About Us
Copyright 2019 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Camping World of Chicago

3.3

12 Lifetime Reviews

27794 N. Darrell Rd., Wauconda, Illinois 60084 Directions
Sales: (847) 487-5535

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

12 Reviews of Camping World of Chicago

Sort by Write a review
January 24, 2019

"questions on my 2018 cherokee trailer"

- Susan

The service rep Sandy is very knowledgeable. Anytime I go in and ask questions about my trailer, what I need now or in the future she goes out of her way to help me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sandy Oanes
January 22, 2019

"Amazing staff"

- RobertW007

Highly Recommend the Sales men at camping world of Chicago! They will tend to your needs, great customer service and friendly! Pets are allowed in the store as well! Bring your dog!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bob Sheahan, Larry Breathers
November 21, 2018

"Holiday Rambler Scepter"

- MLB Scepter 42

Had a very good experience purchasing a used Holiday Rambler 42 tag axle this summer from Camping World Chicago. I had a knowledgeable salesperson who was patient, a simple negotiation with managers, struck a deal and the Coach was ready the next day. The delivery technician walked me through the systems and answered all my questions, even did some touch up on the hitch and entrance steps. Had a mechanical issue with the Aqua Hot system 2.5 months later and the service manager and service writer diagnosed and rushed a new unit from Colorado, did the installation and had me on the road within 10 days. This being my third motorhome and my second 40’ plus diesel coach and first from Camping World, I can confidently recommend doing business with them, they have a wide selection of parts, significant inventory of RV’s and a service department to keep you out on the road. Well done Team Camping World Chicago !

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Hutchinson, Thompson, Farhood, Sean (SVC MGR)
August 29, 2018

"Buying a Geo Pro"

- Auntcrazy

The buying experience was so easy. Bob was are saleman and he was very knowledgeable. We did our research before going in. When we went to pick it up Brian walked us thru the whole trailer telling us all the features and how to take care of it. Alex did the financing with and explained everything. They were all very professional and kind. THANK YOU. Looking forward to taking it out on the road.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bob Brian, Tim and Alex all did a great job..
August 10, 2018

"Great experience"

- Newmar Mark

We just closed on the purchase of a used RV. The whole team was very friendly, honest and helpful. Larry our sales person was patient with our questions and informative. Roman who helped with the financial side and was very easy to work with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Larry, Roman, Steve
July 31, 2018

"Lack of professionalism is staggering "

- Free Spirit ♡ Gypsy Soul

I wasn't surprised to see the reviews after my thankfully limited contact with this dealership. It didn't take much to realize they lacked professionalism and didn't seem all that interested in making a sale. I sent an email requesting confirmation on two class B RVs to the salesman I had been in prior contact with. He told me that they would be in stock by July 31st at Camping World in Wauconda. His response to my confirmation request was in the form of 4 separate emails with no words/answers to ANY of the questions I asked, but images of what he had in stock. Which wasn't what we are looking for or what he had told me would be in stock. His lack of professionalism is a huge turn off.  I would have preferred him to actually answer my questions, then say but here is what we have in stock. Instead of totally disregarding them and just sending me pics. I'm extremely thankful to have found out about their horrible service before actually investing time and money. Best of luck to anyone dealing with this dealer. Take my advice and don't.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Roger Ekstrom
July 16, 2018

"Multiple disappointments "

- Jackie

My word of advice for anyone looking to purchase a camper in the Midwest, please do NOT buy a camper from Camping World. I am writing this in hopes to save even one person valuable time and money. In Camping Worlds own statement regarding their culture they state “Our mission is to consistently enhance the RV experience for our customers....Our goal is to make RV ownership fun, comfortable, safe, and carefree.” I can say without a doubt that the only thing Camping World has consistently done in our experience is procrastinated, failed to diagnose the cause of major damages to our camper, treated us as less than valuable customers and quite frankly, have literally sucked all the excitement we had out of being camper owners. It is very clear to me that Camping World in NO way appreciates our business and truthfully has made me feel like we are simply an annoyance to them. We bought our camper about three years ago after looking for about three summers, and finally took the plunge when Camping World got the one we wanted in stock - a keystone impact toy hauler with the extended garage. As first time camper owners, maybe we rushed into it a little, but after the pleasant experience we had with the service person and store sales associate I felt comfortable with our decision. In order to keep this as brief as possible - I’ll mention now that since our purchase of this camper it has been taken to one of three Midwest Camping World locations over a dozen times for various problems - most notably for repeated issues with the generator, and immediately after purchase for softening of the shower floor - and I also think it notable to mention that we did purchase an extended warranty on the camper as well. Our most recent experience is as follows. This past December, we took our camper to Camping World after Brian noticed softening of the garage floor. Our camper sat at camping world for over a month and the only thing they ever said was that we must have spilled something, as they checked all the plumbing and found no issues. We were quoted $8000 to fix it, which they then so generously offered to fix for $5500 instead, which Brian refused as we knew for certain there was nothing spilled back there because to be quite honest we took very good care of this camper as it was new to us and we wanted to keep it nice. Nothing more than a case of bottled water had ever been in our camper garage. So we took the camper home. Fast forward to now. Brian decided to lift up the flooring since the weather was getting nicer to see if the damage was something he could fix himself - and he found the floor to be so immensely molded, rotted and damaged that he called back Camping World and took the camper back up there to look at again. Brian filed a claim with our insurance since according to Camping World back in December, it wasn’t a plumbing issue. We received a letter from the insurance adjuster stating they would not cover the damage as it was found to be a plumbing issue which is not covered under the policy. When I called to ask Camping World about this I was told that this couldn’t be right and it was again insinuated that something had been spilled instead. I then had a lengthy conversation with the insurance adjuster who told me it was very clear to him that there were water lines in the garage that indicated some kind of leak coming from somewhere ahead of the garage. He also indicated he had made some suggestions to the service department of things to look at, to which he never got a response back from them - another example of the lack of attention and care they have for their customers in my opinion. Since then I’ve had several conversations with service personnel and have still not gotten an explanation directly from them as to where the damage is coming from. When I told them we had had our camper there for shower stall issues the first month we got it - I had to provide them with a work number because apparently they don’t have access to all camping world work orders there and unless you tell them that they don’t take this into consideration. I was told hey hadn’t realize there’d been work done before - like that makes any difference in the fact that you’re unable to tell me what caused the damage now. My phone calls are not returned timely, my campers still there, and Camping World still has no answers for us. It has been stated by the insurance adjuster and the service director that it is clear the damages are not from any fault of our own. Yet here we are - making payments monthly on a camper that’s been inside the Camping World service department more than we’ve used it to camp. This version is so brief I can’t even begin to name the ways that I’ve been made to feel like our time and money and most importantly business to Camping World is not valued in the least. It’s very sad that something that should have been so enjoyable has turned into such a disaster. I can’t speak for all Camping Worlds but I can say this - if I could go back, I think we still would have bought the camper, just NOT from a Camping World. If you or your friends or family are considering purchasing a camper - I urge you to check out the smaller RV dealers who may appreciate your business, time and money a little more. Obviously Camping World is too big of an industry leader to devote time to customer service and satisfaction.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris, Shaun
May 18, 2018

"There is no Service in Customer Service"

- Jbrown126

Do NOT use this place for service! 15 days ago I dropped off my Rv for service. The rear axle seal needed to be replaced. For the first 8 days the service rep lied to me about the delays saying they were waiting for a parts estimate from the manufacturer, the manufacturer. Meaning Ford, now never for simple auto repairs have I ever heard of someone contacting the manufacturer. On top of I'm supposed to believe it took 6 days to get a quote on parts for the most popular gas chassis for rv's. The service rep, when confronted with questions about above statement, gives me an attitude and begins to tell me "it's our busy season" " our parts department may not have gotten to the list for your vehicle yet they are busy" etc... more lies. I finally get the service manager show assures me he will get the parts and have my unit back to me in a few days..... 7 days later they have not contacted me at all. So I go to the store and unit still isn't done and noe both the service rep and service manager give me an attitude, however now they assure me my unit will be done today after first telling me it might be done. So as I sit here waiting to see if they lied to me yet again I CANNOT recommend Camping World to anyone. I beg you to read my review and look at spending your money elsewhere. I know this is the last time I will work with them

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mark
October 20, 2017

"Positive experience"

- RV, Bob

We have owned 18 RV s over the past 40 years. My experience at the Waconda Ill. Camping World was the best , most professional, and most thorough ever. From the initial contact by phone ( we live in AZ ) with Cindy, our superlative sales person, to Alex, the excellent business/ finance person, to Brian, the very knowledgeable service manager, this Camping World team was the best I've experienced. Bob S.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cindy M., Alex D., Brian
May 08, 2017

"Did this really happen?"

- Carmen SPERLE

We drove down 2 hours to look at a camper. We were working with 2 salesmen for over a week on this deal who didn't communicate with each other. While working on the deal a 3rd salesman sold the camper from the same office. Horrible customer service and communication. Lost our business!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ray, Colton and Ken
1
1 - 10 of 12 results