Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Toyota of San Luis Obispo

San Luis Obispo, CA

not yet
rated
26 Reviews

12350 Los Osos Valley Rd

San Luis Obispo, CA

93405

Directions

26 Reviews of Toyota of San Luis Obispo

Sort by
September 09, 2021

"Worst dealership in the system. Came in because I knew I..."

- franktarget

Worst dealership in the system. Came in because I knew I had a short in the ABS system. I made it crystal clear I only wanted to know if repair was covered by warranty. After almost two hours I was advised I had a short in my ABS system and it was not covered by the warranty and I must pay $145 for this information. No repair was made. This is a blatant ripoff. I will never return to this dealer. I have purchased only Toyota vehicles since 1965 and have had nothing but sterling service from several other dealerships. This dealership is predatory and taking advantage of no competition nearby.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jim Clanin.
July 10, 2021

"Very responsive sales staff. I was looking for a Toyota..."

- coapm7981

Very responsive sales staff. I was looking for a Toyota Landcruiser. Took time to send a bunch of photos of vehicle I wanted to trade. After all of that they informed me that the price quoted on Cars.com was exactly $30,000 lower than the asking price. Had I known that I wouldn’t have wasted my time or theirs. If I can’t rely on pricing and other information on Cars.com, I will start searching other websites. Need some sort of control here. It’s fine for a seller to say “call for price”. However, posting of a fake selling price SHOULD NEVER be allowed.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Can’t remember but they were not the problem.
May 27, 2021

"Ramon was a breath of fresh air after other dealerships..."

- uh...khakis

Ramon was a breath of fresh air after other dealerships we visited. His good humored demeanor, non-pressure style, way of explaining tech features, and the enthusiasm he gains from his own experience buying and driving the Prius make him the IDEAL guy to help you fall in love with the car. I appreciate his generosity with his time in the lot and the backseat. Unfortunately, the COVID car shortage combined with the dealership's inflexible bear-market pricing quirks made it difficult to find a jumping off point for negotiation. Ramon remained excellent at the table. I would give him specifically all five customer service stars for the play of the hand he was holding. However, I can't star the customer service of the dealership until the upper echelons relax the stiffness of how they do business so talented employees can spread their wings. That said, I'm leaving a review because I'm happy and would come back. I expect the limiting circumstances to change once the auto market is in happier times. Please give this dealership a chance to make you happy too.

Read More
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ramon R.
December 10, 2019

"Service dpeartment cannot keep up with the vehicles they sel"

- U SPECIAL

We bought a Highlander from Toyota SLO. I shopper from Santa Barbara to San Jose including Fresno and Bakersfield. I could have saved about $1,000 almost anywhere else. And the Honda dealer next door was going sell me a comparable Pilot for a $1,000 less than the Highlander. I'm a long time Toyota guy and decided the extra cost at SLO would be worth it to have a local dealer. Now my one year old Toyota has a rear suspension issue and the service department is too busy to get it in. They want to keep the car for a half of a day to diagnose the issue even though it's on the internet as a service bulletin. They don't have the parts in stock, so they must diagnose my problem for a half a day, then order the parts (there is a service bulletin on the internet - there is a Highlander on every corner and they don't stock the parts), then keep the car for another half a day to fix it. The service department has nice people, very friendly but they cannot (or their manager) comprehend people must work to make their payment, they have families and they cannot spend a half a day multiple times to fix a known issue for a vehicle. Solution - if you want a Toyota (my favorite car) then find the cheapest price you can and buy it where ever you want because the local dealer (SLO) doesn't give a rat's butt after you buy it from them - you just sit and wait at their service department and no one cares. Don't buy a car at SLO if you think you are going to need their help with service. I will never buy a vehicle from them again - NEVER

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Not the employees fault - but service manager is a poor communicator - policy at SLO Toyota is horrible
November 08, 2017

"I wish I could rate this dealership lower than one star. "

- toyotagoodautosbadservice

I brought my truck in for the 30,000 mile service. Checking the engine compartment I noticed that they had not addressed minor corrosion on the battery terminals ... oh and they had not reinstalled the engine cover. Obviously this service department had not performed any final check or quality control. When I returned to the service department I asked them to look in the engine compartment and see if they saw anything wrong. The service writer noted the missing engine cover, but said something to the effect that he couldn't be sure that it had been there earlier. Eventually they located an engine cover ... I don't even know if it was mine ... and installed it. Asking about the batter terminals the response was that I had not paid for the deluxe service! I received no satisfaction from the Service Manager and asked to talk with the owner who was not available. I placed several calls to the dealership requesting a call back from the owner and have never gotten a call back. I can only assume that my experience is not all that unusual. I will never buy another vehicle from San Luis Toyota nor will they ever service a vehicle that I own.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Do not care to remember.
October 18, 2017

"Don’t ever go to this dealership! "

- John09

This place is the absolute worse! Don’t ever take you car in for servicing here. Engine is now completely done. I can’t take it on the freeway with out it completely shutting down. According to Toyota SLO is saying that this is normal for a car to not make it to 5000rpms. BS! If that’s how these cars are made I never want to buy a Toyota again. This service department will lie and falsify service data.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Steve
September 01, 2017

"I was thinking about buying a Toyota from these guys, but..."

- zeke1234

I visited the dealership once and was surprised not a single salesman approached me after 15 minutes while I was looking at cars. I finally left. Thank god I read all the reviews here. I was considering buying a new RAV4, but no way after reading the reviews. I'm not willing to go to Santa Maria. I guess it's going to be a Honda or a Subaru instead.

Read More
Customer Service
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
no one
June 09, 2017

"Unprofessional service "

- Cargirl

As there are no local Lexus dealers I have used this Toyota dealership for oil changes. Both times I had to have someone wipe out the drivers area which had smears of oil EVERYWHERE. Was told "yes this is unacceptable "!! REALLY!!!!!! Was also told I had wear on all tires back ones more so. I informed them I just bought new tires within the week !!! And yet was told "well it depends how a person drives "!!!! This place needs to hear the negative feedback and get it together. Go to Santa Maria not San Luis Obispo

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Martinez
May 29, 2017

"A refreshing new attitude towards negotiation."

- sloChuck

After 4 Toyotas and almost 20 years of frustration of not being able to buy locally because Toyota of San Luis Obispo would not negotiate on new or used cars with me, I was happy to find that this may be changing. I was able to negotiate a reasonable deal on a 2017 Rav4. The salesperson, Rita was helpful and low pressure. After the sale, she was very patient in helping set up all the features new cars now offer (e.g. apps like Entune, the bluetooth connections, Sirius, etc.) The final stages of making the purchase with the "closers" were more stressful and I was glad that I had done some research about factory list pricing, etc.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rita
April 05, 2017

"Extremely Poor Customers Service"

- jmwiesinger

I bought my 2012 Tundra at Toyota of SLO and have it serviced there ever since. I will no longer be bringing my truck to this dealership, because of their extremely poor customer service. They group of middle aged gentlemen who work in the service department, generally speaking, are rude abrasive and show little concern on providing a friendly, accommodating customer service experience. I was able to make an appointment at Toyota of Santa Maria, and will be driving the additional 30 minutes, each way, in order to work with a dealership that offers great customer service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe
1
1 - 10 of 26 results