Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Scarritt Lincoln-mercury

Seminole, FL

N/A
9 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

8350 Park Blvd

Seminole, FL

33777

Directions

Is this your dealership?

9 Reviews of Scarritt Lincoln-mercury

Sort by Write a review
November 16, 2014

"Scarritt Best dealership ever!!"

- keithmoore548

My wife and I come to Florida every year from Michigan. We spend the winters at are home in Treasure Island.We have bought Mercurys and Lincolns from Scarritt Lincoln Mercury for years . We were buying from them when they were on 34th street in south St. Petersbursg. Everyone at the dealership was always friendly and helpful. The General Manager and son of the owner , Morgan Scarritt is one of the main reasons we kept coming back. He always gave us personal attention by helping us purchase the right vehicle at the right price, ensuring that we got very quick service and that our vehicles were always serviced properly. We enjoyed the friendly family atmosphere that always existed at Scarritt Lincoln Mercury. My wife and I are very sad to find out that they are no longer in business and I guess they sold the territory to Autonation . We will miss Scarritt Lincoln Mercury!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Morgan Scarritt
January 12, 2013

"I was in the market for a minivan and I found a nice..."

- kaask

I was in the market for a minivan and I found a nice Windstar on their lot. I asked them if it was ever in an accident (standard question for most buyers) and they said no. So I bought it. Long story short...the van was nearly demolished in a bad collision (I verified it with the former owner). Scarritt LIED THRU THEIR TEETH. Don't EVER buy anything from Scarritt, ever. K, Largo, FL

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Don't remember their names anymore
August 09, 2012

"Be very careful when going to this dealership. I had my..."

- white33707

Be very careful when going to this dealership. I had my minivan serviced here with transmission problems. I took it here because I thought I could trust them to not rake me through the coals, but they did. They told me I had to replace my entire transmission and come to find out all they had to replace was the torch converter. I found out by Ford throwing out a recall on my exact problem. When I turned in for the refund on the recall, Ford would only give a refund for the actual problem, not the extra work Scarritt did beyond what was needed. In talking with the Service manager and the Owner Frank Scarritt, they threw their hands up and were not willing to own up to what they did. Ford specifically told me and them that the Torch converter was the only problem and still no care at all from Scarritt. It also took me over a month to get any response from Frank Scarritt. It was like he was hiding behind his service manager. The service manager bounced around from excuse to excuse and even told me he wasn't employed there at the time of the service so there was nothing he could do. Please think twice before trusting scarritt...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe McKenney and Frank Scarritt
July 24, 2012

"Sales manager takes over deal and really tries to screw..."

- DRUDDELL

Sales manager takes over deal and really tries to screw you. Sales people are forbidden to talk prices??? WTF? HOW DO THEY STAY IN BUSINESS?

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Larry
June 16, 2012

"Scarritt Lincoln Mercury should rename themselves “Scary”..."

- Reviewer1946

Scarritt Lincoln Mercury should rename themselves “Scary” Lincoln Mercury because they confirmed all of my fears regarding shady car dealerships. I read reviews a lot to steer clear of unethical companies and unreliable products, but I have actually never been compelled to write a negative review before. I am an educated professional whose sole purpose of writing this is to inform others so that they don’t have the same experience that I did with this company. I went into look at a used car and the sales people were very friendly. We had discussions about price and when they presented their numbers, I brought up the Kelly Blue Book on their car and my trade. Because of that, we used those numbers to negotiate a price. I told them if I could get the price they wrote out in detail, that I would sign for the car on the spot. If they couldn’t honor that, I would pass. My current car was not paid off yet and running well, so I wasn’t in a rush to buy. They told me that two people had come in looking for my trade and they could sell it quickly. The sales person said, sign here below what we worked out (informal figures) and I will talk to finance. After going in the back (I assumed he was speaking to other staff) he said “I can get you these numbers, but we just need to try and get you the best finance deal. Why don’t you take the car tonight so that I can advertise your trade here, and come back tomorrow to sign the paperwork?” I said I would only take the car home if I could get what he wrote down and he said, “It may not be exact, but we can get you close to the monthly payment.” At that point, another salesman came up and said, “We can get you close to this so you might as well take the car home and make sure you like it.” I told them if they couldn’t get what we discussed, that I would rather take my car home and talk on the phone about financing so that I didn’t have to drive an hour back if I was not happy with the final price. They encouraged me by saying, “The owner will work with us once you are approved.” So I took the car home. The next day, after friends, family and coworkers all saw or rode in my “new car,” I got a call at work from a third salesperson who left a message stating, “We worked it out to get close to the payment you wanted, so come in and we can finish the paperwork.” I called her back and asked the amount and interest rate, but she said she didn’t have the exact details from the other salesman, but only knew that it was near the payment we discussed. So I drove over an hour to the dealership and sat down to wait for the paperwork. The finance guy sat down and said, “Well, you’re approved!” I was extremely happy and excited to purchase the car. Then he said, “The only problem is that we can’t get you near the payment you wanted. He showed me the numbers and it was over $4000 dollars more than discussed and nearly $100 more dollars per month! I told him that I only took the car home under the impression that I was getting what I signed for. I asked him to see that paper and he told me it wasn’t there. I asked him to look in the file and he said “It’s not here.” Then I reached over, looked through the papers myself and pulled it out to show him that we negotiated price and I signed my name for documentation. After talking awhile, he went to get one of the owners. He came out and slammed his business card in front of me, pointing to it, saying, “That’s me” to let me know he owned the place. He started talking to me in a condescending way indicating that I knew nothing about purchasing a car. He also belittled his staff saying that they shouldn’t have done this and I informed him that their mistakes shouldn’t affect me. I told him that I was referencing the Blue Book when we came up with the informal numbers and he said, “I don’t believe you, I am going to look it up.” Shortly after that, another Internet salesman came out with my car key. During the wait time, I looked up reviews for Scarritt and was shocked by the stories of others that were similar to mine. I told the salesman that I would like to read these to Mr. Scarritt. He came back and said, “He is on the phone.” He wouldn’t even come back to apologize and give me the key himself. I felt as if I had wasted too much time already and left. I felt extremely upset, scammed, and embarrassed that I had fallen for this type of dishonesty. I developed the following hypothesis: 1. The sales people are genuinely nice and wanted to give a fair deal, but the owner stepped in after discussions and rescinded the informal agreement. This would show an obvious lack of integrity in the company and suggest that this is regular practice. -or- 2. The sales people do this trick all the time. They let people come in, negotiate a price, and tell them to drive home to make sure they like it, knowing they will fall in love with it. Then, when the person comes back with less willpower than myself, they agree to pay the higher price than agreed upon. You be the judge, but either way, it is no way to run a company. $4000 dollars to an individual is a sacrifice, and to a dealership it is nothing. I would advise that you chose an honest, fair dealership versus Scarritt Lincoln Mercury who are unethical, unprofessional and do not deserve your business (which is probably much more than $4000). Good luck with your purchase elsewhere!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scarritt
April 17, 2012

"What a HORRIBLE experience!! VERY unprofessional and..."

- TheMake

What a HORRIBLE experience!! VERY unprofessional and unethical in how they run their business and treat their customers. We had agreed on the purchase price of a vehicle they had listed, PUT DOWN A DEPOSIT, and they agreed to deliver the vehicle to us. The day before the scheduled delivery they weren't returning our phone calls so we could finalize the transfer, etc. Just to find out, they had sold the vehicle out from under us! Absolutley disgusted.. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS DEALERSHIP!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Everett and HAROLD (awful)
November 18, 2011

"Rude and dishonest. I wish I could give less than one..."

- jimbenac

Rude and dishonest. I wish I could give less than one star. I was most disappointed in the behavior of one of their sales representatives this morning. I had an appointment to meet with George Artzer at 11:45 am today and I was there exactly on time. Since I had to drive an for over an hour to get to the dealership, I previously asked him if he could give me a report on the car condition, specifically and dings or problems with the paint. He told me that he went out to look at the car, and there was nothing negative about the vehicle. When I arrived and looked at the car, the hood had a definite paint issue. And the top was badly stained in at least 4 areas. The stain on the top could be seen from 20 feet away. The vehicle was misrepresented. Mr. Artzer did not even have the courtesy to meet me face to face. He sent a representative out to talk to me. I waited for over a half an hour, and he never did come out. At one point, I was told that the price could be discounted about $90.00 ( It was a used car listed at $12,999.00 ). I suggested to the reresentative that I would make an offer based on the condition of the car, and the representative said "Sorry we could not help you today". Needless to say, I will not be returning to Scarritt.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
George Artster
September 14, 2011

"***WARNING*** Worst dealership and experience I have ever..."

- rkpbap

***WARNING*** Worst dealership and experience I have ever had!!!! They lie, are not honest, will cheat you and they don't honor their contracts. I test drove a vehicle, liked it, an offer to purchase was accepted and it was paid for in full. Dealer agreed to fix the obvious problems. It was left at the dealer over night to get repairs done that they agreed to fix. **MAJOR PROBLEM**with the DEALER and the vehicle. They didn't want to repair it due to the cost of the repairs even though the vehicle was paid for and contract written up with those repairs required. This is a vehicle that supposedly went through their 150+point inspection. If they can miss a huge repair that effects the safety of a car- how well is the quality of car that they are trying to pawn off on people. The vehicle in question had an issue whereas, the whole steering column assembly has broken off of the main support beam of the vehicle, it's the one that is supposed to keep the whole column assembly in place. This houses the steering wheel, the actual column arm, tilt control, indicator signals, windshield wiper controls, cruise control; it's not just the screws that have come lose, the whole thing has broken off the main support. I took the vehicle to certified mechanic as well to view and said they have never seen anything like that and it was so bad and obvious that they can't believe they didn't know about it, especially during their "wonderful" whatever hundred something point inspection. I guess they were hoping that some poor unsuspecting car buyer comes to purchase it and doesn't realize that it is broken. The vehicle is not safe to drive. It will be a hazard to the roads until correctly fixed. I hope no one buys it or test drives it and the whole steering column fall out causing them to get into an accident.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Geroge, Kathy, Scarritt Jr., finance mgr
November 26, 2010

"After agreeing to a price for a new Lincolm MKX, $25000..."

- captpat

After agreeing to a price for a new Lincolm MKX, $25000 plus my trade-in I turned over my Lexus RX330 and provided a check for $5000 on Friday 11/19/2010. The vehicle was to be delived on Monday 11/22/2010. On Monday my vehicle was not there they would not explain where it went or what happened to it but said "it was off the table" there was another vehicle in the lot that they could let me have for $3000 more. A classic "Bait and switch" The car I bought was 48K and the one on the lot was $43k. I asked for and received my Lexus, check and registration back, told them I was not comfortable dealing with them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Richard Gibson, F. Morgan Scarritt III
1
1 - 9 of 9 results