Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back
Steve Appelbaum
Steve Appelbaum at Kia Country of Charleston
Refer Me

Steve Appelbaum

General Manager

Kia Country of Charleston

2361 Savannah Highway
Charleston, SC 29414

Contact Me
4.7
83 Reviews

With over 20 years in the car business, half of those with KIA, I have held every position in the dealership from detailer and technician to GM. My experience affords me the ability to make your experience as enjoyable and smooth as possible. Boating, golfing, and my dog, Molly, round out my free time.

Employee Video

4.7

83 Reviews

Write a Review

83 Reviews of Steve Appelbaum

August 18, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Words can not express my gratitude for Steve Applebaum..."

- Mon'e Williams

Words can not express my gratitude for Steve Applebaum (GM) and the staff at KIA Country of Charleston. Too make a long story , Medium length My Mom Lives in North Charleston, SC and I reside in Georgia. My Mom was recently involved in a head on collision and her vehicle was a total loss. I started searching for a replacement vehicle for her. I found a few vehicles that she was interested in on Kia Country of Charleston's website and contacted them to discuss her situation. My Mom needed a car immediately and could not wait two weeks for me to get there. I initially spoke with Steve and he set me up with the sales associate Jordan Reaves. After finalizing price and additional add on (i.e. Maintenance agreement , additional floor mats etc.) we were ready to buy a beautiful, Certified Kia Sportage. Even though we found the vehicle, Our conundrum was not over just yet, my mom had no way to get there, to test drive, sign paper work or anything. I suggested she take a lyft or uber, you would have thought I was speaking a different language, lol. My mom is not tech savvy at all. Considering the situation, Joran (The sales associate) was so kind and volunteered to pick my mother up , let her test drive the vehicle, swing by her bank pick up a certified check and bring her back to the dealership to sign her paperwork. When she arrived at Kia Country she was very comfortable, She said Steve , Jordan and all the staff was Great to work with and very knowledgeable. She couldn't be happier with her purchase. I have done business with them in the past and I knew they would take good care of her, However it is still nerve wreaking trying to help your mom when you live in a different state and to trust that people will not try to take advantage of her. I am so thankful for all that you guys did for my family, You guys will forever be our go to dealership because you can truly see that Kia country of Charleston goes above and beyond for their customers and are the epitome of excellent service. Thank you, Thank You, Thank You, I would give you all 10 stars if I could. -Mon'e Williams, Hampton, GA.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Aug 19, 2021

Kia Country of Charleston responded

You are so very welcome. It was a pleasure to help you and your Mom. We're happy that we were able to make a tough situation a bit easier. Thank you for the generous review and congratulations to your Mom on her #Sportage.

July 30, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Have bought 2 vehicles from KIA COUNTRY since my arrival..."

- johnrwallace

Have bought 2 vehicles from KIA COUNTRY since my arrival in the Low Country in 2008. The purchase and service for these vehicles at this dealership have been excellent. I would recommend them highly to anyone who wants to purchase a reliable and valued vehicle and have it serviced by their efficient and talented service staff.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Aug 11, 2021

Kia Country of Charleston responded

Thank you, thank you, thank you. There is no greater compliment than a return customer. Norm, Chelsea, Mitch & Steve appreciate your kind words and your business. See you next time.

July 28, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"We had the best car buying experience! Everyone was..."

- Lynneway5aocxad

We had the best car buying experience! Everyone was very nice and knowledgeable. We are very satisfied with our new KIA. I will tell all my friends.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Zola Gearding, Caleb Fulmer

Aug 30, 2021

Kia Country of Charleston responded

Thanks for the 5-star review. We sincerely appreciate it. Congratulations on your new car. And yes, please tell all your friends. :)

July 07, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Elijah Tucker is very friendly, professional,..."

- BethHW

Elijah Tucker is very friendly, professional, knowledgeable, helpful and trustworthy. He makes purchasing a vehicle extremely easy and stress free. His customer service is excellent! He goes above and beyond to make sure that you get the right vehicle at a great price.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Elijah Tucker, Mitch Jones , DJ - Loan Department - excellent customer service

Jul 08, 2021

Kia Country of Charleston responded

You noticed, eh? That's why Elijah is one of the most successful Kia sales consultants in the U.S. He is always grateful to hear from a #happycustomer. Thanks so much for spreading the word. #WeMakeItEasy

June 29, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Everyone at Kia Country of Charleston did a great job..."

- JH

Everyone at Kia Country of Charleston did a great job making my purchase of a new 2021 Kia Soul S a pleasurable experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Elijah Tucker, DJ Thiemann Jr.

Jun 30, 2021

Kia Country of Charleston responded

That's what we like to hear. Thanks so much and congratulations. You Got #SOUL.

June 25, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Caleb was so responsive and extremely customer..."

- Very pleased customers

Caleb was so responsive and extremely customer oriented!!! He greeted us quickly, was very friendly, valued our time, and was very knowledgeable!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Caleb Fulmer, DJ Thiemann Jr.

Jul 08, 2021

Kia Country of Charleston responded

Thanks very much on behalf of Caleb and Kia Country. There's nothing better than a #happycustomer. Congratulations on scoring a #Telluride.

June 21, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"First time I have ever bought a car without driving it..."

- jamesallie4

First time I have ever bought a car without driving it first! Frank Classen was the main reason I came to Kia, because I watched his little granddaughter Lillian at our church! Norm was awesome and helped me out!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Norm L'Heureux , Frank Classen

Jun 21, 2021

Kia Country of Charleston responded

Thank you for your trust and confidence and your kind words. Congratulations on your new Kia.

May 27, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Very helpful and friendly staff, gave me the best deal..."

- jamesdowd

Very helpful and friendly staff, gave me the best deal possible. Come check them out if you or someone you know needs a new car

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Elijah Tucker

May 27, 2021

Kia Country of Charleston responded

Thank you very much. Congratulations on your new car.

April 20, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Listen to what I wanted and did not try to push me into..."

- Yrkssunflower1970

Listen to what I wanted and did not try to push me into something I did not want or could afford very happy with it all

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Norm L'Heureux

Apr 21, 2021

Kia Country of Charleston responded

Thanks for noticing and spreading the word. #Nopressure #stressfree car buying. #WeMakeItEasy Congratulations on your new car.

April 19, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"My we bought our Kia from here a few months ago and..."

- zach.mcduffie00

My we bought our Kia from here a few months ago and couldn’t be happier, service was quick and Caleb took great care of us, keeping us informed and updated throughout the entire buying process!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Apr 20, 2021

Kia Country of Charleston responded

We're delighted to hear that Caleb took great care of you. Thank you and congratulations on your new car.

1
...
1 - 10 of 83 results

Dealership Inventory (89 Vehicles)

new 2022 Kia Niro car, priced at $31,385
2022 Kia Niro
new
Orange exterior
Automatic
Front-wheel Drive
new 2022 Kia Sorento car, priced at $43,000
2022 Kia Sorento
new
Silver exterior
Automatic
Front-wheel Drive
new 2022 Kia Stinger car, priced at $45,625
2022 Kia Stinger
new
Snow White exterior
Automatic
Rear-wheel Drive
new 2022 Kia Sorento car, priced at $40,050
2022 Kia Sorento
new
Silver exterior
Automatic
Front-wheel Drive
used 2019 Mazda CX-5 car, priced at $25,834
2019 Mazda CX-5
used
Sonic Silver Metallic exterior
Automatic
Front-wheel Drive
used 2019 Nissan Rogue car, priced at $23,278
2019 Nissan Rogue
used
N/A exterior
CVT
Front-wheel Drive