Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
COVID-19
Response
  • Home Delivery
  • Service Pickup & Delivery
  • No Contact Transactions
  • Virtual Appointments
  • Home Test Drives
  • Vehicle Sanitization

Barry Automotive Group

Newport, RI

4.8
819 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership
Barry's Auto Group in Newport, RI, also serving Providence, RI and Warwick, RI is proud to be an automotive leader in our area. Since opening our doors, Barry's Auto Group has kept a firm commitment to our customers. We offer a wide selection of vehicles and hope to make the car buying process as quick and hassle free as possible. If you would like financing options and you are in the market to purchase a used car or truck, we will provide assistance to help you find financing options that fit your needs! Whether you have bad credit, no credit, or are a first time car buyer, you can trust that Barry's Auto Group will get you into the car or truck you choose with professionalism and attention to your needs. We have a strong and committed sales staff with many years of experience satisfying our customers' needs. Feel free to browse our inventory online, request more information about vehicles, set up a test drive or inquire about financing! If you don't see what you are looking for, click on car finder, fill out the form, and we will let you know when vehicles arrive that match your search! Or if you would rather discuss your options with our friendly sales staff, click on Directions for interactive driving directions and other contact information. We look forward to serving you! Barry's Auto Group offers a full selection of services including: •Pre-Owned Vehicle Sales •Car Loans and Financing •Certified Service Department •Full Selection of Parts and Accessories Barry's Auto Group has an experienced and reliable Service and Parts departments that are open extra hours to help fit our customers' hectic schedules, and as always, Barry's Auto Group offers competitive pricing for your automotive maintenance needs. Customer satisfaction is our highest priority, and our staff is committed to achieving this goal in every aspect of our business. Please feel free to reach us at (401) 847-5600 if you have any questions or comments.

166 JT Connell Hwy

Newport, RI

02840

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 819 reviews

November 28, 2020

"Absolutely outstanding service and customer appreciation...."

- Kevinb87

Absolutely outstanding service and customer appreciation. Really when above and beyond for me thank you very much. I also would like to thank sean connors for being so involved and in trying to find the best plan for me

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
November 24, 2020

"Very professional and knowledge of the car was..."

- Turnermoor

Very professional and knowledge of the car was outstanding. Called to let me know what was going on with my car which l liked , so there where no surprise . at pickup time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
November 24, 2020

"Scotty was a pleasure to deal with. He understood what we..."

- Larry T

Scotty was a pleasure to deal with. He understood what we were looking for in a used car, and helped us make our decision without any pressure. We will deal with him in the future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
November 21, 2020

"Very happy with the service this is my 2nd time buying a..."

- taniafigueroa2

Very happy with the service this is my 2nd time buying a car and love the experience. Thank you Barry auto group for your service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
November 20, 2020

"Scotty is Excellent to work him and his crew did..."

- Quilesalba

Scotty is Excellent to work him and his crew did everything so I can get approved for my Subaru 2017 super happy customer thanks for everything

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
November 11, 2020

"Jason was great to work with, find me the cheap and I..."

- lara

Jason was great to work with, find me the cheap and I loved and said my payment. Would highly recommend something to work with him for your next vehicle

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
November 08, 2020

"The man!!!! Drove off with a car the day I came in gave..."

- Javen

The man!!!! Drove off with a car the day I came in gave me a good deal to since I’m young and have no credit.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
November 03, 2020

"I'm sure this will be deleted but hopefully some will..."

- Dissatisfied customer

I'm sure this will be deleted but hopefully some will read it before it is. My son is in chemo treatment and needed a reliable car to get back and forth to the hospital and transport his toddler to family for childcare when he goes. He made the mistake of trusting Barry's! The day he was purchasing his car, it died in my driveway. They came and got it back to the dealership...said it needed an alternator and battery and replaced both. A week later the check engine light came on and once again they said it was a simple fix and after waiting for a part, that was fixed. Well, yesterday he took it for his state inspection and it failed due to a "major safety issue". My son called Barry's and said he wanted to return the car and get his money back because clearly this is not the "safe and reliable" car that they promised him. They said there was no way it failed and the inspectors must have lied(it's automated and he has all the paperwork to prove it). They are giving him a hard time and have refused to help resolve this. The car is clearly a lemon and shame on them for taking advantage of someone!! Do NOT purchase anything from this dealership. We will continue to spread the word and call the BBB and Attorney General's office until this is resolved.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nov 03, 2020 -

Barry Automotive Group responded

Mr. Hatch, As I mentioned to your son I am terribly sorry to hear that he has had 2 issues with his vehicle since his purchase. As the owner of the dealership I have personally been in communication with your son since his purchase. I have been completely transparent with him and I let him know if there are currently any issues with the vehicle that we would of course be happy to fix them free of charge. During my conversation with him, I never suggested that anyone had lied to him only that they might have interpreted what fails differently then what the State of RI would. With that said, as we did with his first two issues that were indeed corrected within a single day I am more than willing to fix whatever concern he is currently experiencing and provide him transportation while we address this issue. We never intend on selling a vehicle that needs work after a sale as we do a 182 multi point inspection on every vehicle however this does unfortunately occasionally happen when buying a vehicle, new or preowned, hence why we do stand by our product and again are more than willing to address any concern he is having with his vehicle. Truly I am sorry for the inconvenience! Regards, Lucas

Nov 04, 2020 -

Dissatisfied customer responded

Please understand my frustration. My son is dealing with serious medical issues. He absolutely needs a reliable vehicle to get to and from the hospital for his treatments. Although you are fixing issues as they arise it is not easy for him to keep returning for multiple issues in the first weeks of ownership. It is difficult to understand how this happens if you have done the 182 point inspection. So far it has been a battery, alternator, engine light alert that required a part, and now the ball joints causing a failed inspection. He has told me that you and he have been in touch with each other and reached a solution. I do appreciate this and hope it resolves all issues going forward. Thank you.

October 30, 2020

"This is the second car that I've bought from Scotty at..."

- happycamper

This is the second car that I've bought from Scotty at Barry's, and I couldn't be happier with the service I've received. I called first, due to COVID, left a message for Scotty, and he called me back within ten minutes. Made an appointment, told him which car I wanted, and drove off in that car the same night! No pressure, no trying to sell me something else, and gave me a good deal - especially considering my credit has improved but it's still not stellar. I wouldn't think of buying a car from someone else. Thanks, Scotty!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
October 22, 2020

"Jay was terrific during the whole process! He and Eric..."

- salina.heap

Jay was terrific during the whole process! He and Eric helped me get in a car I really needed. When they told me I would drive home same day with a car they kept their word! Ask for Jay!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
1
...
1 - 10 of 819 results