Back

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen

Colorado Springs, CO

4.7
2,688 Reviews
The Penkhus Motor Company that you see today had its humble beginning back in 1951 when Robert N. Penkhus moved his young family from Ames, Iowa, and opened a small used car operation in Colorado Springs. New cars were added to the operation on Pikes Peak Avenue in 1957 when the Company became one of the ten dealers in the United States to obtain a Volvo Franchise. In 1972 the Volvo Franchise was moved to a fledgling area of Colorado Springs called Motor City. The combination of a quality product and a reputation for excellent customer service assured continued growth, including the addition of a Mazda franchise, in October 1972, at the Pikes Peak Avenue location. In 1975, Mazda joined Volvo in Motor City to increase productivity and to better serve our customers. Mr. Penkhus' son, Robert A. Penkhus ("Bob"), was a "permanent fixture" around the dealership from an early age, so it was natural that he would join his father in the business upon his graduation from the University of Denver. Bob Penkhus gradually assumed responsibility for all aspects of dealership operations and in 1977, became President of Penkhus Motor Company. Mr. Penkhus' concerns for his customers and employees, coupled with his enthusiasm for our products, have resulted in continued success and growth. Development of a new car display area along Interstate 25 in 1987 was followed one year later by a major service and parts expansion project in which we added fourteen mechanical and detail service stalls, doubled the parts area, and built an enclosed customer service area. In the spring of 1999 our growth continued with the opening of our second Select Certified location and a Domestic and Import Service Center on Austin Bluffs Parkway. With the growth of Colorado Springs, Penkhus Motor Company wanted to ensure that it was meeting customer needs. In 2004 Penkhus Motor Company remodeled its Motor City location including constructing a new showroom and making other improvements at the Motor City location. In 2006 Penkhus Motor Company constructed a new facility at Woodman and Powers, which is the Bob Penkhus Mazda at Powers store. In 2009 Penkhus Motor Company acquired a Volkswagen franchise and opened the Volkswagen franchise at the Motor City Drive location. In 2012 Penkhus Motor Company acquired a Mitsubishi franchise which is located at the Austin Bluffs Parkway Select Certified location. That facility is now known as Bob Penkhus Mitsubishi. As a result of our commitment to excellence, Bob Penkhus Mazda is the Number 1 volume dealer in the Gulf region. Based on customer satisfaction levels, Bob Penkhus Motor Company has been recognized as a Volvo Dealer of Excellence and has been inducted into the Mazda Presidents Club. Our continued success and growth requires each of our employees to possess a commitment to excellence toward each of our customers. Each member of the Penkhus Motor Company team should strive daily to meet all Penkhus Motor Company standards and goals in order to ensure future growth and success.
Contact Dealership

1101 Motor City Dr

Colorado Springs, CO

80905

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 2,689 reviews

October 06, 2022

Had warranty work performed on both my daughter and wife's cars. The work was completed correctly first time and on schedule. Thank you. More

by Bryn Reynolds
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Dorcey
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
October 06, 2022

Justin was awesome with assisting me. The service was completed successfully. Thank you ~Kineta P. More

by CHRISTIAN1911
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Justin Brant
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
October 06, 2022

The service department was courteous and friendly. It was great that they recorded and sent the video of the vehicle prior to any work being completed. The only downfall was they didn't paint the doo More

by EQUINECROWE
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Justin Brant
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
October 05, 2022

Good quality service - love that wash my car! Brian our service consultant is awesome. Always takes care of us. More

by DAISYMOM431
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Dorcey
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Oct 06, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Thank you for the 5 star review.

October 05, 2022

Jayln was wonderful. He was not pushy and made everything easy. Hugh was also great. I believe they both went above and beyond. More

by BABYSWEETPEA
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tadd Wells
4.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Jalyn Walker
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Hugh Yousif
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Oct 06, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Pleased to hear Jayln and Hugh could make this a great experience.

October 05, 2022

My service rep Danielle was great. However I had to make 2 100 mile trips for a broken camera. I was told it would take an hour. On the second trip it took service over an hour just to More

by JUDYSOLANO15
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Danielle
Oct 06, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Dear Judy, Thank you for informing us of your situation. As our valued customer, we truly appreciate your feedback. On behalf of the Service Team here at Bob Penkhus Motor City, we are very sorry to learn that you had a poor experience. We strive to meet high expectations, and I’m disappointed to hear that we missed the mark. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you in more detail about your visit. Please feel free to contact me at 719-785-9615 if you would like to discuss this matter further and so that I can help make things right. Again, we are sorry for your less-than-excellent service experience. Thank you for being a Bob Penkhus customer and for taking the time to reach out. I sincerely hope to hear from you soon. Respectfully, Bud Hall Service Manager 719-785-9615

October 05, 2022

Brian always takes great care of us! He took time to explain our service, and even helped order some parts. More

by MVW74
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Dorcey
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Oct 06, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We will be sure to let Brian know he did a great job.

October 05, 2022

Brian in the service department is always Very helpful in all areas from service to communication More

by BRENDAMSHRIVER
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Dorcey
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
October 04, 2022

Very professional and friendly atmosphere. Takes the time to fully explain what repairs or maintenance your car might need. They also suggest a timetable to get the work done. It sure helps wi More

by CAG052895
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Dorcey
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Oct 06, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Thank you very much for coming to see us for service needs. We are pleased to hear our staff could make this a positive experience. See you at the next appointment.

October 04, 2022

Friendly and knowledgeable people. Address any questions. Also, clean and well appointed environment. Convenient location. More

by KASSTEELERFAN
Quality of Work
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Study
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Oct 06, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Thank you for the kind words.

1
...
1 - 10 of 2,689 results