Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Start your review of Robert Gibson.
Robert Gibson
Robert Gibson at Elhart Automotive Campus
Refer Me
4.5

Robert Gibson

GMC Nissan Hyundai Kia Genesis General Manager

Elhart Automotive Campus

822 Chicago Dr
Holland, MI 49423

Contact Me

I love this company! Elhart is the BEST place to work, buy and service your vehicle! I enjoy serving a family built, owned and operated business with such a great reputation of excellent customer service. When I'm not here I enjoy being with family, friends and our puppy. I love to travel but when I'm home, being on Lake Michigan is where I'm happiest . There's nothing like a cool lake breeze and a sunset cruise.

Dealership Experience

15 yrs, 6 mos

Industry Experience

15 yrs, 6 mos

Specialties & Trainings

Sales and Leasing

Customer Service

View more specialties & trainings
Text
Call
Email
Cancel

18 Reviews of Robert Gibson

March 02, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great people, great dealership! I’ve bought 2 new GMC..."

- brennanjc Verified Customer

Great people, great dealership! I’ve bought 2 new GMC trucks from Elhart GMC and referred my closest friends to Elhart as well. They also purchased a new Hyundai! Great service department as well. Quality work. I trust Elhart more than any other dealership I’ve ever done business with and when I’m in the market for another vehicle, I’ll definitely go back to this dealership!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Mar 03, 2021

Elhart Automotive Campus responded

HI! Thanks for the positive feedback! It's great to hear that you have enjoyed our dealership so much that you've bought two trucks and referred us to your friends. We very much appreciate the opportunity to earn your business and for your loyalty! It's important to us to have life-long relationships with our customers. If there's anything further we can do for you, we are happy to help! Best Regards, Jan Houting, CEO of Customer Relations, jan@elhart.com

February 11, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I ordered a truck, a GMC 2500, in 2008 from the middle of..."

- mgarv485 Verified Customer

I ordered a truck, a GMC 2500, in 2008 from the middle of the worst parts of Iraq, on my fifth deployment. I arrived home and went on leave back home to Holland. There it was with a big “Welcome Home” sign. Flash forward 12 years, I received to same, absolutely stellar service in my purchase of a 2021 GMC 2500

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Feb 12, 2021

Elhart Automotive Campus responded

HI! What a wonderful review! We appreciate the opportunity to earn your business and appreciate your loyalty to us! Most importantly, we would like to THANK YOU for serving our country. Because of men and women like you we can live freely in the USA. Happy driving in your new 2021 GMC 2500 and if you need anything else, please let us know. Best Regards, Jan Houting, CEO of Customer Relations, jan@elhart.com

January 30, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"All Good.Problem resolved ! Transportation to and from..."

- EPRESALES Verified Customer

All Good. Problem resolved ! Transportation to and from Grand Haven, Mich. worked out great! Oil change coming up asap. Made last GM Fin. have zero balance letter coming to my attention. Is Great!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Feb 01, 2021

Elhart Automotive Campus responded

HI! It is great to hear problem was resolved to your satisfaction! We appreciate the time it took to fill out this survey. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. Once again, thank you, and have a fantastic day! Best Regards, Jan Houting, CEO of Customer Relations, jan@elhart.com

December 03, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great Car Buying experience. Ben and Robert couldn't..."

- briantopolewski Verified Customer

Great Car Buying experience. Ben and Robert couldn't have been more nice and sincere in their part in the transaction. Great people, Great price.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Skye Musk, Ben Marietta

Dec 04, 2020

Elhart Automotive Campus responded

HI Brian! Congratulations on your new purchase! I hope you are continuing to enjoy your vehicle and it’s wonderful to know that you feel confident in your decision to choose Elhart Automotive as your dealer. Robert and Ben are valued members of our team and it’s a delight to know that they helped to proudly represent our dealership throughout your purchase. It is imperative to us that we make the car-buying experience painless and efficient. We look forward to servicing you in the future. Until then, Happy Driving! Best Regards, Jan Houting, CEO of Customer Relations, jan@elhart.com

September 17, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Worst car buying experience at any dealership in my 25..."

- Jon McCaskey

Worst car buying experience at any dealership in my 25 years of being able to purchase a used or new vehicle from an automotive manufacturing company. This "new" 2020 Nissan Murano SL AWD Sunset Drift ChromaFlair was going to be my 4th new Murano in 6 years! I had VPP pricing for my 2015 Platinum AWD level Gun Metallic/Graphite, 2016 Platinum AWD level Gun Metallic/Mocha, but wasn't working for a company that qualified for the discount for my 2019 SL AWD Gun Metallic/Graphite. My wife and kids finally talked me into getting a non-dark gray vehicle and the "chameleon" Sunset Drift ChromaFlair Pearl color caught my eye. On 9/8, the last day of the Nissan incentives, I was able to locate 3 SL AWD's within 330 miles of my home - Beaver County Nissan in Beaver Falls, PA; Hawkinson Nissan in Matteson, IL; and Elhart Nissan in Holland, MI. I also located 2 Platinum Sunset Muranos at Warner Nissan in Findlay, OH and Fox Ann Arbor Nissan in Ann Arbor, MI. I preferred the SL because it has the original spin wheels/rims which are easier to clean than the darker platinum wheels with narrow inserts. To me, it wasn't worth the extra money only to have the quilted seats with the cooling option and the wood trim so for a few thousand less the SL in my opinion was the best value. I chose this dealership after learning that they are the 2020 Dealer of the Year State Winner in Michigan and had over 1,225 positive reviews on Dealerrater. However, my experience was near the complete opposite end of the spectrum! Tuesday morning 9/8, I called the Elhart dealership to confirm that they still had the vehicle and asked if it had 14 miles on the odometer like the pictures displayed on their website, my salesperson - Evan Wright - said he'd check and get back with me. Evan called me back a few minutes later and said, "It has a few more miles on it", I said, "Less than 20?, Maybe due to moving it around the lot?" and Evan replied, "Yes". At this point, I expressed my intent to purchase the vehicle and provided my credit card, and driver's license via text message to hold the vehicle and told him I'd be there in 5 hours which was 2 hours before the dealership was going to close that day 5:30pm. I live in Cleveland, Ohio and Waze / Mapquest said it would take 4:48. I arrived at the dealership as promised on time and I provided several eta's during my drive to Evan which he replied "Copy". The dealership (Jeff DeNeff-New Sales Manager) was only willing to offer me $28,000 for my trade (2019 Nissan Murano SL AWD with 19,302 miles and over $1,500 worth of additional amenities on it with 3M tint at 50%, 10 year transferable warranty to the next owner of the vehicle (9 years as I had the car almost a year to date), extra ceramic coating had been applied to the entire front of the vehicle including but not limited to the grill, headlights, badging, and the entire hood to protect against bugs, tar, and any other chemicals/elements that are exposed to the vehicle over the course of a year. The vehicle also had PremiumShield (which is a paint protection film that provides maximum protection for paint while maintaining optical invisibility) on the first 6" of the hood, both mirrors, and the 4 door cups/guards - that came with a lifetime warranty for the next owner because I again provided the original paperwork. Elhart (aka Jeff DeNeff/Robert Gibson) kept low-balling my trade. The $28,000 trade offer was laughable given that they had the same model in Black on their CPO lot with 16,424 miles without the extra $1,500 of protection and were asking $33,000, the selling price has now been reduced to $32,000 as of 9/18. My CPO Murano trade is now on the Elhart website as Stock: KN150160 asking $31,000. I had already visited 2 local dealerships the weekend before making this car purchase and negotiated out-the-door pricing at 4 additional dealerships and knew that Nissan's threshold for the vehicle is/was $31,000 - That didn't matter if it had 10 miles on it or 30,000 miles with every imaginable option (trailer package, alloy wheels, roof rails, ski rack, custom paint - all accessories are viewed as worthless in terms of Trade-In value allowed). The other dealerships all offered me at least $29,800; one was at $30,300 and the highest (Warner Nissan in Findlay, OH was $30,500). The $30,000 level was a fair number I could live with as I'd save money on the taxes given the trade and I didn't want to bother selling it Private Party. Long story short, Elhart made me wait a few hours before agreeing to come up even after I showed them several signed deals. Actually, I had a deal with Warner Nissan in Findlay, OH for the Platinum trim that was LOWER than the original out-the-door price Evan Wright slid across the desk to me!!!! After waiting over 6 hours inside the Elhart dealership (my drive there was just under 5 hours....), Jeff DeNeff & Robert Gibson decided to accept my offer and increased my trade value to $30,000. This identifical win-win scenario had been presented/offered by me before 3:00pm as I wanted to make efficient use of everyone's time and it was now after 8:30pm and I hadn't even made it to the Finance Department - They'd make money on my trade, it would turn quickly given the condition of the vehicle and transferable warranties and they'd make money from me because I always purchase extended service plans and wheel & tire coverage and I'd also get the Nissan survey which if I was able to provide all 10's they'd get a kickback/chunk of change from Nissan. My credit score was in the 800's and I could have paid cash for the vehicle but I only get a few opportunities to use credit and they assured me there isn't a pre-paid penalty so I preferred to keep my money invested. During the signing phase in Finance 8:45pm, Mark Shoe explained all the coverages but only showed how my final monthly payments would be adjusted at the bottom of his prepared selling sheet. On paper it's easy to see which choice makes the most sense in regards to his limited data options listed - "The Bundle", which is sold as an "Over & Above Nissan's standard basic warranties" - Mark said, "Our extended plans cover the keys, dings & dents, repairs at any garage and not just at Nissan-only dealerships. He referenced North Dakota and said there's no Nissan's there but Joe's garage can do the repair and have you on the road in no time. **A quick Google search on my iPhone revealed 4 Nissan dealerships in North Dakota**. Elhart charged me $2,887 for the extended service plan, $1,195 for the wheel & tire Service Contract #2, and $895 for Gap insurance. The out-the-door deals I had previously negotiated at 4 other Nissan dealerships and so openly shared with Evan Wright, Jeff DeNeff, and Robert Gibson during my first offer at 3:00pm was that I was only willing to pay $1,600 for the extended service plan, $600 for the wheel & tire service contract 2 plan, and $499 for the Gap coverage. Given my 8% tax rate Elhart charged me $5,048.60 for the same coverages I could have gotten locally for $2,914.92 a DIFFERENCE of $2,133.68. Hopefully, people read this review and don't purchase these products from Elhart - If you did, you can cancel your insurances, receive a refund and purchase the same coverages for less at another Nissan dealership-believe me, they want your business. Save yourself your hard earned money. Please note - you can only get Gap insurance at the dealership you purchased the vehicle from, in any event, hopefully a future customer reads this review of this dealership and will negotiate their Gap coverage price to $499 instead of paying $895 which is a savings of $396 dollars! Now we're just starting to get to the good (I'm being Sarcastic) stuff. During the odometer statement disclosure portion of my document signing, I noticed it said 211 miles. I asked if this was a misprint and questioned if it should be 21 miles because I called in advance and was told after Evan Wright looked at the vehicle that it had a few more miles than 14 but when I asked if it was less than 20 he said "Yes". This is important because when the vehicle was delivered to me outside in a poorly lit part of their parking lot, I noticed damage to the clearcoat on the hood and a ding/dent on the driver's door on the body line 10" left of the door handle. Elhart closed the dealership and I was ready to start my 5 hour journey back to Cleveland. After pulling out of the lot, I immediately noticed the car pulling to the left. This was odd given it was sold as a "new" car but it did have 211 miles on it. I've driven many rental cars with better handling than this over the years and this was my 4th new Murano in 6 years so I should know the vehicle as I've driven over 300,000 miles in Muranos. During my ride home, the radio cut in and out, it didn't matter if it was FM, AM, Sirius, or AppleCar Play with my phone plugged in or not. The volume button would turn up but the actual sound would not increase, then there were times when it would be a 6 second delay and then the volume would spike and the volume wouldn't go below 5. The screen also went blank/black during periods of time during my journey home. The next day the views rapidly switched from front camera to main radio display without pushing any of the buttons while I was in a McDonald's drive thru. The car was to be properly cleaned and prepared for a complete ceramic coat to showcase the intense unique pearl color Sunset Drift ChromaFlair but when my team was cleaning the vehicle they found 6 additional areas that need a paint correction before even considering to apply ceramic coat to the vehicle. When the vehicle was lifted to remove the wheels to be prepared for ceramic coating the faces of the rims, a significant amount of sand and dirt was discovered in the underbody, the front emblem/main Nissan badge had 2 areas with deep scratches thru the chrome, there was a gash in the dash on the front passenger's interior. Everything was documented and I immediately sent this dealership an email with pictures and expressed my concerns because the list was extensive when you add everything up there wasn't too much of the vehicle that was in good/acceptable condition. The radio unit alone is $5,000 - $6,000. Elhart (Jeff DeNeff) suggested driving the vehicle back to them the next day and they would make the necessary repairs to correct the mistake. The "Be Nice" level of service from them would have been to properly disclose to me when I called in the morning that the actual miles on the vehicle were 211, the car in it's current condition has several areas of the clear coat that need a paint correction and we'd like to make sure the radio is working properly before we deliver the vehicle to you or anyone else who expresses interest in purchasing it. I wasn't about to do another marathon trip as I had prior commitments but their next suggestion was for me to pay to have it transported to them approximately $250 and then I could pick up the car when it was done... So, I'd have to rent a car and make another trip to & back to get my "new" vehicle. Then, Jeff DeNeff suggested bringing a loaner to Cleveland and taking my car - Why would I let anyone from the Elhart dealership drive my car especially when they clearly already abused the vehicle and tried to pass it off as "new" I could only imagine how much worse it might have gotten if I went with that option. I didn't want any additional miles on the vehicle than there already were and offered to take the vehicle to any paint specialist they suggested to get quotes on how much a repair would cost. The most efficient and cost effective plan to resolve the issue(s) ASAP. After providing a quote for $1,080 - ($1,000 for a level-3 paint correction because so much of the car needs addressed to have it look as it should have when it rolled off the assembly line and after passing Nissan's Quality Control for best results the entire car needs prepared and coated and the ding/dent was estimated at $80 given the location on the main body line of the door). I ended up dropping the vehicle off at a local Nissan dealership and had them communicate directly with Elhart rather than billing me full price labor and parts AND then being reimbursed by Elhart - which is the route they wanted to go! The local dealership called them multiple times a day for 3 days in a row and left messages both via the main line and on the New Car Sales Manager's mobile number - Jeff DeNeff. I guess the "Be Nice" doesn't include the common courtesy of respect for another individual and it doesn't continue after a customer leaves their lot. I know Jeff didn't want to deal with me but this was another dealership trying to work with Elhart to resolve a Nissan customer's issue in a quick timely manner. After my local service manager informed me of the extent they had gone to communicate with Elhart, I called Jeff DeNeff and confirmed his mailbox was full and unable to receive messages!!!! I then called Robert Gibson the General Manager, I wanted to know if Jeff DeNeff was still an employee or not and why he couldn't return my local dealers multiple calls, messages over a 3 day period, then I called Jeff Elhart the owner and left him a message of the types of employees he had working for him. You can "Be Nice" and do what you say and what you put out to the world in forms of social media, website, extensive advertising and the little jingles on your employees voicemail messages but if that's not how you truly act in reality then it's probably wise to remove all that cause you're just full of it. I took the time to write this because I don't want anyone else to experience what I did at this dealership. I'm not sure how Evan Wright or Jeff DeNeff can look at themselves in the mirror and feel good about the person looking back at them. I can only control my action(s)/reaction to any given situation and from a consumer's standpoint - No more Mr. Nice Guy. Here we are going on 10 days after purchasing this vehicle and the paint still hasn't been corrected. It turns out, the alignment checked out with Nissan's tolerances, the power steering fluid was changed and the vehicle stays fairly straight (a huge improvement from when I left the Elhart lot and drove over 300 miles...), the badging was replaced for $45, and the radio needed 3 software updates-haven't had any radio issues since the software updates. Jeff said Elhart is fine with the ding/dent repair for $80 when they can probably do it for $60 - really??? Maybe they are just upset that I cancelled all my over inflated coverages they tried to sell me. Maybe they are upset because I'm going to tell all my clients, co-workers, family & friends about my experience with this particular dealership in Michigan. Maybe they are upset because I refused to file a warranty claim with Nissan for the paint correction because ethically, Nissan's Quality Control department would have NEVER signed off on this vehicle's clearcoat damage nor the hard left pulling alignment issue nor the numerous radio issues. I exhausted all the time, energy, and resources with this dealership and their lackluster effort to resolve the issues. Nissan is handling the matter and dealing directly with this dealership because I informed them that my experience was so awful and given the history with the brand that I always get compliments on how sharp my vehicles look (the tint (for heat reduction for clients and my kids, privacy, and cool look) ceramic coating showing the depth of the metallic paint, and premiumshield another protection against bugs, tar, road chemicals. I'm ready to make the switch to one of the following vehicles: Honda Passport, VW Atlas, Toyota Venza, Hyundai Santa Fe, Subaru Outback, Ford Edge, Toyota 4-Runner, Jeep Grand Cherokee, Chevrolet Blazer. *** I would like to recognize the world-class superior service that Evan Wright extended to me when he not only purchased but picked up a Strawberries & Goat Cheese salad ($14) and Pepperoni Pinwheel ($13) appetizers from New Holland Brewing (even after I offered to pay) that we shared with his colleague Ben Comai - both were Excellent and Much Appreciated since I hadn't had the opportunity to eat something since 7:00am that day which was more than a 12-hour stretch between meals. Thank you Evan! ****

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Jeff DeNeff, Evan Wright , Jeff DeNeff, Mark Shoe, Robert Gibson, Jeff Elhart

August 17, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"2nd new truck I have purchased from Elhart GMC. Love the..."

- brennanjc Verified Customer

2nd new truck I have purchased from Elhart GMC. Love the dealership and its friendly "be-nice" culture! Everyone has been very professional and helpful. John Franklin, Service Manager is the best! Thanks to all....and yes I would buy again from Elhart and most definitely would recommend this dealership to anyone looking to purchase a vehicle or in need of service. Thank you again. James Brennan

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Aug 18, 2020

Elhart Automotive Campus responded

Hi James, it was a pleasure to read about your recent experience with our dealership. Our team will be thrilled to hear how their great customer service has produced another satisfied customer. I'll be sure to pass along your kind words. It's fantastic that we have earned your repeat business, and if you need anything else at all, please come back to see us. Best Regards, Jan Houting, CEO of Customer Relations, jan@elhart.com

March 18, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great team and great cars"

- james

Junior and Caryn were phenomenal in assisting me during my recent purchase of a 2019 Genesis G90. They were patient, accommodating, and very helpful throughout the whole process. I would recommend anyone to see them if they are even remotely thinking of getting a car. Great work Elhart, you have quality and valuable employees. Thank you James

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Caryn de la Rosa, Junior de la Rosa, Troy DeWys

Mar 18, 2020

Elhart Automotive Campus responded

HI James! What a wonderful review. We agree, Junior and Caryn are phenomenal and are valuable members of our team. Repeat customers are what we strive for and hope to achieve. Please return when needed and we will be sure to provide the same outstanding customer service. Thanks again for your amazing words and we hope to see you soon. Happy Driving! Best Regards, Jan Houting, CEO of Customer Relations, jan@elhart.com,

February 11, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Friendly always on time"

- ROLDE Verified Customer

We bought a lot of cars at Elhart and was always treated very well. The service has always been very good. We will continue to buy our cars at Elhart.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Feb 12, 2020

Elhart Automotive Campus responded

Thanks so much for the nice review! We appreciate the opportunity to earn your repeat business and loyalty. If you need anything else at all, please come back to see us. Best Regards, Jan Houting, CEO of Customer Relations, jan@elhart.com

January 08, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Service on vehicle "

- BECKMANMARINESERVICE Verified Customer

I was very pleased with Their professionalism and quickness and their ability to service the recall in under 30 minutes. I also like being able to schedule online and receiving reminder text messages the day before and the day of my appointment

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jan 08, 2020

Elhart Automotive Campus responded

Your satisfaction is important to us, so we want to sincerely thank you for choosing Elhart and we hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Jan Houting, CEO of Customer Relations, jan@elhart.com

December 13, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Outstanding!!"

- new27john

As I was searching for a vehicle.......Jr. was involved in a different way.......he was one of my students I had when I was teaching. He was outstanding then and is now. He made sure he made my experience personal. Robert Gibson was another of my students as well and he made sure things ran smoothly. Conrad also was a student and he was the main worker of the deal. Caryn made sure I got the best rate she could get me to make the financing and price right for me. It is alway nice to see former students become outstanding citizens and reach the goals they set forth to accomplish.....it makes me proud!! I have always trusted the Elhart Campus when it came for me to find a vehicle. I did not have KC as a student, but he made sure that I felt welcome as well. Troy worked with the mentioned people as well. He did what he could as well to make sure my experience was top notch. This whole team should get a 5 star rating every time.......THANK YOU!!!!!! They stay on top of everything, God bless you all!!!! And I hope you all have a Very Merry Christmas!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: KC Rossiter , Caryn de la Rosa, Junior de la Rosa, Conrad Riquelme, Troy DeWys

Dec 17, 2019

Elhart Automotive Campus responded

It was a pleasure to read about your recent experience with our dealership. Our team will be thrilled to hear how their great customer service has produced another satisfied customer. I'll be sure to pass along your kind words. Congrats on your new purchase! We appreciate your business, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! God bless you!!!! Have a Merry Christmas! Best Regards, Jan Houting, CEO of Customer Relations, jan@elhart.com

1
1 - 10 of 18 results

Dealership Inventory (492 Vehicles)

used 2017 Kia Forte car, priced at $11,995

2017 Kia Forte

$11,995

new 2021 Hyundai Tucson car, priced at $23,399

2021 Hyundai Tucson

$23,399

new 2021 Kia Sportage car, priced at $29,911

2021 Kia Sportage

$29,911

new 2021 Kia Forte car, priced at $20,756

2021 Kia Forte

$20,756

new 2021 Kia Sportage car, priced at $30,252

2021 Kia Sportage

$30,252

new 2021 Kia K5 car, priced at $28,178

2021 Kia K5

$28,178