Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport

Freeport, IL

not yet
rated
219 Reviews

1102 East South Street

Freeport, IL

61032

Directions

219 Reviews of J H Barkau & Sons Freeport

Sort by
June 28, 2021

"This place was a joke. My wife and I went to look at a..."

- blackdog6763

This place was a joke. My wife and I went to look at a Trailblazer that they had on the lot. Vehicle was missing a door trim piece, the front grille clips were completely broken off, and there were a few codes. When we inquired about this, we were told "well we already went to the junkyard and bought some of the wrong pieces so you're out of luck." Seriously. But that was OK, we know that at the price point we are looking at, it wasn't going to be perfect. Went into the office to talk numbers as we were willing still purchase. Told them about the trade in and the salesman went to talk to the finance manager. Comes back and says "my finance manager suggests you try and sell your trade to your neighbor instead." Seriously. Just an all around NEGATIVE experience with a finance manager that clearly needs an attitude adjustment.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chad Piefer
Jun 28, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport responded

We're sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience. However, is it possible you may have reviewed the wrong dealership? There are a couple reasons that make me believe that you have, 1. We are located in Cedarville, IL. 2. Finance Manager; Chad Piefer is also located in Cedarville 3. We don't have record of you being at JH Barkau & Sons Cedarville.

Jun 28, 2021 -

blackdog6763 responded

It was the Freeport location. I thought they were one in the same. This review was about that location.

December 21, 2020

"Our 16 year old daughter bought a vehicle from them and..."

- luandri810

Our 16 year old daughter bought a vehicle from them and it turned out to be junk. Its a very unsafe vehicle. I would think Barkau's would care about the safety of a child.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Randy Duchow
Dec 30, 2020 -

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport responded

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we are normally know for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret we missed that mark with you and your daughter. It says here that you worked with and employee that is no longer employed with us and hasn't been for quite a long time. We would love to hear more about your specific situation. Please call the Dealership and ask for Louis or Pat at 815-232-5017. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further and working toward earning back your business.

June 20, 2020

"Great place to buy a car. Bob Reed is a very nice guy he..."

- lonniehuenefeld

Great place to buy a car. Bob Reed is a very nice guy he gets you the right car at a great price! Thanks Bob.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Pat Gillespie
5.0
Jim Barkau
5.0
Bob Reed
5.0
March 29, 2019

"Treated like family "

- SherrieAnn

We were allowed to take our time and be very choosy. It's a big decision, a big purchase. This is not the first time we have done business with Pat Gillespie and Barkau's. They will always have our business because they go above and beyond what other dealers do, even after the sale has been made! You won't go wrong giving them your business!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Pat Gillespie
5.0
Other Employees : Colin
February 07, 2019

"It was great!"

- Pope

My experience with the people at Barkau was great. I had to find a vehicle quick because my Caliber just didn't want to move -- and Pat made it happen. I brought home my vehicle yesterday -- in crappy weather, no less, and I love it Thanks, Pat, for taking care of us. And I will recommend Pat and the Barkau dealership to anyone I know looking for a vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Pat Gillespie
5.0
Other Employees : Colin
Mar 25, 2019 -

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport responded

Thank you for the great review!

December 06, 2018

"Laid back and honest"

- PDCWisky85

We were looking for a truck with very particular features at just the right price when we ran across one online at J.H. Barkau & Sons. It was a 2 1/2 hour drive from where we live, which initially left us wondering about what we could expect for our experience. I'm glad we went because the trip was very much worth it! Pat Gillespie was very personable and genuine throughout the entire process. The values for both vehicles were spot on and required absolutely no negotiation which was really refreshing as that hasn't always been our experience with past dealers. Pat answered any questions we had, was never pushy about the sale, and gave us plenty of time and room to make a decision. Other dealerships could learn from Pat. Outstanding experience from start to finish. I would certainly recommend working with Pat and J.H. Barkau & Sons to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Pat Gillespie
5.0
Louis Lorenz
5.0
Mar 28, 2019 -

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport responded

Thank you for the great review!

December 01, 2018

"Great Experience"

- Zeya2312

We have bought from Pat in the past and as soon as we started looking for a "new" car for our daughter we went right to Pat Gillespie, he took the time to find out what we really wanted and worked with us and our crazy schedules. He went out of his way to get us what we needed and even told us about a factory recall on one of our previous vehicles and got us right in to get it fixed!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Pat Gillespie
5.0
Other Employees : Axle the wonderful canine greeter
Mar 28, 2019 -

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport responded

Thanks for the great review!

November 28, 2018

"Talked about problem"

- Shopaholic

Talked about problem everything is ok. Have the problem solved. So if there is a problem talked it out they will try and fix it for you.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John Corrigan
5.0
Jim Barkau
5.0
Mar 28, 2019 -

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport responded

Yes, we like to keep our customers happy, thanks for the great review!

October 29, 2018

"exceptional service and very accomodating"

- Travel12

Spectacular place to do business with.. Friendly and very knowledgeable sales persons. Great vehicles to choose from.. Quick service. Very patient. Very accommodating. thank you for all your help in finding our perfect vehicle in a timely fashion. Our truck had caught fire in the driveway so we needed a vehicle fast and you were able to help us out.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Pat Gillespie
5.0
Jim Barkau
5.0
Mar 28, 2019 -

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport responded

Sorry to hear about your truck, but thank you for the great review!

October 21, 2018

"loved how personal it was"

- ladyj433

Jim is a great salesman, I really enjoyed the experience, my credit wasn't the greatest but everyone worked hard to get me approved.. love my new explorer!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jim Jupin
5.0
Jim Barkau
5.0
Mar 28, 2019 -

J H Barkau & Sons Freeport responded

Glad we were able to help. Thanks for the great review!

1
...
1 - 10 of 219 results