Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Koppy Motors of Forest Lake

Forest Lake, MN

2.7
23 Reviews

23784 Lake Boulevard North

Forest Lake, MN

55025

Directions

23 Reviews of Koppy Motors of Forest Lake

Sort by
July 15, 2021

"Did a consignment sale with Matt. After 80 days it..."

- Joel

Did a consignment sale with Matt. After 80 days it resulted in ZERO test drives. Bird xxxx on pain, cobwebs on mirrors, car was placed way back in corner of lot where nobody would see it when on lot. Could not take if for test drive as seat was moved way forward and up. Power seat fuse was failed. Also battery to start vehicle was dead from non use. Hybrid cars can not sit for 3 months with no use! Who is going to test drive a dirty car in back of lot with a dead battery and a dead power seat? NOBODY. And that's exactly what happened.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Matt Berg Sales Mgr.
July 09, 2021

"Want to thank Mitch, Brad and Matt for helping me out..."

- ccormell

Want to thank Mitch, Brad and Matt for helping me out when I needed most! Wondering if that motorcycle is still there? The purple one!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt branch manager
May 21, 2021

"We... (Dave and Shari) both were extremely happy with..."

- s.biskey

We... (Dave and Shari) both were extremely happy with their service...very friendly and efficient staff. We certainly will tell others looking to find a used car to see them.. Many thanks!!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tim Olson---5+ stars
January 27, 2021

"Had previous taken down my last post about how pissed off..."

- ONE MAD MUTHERxxxxER

Had previous taken down my last post about how pissed off I was on the poor work done on my mother's vehicle at the Service shop and I still am but just want to say I am disappointed w/ how they have handled things since then. The fact that you can't admit when you xxxxed up and wrecked someone's car when they trust you to fix it right is the most irritating of all. Hopefully it is taken care of the right way because if not I will be back w/ more.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
SERVICE SHOP
November 21, 2020

"There was no interaction I asked if vehicle was still..."

- gayle_gressman

There was no interaction I asked if vehicle was still available but no answer was received. Vehicle purchased from a non-dealership no interaction can be recorded. Gayle

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nancy Johnston
1.0
March 25, 2020

"I had a fantastic experience with Kevin at Koppy motors...."

- Woods

I had a fantastic experience with Kevin at Koppy motors. He went above and beyond to help me find a car within my means and even delivered it to St.Cloud for me!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kevin
November 23, 2019

"Don’t even waste your time with this dealership move on..."

- rmseguin

Don’t even waste your time with this dealership move on to the next one that has people that care about customers. All they care about is money horrible customer service.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kevin
November 10, 2018

"Not good for there word"

- What ?

Disappointing and poor moral values. My husband called them on a Friday to tell them we would be traveling five and a half hours to look at a truck on Saturday. He made it clear we wouldn't arrive until noon. Upon arrival at 11:30, they informed us that they had sold it 5 minutes ago. They had his cell phone number, and a reputable business would have called. A man is only as good as his word.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chelsea
October 02, 2018

"Very helpful"

- Cbmertz30

We let Matt (manager) know what we were looking for in a used truck, and he got back to us much quicker than expected with a few options. One was exactly what we were looking for. He was very helpful in arranging a time for looking it over and test driving. We bought it the following day, which was also quite easy. We paid cash, but the finance folks are right there too. The staff have been very responsive and helpful with some follow up questions we had about incidentals (license plate, tabs, etc) in the days after we bought it. I would definitely recommend them to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Lasiuta
September 01, 2018

"They are not straight"

- Pags

In summary of this long review; I bought a decent used pickup from Koppy Motors, but they were not straight with me. Neither did they quite live up to their 120 point inspection process with me, that they boast of… they did the minimal amount of repair work instead of the proper repair work. Lastly I was constantly interrupted and talked over while trying to negotiate. The salesman had no interest in hearing the numbers I had researched on CarGurus, Edmunds, Kelly BB. He just talked over me when I tried to present them. It is "buyer beware" when it comes to used cars, and Koppy Motors is no different. The pickup I purchased had fresh paint overspray on the frame, shocks, wheel well and a wire harness. When I enquired about it the salesman dismissed it as factory overspray. But I knew that was not true. Vehicle bodies (that are mounted on frames) are spray-painted at the factory before they are married to the frame, so there's not chance at all of there being paint overspray anywhere else. Right away I knew that the salesman was not being straight with me... it just set a tone of suspicion and wariness for the rest of the sales process. The pickup was mechanically sound, and drove well. The engine ran smooth and had the power I would expect from this engine. The exhaust looked clean, not emitting blue or white smoke. The transmission shifted smoothly. The front end felt tight as it should be and the truck handled well. I could not find any evidence of a collision that I suspected might be the case due to the paint work. I was looking for this specific pickup configuration and color. So I purchased it even though I was feeling a little uneasy about the paint work. After purchasing it, my mechanic inspected it and said rust repair work had been done very recently which explained the paint work. The cab corners had been replaced. The entire sides (both) of the pickup body had been painted, as well as the rocker panels and lower cab corners on both sides. While they seemed to have properly repaired the cab corners I was disappointed that they just simply painted over the smaller rusted areas around the rear wheel well without actually removing the rust... sloppy work. When I pointed out the rust bubbles under the paint the salesman asked "Whadaya expect for an 8 year old truck?" I was trying to point out that they had been painted over but he was reacting as if I was just pointing out that they existed. Why couldn't the salesman just have been straight with me about this instead of dismissing the obvious telltale, with a wave of his hands, smugly saying "Oh thats just factory over-spray". I mean how do you react when you know a salesman is lying to you? Do you call him on it and submit yourself to further lies with him trying to defend the original lie? Or do you just keep quiet and take notice that he is not being straight (which is what I did). My mechanic said the pickup was good but noted that one of the rear shocks was starting to leak and ought to be replaced. He also pointed out that the rear brake pads had just been changed but they neglected to replace or turn down the rotors as they were scored...this is usually done in a professional quality brake job. I would expect these two things to have been properly repaired as part of their 120 point inspection they boast that their used cars go through before being put on the lot. The salesman claimed the pickup was a fresh trade-in but CarGurus showed it had been listed for 85 days. An obvious effort to push me into buying it before others came to look at a "fresh" listing. Why couldn’t he just have been straight about this? I mean the evidence was on CarGurus. Another instance of the salesman not being straight with me involved my trade-in vehicle. The salesman asked if the timing belt had been changed on my trade-in, a Subaru Outback. I was honest and told him it hadn’t. It wasn't quite due yet for another 5,000 miles or so and it hadn’t occurred to me that it would become a factor in negotiating a price until he brought it up. He sensationalized the fact that it hadn't been changed yet and said it would cost from $1,500 to $2,000 to change it. When I got home I called my local Subaru dealer and asked what the cost was and they said $650. The RepairPal website says the average cost of a timing belt change is $380 to $700. This irks me because I compromised on what I was wiling to pay for the used pickup based on his $1,500 to $2,000 timing belt change cost. I paid $700 more for this vehicle by compromising splitting the fictitious cost of the timing belt replacement. Furthermore, the salesman said that nobody was interested in my Subaru Outback trade-in and that it would just sit on his lot… which was just plain BS. After the deal I watched for it on their website and it got listed for precisely $4,000 more than I traded it in for and it was gone in less than 2 weeks. And I wonder if they changed the timing belt before reselling it? Lastly, they failed to get me my proper registration stickers and paperwork within the 21 day temporary registration period. I could not legally drive the pickup for 3 days. They said it had already been mailed to me, but it was was post marked the day after I called. They said it was the DMV's fault but I went to the DMV first before calling them and the DMV told me that the paper work had already been processed and and the dealer was slow in mailing it to me. This really aggravated me to the point I decided to write this review because it was one more instance of not being straight with me, not to mention that I couldn't legally drive the pickup over the weekend and to work on Monday morning. In conclusion, I like the pickup, and I'm okay with the rust repair ( after all this is MN and vehicles rust here), and I’m angry with myself for folding on the price based on the misinformation the salesman fed me about the timing belt replacement costs. If they were just straight with me and had properly fixed the things they boast about inspecting I'd be much happier with this deal.

Read More
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Russ
1
1 - 10 of 23 results