Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Acura Of Reno

Reno, NV

1.0
74 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

11550 S Virginia St

Reno, NV

89511

Directions

Is this your dealership?

74 Reviews of Acura Of Reno

Sort by Write a review
May 20, 2011

"I'm so happy there is finally a local Acura Dealer..."

- Reno89511

I'm so happy there is finally a local Acura Dealer located in Reno.....I am even more happy that they are by far the best dealership I have ever dealt with...I've bought a dozen cars in the last 20 years and like most people, dread going to a car dealership. What a relief to finally deal with honest, professional, and friendly people. The salesman greeted me professionlly, and we knew in the first 30 seconds he was not like every other sales person we had dealt with. He listened to our needs and it felt like he was advising us, not telling us what he wanted to sell us. I kept thinking of questions to ask, being constantly amazed, at not only the answers to my questions but to them even saying "We dont know" when they didnt. What a change from the typical car dealership where you know half of what they are saying is only what they think you want to hear. We did buy a vehicle...but would be just as impressed with Acura of Reno if they hadn't. Thank you so much Acura of Reno...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alex Cho
Terry Hailes
Jin Lee
Other Employees : Terry-Alex-Jin
March 22, 2011

"My initial feelings were positive during the test drive..."

- RenoGuy

My initial feelings were positive during the test drive phase until we actually started dealing for the particular car. The salesman brought me a "best price," which was higher than I was willing to pay. Because we had spent some time together and had developed a rapport (as good salesmen will), he was able to get me to reveal to him my "last best price" with the promise that if they couldn't say yes, we'd shake hands and part on friendly terms-no further pressure. After a significant wait, the used car sales manager appeared . . . very smooth and polished and charming and managed to get me to raise my offer (bid against myself) $270 (which was accepted-subject to my mechanic inspecting the vehicle (a Honda, so not a Certified Pre Owned). This was the point where the wheels started coming off the deal. I was willing to sign the papers, subject to the inspection but the used car salesman was not. Since it was after 5 p.m. Friday, the mechanic could not see the car until Monday. The used car sales manager started using the "we have to keep trying to sell the car over the weekend and it could well be gone by Monday" tactic (even though the vehicle had been there a month already. When that didn't work, he said I could look at their inspection report done by their in-house mechanics. I agreed. He was gone a long time before coming back with a multipage report. On the first page were two items the mechanics said needed to be addressed but he (as used car manager) overruled the mechanic and the work had not been done. While this was very significant to me, it was not a deal killer and I was willing to accept those things if there was nothing else. The car was taken to my mechanic on Monday to be inspected at my expense. After the inspection, my mechanic noted with some chagrin that in addition to anything else, the fluids were all in need of being topped off and the windshield wipers needed to be replaced. I got hold of my salesperson and asked if he wouldn't get the fluids topped off and the wipers replaced while I got the cashiers check for the all cash purchase and signed the papers. Sounding a little embarrassed, he said he could not get that done and would have to get the approval of the used car sales manager and call me back. We are talking less than $20 of fluid and windshield wipers for a car the used car manager claimed had been fully reconditioned until his own mechanic's report showed that wasn't true. Fifteen minutes later the used car sales manager called back and cancelled the deal, ranting that he would not authorize topping the fluids and replacing the wipers because, he said, it would wipe out any profit and they wouldn't even be able to pay the salesman any commission. What BS. I was paying $24,000 cash for a 3 year old used car. After thinking about it, I realized this person must have calculated that since he had persuaded me to go beyond my "last best offer" before, it was just a challenge to see if he could do it again. My question: why would an honorable dealership do a deal that made them feel they had to go out of their way to make the customer feel short changed? At the end of the day, the attitude a customer leaves with is either the dealership's best or their worst advertising. I've lived in Reno for over 50 years and have been telling everyone I know how poorly treated I was by Acura of Reno. Because of $270 + a pair of windshield wipers and some top-off fluids, Acura of Reno changed me from a completely satisfied purchase who would sing the dealership's praises to 50 years worth of friends and acquaintances to a completely disillusioned and disappointed non-buyer who is telling anyone who will listen what a bum deal Acura of Reno is.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Drew (used car sales manager)
May 31, 2011 -

Acura Of Reno responded

This is Tim Marttala in response on behalf of Acura of Reno. Although I am now in the marketing department here at Acura of Reno, at the time I was the primary salesperson involved, so I have first hand knowledge of the situation described in this review. I apologize in advance that my reply may be long due to the fact that the review covered several points which I feel deserve a response from my perspective, and I also apologize if any of my reply comes across as “making excuses,” which is something I do not intend because I believe that part of the point of customer feedback is for companies to “own up” to mistakes made. That all said: Naturally, we know that the best and most important advertising is word-of-mouth, and so we are very concerned with the experiences our customers have—-both those who have purchased from us and those who haven’t yet; our participation in this public review process attests to this, and our customer satisfaction awards testify to the outstanding level of service that nearly all of our customers feel we provide. As for this particular situation, if I recall correctly: the vehicle involved was a 2008 Honda CR-V EX-L with about 28,000 miles. The vehicle did have a collision in its history, which was fully disclosed to this customer; documentation showed that it had been properly repaired to pre-accident condition, so the accident in this vehicle’s history was not of any further concern. This customer visited about three times, each of which included test drives and other significant time and personal attention given. The retail value of the vehicle was about $27,000, and our selling price in this case was competitive at about $25,000. After our no-nonsense pricing and terms disclosure and discussion, the customer offered below $24,000. I presented the offer to our sales manager for review; since the sales manager was busy (hence the “significant wait” the customer experienced), and not wanting to make the customer wait any longer, our used car manager took over for me so this customer would get the direct immediate attention from a decision maker this particular situation called for. The manager discussed the offer with the customer and they agreed on a slight increase of $270, which brought the selling price to a mutually acceptable level up to our break-even point. The customer then stipulated that he would like his personal mechanic to inspect the vehicle, despite the fact that would not occur until three calendar days later. In order to fully disclose the rationale of our pricing and to possibly show how a third-party inspection (and its expense to the customer) may be unnecessary in this case due to the thorough 150-point inspection the vehicle had already received, as a special service to this customer, our used car manager actually went to retrieve the “Multi-Point Inspection (MPI) Report” that all of our vehicles receive in our award-winning service department prior to being offered for sale. Our used car manager showed that we had declined reconditioning a few minor items mentioned in the MPI Report due to the fact that this was a three year old, one-owner, below average mileage vehicle in excellent condition with significant factory warranty remaining, which made obvious to us that there was no need to have reconditioned every single item on the car—-it was, in effect, very much a like-new car that simply didn’t require every item to be taken care of. I should add that, during a previous visit, I had already described our typical reconditioning process, which includes anything safety related (for example, we had put brand new tires on this vehicle), but also may include other items to make the vehicle attractive and marketable (if a vehicle doesn’t meet our high-end dealership standards, we simply part with it and don’t offer it for sale on our lot); at no point did any party ever tell this customer that the vehicle had been “completely reconditioned.” Naturally, without a deposit for the sale of the vehicle, we would still offer the vehicle for sale to any other interested party over the weekend, and (no matter how long the car had been on our lot) the vehicle being sold to another party was a possibility that the customer should know about. At this point, the deal would proceed after the inspection on Monday morning, and so I drove the vehicle home from work Sunday evening, kept it at my house overnight, and then delivered it to the customer’s mechanic early Monday morning about 1.5 hours before the start of my shift, all provided as a service to this customer (requiring my wife to take the time and mileage of driving me to work for the start of my shift). Several hours later, all the while the vehicle was off of our lot (making it unavailable to any other interested party), the customer’s mechanic completed his inspection with really nothing more to report than what had already been discussed when the parties went over the MPI Report earlier. I then left work for about one hour (possibly missing other sale opportunities) to pick up the vehicle and return it to our dealership. The customer then called me and was quite firm with me in sharing his opinion that these minor items should absolutely have been taken care of already by us—-a statement which caught me by surprise and I was taken aback. At this point, the expectation the customer had that we should take care of a few minor items about which he had already been made aware had become, in our opinion, unreasonable, given the extent of service we had provided and the fact that we were at a break-even point regarding the already agreed-to sale price, and so we were willing to walk away from the deal. Quite frankly, but with all due respect, we honestly felt: “If we’ve done all that we have and the customer still isn’t satisfied, then he probably never will be,” and most businesses feel that this is not the type of customer that they want, for it requires too much work for too little gain, if any. A few days earlier in the entire process, the customer and I had meant it when we told each other “we can part on friendly terms” if we couldn’t agree on a mutually-acceptable sale; if, as the situation came to a close, any of us were not as cordial, we sincerely apologize and will strive to learn from this and not make the same mistakes again. In closing, given the time and effort two employees gave this customer over several days with nothing to show for it except for a bad review (for these reviews are as much about the employees as they are the dealership), I believe scores of “1 out of 5” for Customer Service and Quality of Work are unfair, and I believe the average reader will take this into account when considering the relevance of this customer's review. Thank you for your time and attention in considerng this review and reply fully.

February 11, 2011

"Wow....I guess it's true what they say about only unhappy..."

- reno911

Wow....I guess it's true what they say about only unhappy people leaving comments. The 2 negative reviews are amazing to me. Our experience was COMPLETELY AMAZING!!! One of the few times I can say I left a dealership w/o wanting to shower immediately after. The Sales person was nothing but proffessional explaining to me what would happen, how long it should take, and why we were doing what we were doing. The whole process took less than 2 hours. They were super competitive and honest. We had some disagreement on the value of my trade in....they explained to me why they felt like it was worth what it was....and I did the same. We civily reached a compromise. They DID NOT send out 4 other people to "close" me....They respected the fact that I need a few minutes to make a rational decision and let me make it!!! The finance manager did what he promised and didnt high pressure me to buy something that I didn't want. The sales person than did a great job going over the features of the car. I've never been happier. I would say "Go to Acura of Reno!!!" whether you are looking at new or used cars. The follow up by the sales/service dept have been amazing. 10 out of 10! Two thumbs up!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jin Lee
Alex Cho
Other Employees : Alex Cho, Jin Lee
January 15, 2011

"Purchased a used car which they knew was defective. As I..."

- zk

Purchased a used car which they knew was defective. As I drove it off the lot the check engin light came on, I took it back and they said the spark plugs had water in them. They reset the check engin light and lied to me that the car was ok and I had nothing to worry about. 3 weeks later the car is leaking 1 quart of oil a week and when taken to a mechanic, he said it would be $960.53 to fix. The owner of Acura of Reno ALEX ashole Chow said "buyer be ware, thats just the way it happens sometimes. I thought buying from a dealer, I would purchase a car from an honest person, but I was wrong. I thought I would get a dependable car for my teenage sister that wouldn't leave her on the side of the road. But after a month it has left her on the side of the road. BUYER BEWARE OF ACURA OF RENO.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Alex Chow & Gin Lee
May 27, 2011 -

Acura Of Reno responded

First off, I would like to personally apologize for your ill will towards our dealership and myself. This is Alex Cho, General Manager here at Acura of Reno. Unfortunatley, we have spoken about this issue many times now, and when you purchased this 1997 Mazda from us you specifically told us not to fix anything and that you were going to purchase the vehicle "As-Is". Your boyfriend even at the time told us that he would be able to fix everything himself. I was under the impression that we were both perfectly clear on this matter, and when the problem that was there originally came back to us we had to charge you for the fixes. It is very difficult when selling a vehicle that is over 10 years old and when we sell it for less than $3000 there lies the risk of the vehicle having a few problems. Our reputation is very important to us so regardless of what the situation is, you are obviously upset, and that is not our intention in any way! It is very unfortunate that you feel this way, and I understand your frustration.

...
8
71 - 74 of 74 results