Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Thrifty Car Sales Gilbert

Gilbert, AZ

2.6
43 Reviews

881 N Arizona Ave

Gilbert, AZ

85326

Directions

Is this your dealership?

43 Reviews of Thrifty Car Sales Gilbert

Sort by
August 16, 2021

"An EPIC Thank You to Thirfty!!! Shot out to Chuy and..."

- Mrs. Poole

An EPIC Thank You to Thirfty!!! Shot out to Chuy and Carlos for hooking ME up with a ONCE in a LIFETIME deal!!!! I don’t know how I would of done it without them - blessed.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chuy, Carlos, Adam, Tim
July 23, 2021

"BUYER BEWARE. The warranty is worthless. I purchased..."

- gailkurp

BUYER BEWARE. The warranty is worthless. I purchased two cars from these people in one day a few months ago, both older cars for my daughters. One of the cars was fine, but the other had numerous problems with it from the jump. It was abundantly obvious they had lied about doing a detailed inspection on the vehicle. So things started breaking down one after another within the first week. At first, they fixed the small things, but not very well. Twice I had to take the car to another repair shop to clean up the work and complete the repair. This was for relatively minor issues like windows that wouldn't go up and down (one was stuck open), head rests that were literally falling apart (they duct-taped them together), the brakes made a terrible noise (they never fixed that and it's still happening) and the door handles just fell off one day (they fixed that one). And we paid $10,000+ for this xxx! Then came the big one: The A/C went out. Big expense, should have been covered by the warranty, at least as that warranty was presented during the sales pitch. I was told "you won't have to worry about any big expenses for at least a year! We'll fix anything that comes up!" But that was a lie! They have refused to fix the A/C. They put a little freon in it once as a band-aid fix, but a few days later, no air again. I have taken the vehicle to two different repair shops, both came in at a cost of $2,000. I have requested multiple times for Adam at Thrifty to fix the car under warranty - or at least pursuant to the promises he made - but to no avail. No return calls, no response to texts, and no attempt to make things right on this vehicle. Now car sits parked, no A/C, we owe more than it's worth on it, and Adam at Thrifty refuses to return calls or texts. So all I can say is BUYER BEWARE. Don't trust them, don't trust their so-called "warranty" and buy your car ANYWHERE else. Nothing they say to you during the sales pitch will prove to be true. Cross posted this review on Google and Yelp. Yes, they are that bad - I'm going to get the word out any way I possibly can so someone else doesn't get screwed over like we did.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adam
June 05, 2021

"They sold us a Lemon. Drove it for a few days and the car..."

- Ltodd

They sold us a Lemon. Drove it for a few days and the car began to stall and blow white smoke. Took it back for service and they said they would have to replace the engine. Then miraculously they found a much cheaper fix for them because the car was/is still under warranty. 2 weeks later the same issue! They don't give you any paperwork when service is done on your vehicle. THE ULTIMATE RED FLAG! Also the year and price of the vehicle was listed incorrectly 🙄

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adam
January 01, 2021

"Doug and Zo were very personable, professional, and..."

- Tracey yvonne

Doug and Zo were very personable, professional, and thorough! Best car experience my mother and I have experienced! Thank you for putting me into my forever car!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
DOUG and ZO
December 24, 2020

"Car Lot Bazinga!! I called Mr. Andrew, your friendly Car..."

- Carnissan2011

Car Lot Bazinga!! I called Mr. Andrew, your friendly Car Salesman (cuz he sent me a msg on my phone, cuz I'm doing car loan apps all over the place), and let him know I was having a hard time finding a lot that would finance me. Mr. Andrew asked me a few questions and said "Well, come on down and we'll see how we can help you. I see your apps already here online, so we have everything we need." I said, "Well, I'm not coming down anywhere cuz I got no wheels, and I'm gettin' a bit old to be doin' 6-7 hrs on the bus. That's why I'm trying to get a vehicle. Can you help me with that?" Mr. Andrew said, "You sit tight, I'm coming to get you." So, I let this salesman pick me up, take me to my bank, then to this car lot to maybe get a car. When I get there, the paperwork was already done except the signatures. It went so fast and absolutely painless! The whole happy team effort was a cooperated blur. Mike the owner was super nice. Chuy was determined to get my loan through. And I have a car, in less time than it takes me to go grocary shopping! Whaaaat? I'm driving off the lot, thinking, Wow! That was absolutely painless!! That's never happened before! "Okay, what just happened?" All the guys and gals on this car lot team are clearly attached by the brain to be able to push through a loan pkg this fast. I'm very glad I chose to call Andrew, who took a big load off me by coming to get me, taking me to the bank to get my statement, then spending all that time with me, except to gas up and spit-shine my car!! I still can't believe it!! These people wanna sell a car!!! Don't believe me? Go see 'em!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adam, Mike, Chuy, Andrew
August 09, 2020

"A paperwork nightmare"

- betrbiz

If you purchase a vehicle here GET EVERYTHING IN WRITING. Don't leave until everything they promised is documented and you have copies. Car #1 was purchased last year, several promises made to make repairs found needed during test drive. They sold us an extended warranty and used that warranty to make repairs that their shop NEVER REPAIRED. We rigged things under hood to see if they even touched them, and the clear tape hadn't been broken or moved. Fast forward to time to get my "great used car" emissions. FAIL. The repairs they did? Oh they took off the battery to clear the codes. Took car back to their repair shop, oh motor is toast. They sell me a truck I do paperwork for a truck I inspected in another "storage lot". Do paperwork, oh sorry we can't get that truck. We have another great truck for 20k more. Oh sorry, banks wouldn't approve loan, go ahead and pick another car. After this just wanted my original car back. No, sorry your car belongs to us now, you signed the paperwork. You have to pick another car. I pick another car, deal is done. 4 weeks later I total that vehicle only to find out that my original trade in was still in my name, and currently for sale on their lot, the vehicle they sold me was titled to ANOTHER DEALERSHIP, and the GAP insurance I purchased on the new vehicle was never filed. Payoff on old vehicle not completed. Avoid this place like the plague. I am not looking forward to the battle I am about to encounter now with insurance companies, attorney generals office, complaints that I have to take the time to file, plus potentially having to sue this dealership to get my loan paid off on old car, and potentially a battle with the GAP insurance company that I paid for. This is without saying that the vehicle I bought was listed on their inventory for 12k but my contract ended up showing 19k, the fact that they sold a vehicle registered to another dealership they are NOT affiliated with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adam Golding
July 16, 2020

"This dealership was not what I expected from a dealership..."

- Azbionica

This dealership was not what I expected from a dealership during the COVID crisis. I felt as though I was not treated professionally or respectfully by the aggressive salesman, who I believe was severely dishonest. I am working now with them (Jeff, Manager?) in an attempt to resolve issues, we shall see how it goes from here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adam Golding, Tami Golding, Doug Morley
January 02, 2020

"This place is a joke!!! Adam , the staff and the service..."

- pizzassm

This place is a joke!!! Adam , the staff and the service department are into selling you lemons. Purchased a vehicle 2 months ago nothing but trouble since. Electrical issues, leaking fuel the list goes on. They sell you crap so they get your $$ then they get more $$ cause they offer to fix any issues with their crappy service department. Example one item to be replaced before purchase was the battery, the only thing they replaced was the sticker on the battery to make it appear it was new, They also said they would put on a new spare, got the car no spare!! Like i said list goes on!!! Adam is a fast talker and heartless this place should not be operating legally. Save yourself keep driving by them

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adam, service department,
August 10, 2019

"Nothing but lip service"

- Disappointed

Adam the owner makes promises that he doesn’t keep so don’t go to this place. The service department is too busy to take care of the small stuff so don’t even bother calling them. Adam smiles as he shakes your hand and makes a promise to take great care of you. I feel like after talking to him I need a shower to wash off the slime.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adam and some grumpy big guy
January 23, 2019

"Owner rip off"

- Dockaw91

Sold a lemon to me. Only drove it two days and had to do 8 + trips to try to get things straightened out. Never happened. When to return the car but still refused to return my money. I can't believe this car was ever inspected. Upon returning the car, the owner reduced its value because the deal had been made. Never took in consideration the number of problems with the car, the number of trips to try to get repairs, was never repaired properly. Boss is a good talker finds another I can really not afford because I wanted to pay cash. I was forced to take another car and a loan on that car. The story got so twisted that I was stuck. Don't let the owner play games with you. It was said the owner did not make much money on the new car I had to buy but in fact he did make money. The $3,000 we're supposedly applied to the new car. Remember he reduced the value of the first car upon my having to return the dud. Fast talker. No service after the sale. Be aware!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Back-office completely incompetent. Owner never returns calls until I threatened with the BBB the Attorney General and so on. I still got ripped off. Be very careful.
1
...
1 - 10 of 43 results