Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

CarLotz - Midlothian

Midlothian, VA

2.0
9 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

11944 Midlothian Turnpike

Midlothian, VA

23113

Directions

9 Reviews of CarLotz - Midlothian

Sort by Write a review
March 17, 2021

"Same as the other bait and switch. Found a truck for a..."

- Cjc1015

Same as the other bait and switch. Found a truck for a great price and I called them TWICE and spoke to 2 separate people to make sure the vehicle was in stock before I filled out the application online to get it which I did immediately after speaking with the second person. Hours go by with no response until I get an email saying “Sorry but the vehicle you were looking at is being sold. Is there another vehicle you might be interested in?” Nope, and not dealing with any other “shop from home”dealerships, I’ll go in so I can put my eyes on it and see that it’s there

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Didn’t get their names on the phone
January 12, 2021

"I selected one star because that was the lowest rating..."

- av8r8

I selected one star because that was the lowest rating available. I never became a customer of CarLotz, fortunately, because their bait-and-switch scam fell apart after I had invested hours in research but before I actually got there. They advertised a particularly nice truck at a price they said was "discounted". That was the bait. After scheduling a test drive and serious buying discussion online, for the first time, they emailed me about seven hours later: "We received your request for an appointment to see this truck this evening, however it has not been through it's inspection for the lot. I didn't want you to make the drive for a vehicle that is currently waiting for repair approvals from it's Seller." Wait for it, but it was not long in coming: "Were there any other vehicles of interest on the lot you wanted to make the trip for?" That's the switch. To keep the outrage going, you know what happened next? I called the number on the web site to talk about this and ended up speaking with someone who said he was at the Richmond CarLotz headquarters. After being generally disbelieving of my experience, and after telling me that I could not possibly have scheduled a test ride tonight online, he said he was going to connect me to the Midlothian site. . . but instead, hung up on me. SO: If this was your truck, on consignment, I was about to buy tonight before they blew me off, I'm sorry for you. Maybe you should consider dealing with a reputable dealer. If you are thinking of buying something from these guys, I'd advise caution. If they would string me along all day by falsely claiming that a particular vehicle was on their lot and for sale, what else might they be lying about that will be harder for you to evaluate than just the pretense of the vehicle on the lot?

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Never got that far
August 31, 2020

"Great experience today at Carlotz. I live near a CL hub..."

- Jjamison001

Great experience today at Carlotz. I live near a CL hub and saw a car we liked last night online. I test drove the car around 10am, talked through details with Ned who was super helpful, returned home, and had credit paperwork in my inbox minutes later. After filling out details with help from Alex, and uploading pics (via my phone & computer which amazed me), the application was approved less than 30 min later. Other paperwork came quickly and by mid afternoon, my car was personally delivered to my front steps by the CL team. Amazing job to make buying a car this easy and friendly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ned, Alex
March 06, 2020

"3 attempts for information 0 responses"

- jp

I have reached out to CarLotz 3 times and have had no response in over 10 days. Disappointing as they have a car on their lot that I have been looking for and intended to buy. Will keep looking and hopefully find it someone where the seller is responsible and responsive.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
None as noone responded to my inquiries
August 16, 2018

"Easy purchase"

- Kevin

Such a friendly staff and easy purchase. I felt at home the moment I walked in and would recommend this store to anyone looking for a quality used car!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Zach, Alex, Frankee, Joe, Mike
March 04, 2016

"Loved this place"

- paytyfaulk

I absolutely loved my experience here. They sold my 2008 Honda Accord in 3 weeks, and after their fee, I ended up with $2,300 more than the trade-in offer another dealer gave me. As a single mother, I would never have sold the car myself due to time constraints and the hassle of dealing with strangers but did not want to settle for a low-ball trade in number, so I was thrilled when a friend told me about CarLotz. If you have a car to sell, I highly recommend you consider using this service. I personally will never sell a car another way.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Josh Adams
January 27, 2016

"Outstanding!"

- dtrib99

After searching for the right car for weeks, I came across a fine-looking BMW at CarLotz. I had not heard of this dealership, but they had many positive reviews online, so I decided to check them out. I sent a few questions about the car, and one of their client support reps Cody got back to me within 15 minutes. Off to a good start. Cody set an appointment for me to come take a test drive the next afternoon, and from the moment I walked through the door, this place felt different. Everyone was so welcoming, and the space had a great energy to it. I was able to make an offer to the BMW's seller (CarLotz does consignment) and ended up getting the car for $1,800 less than a similar BMW at a nearby dealership. No hard sell - just a bunch of friendly people trying to make my purchase a pleasant one. But it didn't end there. I had an old BMW I was ready to bite the bullet and trade-in because I was tired of the BS of dealing with strangers and rude people trying to sell myself. CarLotz thought they could get me a lot more if I sold it through their consignment model. Sure enough, they found a buyer over a week later, and I ended up with $2,900 more than the trade-in value. Needless to say, this was an outstanding experience!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cody Wilder, Chris Williams, Evelyn Merithew
January 03, 2016

"Recommended"

- Mb389

I can now recommend Carlotz because they carefully review and respond to both positive and negative customer feedback and put into place processes to build on positive experiences and prevent negative experiences from reoccurring. Keep up the hard work, Carlotz!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Various
July 30, 2014

"First Car Lotz Experience: Very Positive"

- YRS

We were searching for a replacement for our daughter's VW recently totaled by another driver. We wanted to get her another Saab 9-3 and found a nice one at CarLotz. Frankly, we were unaware the business operated as a consignment operation, but their salesperson, Ralph Geilker walked us through the operating model and they had some explanatory lit. on hand too. As it turns out, we really liked the car, and after some back-and-forth with the owner, we bought it about a week later. Bottom line, the overall experience was very relaxed but professional...not once did I get the impression I was being schmoozed, lied to, or manipulated...quite the contrary. A great store, great folks, and a great business model.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ralph Geiker
1
1 - 9 of 9 results