Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Start your review of Ryan Thomas.
Ryan Thomas
Ryan  Thomas at Camelback Hyundai Kia
Refer Me
not yet rated

Ryan Thomas

Sales Professional

Camelback Hyundai Kia

1500 E Camelback Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85014

Contact Me

I'm originally from Marquette, MI, but came to AZ after my kids and I were involved in a bad car accident due to the snow. I've got a wonderful wife, and 3 amazing daughters. In my spare time I enjoy hanging out with my family, playing poker, and anything related to race cars. My goal is to help you find the car of your dreams, while providing stellar customer service.

Dealership Experience

2 yrs

Industry Experience

4 yrs, 5 mos

Languages Spoken

English English

Text
Call
Email
Cancel

4 Reviews of Ryan Thomas

October 10, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Bait and Switch on financing and poor customer care.I..."

- Owner

Bait and Switch on financing and poor customer care. I had a written deal with a nice salesman Ryan to purchase a new telluride at 1.9% but I had to wait months until it came in, which was fine, but when it arrived the manager told me he would only sell it at 3.9%. When I tried to explain our agreement he threatened to sell the car to someone else. These are HOT cars so he used that to strong arm me. I will just pay off the car, but completely unethical behavior. I tried to work with the dealership directly to resolve this so I didn’t have to write a bad review, but after more than 5 contacts (phone and email) with the guy in charge of handling customer issues, I got nowhere. He kept promising to have the finance director call me but never happened :(. I’m very happy with the car, but I definitely would not do business again with this dealership. I have emails that back all of this up.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Oct 27, 2020

Camelback Hyundai Kia responded

We apologize if you have had some confusion regarding financing. Our goal is to always deliver great customer service and communication. During our initial talks you were interested in the 1.9% APR. We shared with you that in order to get the best deal you would have to carry financing for at least 6 months and you agreed. When we contacted you that the vehicle arrived and needed to finalize details before shipping it to you in California, you stated you were interested in the additional $1,000 financing rebate thru Kia. As our team explained, that rebate was not available with the 1.9% APR rate, it was only available with the higher 2.75% APR rate. At that time you instructed our team that you wanted to move forward with the $1,000 rebate so we facilitated the switch for you. If you have any other questions or concerns our team can address, please don’t hesitate to reach out to Karl in our Customer Service Department at 602-249-1133.

July 10, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"WARNING: DO NOT BUY HERE! THE STAFF ARE SHADY AND THE OWNER "

- bb

We recently bought a Kia Telluride from Camelbak Kia after extensive research on the model. As a previous Kia owner, we expected a great sales experience. Unfortunately, it was not even close. In our negotiations, we said we were open to whatever method of payment (cash, loan, etc.) that would give us the best price and help the dealership in their metrics. When we reached an agreeable number, we test drove the car and decided to purchase as long as the dealership repaired a tear in one seat. This is when things went downhill. While going over the paperwork with the sales person, we suddenly learned the price required a loan with a nearly 6% interest rate. At no point in our previous negotiations were any stipulations mentioned. We asked for the finance manager. This is when things got ugly. Robert, the finance manager, came in and immediately started arguing with us. He insisted certain stipulations were always included, but it wasn't necessary for him to explain it to the sales person. He also argued that we should take that rate because we were "just going to pay it off right away anyway." He gloated that most people do not come into the dealership as educated as we were about financing. We continued to negotiate, but at one point, Robert threw his hands up and told us we "could just leave." We probably SHOULD have except that we had spent most of the day there with our 3yo and we needed a car because we had just been forced to repatriate from a foreign assignment due to my recent cancer diagnosis. Between COVID-19 and starting chemo, we didn't want to go to multiple dealerships. Finally we came to an agreement and went to sign papers with the finance associate who (although sweet) did not understand an amortization schedule. We agreed to finish the paperwork the next day so we could bring proof of insurance and residence--which she agreed could be an insurance card since we were temporarily staying with my mom. The next day, we arrived to finish the paperwork and pick up our car. The car, supposedly detailed and the seat repaired, was still dirty. The seat appeared to have been "repaired" with white out and was still torn. Plus, we found a cracked panel. They gave us an IOU for the repairs and promised to clean the car while we signed our paperwork. Returning to the finance associate's office, she accepted our proof of address. While going over the Truth in Lending, we asked about the first payment date to avoid interest accrual. She left to find out and Robert stormed in and rudely argued that we could not pay off the loan--even though he knew we were planning to do so-- before 4 months because Kia Camelbak would lose $1k. He again told us we could just leave. We asked that he not be allowed back into the room. A week later, we received a call from Kia Finance asking for our current address. We gave it to them and then received a call from Camelbak Kia saying we needed to provide proof of our old and new addresses. Suddenly the insurance card wasn't enough anymore. We said there wasn't anything we could do because we were staying with my mom while we sorted our our new living situation. Then Robert called back threatening to repossess our car. We said, send us the bill and we will pay the entire thing off right now. He said no, I'm sending a repo man and hung up. Finally, Robert's "boss" called and, surprise, had what she needed and "congrats on our new Kia!" We asked to speak with the owner, Mr. Esposito, to give us reassurance that nothing would happen to our car if we brought it back for repairs. He has not returned our multiple calls. Now, we are stuck--we need repairs owed to us but are afraid to bring our car to a place where the staff threatened us for no cause. A word to the wise--spend your hard-earned money elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Joe Esposito

March 12, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Ryan was the best!! He wasn’t pushy he made us feel..."

- Jpedroza

Ryan was the best!! He wasn’t pushy he made us feel welcomed & happy on our purchase & if anything I know he’s there to help!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Mar 13, 2020

Camelback Hyundai Kia responded

Our reputation is one of our top priorities. Your positive review is what we are always striving for!

January 22, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I recently got into a new Kia lease. Thank you so much..."

- Seb1022

I recently got into a new Kia lease. Thank you so much Ryan for all the help, You definitely made the dreaded car shopping experience pleasant!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jan 22, 2020

Camelback Hyundai Kia responded

Our reputation is one of our top priorities. Your positive review is what we are always striving for!

1
1 - 4 of 4 results

Dealership Inventory (192 Vehicles)

new 2021 Hyundai Tucson car, priced at $23,270

2021 Hyundai Tucson

$23,270

new 2021 Hyundai Tucson car, priced at $21,370

2021 Hyundai Tucson

$21,370

new 2021 Hyundai Tucson car, priced at $29,160

2021 Hyundai Tucson

$29,160

new 2021 Hyundai Tucson car, priced at $22,325

2021 Hyundai Tucson

$22,325

new 2021 Hyundai Tucson car, priced at $22,325

2021 Hyundai Tucson

$22,325

new 2021 Hyundai Tucson car, priced at $22,325

2021 Hyundai Tucson

$22,325