Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

John Hine Mazda

San Diego, CA

4.8
839 Reviews
John Hine Mazda is a premier Mazda dealership in San Diego. Making the decision to buy a new car is a big one. Two even bigger choices are, however, the kind of car you'll buy and where you choose to buy it. Why do so many drivers choose John Hine Mazda? That's a question that can really only be answered with a visit to our showroom. But if we had to sum it up in a word, it would be service. We also offer a fully staffed car service and maintenance department, genuine Mazda parts to enhance your driving experience and a state of the art collision repair facility. Collision Center Hours of Operation Monday-Friday 7am-6pm

1545 Camino Del Rio S

San Diego, CA

92108

Directions

By Type

Showing 839 reviews

March 22, 2021

"Dear John (Hine Mazda), When this all started, I was so..."

- James C

Dear John (Hine Mazda), When this all started, I was so excited. After a decade in which we bought 3 different Nissans, we were finally looking at making that it happen with a new CX-9. Yes, technically a “certified pre-owned” but with just 5k miles and coming from a Mazda dealer, we thought it might still be a good experience. On our first date, the salesman (we’ll call him “D”) was dismissive of us and hurried us out the door for another hookup. Later that night, I ended up texting with sales, gathering more detail on the car and talking turkey on the price. I made what I thought was a competitive offer and the next morning was told that my offer was accepted. Sometime later that day though D texts us to say that they in fact did not accept my offer, wanting $900 more but that he’d knock $100 off if I came running in that day. Oh, and someone else had already agreed to pay full price on the car sight unseen so I better rush in before they got it. Classic sales pressure technique but wanting the model and trim they had in stock, I accepted it. This unprofessional sales tactic should have had me walking away at that point but that candy apple red CX-9 with air-conditioned front seats was calling and as our car had been damaged in an accident, we were in need of moving forward with another car. We move forward to the long grueling process of finance, paperwork, etc. I had preapproval from my credit union but as the bank was closed that day did not have the check from them in hand. We were going through a refinance on our mortgage and I made it abundantly clear to D and the finance guy that I did not want a lot of inquiries on my credit. They said they were going to just check to see if Mazda would match the interest rate I had with the credit union so we could drive the car home that day, which I agreed to again making it clear that I did not want multiple hits on the credit report. We ended up with Mazda financing the loan, but as I went to close on my mortgage I found they ran no less than six different inquiries without telling me. This delayed my refinance process and resulted in me having to pay a discount point in order to keep the rate the same. The business with the multiple hits of course would not become evident to me until later and when I raised the issue with the finance manager I was told he was going to look into it and get back to me. In this case of course what’s done is done, there is no way to undo the inquiries and the mortgage refinance is done – but a return call and maybe an apology would have been nice. I have yet to hear back from anyone on that issue. During the finance process we also agreed to add the Cilajet paint sealant. As this was a pre-owned car, there were a couple of paint chips that they agreed to touch up prior to the sealant. We scheduled a date to bring the car back, dropped it off and were given a loaner car. Nice! Later that day we go back to pick up the car. The loaner car department is open until 6 so you can pick up your car until then but the service staff is all gone at 4 PM, so when we went to pick up the car there was nobody in service to talk to about the fact that they used the wrong color touch up paint on the car. What were previously small chips were now dots of the wrong color paint that stuck out like a sore thumb. On top of that, there was a line of black paint that had been dripped onto the right front fender, where previously there had been no problem. They told us to leave the car there for the service person “T” to look at it the next day and to hold onto the loaner. The next day we talk to T, explain the issues and he said it’s being taken care of and will be done that day (Feb. 25). That would be the last time we’d see the car until March 10. The first touch-up guy didn’t come that week and then he was going to come the next week and then “he had to be let go because his work wasn’t up to par” (who tells a customer that?) and then we waited another 5 days until the new touch-up guy came in. We finally came back to pick it up, finding the chips acceptably fixed but a visible line where they touched up the paint spill. Despite pictures we had showing the black paint and that T had seen and acknowledged, the service manager insisted that the line was a fix of an existing paint chip. We were told he’d review something and get back to us. Again, no callback ever occurred from him. D, the original salesman did give us a call but of course did not have all the information on what the problem was nor the ability to do anything about it. While I still sit around waiting for anyone to call me back, I just received the registration paperwork, showing that the Mazda I just bought from Mazda and financed with Mazda lists a lienholder of…Toyota Motor Credit. I can’t even begin to understand how that even happens, much less how to fix it. I do know that it will be another PITA and that John Hine Mazda will almost certainly say it’s not their fault and not their problem. (Edit: apparently Toyota Motor Credit owns Mazda Finance so this is correct) To sum up, John Hine is unprofessional in their sales, dishonest in their financing, incompetent in their service department and uncaring in their customer service. Other than the paint stripe that we’ll have to live with forever (certainly not taking the car back to them again), we love the car. But with so many choices, I would never ever go back to John Hine Mazda and would recommend anyone else considering buying a car to take your business elsewhere. Anywhere else.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Dwayne De Maurivert, Keith Gonzales
Apr 08, 2021 -

John Hine Mazda responded

Hi James. Thank you for the feedback and for the opportunity to respond. I am happy to hear that you have spoken with Eladio and that you will be bringing your vehicle back in. We hope we have the opportunity to earn your business again in the future. - Shelby Sparks, Director of Business Development

March 08, 2021

"I recently purchased a new vehicle through John Hine..."

- raycho2001

I recently purchased a new vehicle through John Hine Mazda. The process was comfortable, simple and super smooth. The sales department was informative and on top of it! They helped guide me to the perfect vehicle that would fit our family needs. The finance department was also one of the best I have been to. I felt well informed and not a lot of pressure. I usually dread the car buying process and I left feeling very comfortable with the decision I made. John Hine has a great team of employees that have been with the dealership for many years. It's this loyalty that I will continue to buy vehicles from this dealership for years to come.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Keith Gonzales
Apr 06, 2021 -

John Hine Mazda responded

We love to hear that you had a comfortable, simple and smooth car buying experience! We appreciate your business and your loyalty to John Hine Mazda. Thank you for the five-star review.

February 16, 2021

"Ray is an amazing respite from the dodgy world of car..."

- Britumbiolo

Ray is an amazing respite from the dodgy world of car sales. I appreciate the speed and agility of Ray and the John Hine team.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Ray Tan
Feb 17, 2021 -

John Hine Mazda responded

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your positive feedback. We appreciate your business.

January 25, 2021

"Mr. Dwayne has great smile with excellent customer..."

- Lopeseri

Mr. Dwayne has great smile with excellent customer service. He gave us the price and the car we wanted. Love to work with sales man like him, not wasting time to going back and force. Definitely the great sales person. Will love to come back to buy another future car from him.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dwayne De Maurivert, Genevieve Riegg
Jan 26, 2021 -

John Hine Mazda responded

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share your positive feedback. Thank you for your business. We hope that you are enjoying your new Mazda.

December 16, 2020

"We bought the CX-5 that we wanted at John Hine Mazda...."

- cx5cam

We bought the CX-5 that we wanted at John Hine Mazda. Thanks to Tyler for his fast email responses and attention to detail in providing clear answers to our questions or requests, that made our buying and decision process much easier. We were treated at ease and not pressured when we were at the dealership to purchase our CX-5. Tyler was very professional and just helpful throughout our buying process. Overall, great experience in buying our CX-5 at John Hine Mazda. Highly recommend.

Read More
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Keith Gonzales
Dec 17, 2020 -

John Hine Mazda responded

Congratulations on the purchase of your new Mazda CX-5! We are so happy to hear that you had a great buying experience at John Hine Mazda. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to write a review.

November 28, 2020

"My wife and I had a great experience purchasing a CPO..."

- bajaman47

My wife and I had a great experience purchasing a CPO vehicle at John Hine Mazda. At our first visit we met Ray who embodied politeness and the no-pressure approach we desired. He was very attentive to all our requests and questions. He followed up that evening with a text to answer some requests/questions. Over the next 5 days he communicated with us accurately and immediately whenever we asked something but he never pushed on us or tried to pressure us. When we returned to the dealership to finalize our decision Ray was very efficient and the process was smooth. My wife and I were dreading the final step of dealing with the sales manager because in our previous experiences at other dealerships the sales manager always pushes added costs. We were pleasantly surprised by Steve Camacho. He was pleasant and quick! Yes, he of course informed us of a brief selection of enhancements & service plans, but he did it REALLY fast without any pressurized sales pitches. We REALLY appreciated that. Our time with him only lasted about 15 minutes and we were out the door with our "new" car. We would definitely recommend John Hine Mazda to other car shoppers, and I'm sure we will return in the future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Ray Tan
Dec 01, 2020 -

John Hine Mazda responded

We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience buying your Mazda at John Hine. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to write a review.

November 11, 2020

"Tyler was very friendly and professional. I enjoyed the..."

- JackR

Tyler was very friendly and professional. I enjoyed the information he provided and the fact that there was now pressure to complete the sale. Tyler went out of his way to get me the CX-5 that was within my leasing budget. Thanks Tyler.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Keith Gonzales
Nov 12, 2020 -

John Hine Mazda responded

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience working with Tyler to lease your Mazda CX-5. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to write a review.

November 03, 2020

"Andre was very helpful from the moment I first contacted..."

- billmorganmaggie

Andre was very helpful from the moment I first contacted him on the website, until I drove my new CX-5 out of the lot. Very pleasant and friendly. Made the process less stressful, and I felt like he was concerned that I got what I asked for. Genevive was also very helpful and pleasant, another great experience! Thank you John Hine Mazda!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Genevieve Riegg
Nov 04, 2020 -

John Hine Mazda responded

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you are enjoying your new Mazda CX-5!

October 16, 2020

"Friendly and very responsive to questions and comments...."

- fatmaggot

Friendly and very responsive to questions and comments. Great email communication. Super fast responses. Usually, as a girl buying a car, and he experience is less than stellar, but I felt super comfortable with Tyler and the overall atmosphere of the dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Oct 20, 2020 -

John Hine Mazda responded

Thank you for your business and for the five-star review.

October 15, 2020

"Thank you Ray, TJ, and Genevieve. Purchasing a new car..."

- mv

Thank you Ray, TJ, and Genevieve. Purchasing a new car can sometimes be an unpleasant and overwhelming experience. And, a major personal investment with performance, safety and reliability in mind. Our new car purchase with your staff was pleasant, quick and easy. No surprises, no pressure. Your entire staff treated us with care and respect. Your knowledge, professionalism, and preparation was first class and much appreciated. We feel we invested in a quality, safe vehicle at a price second to none. The salesmen (and entire staff) we dealt with were always courteous, kind and honest to our needs and wishes. The new car delivery was immediate, thoroughly explained and as promised. All paperwork in the finance and sales department was well prepared, quick and easy. We have nothing but appreciation and a high level of trust and confidence in John Hine - and highly recommend them for any of your needs.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
T.J. Bitter, Ray Tan, Genevieve Riegg
Oct 20, 2020 -

John Hine Mazda responded

We appreciate you! Thank you for your business and for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you are enjoying your new Mazda.

1
...
1 - 10 of 839 results