Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Brown Subaru

Amarillo, TX

2.8
11 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

4310 S. Georgia

Amarillo, TX

79110

Directions

11 Reviews of Brown Subaru

Sort by Write a review
November 12, 2020

"Was contacted by Chris Redden after asking an online..."

- MicPat

Was contacted by Chris Redden after asking an online question. Every time I left an email, Chris was right back to me. Was well pleased with his helpfulness, drove 200 miles and bought a new Subaru. Of course I would have liked to get more out of my trade, but who wouldn't. Would certainly do business with Brown Subaru again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Redden
August 25, 2020

"I bought a used Subaru Forrester out of pocket, for it to..."

- caitacolbert

I bought a used Subaru Forrester out of pocket, for it to immediately need repairs which would have added up around $2300 (for new struts, calipers, rotor, brake pads, front passenger low arm control). If I knew I was going to have to pay that much more I would had gotten a newer model with less mileage. Make sure you test your vehicle on the bigger highways that go up to 75 MPH. Much of the issues that car had were not noticeable going below 60 MPH. I had to wait a few weeks to get the struts replaced which they went 50/50 with me which did not even cover the issue that I was having. They also knew there were other issues, that were stated, but they only “fixed one things” I took it back and wanted me to pay about $1100 to get the things fixed that should have been fixed the first time. I have been unable to drive much outside the area and had to cancel trips and rely on others for transportation for almost two months. I have not been impressed, it has been a huge waste of my time and money and will be servicing my vehicle elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lauren Brooks
1.0
Aug 31, 2020 -

Brown Subaru responded

Caitlyn, we are truly sorry that you are not satisfied with your vehicle and experience here. The Subaru Forester you purchased was sold as is as you were informed of at the time of purchase. As is vehicles must pass a state safety inspection, but they are not run through our service department to diagnose and fix service issues. However, when you brought the vehicle back with the issue that presented at higher speeds and had it diagnosed in our shop, our used car manager agreed that we would pay half of the cost of the struts which as you know, we were not obligated to do. For issues like your vehicle experienced, replacing the struts is the first place to start and often fixes the issue. It didn't in the case of your vehicle so further troubleshooting needed to be done and additional repairs were recommended. We only started with the struts in an effort to offer the most economic potential fix. Unfortunately, not every car acts the same or operates the same so we start with what is historically the best fix and then go from there. We certainly did not want to recommend replacing anything that wasn't necessary. Our goal the whole time was to provide you with the best experience and best vehicle within your budget. Please email me, lauren@brownautogrp.com, or call me, Lauren Brooks, at 806-353-7211 if you would like to discuss this further.

August 11, 2020

"Worst ever. I was lied to by two different sales to get..."

- creole078

Worst ever. I was lied to by two different sales to get me there. Then when I arrived they did not have any of the cars I was told to come see. Then after making a deal to wait for one they said I was wrong about an online coupon. We found coupon then they did not want to honor it they said you need an email coupon. So we filled it out online again and nope they said your problem figure it oit and let us know. Bye sale manager Mitch and John don't trust them ever. Drive to Lubbock or anywhere else. Classic bait and switch here. Salesman quoted me a Hale damaged car on phone as new and never mentioned that or that they don't have any of them. Wish I could go less stars. If you want to be lied to and jerked around. Brown is for you!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Mitch. Sales manager
Aug 31, 2020 -

Brown Subaru responded

I touched base with our Subaru rep regarding the KBB trade-in offer that was popping up on another dealer's website. That is something that they offer and is not a Subaru sponsored program and that is why it does not come up on our website and why our staff had no knowledge of the coupon and how it worked. That coupon is offered by the other dealer and only redeemable at their store. Sometimes Subaru does push offers/rewards to our site so I wanted to be sure that was not the case on the KBB offer. I'm so sorry for any confusion that might have caused. I do sincerely apologize that the hail damage was not communicated to you prior to your arrival. I realize that is frustrating, but I feel confident that it was a miscommunication on our part and not an attempt to bait and switch you, although I can understand how it might seem that way. We do not condone any type of that behavior as it only leads to a poor experience all around. We always strive to provide the best communication and experience, but since we are human, we do make mistakes from time to time and again sincerely apologize. We are truly sorry for any miscommunication and inconvenience we caused. I spoke with our managerial team and can sell you any in stock Subaru without hail damage at invoice cost, plus tax, title, and license, if you are still in the market and would consider letting us earn your business. Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

August 16, 2018

"Rude salesman"

- Aharris

I had the displeasure of deal with Saleman Tom Hager... I asked a simple question about leasing and getting a tax credit off the sales tax because another dealership in lubbock gave me a sale tax credit of $600 off the final cost. When I text him he replied, "Man I'm not a tax consultant"... no need to be rude. However, this made me want to do business elsewhere. A salesman is suppose to be there for the customer not the other way around... maybe he needs more train on his job...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mitchell
Aug 24, 2018 -

Brown Subaru responded

I've spoken with Tom about your interaction. It was never his intention to be rude but rather did not want to misinform you with regards to your tax question as that is not his area of expertise, our finance department handles all of the taxes during the purchase/lease of a vehicle. I'm so sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your vehicle search, but I can assure that Tom was not meaning to respond in a rude manner and truly wanted to help you to best of his ability.

Aug 24, 2018 -

Aharris responded

If it wasn't his intentions he could have verbalized that fact. His choice of words were rude and unprofessional. I work in a customer service position and I don't refer to customers as, "Man" or "Woman"... he was clearly bothered by my questions and wanting the best deal. I didn't ask him any questions that I didnt ask the 4 other Subaru dealers. They didn't have all the answers and when they didn't they replied, "Let me ask my manager." I see that he tried to do damage control and make it seem his intentions were genuine and in my favor, but that was not the case. He was rude and unprofessional.

May 31, 2018

"LIARS"

- TWomack

Do not trust this dealership with your personal information. They tell you they do soft pulls to give you a quote but that is absolutely a lie. They also will not correct their mistake (or lie).

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tammy Antonucci, Nick Alfiere
Jun 05, 2018 -

Brown Subaru responded

Mrs. Womack, as it was explained to you, you inquired for accurate payment ranges in regards to your credit worthiness and authorized a credit application approving us to acquire both your husband's and your credit history. We did not submit your credit information to any lending institutions which by not doing so honors your request for a "soft pull". Our one inquiry, which is necessary to provide you the information you requested, is in no way detrimental to your FICO score. The fact that you have chosen to submit this fallacious Dealer Rater review berating my business and staff by claiming we somehow misrepresented or lied to you when they were only trying to help you purchase a vehicle is insulting and seriously disinterests my willingness to communicate with you any further. Sincerely, Kyle McAdams General Manager Brown Automotive Group

August 02, 2017

"dealership STINKS!"

- Highprice68

My worst nightmare experience EVER in owning a car. Subaru Outback. Still in shock over problems with my car, still under warranty, service department, all crooks. Since then I have heard bad things about owner not caring so why would employees. I paid a HIGH price over buying a car from BROWN Subaru!!!! Not one person tried to help me. I now own a GMC PRODUCT NOT purchased from BROWN.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
All employees
July 06, 2017

"Overcharged for vehicle by greedy salesman"

- Samuel Thomas

At some point to expect the established used car dealers to be fair with the price as opposed to make every dime they can from the customer. Bought a used Subaru Forester and found out they overcharged me by $2000 over the used car retail price. Will not shop with them again. Internet be aware. Sadly honesty is dead at this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bob Dean
December 15, 2016

"Horrible Experience"

- LacyL0ve

We did not end up purchasing through Brown because of the terrible experience we had with them. They did not even want to look at my trade and give me an estimated trade value unless I committed to signing on their car today. Mitch (the salesman) stated that he did not want them to go through the work of giving me a quote on it if I wasn't going to sign on their car today. They finally gave me an offer for my truck. They had not come off of the sticker price on the car I wanted though. After telling them what I needed/expected from my trade, and how much I planned on paying for the new car, he again stated that he did not want to go take the numbers I wanted to his sales manager and "ask for a favor" unless I would commit to signing today. They just treated me as if I was inconveniencing them by wanting to purchase a vehicle through them. It was not a pleasant experience at all. I would highly suggest staying away from Brown Subaru.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mitch
January 14, 2016

"Excellent Service"

- Bud

This routine service was accomplished quickly and competently. All items were addressed. The service area was clean. The staff treated me courteously. i look forward to future satisfactory service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Corky Barrett
November 28, 2015

"Horrible buying experience with my 16' STI"

- Danny801

bought a 2016 WRX STI from Amarillo Brown Subaru and when I bought it, it had a crack on the windshield but I didn't find out until an HOUR after I signed all the papers and pulled out of the lot. I tried to bring it back to see if they could do anything about it but the service manager and dealer wasn't interested in providing me any help. The service manager actually joked with the dealer about it as I was 20 feet away but I couldn't hear what they were saying. After not getting any help I drove 106 miles home with a crack on my windshield that grew to 3 ft. I ended up paying $400 out of pocket to get the windshield fixed but it was a 2 week wait. It doesn't stop there. I began having some whining noises from my vehicle and attempted to contact the service manager 3-4 times but no one was there to answer my questions so I left a voice mail for a call back. A week passed and I hadn't received a call from them so I took it up to Subaru Of America where they not only reimbursed me my $400 I paid for my windshield but they also provided me EXCELLENT customer and answered all the questions I had about my car. As a active duty member of the United States Air Force, I WOULDN'T recommend anyone going to Brown Subaru of Amarillo for their next purchase unless you want to deal with people who only want to make commission and have nothing to do with you after you walk out their front door.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Frank Garcia
1
1 - 10 of 11 results