About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

John Roberts BMW

N/A

12 Lifetime Reviews

2536 Forest Lane, Dallas, Texas 75244 Directions
Sales: (866) 401-2816

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

12 Reviews of John Roberts BMW

Sort by Write a review
May 07, 2007

"Worst car dealership I have ever experienced in my life. ..."

- tesko808

Worst car dealership I have ever experienced in my life. Not only do these guys not seem very interested in selling cars, sometimes they seem to actively discourage it. They will condescend you, ignore you, make you wait for hours, not call you after promising to do so, bait and switch, etc. Two separate incidents should give you a pretty good idea of what to expect: 1) My friend and I were both in the market for a BMW so we decided to visit the place. (It was the only BMW dealership near us.) After waiting for quite a while, we finally tracked down a salesman. He made us feel like we were wasting his time and was very condescending. We left feeling mildly shocked at what had just happened. My favorite quote (word-for-word from the _BMW_ salesman), “Hondas are good cars. I drive a Honda.” I regret it now, but my lust for an M Roadster got the best of me and I nevertheless ended up buying one from them a couple weeks later. 2) Sadly, my M met an untimely end so decided to go back and look for another fine Bavarian motor vehicle. This experience was even worse--Same attitude, same condescension. I go up there on a Friday, we negotiate and I leave frustrated after they refuse to meet anything reasonable. Later that week, we seem to reach acceptable terms for both of us over the phone and I go back over there. Terms are agreed on and we begin the paperwork. After hours of waiting on this and that, the dealership is closing and the salesman says he won’t be there tomorrow but another one will, we’ll call him Adam. (Not his real name) I am introduced to Adam and they say Adam will call me tomorrow. Of course, Adam doesn’t call. I eventually call and after playing phone tag for a while, surprise! It’s six, we’ll have to do it on Monday I’m told. So I go in on Monday. Wait… just a few more minutes… hold on… waiting for F&I, etc. About two hours later I finally get in to sit down with the finance guy. He tries to get me to start signing things but wait, I say, I want to make sure everything is as was agreed. And it wasn’t. The APR was nearly double what had been agreed upon. I point this out. More waiting, another guy comes in, sits down, and basically tells me “sorry about what you were told but that rate doesn’t exist in our world.” In so many words, I tell the man what he can go do with himself. I leave BMW of Dallas for the last time. Please take my advice and don’t waste your time at this place.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
February 20, 2007

"I visited all dealerships in the DFW metroplex and they..."

- jrwild

I visited all dealerships in the DFW metroplex and they where vastly different. The games at the other dealerships ranged from "how about a car with different options" to "how about paying nearly msrp" to "how about a slightly used employee car with only a slightly larger discount". In the end i spent many hours at the other dealerships left with only mere frustration. In the first two hours of visiting John Roberts I was given the option of two cars which fit my requirements exactly. We had also discussed all the details of the car purchasing process and come to a very resonable agreement. Basically they offered me a deal i couldn't refuse, made me comfortable along the way and did it in a fraction of the time of the other dealers. Don had only been working at John Roberts for two weeks, but had worked in sales for many years. He simply did all the work for me, acting as a "middle man with all the answers". This was definitely the best car purchasing experience i've had the pleasure of enduring. I've dealt with many dealers, owning a seperate car for almost every year since i began driving (14+).

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Don Bonneau
February 20, 2007

"I visited all dealerships in the DFW metroplex and they..."

- jrwild

I visited all dealerships in the DFW metroplex and they where vastly different. The games at the other dealerships ranged from "how about a car with different options" to "how about paying nearly msrp" to "how about a slightly used employee car with only a slightly larger discount". In the end i spent many hours at the other dealerships left with only mere frustration. In the first two hours of visiting John Roberts I was given the option of two cars which fit my requirements exactly. We had also discussed all the details of the car purchasing process and come to a very resonable agreement. Basically they offered me a deal i couldn't refuse, made me comfortable along the way and did it in a fraction of the time of the other dealers. Don had only been working at John Roberts for two weeks, but had worked in sales for many years. He simply did all the work for me, acting as a "middle man with all the answers". This was definitely the best car purchasing experience i've had the pleasure of enduring. I've dealt with many dealers, owning a seperate car for almost every year since i began driving (14+).

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Don Bonneau
December 05, 2006

"Of all the BMW dealers in the Metroplex, this is the only..."

- dlm17

Of all the BMW dealers in the Metroplex, this is the only one that´s reasonably close to me. Everytime I go there, either to buy parts or supplies, or for service, they make me feel like they are doing me a favor, mostly after ignoring me for a while. My worst experience was yesterday, when I went to buy coolant for my Z4 (with the cold weather, the coolant light turned on). Me and another guy that was there to buy coolant also were waiting in front of the service counter for about five minutes, until he asked someone if they were open - the guy behind the counter was talking to another guy and I can only assume he was mad we interrupted his conversation, since he was rude to us. The service managers are also unreliable and never call back, and I´ve picked up my car after service without some basic things done such as resetting the service interval indicators. I also have a Lexus and the dealers are always exemplary. It upsets me that BMW, which should be a luxury brand and treat its clients as such, allows BMW of Dallas to have worse service than a Kia dealership. A friend told me that since Bankston bought John Roberts BMW and turned it into BMW of Dallas, they also have less than 40% of their mechanics BMW certified, though BMW demands its dealers have at least 60% of their mechanics certified by BMW. From now on, I will go to Moritz - I've heard much better things from them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
May 10, 2006

"This dealership is now owned by the Bankston group. I..."

- ttugrad95

This dealership is now owned by the Bankston group. I have no experience with them as John Roberts but from the bulk of the ratings I'm going to assume things have improved since the sell. Both of our cars were purchased from a Bankston dealership. I have purchased a Jeep from Bankston Jeep, we just bought a 325CI from this Bankston and now I'm in the market for a Titan and will give Bankston Nissan first crack. On my two bankston buying experiences I found that they were refreshingly upfront and didn't try to pull a rip off on any parts of the deal. They gave best prices quickly, didn't even try messing with interest rates (maybe because we came in with good rates and they had to give their best offer to beat it), and offered top dollar for trades. I don't screw around with dealerships. If I even suspect they are trying to screw me, I walk. It seems that Bankston doesn't play those games, its refreshing. I hope the Bankston Nissan works the same way, their ratings here indicate they do.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
December 08, 2004

"I bought a 2004 325i. It was a loaner with about 8k on..."

- hardball75006

I bought a 2004 325i. It was a loaner with about 8k on it.
After a month and a half of excessive tire noise, I took the car to Goodyear, because I thought I had defective tires. Goodyear said I had two bent wheels and irregular tire ware on all four tires, due to the car being way out of alignment. It cost me $185.00 per wheel to have them repaired and $500.00 for a new set of tires.

The sales manager Mark said they would not reimburse me for the repairs. In fact he acted very put out like he just couldn't be bothered with my problem.

That is after I bought two cars from this man, and spent over $50,000.

Stay away from the used and CPO cars!

This Dealer is now BMW of Dallas (formerly) John Roberts

Same incompetent people doing business under a new name!

Due to unresolved issues like the ones listed in these reviews, this dealer has an unsatisfactory rating with the Better Business Bureau.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
July 20, 2004

"Bought a 1997 M3 with 57k I saw on Autotrader.com. ..."

- wangchili

Bought a 1997 M3 with 57k I saw on Autotrader.com. Checked it on CarFAX and it came back clean. Called Ken who said the car was in great shape and flew down to Dallas to pick it up. Fast pickup at the airport and the car was in fabulous shape. Brand new or almost brand new tires on all 4 corners and everything looked really clean. Fast friendly service from everyone and we drove away happy. 3k and 1 month later I like the car even better. These guys did good by me. I have heard though that this dealership is now sold to Autonation and that may not necessary mean it is a good thing.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ken Bayles
April 16, 2004

"Bought our car via their Ebay sales. Was told over the..."

- dolfin1

Bought our car via their Ebay sales. Was told over the phone that the car is in excellent shape. We flew to Dallas to pick up the car and then found out that their definition of excellent shape is hugely different than the rest of the world. I was told the tires had approximately 85% wear remainging on them. Well yes they were right about that, the left two tires. The right two were practicaly worn out. I guess I was not specific enough and asked if all four tires were in good shape. The left rear speaker was blown. The car was out of alignment, pulled to the right. Had an oil leak, rough idle. The worst of all as we drove to our hotel, we heard growling noise from under the car, come to find out, it is a bad transmission. They did agree to pay for the speaker repair and that was it.
Ye, I did screw up and trusted the salesperson that the car was in excellent shape. The biggest egg head mistake any person can make buying a car is trusting a used car sales person over the phone.
They refused to pay for the $1500.00 transmission repair.
The bottom line is, if they can lie to me to make the sale, they will lie to you, and you will be more of their road kill. Do not trust them. BEWARE

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
April 05, 2004

"My wife and I were on the floor for 5 minutes, and no one..."

- pordinario

My wife and I were on the floor for 5 minutes, and no one came up to us. I finally went to the receptionist and told him I was interested in buying a car. He came back 3 minutes later, but I had to approach him a second time to see if one was on his way. Finally, Chris showed up. He wouldn't let us test drive an M3. He didn't even offer for us to sit in one! How the hell am I going to spend almost $60k on a car without sitting in or test driving it? Plus, it was like pulling teeth to get him to tell us about the car. If he was going for the "I'm such a good salesman, I don't need your business" sales pitch, then it worked. Moritz offered to drive one out to my office the next day for me to test drive. And they are 30 minutes away!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris
March 23, 2004

"Unlike others here, my service experiences here have been..."

- dfwbmw

Unlike others here, my service experiences here have been OK--they are definitely not the friendliest bunch, but they have corrected problems on the first try. That said, all 6 of my BMWs have been highly reliable so I don't get much of a chance to test them.

The sales side has changed a bit over the years. My most recent experiences have totally turned me off and I've bought my last 3 BMWs from another dealer. It has been very difficult to get them to move on price and I have invariably found a better deal (usually by a grand or more) at another area dealer

I don't feel I was treated any differently on the sales floor than had I walked into a Chevy dealer. Jeff Van Syclin is back after a hiatus and now runs the Mini store--hopefully some of his good manners and ability to deal with discerning customers will rub off on the rest of the staff.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jeff Van Syclin; Ez
1
1 - 10 of 12 results