Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Berlin City Nissan of Portland

South Portland, ME

1.8
94 Reviews

227 Maine Mall Rd

South Portland, ME

04106

Directions

94 Reviews of Berlin City Nissan of Portland

Sort by
June 18, 2021

"Our HORRIBLE experience with Berlin City Nissan and..."

- seancrotosr

Our HORRIBLE experience with Berlin City Nissan and Nissan Corporation. In 4-2020 the lease for my Rogue was due and I was interested in getting into a new lease. This was at the beginning of the pandemic and the way business was being conducted changed. All in all, I was not informed of Berlin City’s return policy. I told Chris (the manager of Berlin City) that I wanted out of this lease and all he offered was to install a remote starter, a bed liner and a trailer hitch (which they messed up on and I had to install the lights connection) and all he could do was apologize and say we could have brought the truck back to have the trailer hitch corrected all the while thinking I was satisfied. Also, Chris told Robin (the other half of our) that the return policy was in the paperwork that we received and both she and I went through it and we could find no such thing. (Side note as to credibility, Robin worked for a law firm and paperwork was her specialty.) I requested that all correspondence between Chris and I be through email or text as to hold one accountable for what they say and what does he do??? CALL ME!!!! Ludicrous!!! Upon the realization that Chris was not going to be upstanding, I tried to contact Nissan and after all the runaround with them, they redirected me back to Chris; it’s almost like dealing with the government!!!! After all this, there were also unanswered texts and emails. Here it is over a year later and the only thing Chris can offer is a threatening email to Robin, nonetheless, that if we proceed with this he will get his lawyers involved. We have all correspondence to prove our word. All in all, I would not recommend Berlin city or Nissan as the dealings with both have been nothing but a HUGE FRUSTRATION!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Genest
1.0
January 14, 2021

"Asked for a quote on repairing a Body Control Module with..."

- Tyson Rewlly

Asked for a quote on repairing a Body Control Module with a parasitic draw. Was told that they could not provide a quote until the next day due to the nature of the problem (red flag one). The next morning we were told it was not the Body Control Module that was causing the problem and that they needed more time. Two days later we were told it was the Body Control Module (red flag two) and that the work they conducted would be $180. When we went to collect the vehicle we were charged $510, and when asked about the price dependency was patronizingly told that "it was more expensive due to the work conducted". When the packet they gave us detailed none of the work done, that they were incapable of producing a copy with such details, and still had the page stating the cost would be $180... All for a quote. Work was never asked to be done with the vehicle. We left and called the manager as we could not speak to one on sight. The manager was not available via call - how convenient! Later the manager responded only after legal action was threatened, and told us an internal investigation would need to be completed and to expect a call by 11:15 the next morning. The call came late, and as such I was unable to answer, when I did manage to call back the manager did not answer. Later the manager called me. I understand that schedules can be conflicting and things can get busy so I am not holding this against them in the review: however, it is important to share that getting in contact with the facility for anything other than giving them sums of money is extremely difficult. When we did speak with the manager we were called liars, and asked why we would "approve work to be done to the vehicle and not intend to pay for it?". Well because we were made to believe it was not the Body Control Module, and were not told work was being done - considering this was supposed to just be a quote for a repair, and nothing more. After an hour on the phone with the manager in a circular conversation of "Why did you authorize work?" and "We were deceived" (either intentionally or unintentionally) three things were learned. 1. Per store policy, quotes from this establishment should be free 2. When a mistake is made, they will try to push it onto the customer and refuse responsibility for the mistake. 3. The service representatives are either liars or grossly incompetent. There are plenty of quality Nissan dealers in Southern Maine, and Berlin City Nissan is not one of them. Take your time, money, and sanity elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Martin Eldert, Bryan Conley
September 16, 2020

"Tried to make an appointment for service. I bought the..."

- hscarvel

Tried to make an appointment for service. I bought the vehicle from this dealership and have had it in for service before. The service coordinator was extremely unfriendly and uncooperative. She could not find my car and insisted that I provide the VIN number. When I explained that I did not have the registration in my hand she refused to help me.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
service center not sales department
July 16, 2020

"I spent 19,000.00 on a 2012 Nissan Murano LE that was..."

- Joreyno

I spent 19,000.00 on a 2012 Nissan Murano LE that was never inspected or had it's problems fixed before my purchase. After buying the vehicle I realized the tires were extremely worn, the brakes grind and the spedometer is not accurate( it's off -3mph) The computer screen on the dash has gone blank while driving half a dozen times in four months. I had to pull off the road and turn the car off and back on to get the screen to come back on and the radio to work. Three months after the purchase I realized the Air Conditioning system didn't work. And furthermore directly after the purchase Berlin city had to take the car back to fix the gas tank button under the dash that the wiring had been connected wrong and mixed up with the lift gate button. To make matters worse Chris Genest the sales manager ignored my calls and everything I did to contact him. Once I was able to contact him he gave me lie after lie. He kept saying the gentleman he needed to speak to was out of the office then he was on vacation a week later and then the warranty company wasn't responding to his emails or calls. Then Chris lied to me and said they couldn't inspect the A/C because it was February and the bays in the service area were too cold. Well turn up the heat and close the doors and turn on the A/C and put your hand in front of the vent. If it worked it wouldn't be difficult to feel cold air. Then he tells me the warranty company won't cover fixing the spedometer because it's not broken. Correct me if I'm wrong but a spedometer that is NOT reading correctly IS BROKEN. All of these issues existed with this vehicle before I came to Berlin city to look at the car. All trade in vehicles should be gone over with a fine tooth comb by professionals before anyone spends this kind of money. Why did I pay you hard earned money for a warranty that won't cover problems with this vehicle. I shouldn't have to pay a deductible either. This is all on you Berlin city. You need to hire people that are honest and won't lie, cheat and deceive. And hire service men that aren't lazy. I wouldn't have spent 9,000.00 for this vehicle if I had known about all of the problems that existed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Genest
1.0
May 15, 2020

"I purchased a Onewheel Pint and had an excellent..."

- John F

I purchased a Onewheel Pint and had an excellent experience. No pressure and Payson was excellent. He rides as well so he had a lot of experience and info concerning the product I was buying

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Payson
November 25, 2019

"Do not stand behind their products. Very unprofessional...."

- ladymech

Do not stand behind their products. Very unprofessional. Paint chipping and peeling on 2015 Rogue. They made abig joke out of it and other customers heard them laughing about it.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
not sure
October 11, 2019

"They will not give me money they owe me."

- yankeewayne92

I bought a car from Berlin City Nissan about a month ago and got horrendous service after they got my money. The KAHU system they installed which I had no choice in having (they install in all their cars) did not work so I had to drive back to the dealership for them to fix it (140 mile plus tolls) round trip. By the time I got to Auburn I realized the system still didn't work. I called the sales manager Chris and he gave me a hard time about it and told me I had to go and bring my car back. I said I wasn't going to keep driving back and forth so he could send some one to pick it up, (keep in mind I have owned this vehicle less than a week at this point) he at this point did not like my attitude so he refused to send someone or if he did he would not leave me a loaner car saying he didn't have any (I saw 4 Nissans that said Berlin city all over it the day earlier on the back lot when I was their). I told him I would contact Nissan North America and the BBB. After about 20 minutes he called me back saying he thought it over and didn't want any trouble and he would send a driver with a loaner car. It took them a few days to "fix" my car. I got it back and it still did not work, so I called and talked to the top manager (Tom Hayes) of the dealership and he said he would figure it out and call me back the next day. I have yet to get a call (its been a good week or 2) and had to deal with KAHU myself to get this fixed. In the last 2 yrs and 6mnths I have bought 2 cars totaling over $40k from them and got horrendous service. On top of that their was rust on the back of the trunk which is covered by the factory under the corrosion warranty and I asked the sales manager Chris to submit it to warranty, and he told me he wouldn't. I will never buy a car from them again or any other Berlin City dealership and urge anyone I can to do the same. ONCE THEY GET YOUR MONEY THEY DON'T CAR ABOUT YOU.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris (he is a sales manager), Justim Laflamme.
October 10, 2019

"I contacted this dealership to buy a vehicle from them. I..."

- Maineiacmom

I contacted this dealership to buy a vehicle from them. I specifically told them I could only afford a used vehicle and they tried to sell me a new vehicle. The list price was 5200 and the person kept saying it would be 7000 with tax and title which made absolutely no sense. They did not get back to me. I had to call them several times. After wasting almost a day with them they told me the vehicle was going to go to wholesale it after I had offered them cash.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Matt
August 17, 2019

"Terrible Dealership"

- mart01

Terrible dealership. Purchased a 2004 Jrep Hrand Cherokee Laredo from this dealership. In less than 2 years the car needed more repairs then the vehicle was worth. Now the won't give me the time of day.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Don't remember
July 11, 2019

"They do not know the product "

- Nissanforlife

I bought a 2017 nissan titan from them two weeks ago and on the way home I noticed that the rear parking light was out. I was also very disappointed when I turned the A/C on and it would not blow cold air. When I made the deal for the truck they had a aftermarket bumper in the showroom and they told me it would fit on my truck and I paid them $500 for it . It doesn't fit,will only fit xd models. So when I took the truck to another dealer to have the A/C checked and fixed they noticed that the tie rods are worn beyond spec and need to be replaced along with both lower control arms . $980 in parts plus 5 hours labor to fix. Funny part is it came with a new inspection sticker,and it's not inspect able .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Steve Kennedy /Chris the sales manager
1
...
1 - 10 of 94 results