Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

AutoNation Honda Costa Mesa

Costa Mesa, CA

2.6
170 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

2888 Harbor Blvd

Costa Mesa, CA

92626

Directions

170 Reviews of AutoNation Honda Costa Mesa

Sort by Write a review
October 22, 2020

"bought a used SUV from them, they promised in writing..."

- JGreene

bought a used SUV from them, they promised in writing that they would fix a rip on leather seat as a condition for me buying it. Waited months, got the run around with “oh they don’t work here anymore, let me help you schedule it again” excuse, then finally got notified to bring SUV in and when I did I Had thought wrong, wasn’t to repair seat it was a checkup kinda thing. Told me “sorry for the confusion” They changed the oil and checked the brakes, etc.. at no cost to say sorry. ok, whatever.. a few days after getting home my brakes started squealing, took to local shop and what do you know, brakes are worn out! Ok, what else did they half arse.. So checked oil, it was NEVER changed!! Holy cow the incompetence. Called and got the ol “so and so is in a meeting and will call you back” every time I called to talk to service manager. Then started looking though my paperwork as I’m thinking of taking them to court, and I didn’t have a copy where I had them write the agreement for the seat repairs, plus no copy of the Carfax report was included either! Turns out salesman never put it in my paperwork because I truly believe he was upset I didn’t go for any of the extra add ones they try to stick you with when you finalizing the deal. Called their corporate and left messages but again no call back. So just sick of dealing with these people and wouldn’t let them touch my SUV now if they were the last dealership on earth. And Victoria is some name they insist on using as someone I worked with over there. Can’t erase it on here as I have no clue who this person is. Don’t recall who I worked with as apparently it doesn’t matter anyways cause the employees are never there for very long. I think they are rotated between dealerships so when they screw you over than can just say “oh, I’m sorry so and so doesn’t work here anymore, We can’t help you.”

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Victoria Lewis
1.0
Nov 05, 2020 -

AutoNation Honda Costa Mesa responded

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We have shared your experience with our management team for review and follow up.

Dec 14, 2020 -

JGreene responded

It is now 12/14/2020 and guess what!?? Haven’t heard from anyone yet! Nothing, notta, zip,. Trust me when I say they like to sound like they care but really, really don’t. The ol “stall em till they forget or get tired of us” routine. They smile to your face but are ready to stab you in the back. Sadly it worked on me. So what I learned: So if you like a car and you say “hey if you repair this and that I’ll buy it”. Make em do the work first or take the money off the cost of the car to have it fixed yourself. And if you ask for copies of everything make sure that when the person comes back and hands you a stack of papers saying “ok, it’s all there” don’t take their word for it and check the paperwork.

August 14, 2020

"Great Experience!"

- subaruowner

We recently bought our first Honda and our goal was to find the best pricing, and excellent customer service. We were searching for a dealership that streamlined the car buying process and minimized all the haggling of a traditional car buying. After checking with numerous dealerships, we decided to go with Autonation Costa Mesa Honda, a Costco recommendation. We couldn't be happier with our decision. First, Habib and his team worked with us to meet at a price we both agreed on. Second, the customer service was second to none. They were very considerate of our time and even though they didn't have our preferred color in stock, they picked it up from another dealership over 100 miles away. Upon our arrival, each staff member we spoke with over the phone or email, came out to greet us - including Aimee, Habib, and even the General Manager, Brian. All of the staff were friendly and professional. Aimee expedited the process so that the car would be delivered around the time we were finishing up signing the docs. We only had to wait 20 min and that's because they wanted to inspect and wash the car before handing us the keys. Manuel in finance was quick with the docs and made sure to answer all our questions and did not try to oversell us with other items. This dealership is the true epitome of "Helpful Honda Dealer". I would recommend them to anyone and everyone. They don't waste your time and understand your needs. I love my new Honda and couldn't be happier with my experience with Habib and his team!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Habib, Amiee and Brian
October 20, 2019

"The worst customer service!"

- Yulian

Those guys a bunch of amateurs running a Mickey mouse show. They advertise a price and trying to sell the car for thousands more. This is the worst customer service I've ever experienced in a car dealership. Rude and incompetent sales stuff running a scam. Shop for your Honda some place else preferably away from California.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Amir and Ron
September 24, 2019

"Sold me a lemon"

- SP

If I could give a negative 10 I would do that for the sales department. I will be giving 2 review--1 for sales (bad guys) and 1 for service (good guys) Here is the story. I bought a CERTIFIED used car from them--it was a nice low mileage MB GLK350 4 Matic. About a 1000 or so miles into the ownership I stated hear (or noticing) a whining noise coming from the transmission area. I have a long commute so the miles added up quick and by the time I took it to a MB dealer to have another problem fixed they informed me that the transfer case had a bad bearing and the transmission and transfer case were all 1 unit and it would cost $10,000 to have a rebuilt unit installed. I was floored--I didn't pay much more than that for the car. So I went back to the dealership and wanted some resolution. The Certifies afforded me a X,000 mile-3-month warranty. By the time I was able to get all of this sorted it was X,495 miles and less than 3 months—so 495 miles over the warranty. The response I got from the sales department: Hazem was literacy: “tough luck” Kevin the Sales Manager: “we don’t owe you anything” And on top of that they would only give me 60 cents on the dollar on a trade in and only $500 or so off another car on the lot—so acting like the quint essential used car salesman and no real attempt to treat a customer right and step up and try and do the right thing to resolve a faulty car they sold. They sold that lemon and made their money—tough luck, we don’t owe you anything DON’T BUY A CAR FROM THESE GUYS!!! Step in Daniel the Service Manager—now this is a stand-up guy +10 STARS FOR HIM. Daniel was able to find a used transmission/transfer case with a 1 year warranty and his deal was that I would pay for the transmission at his cost and he would install it. This made fixing the car affordable and made sense—otherwise I was basically screwed had Daniel not stepped up—good man. Not sure why it seems so rare to meet a stand-up person and congrads to his parents for raising him right. I cant say enough about Daniel he really came through and saved the day HAVE YOUR CAR SERVICED BY THIS GUY!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Hazem and Kevin
August 09, 2019

"Easy peasy"

- alex_h

Purchased a Honda Civic EX from internet team, discussed offer from other dealerships and Hazem was able to beat it. Very quick and easy, helpful guy, responsive, would recommend.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Hazem Achouri
January 14, 2018

"Great Buying Experience, Genuinely Friendly and Helpful"

- Gsum

Al took us through the whole buying process with a great mix of absolute friendliness and professionalism. He was very attentive, professional, and was straight to the point without giving us any bit of pressure. Al was very patient, informative, and tries his best to make sure your needs are fulfilled first and foremost. Viet took us through with signing and was also helpful, quick, and also didn't pressure us into buying anything. Both had genuinely given us a great experience and good conversation. Will be back again for my future car purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Al, Viet
January 08, 2018

"They sure don't like handicapped people!"

- Akasha

Our experience was neither pleasant nor successful. Along with marginalizing and ignoring us both for being handicapped, the salesman told me I was wrong for wanting a Honda luxury model with good suspension and then tried to sell me a used Lexus. I have been driving Hondas for 30 years. My experience has always been outstanding until they sold me a lemon 2 years ago which has cost me $4000 to piece back together again. Up until then, the Accord DX and LX had fabulous suspension, just beautiful. The EX they sold us was a piece of junk but I was not in charge of making the purchase. You know, their brand name has "HONDA" in the title, and I imagine they wouldn't like knowing that this joker is slamming their product so he can sell Lexus. He didn't even check back with me when I turned in my paperwork. I texted and he never replied. Shame on you. I'm never going back there again and I'm getting rid of this piece of junk just as soon as I can. Thanks for nothing, except ruining my day.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Habib
August 30, 2017

"Litio Valle was absolutely fabulous. "

- MP Accord

Litio was great. Service was timely, everything done perfectly. Great job Litio! Not his fault, but puzzled why an oil change cost was $74.00 minus two $5 credits with coupon---Total $64.+. Last time my oil change was approx. $43.00. Just asking. I do like your dealership and actually purchased my Honda there. I will be back. Thanks.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Litio
February 28, 2017

"Great car buying experience"

- DanD12345

What a great experience dealing with Autonation. The price was the best I could find, no high pressure sales, and a very nice showroom environment. Alex Bigwood is a man of his word and got my wife the exact car she was looking for. Will buy from here again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alexander Bigwood
January 10, 2017

"Inept "

- Chris

Either the finance department or the Internet sales department are ignorant or lazy or a combination of both. Having been in the car business for over 10 years (Albeit a decade ago) I know how things work with the banks. I sent an email asking for the specifics of my preapproval with Honda based upon a specific vehicle and they kept telling me that they could not give that information because I would need to do a new credit application. I knew this to be untrue and upon contacting Honda financial services they confirmed that the dealership was not giving me the right info. They lost a sale and now get negative publicity from me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Hazem Achouri
1
...
1 - 10 of 170 results