Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Best Volvo

5.0

10 Lifetime Reviews

1500 University Ave, Rochester, New York 14610 Directions
Call (585) 473-8530

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

10 Reviews of Best Volvo

Sort by Write a review
October 14, 2019

"Dave Barbato and the entire service team exceed expectations"

- Kanowakeron Hill UE

Nine years ago, at 31,600 miles, I took my used XC70 into Best Volvo for the first time for scheduled maintemance. Today, with 108,700 miles, my Volvo not only looks the same as when I bought it (photos as proof) but more to the point, it runs the same as when I bought it. In addition to recommended oil/filter changes, anytime the car was in for *any* service if there was more than 3,000 miles since the last LOF, it's had another change. With each servicing - even just a state inspection - the entire vehicle is checked out and VADIS software updates are loaded. The scheduled maintenance is followed meticulously... long story short, my XC70 has been pampered since I bought it. Dave Barbato understands the crucial nature of me having a 100% reliable vehicle; I'm disabled and a breakdown while on the road has more than just inconvenient ramifications. Dave is personable, straight-talking, sincere and the quintessential professional... in the 47 years of owning cars and having some of the most slipshod, unethical and abusive auto servicing imaginable, there's no question that Dave and the entire service technician team are finest I've ever dealt with or heard of. Estimates of servicing times and most importantly, costs involved, have always been accurate. I trust Dave's advice and expertise and appreciate his understanding some issues may have had to wait. If I suspect a repair will require a part potentially expensive, I do my due diligence and check out prices of the part online with a number of genuine Volvo parts sources. Best has always matched or come down in their part charges in an effort to help an economically challenged and disabled 65-year old. That sort of personal care and concern still amazes me, given decades of service centres where their bottom line always took precedence over any issues a customer may have. Best Volvo will work with you but like any other service or retail centre, the importance of an educated consumer cannot be overstated. Skipping scheduled maintenance, not addressing known issues promptly or expecting premium service at 'corner garage' prices will all result in a bad experience. Are Best's hourly rates high? Compared to the commercial chain auto centres, yes, Best will cost more for labour; servicing by consumate professionals usually does cost more. The ten-minute oil change shops might be cheaper, but figuring in the cost of a hastily replaced oil plug where the threads were stripped, losing oil and requiring a new oil pan (past experience), it becomes obvious that paying a bit more upfront for a professional can be cheaper in the long run. Rather than 'pay and cross your fingers' as you drive away, I've always left Best Volvo confident of what's been done has been completed by the best Volvo-trained professionals available. On top of that is Volvo's Lifetime Parts *and* Labour Guarantee; pay for a repair at an authorized Volvo dealer once and never pay for it again. To me, the reassurance that comes with the confidence my XC70 has been serviced by competent and consumate Volvo professionals can't be measured by dollars. Thanks to Best Volvo, considering the performance and durability of my XC70's first 100,000 miles, I've been assured continued care will make the next 100,000 just as reliable.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dave Barbato
April 17, 2015

"Fixed "

- Hpyguy1

Service was great. I reccomend going here if you want your Volvo done and done right. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. I will return here again. Thanks

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Service crew
March 31, 2015

"Great dealership, would recommend them to anyone"

- Patrick

Service is top notch, I am extremely satisfied with the service and the employees were very attentive to my needs, they worked with me, provided a loaner so I could get back to work. The most accommodating dealership I have ever dealt with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Not sure
July 21, 2014

"Multi-Point Inspection Ratings Are Worthless"

- James_s

Need for service was caused by parking brake failure. On 02/28/2014, at 67125 miles, I took the car in for service to have the brakes fixed and 67500 mile service. I mentioned that the front, rear, and parking brakes might be at issue. The Multi-Point Inspection Report Card included with the bill indicated that the parking brake system was Checked and OK, 67500 mile service also included Brake Lining Inspection, Inspect Front and Rear Suspension, and Inspect Drive axles. On 05/05/2014 the rear wheels locked up as I was pulling out of the driveway at 69559 miles. I had the car towed, for $65, back to Best Volvo to re-service the vehicle. Based on 02/28/2014 service and inspection I was led to believe that all brake components including parking brake were ok until, at least, the 75000 mile service. Met with Michelle Gerger, Director of Customer Relations, at Volvo and was refused any credit on $976.57 charge or the $65 to have the car towed to Best Volvo.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Michelle Gerger, Director of Customer Relations
October 24, 2012

"The most condescending attitude of any dealership I've..."

- JoeMatt

The most condescending attitude of any dealership I've ever dealt with. Service writers think they are the only "qualified" repair shop in the area. Stop! talk to other volvo owners. I've found a Great repair shop with great mechanics. and No phoney you need to get this and pay this. I've owned 3 Volvo's and I will never ever go back to Best. I had a repair done to my fuel injection system cost $1200. I later found out this was covered under warranty and when I went back to ask them , they agreed it might be covered and told me to write Volvo! are you Kidding me? To top things off it wasn't even the fuel injection system that was the problem. I eventually got my monies back from Volvo. I've learned my lesson. I now for years take my car to Universal imports in E. Roch or drive to Geneva for service, 5 stars for their service,prices and mechanics.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service writer
February 23, 2012

"Greg - service writer - where to start? lets just say..."

- TiredAndFedUp

Greg - service writer - where to start? lets just say this fellow makes the following phrase come to life. That phrase is: we are the ONLY dealer in town, we know it, you know it, and it is my job, no my mission in life, to make sure you never FORGET IT. management - they set the prices - Did you know this dealership sells parts at 15% or more over list price? That sends the signal to me that they don't want my business. I can only expect that they use the Flat Rate Billing book that justifies the largest number of hours of all the Flat Rate Billing books published in the market place. Management knows service dept is where all car dealerships make their money, they just seem to want to make more here than anywhere else I have ever been before.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
greg
September 16, 2011

"We have bought 3 vehicles from Best Volvo. Jim DeGuzman..."

- stressedchemist

We have bought 3 vehicles from Best Volvo. Jim DeGuzman helped me buy the last vehicle -- my "fun car." It was fabulous working with him. He made everything easy and always stopped to chat when I came in for service. I was sorry when we moved far away. We bought our first used vehicle from Best in 1991 and they truly have been the best dealership we've ever used!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jim DeGuzman
December 08, 2010

"First, let me qualify that I purchased 4 XC Cross..."

- Kabrunell

First, let me qualify that I purchased 4 XC Cross Countrys over the past 11 years ($172K) at this very dealership. Just had an issue with my 2009 XC90 roof lining coming unattached around sun roof and brought car into dealership. Was told that a minmum charge of $94 to just access issue! I was stunned and brought the care around the corner to local bodyshop and they fixed it in 15 minutes. Said no charge, but gave them $20 just because the service was good. Volvo's are great cars, but this dealer does not provide any post sale customer service even too a multi repeat customer. I know that our economy has put pressure on every product. But the day that our beloved car dealers revert to poor service, is the day we all need to find a better dealer We have recall work that has to be done on this vehicle and going to travel 43 miles to the Buffalo, NY dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager
September 25, 2009

"Bought a CPO Volvo from them, second car I've purchased..."

- diz

Bought a CPO Volvo from them, second car I've purchased from Best Volvo. It's still under warranty. Since we bought the car, I've been taking it in to Best for oil changes. Twice over a 6 month period, I asked them to look at two other things: 1. Leaking coolant. I have to add coolant about every 2 months to make the add coolant light go out. 2. Rattle in the front end when slowly hitting bumps. Both times, they told me both things indicated no problems. "There are no leaks. It's normal to have to add a little coolant now and again." They even said they were going to add some dye to the coolant to look for pinhole leaks next time. And about the front end "our technician didn't hear anything abnormal in the front when hitting bumps." The last time I went in for an oil change, they had a line out the door, and though I had an early morning appointment, I was asked to come back later. So I took the car to a local independent mechanic for the oil change. I did not tell him anything about either of these two issues/questions. He got it up on the lift, looked at the wear on the tires, spun the wheels, wiggled them around, and told me my ball joints are shot. I moved both front wheels left and right to feel the play myself, they are clearly shot. Two seconds later, he tells me it looks like I've got a coolant leak. Sure enough, you can see the trails made by dripping antifreeze on the bottom of the plastic under the radiator. And if you look at the bottom of the radiator, you can easily see where it's coming out. Granted it's a slow leak, but if I can see it, I'd think a real mechanic should be able to. I'll let you draw your own conclusions.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Department
August 08, 2009

"I wanted a genuine trailer hatch installed on my XC-90..."

- andyfct

I wanted a genuine trailer hatch installed on my XC-90 and Best Volvo offered me the best deal, which I took, although I had to drive a 100 miles from my home. The parts were ordered and came well before the appointment. Despite a Friday backlog, the mechanic and reception did a great job, so I was done even before the estimated time. I think it is a good dealership, but recommend setting appointments earlier in the week and in the day.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom DeLong
1
1 - 10 of 10 results