Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Joel Confer Toyota

State College, PA

not yet
rated
11 Reviews

120 East Clinton Avenue

State College, PA

16803

Directions

Is this your dealership?

11 Reviews of Joel Confer Toyota

Sort by
February 27, 2021

"BMW getting fixed. Used their Toyota rental service...."

- Dearie12

BMW getting fixed. Used their Toyota rental service. Brought car in 2 gallons low in gas. Man made me go refuel. Disgraceful! They lost my

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dave, spoke to owner Corey as well
March 16, 2020

"Most incompetent service department i have ever dealt with "

- JosephN

Brought my wife's car in for a scheduled Toyota Care maintenance. Picked vehicle up and within 10 minutes could tell there was an issue with the tires/alignment. Called service center back and they advised to bring it back in the morning and they would fix it. I specifically asked that they check the tire balance and alignment, they fluffed me off and said they would handle it. Wife brought her car back the next morning, service had vehicle for 5 minutes, told her that the car was "all fixed" and that she was good. Told her she didn't know what she was talking about and must have been confused. Car continued to have balance/alignment issues but they told us that it was just the tire wear and that they wouldn't be fixing it. 6 months later we had to bring the car back for the next scheduled service. Asked the service writer politely if he would have the tech check the balance/alignment since i knew for a fact it was off. Service writer attempted to speak to me as if i was a child that never drove car before and that i didn't know what i was talking about. Low and behold 2 hours later they call us back that our car is ready to be picked up. Service writer tells us over the phone that the cars alignment was off and that all 4 tires needed to be balanced, Yeah no Kidding!! Went to pick up vehicle and service writer insisted that we must have done something to the tires because their service writers would never do that. Well not only did their service writers allow it, they told my wife she was being silly and confused, and let her drive for 6 months on an unsafe car because they were too lazy/entitled to check the vehicles balance like i specifically asked. Entire desk of service writers is incompetent, unhelpful, condescending and rude. Service department is more than willing to let their customer driver an unsafe vehicle before they admit that they might perhaps have been wrong. Avoid this service department at all costs, worth the hour drive to the next Toyota dealership to not deal with these people. Also after they (finally) fixed the alignment and balance issue, they left the two tires with the most tread on them on the rears... instead of swapping them to the fronts like any decent service location would do. After quoting us for new tires they said it was unsafe to have low tread tires in the front, conveniently left out the fact that they're the ones that put them there!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service writers
May 03, 2019

"HORRIBLE SERVICE DEPARTMENT "

- Concerned Toyota owner

Came in from out town with a problem of lost keys to a new 2019 Tacoma which I had extended purchase of Toyota care for lost keys etc. When I presented the paperwork thst I was told was good anywhere in the country this dealership Confer Toyota did not honor it. I had to make arrangements for spare set to be brought up so that I could take the 2029 to another dealership to have keys programmed with out being rude and honoring the extended care program. Be careful using this service department this was not the only incident at this dealership with several other Toyota's owned by this family. Very RUDE.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service department
September 17, 2014

"Blamed owner for engine malfunction"

- cvonzuben

My car presented a problem which they would not want to fix under the extended warranty. They said I over revved the engine, and the engine will need to get replaced. Since I'm not an expert, I brought to a second independent mechanic, and he said that it is impossible to me to over rev the engine, and he had proof that it was a engine failure since parts of the motor were in the oil. I'm very disappointed with Joel Confer, and I will never buy a Toyota car again because of them. Representatives out there will not accept any argument, it was impossible to have a conversation. I would not recommend having business with them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dave
May 25, 2013

"Almost $300 for a routine maintenance plus PA inspection...."

- Costtoomuch

Almost $300 for a routine maintenance plus PA inspection. Labor alone is amost exactly $200 with no explanation on how they labored themselves. If we pay a technician $60 an hour, we are paying over 3 hours for that person. I was told that I needed a "B" service but on the receipt it says I "requested" it. For this very lightly used car, they recommended the next maintenance to be done as soon as in 3 months. Too expensive...

Read More
Pricing
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Is Too Expensive
April 24, 2013

"I received a recall notice concerning the frame on my..."

- mlmussett

I received a recall notice concerning the frame on my Toyota Sequoia in December of 2012. The notice directed me to contact the local dealership to perform the inspection and work. I have since contacted Joel Confer Toyota approximately 10 times concerning this issue. Each time I get a different reason why I should "call back in a couple of weeks." Sometimes they don't even work too hard to get their story straight and have contradicted themselves. Incompetence at best, straight out lying at worst. It has now been 4 months and I am still not scheduled to have an inspection to have this recall work done. I have contacted Toyota and they said that the dealerships are independent and can refuse to provide service. I don't understand how they can refuse service - whether by deception (such as saying call back but never providing an appointment) - or in general on recall work. What is the point of a recall if the dealerships are not bound to provide the work?

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Department
June 29, 2012

"Recently purchased a 2012 Prius and want to mention that..."

- JE Fine

Recently purchased a 2012 Prius and want to mention that I was very impressed with Ron Westernik and my overall experience with Joe Confer Toypta. Ron was very professional and knowledgable about the Prius as well as what the dealership has to offer. Everyone was firendly, things were handled quickly and I couldn't be happier with my new car. Prior to purchasing this new car, I had a Toyota purchased elsewhere. When I moved to this area, I started using them for service visits. Service department is great also. They welcomed me in as though I had purchased my vehicle there. Overall experience has been great.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ron Westernik
April 28, 2012

"I just took delivery of my 2012 Toyota Prius. My entire..."

- dantrevino

I just took delivery of my 2012 Toyota Prius. My entire experience with Michael King was positive. I had visited other dealerships in Centra PA before visiting Joel Confer Toyota because of the less than stellar reviews about their service on this site. As far as their sales dept. is concerned, I had no problems whatsoever. I visited the dealership when I was ready to buy a Prius and Mike handled all my questions and the sales order with professionalism and friendliness. I had a specific color/model of Prius that I wanted, so when the April availability of Toyota cars to our region was provided to the dealership, they quickly "claimed" that model/color while the car was still en route (ie. on the boat from Japan!). Mike keep me updated as to when the boat would dock, when it docked, and when they expected to car to be delivered to them. On the day I picked up my car (yesterday) Mike and their IT guy spent over 2 hours with me going over all features of the Advanced Technology Package as well as general info. about the Prius and with paperwork, of course. Mike gave me his number and asked me to call if I had any questions or concerns. Since I won't need to visit the service dept. until I put 5,000 miles on the car, it will be a while before I can rate their service dept. All in all, I give Mike and Confer Toyota a thumbs up.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Michael King
March 06, 2012

"Working with the Joel Confer Collision Center was an..."

- AH_reviewr1

Working with the Joel Confer Collision Center was an absolute nightmare. If you need to have your car repaired, I beg you to please save yourself the stress and wasted time and go to a shop where the employees are polite and actually know what they’re doing. Last August I was rear-ended, which resulted in some pretty significant damage to my 2011 VW Jetta. Since this was the first time I was involved in an auto accident and I was not familiar with the repair centers in this area, I took the recommendation of my insurance company to have the repair done at Joel Confer. When I brought my car to the shop, they assured me that the car would be repaired to look like new (at the time of the accident the car was only 90 days old!). They estimated it would take at max 5 weeks to complete the repair. They also informed me that they would contact me with updates about the repair. Instead, I ended up calling them regularly to get information and eventually, about 8 weeks after starting the repair, they finally called me to come pick it up. The next day I discovered that they had failed to repair the trunk latch that was bent/ jammed in the accident, which made me suspicious so I started looking over the other details of the car. It turned out they must have slapped things together in a hurry because the interior liners inside the car as well as inside the trunk were sticking out of the trim in several places. They also scratched the paint on the driver's side door. The lid of the trunk was mounted noticeably crooked and the rear passenger-side door wasn't adjusted properly so it hit the seat every time it was closed. They also forgot to replace a sensor in the trunk for the keyless entry system. I immediately called the collision center to request that they repair these items properly and was told I could bring it in a few weeks later. After several more days in the shop, they said they were finished and that I could come pick up the car. When I went to pick up my car, I discovered that they had not even touched the crooked trunk latch and instead they claimed it was crooked due to their "welding error." When I tried to argue with them that I had brought the car to a professional shop because I didn’t expect to see “welding error”, the employee was very rude to me and said there was nothing he could do about it. I also found that they had not done anything about the keyless error message that was coming up or the fact that they doors weren’t unlocking properly with the key chains. When I brought this up, the employee’s response was “we don’t have a way to read VW error codes” “Do you expect me to take time out of my day to drive over to VW to have them fix it?” To this I answered, “Yes, that is what you are being paid to do.” He then told me that if I wanted to leave the car with them for a few more days, he could look into the keyless error problem. At this point it was already December and I was really irritated so I called the insurance agent to ask for her advice. She told me that I should call the VW service center to see if they could check out the problem and that she would meet me there to address my complaints. I ended up having to have a new sensor installed at the VW service center (because the Joel Confer people apparently didn’t even realize it was missing). The insurance agent also took photos of the trunk of my car as well as the trunk of a new Jetta on the VW lot and submitted these to Joel Confer as evidence that they had not properly attached the trunk lid. They eventually re-adjusted things but it still doesn’t look 100% aligned like it did when I bought the car. In total the insurance company paid their business over $15,000 for the repairs to my car, which one would think would be a good incentive to do a good job. What I conclude from this experience is that Joel Confer Collusion Center really doesn’t appreciate your business and you are better off taking your car somewhere with reliable staff and good customer service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adam Biddle, Lance Sebolt, Tom Harris
December 31, 2011

"Great experience. With Mike he was willing to work with..."

- 1ppb

Great experience. With Mike he was willing to work with me on the price of the car I was trying to buy. The prices were posted. I was very pleased with my buying experience. Would highly reccomend as a plce to buy.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
mike king
1
1 - 10 of 11 results