie she acted shocked at the problems we had with the warrantee and also said that the finance company was unresponsive because of our credit history, But she was "so sorry that we had to go through this" Now they were going to have their mechanic look at the van and see what they could do, she would call us as soon as they knew anything. That was last week. I called today and surprise, it is now our fault!! Suddenly they are accusing us of "off roading" Seriously! Off Roading in a mini van!?!? They are saying that the frame is rotted through and that we mistreated the van! Julie's professional attitude is suddenly, RUDE, as bad as her father's who she had previously made fun of in front of everyone!! Then she puts the old man on the phone to put me in my place and he ends up stumbling and bumbling and all but admitting that they missed the broken frame and that a frame cannot rot through in 2 months, but then tries to quickly turn it around by saying we miss treated it. We had the van for 2 (TWO) months and we could drive it all of 2 1/2 weeks yet it is our fault the frame is rotted. So we lose our large deposit, all the money we spent on mechanics trying to find the problems, the transmission flushing, oil changes and tires only to take their abuse!! RUN PEOPLE- RUN AWAY FROM HOBBS AND FAST!!! The absolute worst part of this is that they are sending it to auction now, so it can be the next guys problem. Can you believe it??

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Julie, John, Mr. Rudenees himself Hobbs
October 14, 2013

"I purchased a used veicle from Frank Hobbs of Hobbs..."

- SorryCustomer

I purchased a used veicle from Frank Hobbs of Hobbs Automotive Sales, Inc. Mr. Hobbs was very rude to me when I brought the vehicle back due to several issues involving faulty equipment, as well as many other major repairs. Mr. Hobbs did fix a few of the issues, but failed to fix most of the other repairs. I have spent several thousands of dollars fixing the vehicle, and there are still several repairs to do. I would recommend anyone buying a vehicle from this dealer to first tak the vehicle to an inspection station to see if the vehicle will pass the NH State Inspection. Just because Mr. Hobbs places an inspection sticker on the vehicle, does Not mean the vehicle passed inspection. He is his own inspection station, and he has placed a sticker on a vehicle that did not pass inspection. I did not want to spend the $20-50.00 to another inspection station first, and it ended up costing me a very lot of money. If you are serious about buying a car from this dealership, than I urge you to take it to an independant certified NH State Inspection Station "Before you purchase" You may be savieng thousands in future repairs...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Frank Hobbs
October 07, 2013

"THEY SOLD ME A BAD CAR..The day I drove it off the lot..."

- MarkPsz

THEY SOLD ME A BAD CAR..The day I drove it off the lot the problems started.. Hobbs did fix a few off them... But quickly wrote me off as the problems persisted! He told me he sells cars, he does not do service... He told me I had "murphy's law" and refused to see/acknowledge he sold me a bad car. FYI His idea of fixing problems was to have me drive it 1000 miles and come back if the problems continued.. well guess what, the problems continued.. then he told me I put too many miles on it. THIS MAN is full of excuses. He buys cars at the auction, slaps an inspection sticker on it and then rolls the dice. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS DEALER, you will be rolling the dice with your wallet!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Frank Hobbs
January 19, 2013

"This dealership was amazing, period. I bought a used car..."

- calii

This dealership was amazing, period. I bought a used car that had some little issues after driving it off the lot, but they fixed them right away! They were all super friendly and only wanted to help. I would definatly buy another car from them, but this one should last me a while! Oh and there mechanic was just as awesome as the sales people!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
julie (sales) ryan (mechanic)
January 04, 2013

"Awesome dealership!! Bought a used car for my daughter to..."

- kathryn.pond

Awesome dealership!! Bought a used car for my daughter to use to get back and forth from college. Being a used car, it had a few issues. The dealership took care of them for us and it has turned out to be a great car!! They really stand by the vehicles they sell. Terrific service from the sales staff and they also have an awesome, on-site mechanic.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Julie Hobbs
November 07, 2012

"Actions speak louder than words: the car they sold me..."

- lden

Actions speak louder than words: the car they sold me for my daughter to use, 5 hours away from home as a freshman in college, broke down within 3 months of purchase. When the Subaru dealership the car was towed to ran a full diagnostic test, the car was found to be unsafe to drive. Every time my daughter drove it she was at risk of an accident. Hobbs has refused to help pay the $3000 needed to make the car roadworthy, and ignored the request of the Better Business Bureau to provide paperwork of the repairs they conducted on it before selling it. I don't trust this dealership, at all, never again. Sound reliable to you?

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Frank Hobbs, owner
April 27, 2012

"I boought a 1998 BMW 528i warrantied with a NH State..."

- Neal M.

I boought a 1998 BMW 528i warrantied with a NH State Inspection Sticker. They put an Inpection Sticker on, Another State Inspection Station Failed the vehicle for safety reasons. They sold me a LEMON the vehicle had problems from the day I bought it. they were asking $6,995.00 and sold it for $6,495.00 and it was a pure LEMON.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Frank Hobbs
December 24, 2011

"My girl friend bought a 96 Honda accord less then 50k..."

- Lilmonkeygod

My girl friend bought a 96 Honda accord less then 50k miles from them and within a 2 days it was leaking gas.... The gas tank had a hole, the brake line was deteriorating. I called to complaint about the vehicle and to see if we could get it fix. The woman on the phone was very nice but once the owner got on the phone everything changed. I told him about the issue and he told me that he's going to charge us for checking for the leaks and any repairs. So I told him that the vehicl should of been check before it leaves the lot. Then he told me that I better change my tone of voice when talking to him, I was shocked and extermely offended at this point. Then he told me not to call there again and hung up on me. Needless to say I didn't know anything about the lemon law and if I did I would have brought that to his attention, but I end up paying out of pocket to repair the car. If you're going to do business with them please becareful, I wouldnt recommend this guy to anyone. And I hope with our mistakes will help protect future consumers who's out shopping for a vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
The owner
1
1 - 10 of 10 results