Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Boardwalk Chevrolet

Redwood City, CA

1.4
8 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

1 Bair Island Rd

Redwood City, CA

94063

Directions

8 Reviews of Boardwalk Chevrolet

Sort by Write a review
December 27, 2020

"told by service advisor both axel and seal were replaced...."

- Josephaledee

told by service advisor both axel and seal were replaced. Seal was not replaced causing diff to run low on oil. Causing Premature failure of the rear differential. When I bought the car back they resealed the rear differential saying everything was okay. When I picked the car up from dealer, the Diff was now making howling noises. I would not recommend any boardwalk dealer!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jonathan Haniger
1.0
September 15, 2020

"$1200 Service!!? I originally went in for a manufacturers..."

- cmoran10

$1200 Service!!? I originally went in for a manufacturers recall and an Engine light - All of which would have been covered under warranty. I recently bought the car and it needed an oil change and the tires rotated. I asked for a service and the Advisor scheduled me for a maintenance preferred service. The vehicle had 41k miles at the time of the service and they decided to complete the 45k service which is fine. Ramon the advisor completed up sold me and cited the 40k service instead of the 45k service and did a lot of additional work outside the service manual which mind boggled me. This is the meaning of "maintenance preferred" its a premium service you don't need but that is how they make money and prey on the trusting people who walk into their garage. Whats more is when I rang the manager and advisor they cited that because of California's conditions they offer this kind of service to everyone. Its the bay area - temperatures are not extreme and the roads are better than most other states! I am extremely disappointing with the dishonesty of this dealership and their unwillingness to make it right by offering me more than a free oil change. What is worse is that the advisor never gave me details of the service in a quotation when I dropped my car in - very unprofessional and dishonest. I would not recommend anyone bringing their vehicle here for a service! Or if you do get details of the service or just tell them exactly what you need and be firm with them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jonathan Haniger
2.0
Other Employees : Ramon
July 20, 2020

"Had a horrible experience. I learnt yesterday why car..."

- GK

Had a horrible experience. I learnt yesterday why car salesmen are mentioned in poor taste in our vocabulary. I strongly recommend caution you before you buy a car from here!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jonathan Haniger
1.0
July 15, 2019

"Check engine light"

- John58

I brought my 2016 GMC Terrain to the Boardwalk Chevrolet service center in Redwood City for the scheduled appointment at 8:18 AM on Friday, July 5th. Upon checking in, the service advisor told me that a representative would call me as soon as the cause of the "Check Engine Light" was determined. I received a call from the service center at 11 AM informing me that the issue was caused by two defective parts...one they had in stock and the other was expected to arrive that PM. In any case, my vehicle would be ready to be picked up Saturday. On Saturday PM, July 6th, I received another call from the service center...the part did not arrive. The rep suggested I leave my vehicle until Monday and if the part did not arrive on Monday then someone from the service center would get the part from another dealership. I called the service center several time on Monday, left messages...no call back so I went to the service center in person. After making some calls, the service advisor informed me that the part had not arrived and their policy did not allow them to get the part from another dealership. So I left my vehicle for another day. On Tuesday PM I made several calls to the service center leaving messages...no call back. At this point, I called the service manager, left message. The service manager called me back late Tuesday PM with a message that my vehicle should be ready for pick up on Wednesday afternoon. After 5 days of waiting, no offer of a loaner vehicle and extreme frustration, my vehicle was ready for pick up on Wednesday afternoon July 10th...cost $680.99. I find this service by Boardwalk Chevrolet unacceptable and cannot recommend this dealership for service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service advisor: POH, Service manager: Joe
August 08, 2018

"Super happy corvette owner"

- MAGA13

I bought a corvette here. Overall a great experience no complaints. Everyone was nice to my family which means a lot to me. I only have experience with the sales department not the service as of yet. Mike in sales was 10/10 I completely trust him. I will be going back for scheduled maintenance soon so I really hope dealing with the service department will be positive.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
mike little
March 28, 2018

"Run, Do Not Walk, Away from Boardwalk Chevrolet"

- cohenfive

If I could give less stars to this review I would...The dealership are thieves, pure and simple. And for what, it amazes me the dumb decisions people make sometimes. On the plus side, we bought a car from Boardwalk Chevrolet a couple of months ago. They wanted to get the deal done at end of month so the agreed to deliver it to us. I made sure to tell them to make sure it was clean inside and out, and one other thing we negotiated was a full set of rubber mats. Delivery comes, and the car is really, really dirty. Not happy. Also no mats. The dealer rep agrees IN WRITING to reimburse us for the cost of having the car cleaned (not full detail) and they would send us the mats. Needless to say, no mats every come, and although we were in contact with them several times and sent them the receipt for the $53 to get the car cleaned, zero response. We were never hostile in tone, but they stopped even calling/texting us back. So on principal I went to GM corporate to complain. After a few weeks of back and forth, they eventually sent the mats..but they refused to reimburse us the measly $53 wash they agreed in writing to give us back. GM eventually gave up, and so we are out the cost of the cleaning. My conclusion is that there are lots of Chevy dealers around, and my suggestion is that you run, not walk, away from dealing with these guys. If they cheat customers on small stuff like this, imagine what they might do on bigger stuff. Caveat emptor imo.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
ben kaupp, gill andrade
February 17, 2016

"Service problems"

- Customer

I have purchased many vehicles from this location, however, unlike the sales department, the service department has many service issues that do not address the needs of the customer. For example, I purchased the Auto Butler from the sales department when I purchased my truck. This service protects your vehicles body by providing a coat to protect the exterior, as well as interior cleaning. I receive postcards to remind me to bring in my vehicle. So I call, make an appointment for 7:45 a.m., and since the postcard indicates the work will take 2 to 5 hours, therefore I should have my vehicle back within 2-5 hours of the appointment time., I expect my vehicle to be done within 2 to 5 hours. Come to find out, it will not be ready til 6:45 p.m. Excuse me, but the math does not work out. I should have my care back no later than 12:45 p.m. Not any later. Unfortunately, the service department has let me down before, why I continue to purchase services from this facility is beyond me. Sometimes you learn the hard way. Once I took my vehicle for an oil change, a week later my oil light goes on. I take it to Oil Stop and they tell me that the oil was dirty and low. I could not believe what I was hearing. I wish to have good service experiences, especially when one pays for the services up front. I sincerely wish I could give good remarks, I never do surveys or reviews, but I find myself compelled to share such terrible service. I apologies, but it's true.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jeremy
January 20, 2015

"Bait & switch internent sales"

- mrsth

Boardwalk Empire in Redwood City is no such dealership as they engage in blatant "bait & Switch" tactics. 1) They knowingly represented, quickly accepted our offer, hid the msrp sticker nor provided the detailed invoice so we could have an opportunity to verify the omission of these options & have an opportunity to refuse & pursue the car elsewhere. Each time I hauled the car back to the dealer within a week, when my calls & emails were ignored, they acknowledge the omission, said we could not return as the car was now "used & had a scratch on it & they would have it towed if we left it but they would remedy as per the emails above." We later learned the car was "used" before us as a transportation car which explained the scratch we were accused on putting on the car. The manufacturer provided the dealership with at $1,750 discount which of course was not offered to us when we they quickly accepted our offer as suggested by your site on what we thought was new car. After all the aggravation, we now have to incur a loss to trade the vehicle in to get what we want & pursue the loss legally. Regards, Julia Peterson 415/9940911

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
ben kaupp
1
1 - 8 of 8 results