Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Carousel Motors

Iowa City, IA

not yet
rated
27 Reviews

809 Highway 1 West

Iowa City, IA

52246

Directions

27 Reviews of Carousel Motors

Sort by
April 15, 2021

"Shopping for a Mercedes, Ask for Tom Akin. Tom has many..."

- timwiltfong

Shopping for a Mercedes, Ask for Tom Akin. Tom has many years and a great deal of knowledge with the Mercedes brand. Thank You Tom.......

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Thomas Akin
April 06, 2021

"Paid this dealership in October a deposit of $5,000.00 to..."

- timwiltfong

Paid this dealership in October a deposit of $5,000.00 to order a Gwagon. I was told in December by the salesman that my order was next. Today being 6 months, I called the manager and he told me I still had orders in front of me. I think this is a very dishonest, greedy, dealership. BEWARE

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe Waterberry
October 02, 2020

"I purchased a Jetta Gli 2019 from Carousel Motors in Iowa..."

- Jonathan Gunti

I purchased a Jetta Gli 2019 from Carousel Motors in Iowa City, and after 300 miles, the car had to be towed to a VW dealership after it stopped going into gear in a busy intersection. The dealership determined the clutch had failed. Carousel Motors blamed me for user error. The VW dealership I took the car to; told me that it was not due to user error and that in the time I had owned the Jetta GLI 2019 it was not possible to have done that damage. I spoke to Chris Hester (Used Car Manager) who kept placing the blame on me, and due to my race, he felt he could belittle and push all fault on me. The case escalated in VW when I called their customer service, and then all calls stopped coming. Finally, no one informed me till weeks later that the case was declined. Service was both poor from VW and Carousel Motors. I would not recommend purchasing a car from them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris, Sanel, Tor
September 16, 2020

"I had a great buying experience with carousel audi of..."

- EATON220

I had a great buying experience with carousel audi of Iowa city. I live in Connecticut and the sales personnel that I dealt with at Iowa city Audi was Javaka Thompson and Tyler Kovach. They both didn't make the distance effect how they dealt with me as a customer. They were knowledgeable about the 2018 Audi Q7 that I eventually purchased, and made my car buying experience quick and hassle free. When I am ready to purchase a new vehicle I would definitely consider doing so with carousel auto group.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Javaka Thompson, Tyler Kovach
May 16, 2018

"Smooth Transaction - Highly Recommended"

- mccaw

We had a quick and easy transaction with Nathan at Carousel! They treated us fair and made it a pain-free process. ( I'm not a fan of car purchases... It always has seemed painful) They were very willing to help and make sure that we were taken care.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nathan
November 09, 2017

"Good experience"

- Scooba

My first time taking my Audi to this dealership for scheduled maintenance. All I can say is that they did a good job: easy to schedule using the Internet, they give you all the options (loaner, shuttle, rental) during the scheduling process and there is always an opening that can fit with your schedule. Brent was great during the drop-off and pick up of the car: no pushing of services that I did not want and was ready to assist me. I opted for a shuttle and it was very clean and the driver was a nice person. No complaints and the car was ready before the estimated time and was delivered clean.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brent Lybarger
October 23, 2017

"Read all reviews!!!!"

- Carlos1523

I normally don't ever write reviews, however I believe everyone should receive a heads up. Honestly I should have read the reviews prior, because it would have saved me a lot of money. What ever you do, do not buy any reaquired vehicles aka lemons from this dealership. They will provide you with all the necessary documents and tell you that the car is sound, but they are not. Chris Hester is a bully and the one that will ultimately try to convince you that there is nothing wrong. This has already happened to a couple other people from reading the reviews I see. Anyway I bought my vehicle there and within 200 miles check engine light comes on so had to immediately be serviced for 2 days. On top of that, upon researching I found out that I paid retail value for this car, but for some stupid reason I believed the sales guy when he told me I was already saving a couple thousand by buying a manufacturer buyback car, which I believed. I would also name the sales guy, but he is honestly a good sales person and told me he was new to the place so I don't believe its his fault because most likely he didn't know. Now I am stuck with a very overpriced lemon vehicle and probably one that will have more problems to come. If this review doesn't stop you from buying a lemon (manufacturer buyback) then please make sure that they price appropriately because you should not be paying retail value for a lemon and don't let Chris convince you other wise. By the way Chris is also the one buying the manufacture buybacks so its in his benefit to convince you and tell you that he prices everything very competitively. ***Also beware that the cars paint may look in pristine condition when you pick it up, but its most likely a glaze they put on the car. After one wash my exterior showed buffer marks everywhere with holograms. May not be a big issue if you don't buy a black car or if you don't care about exterior, nonetheless would like everyone to learn from my mistake. (and once again another review was also left on this issue).

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Yuchen and Chris hester
September 10, 2017

"Highly recommend "

- fredg

Sales rep Dustan Fogle is outstanding. He is very professional, patient & proactive, answering all questions and providing requested information. Vehicle was accurately represented & described by Dustan. Dustan was even generous enough to come in before hours on Saturday morning to accommodate our driving in from out of state. Many thanks to a great team.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Harvey in Finance & Bill Williamson
September 06, 2017

"Excellent sales experience!"

- VW Believer

Allison Barnes was an exceptional sales person and worked hard to ensure I was comfortable and well-taken care of throughout the sales process. I would highly recommend Allison to anyone interested in purchasing a car from Carousel Motors. She's knowledgeable, honest, and a joy to work with. Thank you, Allison! You made my buying experience a wonderful and stressfree one.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Allison Barnes, Harvey Ireland
July 31, 2017

"No deal"

- Scooba

Looking for a lease deal to replace my car for another in the brand, I sent emails to a number of dealers even 250 miles from home. But Carousel had the car I wanted and, as advertised in their website, for $4,000 off the MSRP. I had heard bad things about the dealership but tried to check with them anyways, as they are local to me and the price was really good. Waste of time: first, they stated that the price was only for purchase, so, did not honor their ad, which did not state anything about these differences. Then, I asked what would be their best offer: they just sent me the monthly payments, which I calculated as MSRP. It is their option to not give any discount but, when I said that I would be traveling to lease a car almost $3,000 under MSRP, they said that no dealer would do that (they did). Dealers should know that in the internet age, we have all the tools to know what is a good deal. It looks like Carousel does not know that and still believe that nobody would travel to get a better deal. I just got an email from another dealer with an offer even better than their advertised price and will be closing the deal in the weekend. [UPDATE: I was contacted by the sales manager Bill Williamson, who explained the reasoning for their advertised price and he apologized for any misunderstanding. He went through the quote and gave me his best price. Although it did not match the other offer, he was transparent and clear, more concerned about my impressions than with the deal. I can say that he provided great customer service and I would probably give another try in the future].

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sonny, Bill Williamson
1
1 - 10 of 27 results