Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Subaru of Sherman Oaks

3.7

68 Lifetime Reviews

5747 Van Nuys Blvd, Van Nuys, California 91401 Directions
Call (818) 670-7450

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

68 Reviews of Subaru of Sherman Oaks

Sort by Write a review
August 13, 2019

"No friction, no hassles.Just wonderful service."

- Meat

Once again great service great people.Thank you like always for making my service on my 2016 STI a wonderful experience.Your the best.Highly recommend.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
All of them
April 03, 2019

"Excellent Service"

- Ariel G.

My '17 Subaru STI was having some issues, so I brought it in to Subaru Sherman Oaks to have it looked at. My service advisor was Scott Smith. He was very friendly and made the whole process run smoothly from start to finish. Scott immediately had me take one of the lead techs out for a test drive so that we could start identify the issues being had with the transmission. I had to leave the car there overnight for further inspection, and was provided with a loaner vehicle the next day once they decided they needed to open up the transmission and look inside. Throughout the two weeks my car was at Subaru Sherman Oaks (they are very busy due to the recent closure of Santa Clarita Subaru, so be prepared to wait), Scott would send me updates by text message almost every other day about exactly what stage they were in the process of fixing my car. They ended up replacing the pressure plate and throwout bearing, as well as the 4th gear synchro. I was also having issue with the car hesitating to start in the mornings, which they attributed to a bad battery, which was also replaced. They even replaced my shifter boot because some of the stitching on it had come loose. All of this was covered under warranty. My car feels so much better to drive now, and I am very glad I took it here, especially while it was still under warranty. Good service is very hard to come by, especially at commercial car dealerships; however, Scott at Subaru of Sherman Oaks was excellent. I highly recommend getting him as your service advisor, especially for major repairs, as it may be a hit or miss when it comes to other advisors.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scott Smith
July 01, 2018

"Incompetence, Upselling, Untrustworthiness"

- Sweetpea

“Per customer request”—not true! I was told several things were needed to be done, like new filters and fluids, so I had them done. General service was therefore $1,200. My car-savvy friends laughed at me later. Worse still, my car immediately after began having all sorts of other problems with warning lights going on, etc. when I returned a few days later, they tried to sell me new tires before my car’s issue was even identified. I don’t trust this place and regret giving them a chance. I’m writing this as I wait, wait, wait too long to pay for a mistake they are probably responsible for, either intentionally to make another $100, or through incompetence

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I don’t believe in singling out people; they are a team
October 17, 2017

"2017 Outback Purchase"

- Sportsmedman

Wife had been looking at Outbacks for several years and decided to get a limited model. She got an email from certified Subaru deals and saw some top of the line used Touring models from Subaru dealers in Bakersfield, Sherman Oaks and Puente Hills, all with less than 4000 miles. I stopped by Sherman Oaks Subaru and spoke with Jaime. He told me they rock bottom prices on used vehicles so no haggle. I was not interested in the used Touring. He then told me about 4 new 2017 Touring Outbacks in stock that they need to move. He gave me OTD quotes and he stuck with that when my wife and I returned four days later to look at the car. Let me just say that with tax and license the OTD price was still way below the sticker price.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jaime
October 14, 2017

"Bait and Switch"

- disappointed

Do not use this dealership!!! I had made an appointment at 10:30 am today to test drive and purchase an Outback 2017 pre owned touring 3.5R and had received a confirmation. When I arrived I was informed the car was sold the night before. I was not notified before driving 3 hours round trip in LA traffic to this dealership. The salesman I was instructed to contact, Logan Clark, was not available. A different sales representative wanted to sell us a new Outback at a much higher price and was not negotiable. This dealership is unreputable and I question the legality of their sales practice. I will never return to this dealership

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Logan Clark
September 13, 2017

"incompetent technicians"

- PW

Took my car in for a fix for a recall. On top of taking 6 weeks to repair, my car stared burning oil and smoking after I got it back. Took it to a different service center and found out I was missing $500 in parts.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Darrel
August 03, 2017

"Worst customer service ever"

- Shadow09

I have reached out to this dealership multiple times now to ask questions about a vehicle i would like to purchase. I live pretty far from them and I do work a lot so I do not have time to be going over to this dealership just to get information. I have asked to deal with someone experienced and they keep emailing me the same crap over and over it's like they are machines preprogrammed to respond the same. They want you to come in no matter what. Why do they even have a e-mail or online portion of the business, is it just to get some information so they can keep bothering you to come in and test drive a car like it's some sort of special privledge they are giving only to you. They pretty much only want you to come in so they can try sucking as much money out of you as they can in person and then when they come to realize that your not one of those people they can do that with they don't want to deal with you and you leave and waste your time for a hour+. I have requested quotes from multiple other Subaru dealerships throughout southern California and this seems to be the only dealer that doesn't respond to requests. I also called them and at first they refused to give a quote saying that they can't give me a quote without running my credit first. Then they didn't even give me a full quote they just said it's the msrp + taxes and fees.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Breanna Scott, Mayra Lopez, Tyler Rohn, Yesenia Lara, Melanie Aldana.
August 25, 2016

"Brought my Outback for a repair. "

- Not Happy

Brought in my Outback for a repair. They estimated $280.65 for parts and labor up front. My wife paid the whole invoice upfront on cc. I called another dealership in Santa Monica, they told me the repair is $100 and the part was $50. William told me the switch is $39 his cost. Santa Monica dealer said the cost was $50 but that's $30 cheaper than William quoted. He was very patronizing and never allowed me to speak. They should not charge for the repair upfront, they can charge for diagnostics that's the law I believe. This is the second time this dealer is charging higher estimates than Glendale and Santa Monica I will never bring my car over there for a repair again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
William service manager.
September 10, 2015

"Shady people. Horrible Business model"

- shibli09

Shady people here. I spoke to Yessenia on the phone asking for a 2016 STi Base World Rally Blue. They asked if there was another color or car I was interested in and I told her NO. I told her I am looking for this SPECIFIC car/color and I am not interested in anything else. She put me on hold and came back and told me there were 2 WRB STi Base sitting on the lot if I want to come in and check them out. They had ZERO World Rally Blue STi's on the lot. They lied to me just to get me to the lot even though I told them I was absolutely not interested in anything but that specific car. Bad customer relations, shady business model. I went to Galpin Subaru and they were straight up with me and told me they had none but can order one for me if I wanted. I'd rather take my business to someone who won't lie to me on a first contact basis.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Yessenia
July 09, 2014

"Arrogant dealer !"

- unic66

I had a terrible experience with Logan.He was very arrogant unprofessional and ill informed. I was trying to help my 77 year old mother purchase a car outright but the lady doing the paperwork said that they can:t take her business check that Logan had told me he would honor earlier over the phone!We walked out of there empty handed and very disappointed!It did not look like they wanted to sell that car to us from the get go!I definitely would not recommend this kind of second class service to anyone!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Logan Clark
1
...
1 - 10 of 68 results