About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Brown's Chantilly Mazda

4.5

26 Lifetime Reviews

4155 Auto Park Circle, Chantilly, Virginia 20151 Directions
Sales: (703) 222-8920

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

26 Reviews of Brown's Chantilly Mazda

Sort by Write a review
February 12, 2017

"Great Used Car Shopping Experience "

- argusarms

I have been shopping for a car for my son. During this process, I've been to at least 15 car dealers. This dealer has by far been the best to deal with. The salesman was very professional, and not pushy at all. The manager actually took me for a test drive when the salesman was busy the second time I came in. Hopefully I will end up buying a car here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Peter, Haidar
May 12, 2017 -

Brown's Chantilly Mazda responded

Thank you for the wonderful review. We will continue to offer the best car buying experience to each and every customer we come in contact with. All of us at Brown's Chantilly Mazda appreciate you coming into see us. Best, Robert Devaux GM - robert.devaux@brownscar.com

December 31, 2014

"BEST Car-Buying experience of my life. Awesome."

- Jose_Cora

I purchased a 2015 Mazda6, iTouring, Automatic from Brown’s Chantilly Mazda on 30 December 2014. BOTTOM LINE: This was simply the BEST car buying experience I have ever had in 20 years of buying cars. Brown’s Chantilly Mazda also offered the lowest prices within 100 miles of the National Capital Region based on my research (see details below). More importantly, they were professional and did not try to pressure me into buying something I did not want. They answered all my questions promptly and provided me with the information I asked to be able to make the best choice for me, both for the car selection and its financing. I would recommend Brown’s Chantilly Mazda to my own mother, and will be recommending them to all my friends if they are in the area and looking to buy a Mazda. BACKGROUND: Before walking into Brown’s Chantilly Mazda I researched this mid-size sedan purchase for six months and test drove every mid-size sedan on the market. After considering the different models’ reliability, driving dynamics, gas mileage, looks, and price, I settled on the Mazda6 as the best car in the segment. I then determined the trim level that I wanted, the interior and exterior colors, and the options I wanted. LOWEST PRICE: Based on my research, Brown’s Chantilly Mazda had the lowest prices within a 100 mile radius. I know because I had the top 10 Mazda volume leaders within 100 miles (in VA, MD, DC, and DE) compete for my business, and no other dealer could match Brown’s Chantilly Mazda price quote. I contacted the 10 dealerships via e-mail and gave them 3 days to send in their best price offer on the Mazda6 I wanted. No other dealers could match the offer for the Mazda6 that I received from Matt May (sales manager) at Chantilly Mazda, even after they heard the offer. GREAT CAR-BUYING EXPERIENCE: There was absolutely no high-pressure sales tactics at all. The whole time, Matt May and his team provided the information I needed to make the best car-buying decisions for myself. Financing was the same excellent service. I came in with my own financing, and they offered Mazda’s financing and showed me the numbers as to which financing package would come out better, and how it affected the car price ($500 discount if I used Mazda’s), the total interest I would pay, and the monthly payments. I also inadvertently threw a curveball at Matt when I decided to change the color of the exterior of the car I wanted to buy from blue to red. Matt May explained how much more it would cost (the Soul Red costs $300 more from the factory) and let me make the decision. When I switched to red, he went and found the car I wanted and brought it to Chantilly Mazda, with no fanfare. It really felt that they practiced the old-fashioned culture of “the customer is always right.” Finally there was one last hiccup that could have been disastrous, but that Matt May and Chantilly Mazda handled with class and aplomb. We had agreed to a price at the outset (the price quote plus the extra few hundred when I changed to red exterior), but it appears that Chantilly Mazda made a mistake in preparing the paperwork – I think that they accidentally kept the blue exterior price instead of updating to the red exterior price. But with the additional $500 Mazda financing discount and the added maintenance package, the Out The Door (OTD) price I was focusing on remained about the same so I did not catch it, and neither did they. Myself and the finance rep signed all the paperwork and it went to Matt May for approval. A few minutes later, Matt came into the office and asked the finance rep to pull up the numbers. As he looked at the numbers, he said (apparently talking to himself) “That is not the price we agreed to.” One second later, he seemed to realize I was in the office, turned around and said to me “We made a mistake in the numbers, but it was our mistake and benefits you so we will stand by the price on the paperwork.” At the time I was unsure if there had been a mistake, since the OTD price was about what we had agreed to. But after I got home that night I reviewed the paperwork and it does appear that the price was indeed a few hundred dollars cheaper than what we agreed to, prior to including the financing bonus rebate and the maintenance package I selected. So that price issue could have been a major point of contention and stress, but Matt May and Chantilly Mazda handled the error with class and aplomb. I think I would have seen that Matt May was right if I had time to sit down and re-review all the numbers but that would have taken a lot of time and added a lot of stress, and would likely have left a bad taste in my mouth. But Matt May and Brown’s Chantilly Mazda took a potentially bad situation and turned it into a positive experience. In all, it took about 2 hours from the time I arrived to purchase the car to the time I was driving out, which I thought was pretty good considering they had to bring the car in from some other location, add the license plate and inspections tags, and wash and fuel it. CONCLUSION: Kudos to Matt May and his Brown’s Chantilly Mazda team for the most stress-free car buying experience I have experienced in 20 years. I highly recommend Chantilly Mazda for their great car-buying experience and unbeatably low prices.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt May
Other Employees : DeAhnna
January 09, 2014

"Initially we were leaning towards purchasing a Honda CRV..."

- Jack65

Initially we were leaning towards purchasing a Honda CRV but after extensively researching the CX-5 & viewing Brown's website we visited the dealership on New Years Day to look the CX-5 over in comparison. Upon arriving we signed in to meet with a sales rep and while waiting we looked over a CX-5 inside the showroom. We found the showroom comfortable, well laid out and all the vehicles very accessible. After a short wait Jeff James came up and introduced himself to us and we began discussing the CX-5. It is a pleasure to state for the record that Jeff was a real pleasure and a true professional to work with as was Matt May and the finance manager (sorry forgot his name). Jeff discussed the options and available packages in detail with NO rush & NO pressure. We picked a package and he set up the vehicle for a test drive and off we went, unescorted, which was nice as we could both drive the vehicle and discuss it without feeling pressured. We decided the CX-5 was just what we were looking for and we headed back to begin what typically makes the "buying" part ugly.......negotiating a fair price. I worked in the auto business for many years previously so I was prepared for & expecting the usual "games and shenanigans" that go along with buying a car. Well our experience was just the opposite and by that I mean completely opposite of what we were expecting, NO games, NO pressure, NO hassle, wow I was impressed and I'm usually not. Negotiations went smooth and above all were pleasant & POLITE with Jeff James and Matt May treating us with respect throughout the entire process and with some back & forth discussion, providing us fair & straight-up pricing which we were happy with so we signed the buyers order. The finance manager was also extremely polite and explained everything clearly, without rushing and NO pressure to purchase any additional products that were offered. Additionally I would also like to note that Matt May had an excellent depth of knowledge on Mazda mechanical & engineering features and Jeff James was very easygoing and informative in explaining the navigation technology & vehicle features in conjunction with the drivers manual tutorial he gave us. We left with a confident level of knowledge to utilize the CX-5's features. We visited a few other dealerships throughout the area and the Brown's Chantilly Mazda team was by far the best of the bunch and earned our business by exceeding our expectations. Please know that I have never written a review for anything but felt compelled to write one as the Browns team made buying our new CX-5 a really enjoyable experience, as buying a new ride should be!! In summary, we experienced a refreshing, no pressure and overall very pleasant car buying experience and it is a pleasure for us to confidently & highly recommend Brown's Chantilly Mazda to anyone else looking for the same.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt May
Other Employees : Jeff James
December 22, 2013

"I want to put in a good word for Brown's Mazda and..."

- naltikriti

I want to put in a good word for Brown's Mazda and especially Matt May, our sales associate. We purchased our Mazda 5 back in early September, on a day that we really weren't thinking of purchasing a new car. We'd thought we'd buy a used Mazda 5, but came away persuaded that the financials and the long term strategy of a new car made more sense. We ended up discussing the purchase with Matt May for a very long time, and walked out with a new Mazda 5. We were very happy with the price, and the service. Now, 3 months later, we can say that the purchase has proven to be a completely positive one for us. My only disappointment is to see that the vehicle has since been reduced in price by some $2-3,000, which I only wish we could have predicted in September. Perhaps corporate has decided to discontinue the model, or something got changed, but it's much cheaper now than it was in September -- and we thought it was a fair price then!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt May
December 08, 2013

"1. Matt Mayfield told me it'll cost more to transfer..."

- FitItFitness

1. Matt Mayfield told me it'll cost more to transfer my tags to a new car than to have them order new ones. It was a big lie. 2. Matt May was very rude. I wasn't expecting that from a sales manager-he was a bit friendly in the beginning. He became rude after I bargained to the core with him regarding the price he was quoting me. He lied by saying his price was the lowest I could find anywhere in our region even after I showed him a lower price a competitor had offered me. He became more rude and even asked me to leave in a rude way after I told him I felt insulted at the price he offered me for my trade. These guys did not seek my business--I went looking for them. I was there a week earlier in the early stages of my car hunt-I kept my promise and went back. They did not even bother to call me after my first visit. When I asked why they never bothered to call, the response was "you never gave us your number". I guess the reason they didn't want my business was because I was dressed like someone who couldn't afford a 2014 Mazda3 i touring or because they thought I wasn't fit to drive one. Here is why I say that, Matt was offering me a different color I told them many times I didn't want.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Matt May
Other Employees : Matt Mayfield
October 15, 2013

"Wonderful Experience!! Never thought I would be writing..."

- ElaineThomas

Wonderful Experience!! Never thought I would be writing a great review after a horrible experience at Tyson's Madza dealership. My experience at Chantilly was exceptional because of Charlie Yerkes. Charlie is an extraordinary sales person. He impressed me not only with his amazing professional attitude, his knowledge, but his initiative to go above and beyond what is expected. He made every effort to make sure I did not have another bad experience. He made sure that I not only got what I wanted, which was the Mazda6, but he kept me informed every step of the way as to all the details moving forward. He order my car and let me know from when it was manufactured..Vin#.. to when leaving port...to port..to delivery..etc... He is always available for any questions. AMAZING!!! I have been looking for a car since January and have been through many car dealerships and many sales people and Charlie is sincerely the BEST... an outstanding and talented sales person. There are no words to express how grateful I am to Charlie for all he has done to not only give me the car that I have been wanting but to make my experience a wonderful one. I have been without a car since January so he has made it worth the wait. I will recommend him to everyone I know!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Charlie Yerkes
October 02, 2013

"I had been searching for a car and our son had..."

- gtobin007

I had been searching for a car and our son had recommended a mazda so we looked for dealers in Northern Virgina. We had gone to a couple of other dealers before we went to Chantilly Mazda but all the other dealers wanted was to sell us a car.. they werent interested in what we wanted and then we found Chantilly Madza . On our first trip we met Travis Larkins who is probably THE most upfront honest helpful friendly car sales man I have ever met. He made the whole car buying experience so easy. He showed us the car we were interested in. Travis gave us all the information on the different models and after taking a few test drives I found the one I liked the most. It was late in the evening so decided to go home and think about it. A few weeks go by and we go back and talk to Travis again. I test drive again and decide that this is the car except the price was above my limit so Travis worked with his manager and got me the best deal. Their finance department got us an even lower interest rate than our bank had which made it even better. I can honestly say this is the best car buying experience I've ever had and will definitely recommend it to others! Thank you Travis!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Travis Larkins
September 05, 2013

"I would like to tell you about my Browns Car Store..."

- sfogie

I would like to tell you about my Browns Car Store experience. Let me preface my email by saying, that until this week, I had two previous pleasant car buying experiences with Brown’s Chantilly Mazda. My wife and I have now purchased three cars from Jeff James in the last three years. Jeff James has always been a very knowledgeable, friendly, and professional salesperson. However, we will most likely never be able to purchase a car from Jeff again because of our last experience in your store, Brown’s Chantilly Mazda. On August 31st, 2013, I came into Browns Chantilly Mazda to trade in my Mazda 3 and purchase a new car. While I enjoyed driving this car, it was no longer a good fit for me or my family. It was a 2011 3i Touring with 14,500 miles on it. After discussing with Jeff, I test drove a number of pre-owned SUVs as well as a new Mazda CX-5. My two top picks were a Toyota FJ cruiser and a Mazda CX-5. While both vehicles were extremely different, they both had that fun factor I was looking for. After discussing with Jeff, I decided to take a chance on the FJ, I even paid extra to have leather seats installed. The next day my wife and I decided to take a drive down to Richmond in our new Voodoo Blue FJ. We had a great trip down to Carytown in RVA and had no complaints whatsoever. On Monday, we headed back to Loudoun County. While driving up an on-ramp to 95, a car came too close for comfort. I immediately hit the accelerator to get passed the vehicle merging into our lane; however the FJ did not accelerate. Instead, the FJ rpms went way up, while it stayed at the same speed. The lasted for about two long seconds until the FJ finally kicked and threw us forward in our seats. Obviously concerned, I took the FJ to a mechanic the very next morning to get a full work up on the car. I was told that the transmission, front brakes, power train, specifically the rear differential, needed to be serviced. The technician specifically referred to there being significant amounts of metal. He also clarified, that while finding some metal is typical, the amount he wiped off the plug was not normal considering the transmission had just been flushed. Now even more concerned, I immediately drove the car back to Brown’s Chantilly Mazda. I arrived at 10:30am. After learning that Jeff would not be in until 1pm, I asked to speak with a sales manager. I explained the above events to him and he immediately informed me that the used car manager was off that day, and asked if I could wait one more day. I informed him that I didn’t feel comfortable waiting a day as the grace period to exchange this vehicle expired in one day. I waited outside his office a number of times while he discussed the situation with the used car manager over the phone. He then walked me over to the service department. The service department said they could not look at the vehicle that day, but said they would look at it tomorrow. I then asked the manager what my options were, and he again, reiterated that he was not the used car manager and it would be better for me to wait until tomorrow. Now getting frustrated and feeling a little brushed off, I told him that I wanted to exchange the car today. I asked him what kind of car I could exchange it for, and he informed me, after briefly confirming with another salesperson in his office, that the vehicle could be exchanged for a new or used car. I thought this was great news, considering the only other vehicle I liked was the CX-5 and we had already priced it out on the 31st. Now almost 12pm, the sales manager offered to have another sales associate take me for a test drive but also said I could wait for Jeff. Being a loyal customer, I opted to wait for Jeff and pulled out my bagged lunch which I planned on eating at work that day. At 1PM Jeff arrived and I started to feel more comfortable that this situation was getting close to being resolved. We would switch to the new CX-5 and all would be well. However, another sales manager arrived. And it’s as if the previous 3 hours never happened. This manager started from the beginning again, as if there was nothing wrong with the FJ. Contrary to the previous manager and sales associate, he explained to me that Browns policy would only allow me to exchange for another used car today. And I could only exchange for a new car, if I went through a process which could take “a few days” to confirm a problem with the FJ or if the service manager could recreate the problem during a test drive. How quickly things had changed. I was again introduced to the service manager. I described the issue again, and he agreed to go for a drive. Within the first hundred feet and first stop sign, the service manager applied the gas; the car engine revved up and then bucked us forward. He explained that this was a common occurrence known as “gear hunting.” OK, I may not be a mechanic but transmissions are designed to go into the right gear every time. He then proceeded to drive down and up route 28 revving the engine. As I explained to the sales manager before embarking on this “test” drive, the problem only occurred twice on our trip to Richmond, so I’m not sure if the car would recreate the problem again. After returning, the sales manager said that he would only exchange the car for another used car on the lot. After already surveying the other used cars in your lot I reluctantly agreed to test drive a couple other used cars. Long story short, I didn’t want either of them. However, given the choice of action today or questionable action tomorrow, combined with the fact that it was now approaching my fourth hour at your dealership, I picked a Nissan Murano. A nice car, about a thousand dollars more expensive and something my mother would drive, but a nice car. However, this nice car had a very odd smell to it. The finance person, not the service technician was kind enough to order a new cabin filter for my car after discovering the original cabin filter had never been changed. During the next several hours I waited for the Murano to be washed and for the cabin filter to be changed. Since the finance employee was the only individual who knew how to change the cabin filter, I waited until approximately 5 PM to leave your dealership. I repeat, none of the service people knew how to change the air filter. These are the same individuals I was meant to trust diagnosing the problems with the FJ Cruiser. I watched the manager who initially greeted me in the morning, get-off work while I continued to wait. To summarize, after 12 hours in your dealership between two different days, I’m driving away with a higher car payment for a car I really don’t want because you sold me a car with real problems. This was not a buy happy experience and I have lost complete confidence in your dealership and your brand. I will most likely trade this car in, at a significant loss, to another dealership that will hopefully do the best to keep my business, not the very minimum. Your dealership failed to provide good and very basic service at multiple levels here, I can only hope that someone in your office will recognize this and make attempts to fix them moving forward. Very Sincerely, Mr. Scott D Fogelgren

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Matt May
Other Employees : Matt or Kwang, E.J Dent, Kwang Bae
July 29, 2013

"I came in to test drive a Mazda3, as I need to purchase a..."

- smdawson20

I came in to test drive a Mazda3, as I need to purchase a new car in the next few weeks. I spoke to the receptionist, who asked me to wait for a salesmen to help me. A salesman came over to me and asked if I was a serious buyer. I said that I wanted to test drive the Mazda3, because it was at the top of my list of cars that I wanted to purchase and I needed to buy a car within the next few weeks. The salesman informed me that he would only have time for people buying cars that day, for the rest of the day, and that I should leave. I told him that this was the only day I could come out and test drive this car and I asked if he would have a few minutes to help me. He again informed me that he would only help me if I was purchasing a car today, and since that wasn't the case, he asked me to leave. I will not buy a car from this dealership or this salesman, and I recommend the same to anyone else.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Carlos Bonds
May 12, 2013

"Our salesman, Eddie Willits, was knowledgeable and..."

- dcobey

Our salesman, Eddie Willits, was knowledgeable and friendly, and not pushy at all. Pricing was very competitive, and negotiations were honest. Tony Oman in the Financing offfice was very professional and personable. Overall an excellent experience, and I would recommend Brown's Chantilly Mazda unreservedly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Anthony Oman, Eddie Willits
1
1 - 10 of 26 results