Search
Back
Write a review

Carousel Motors

4.2

23 Lifetime Reviews

809 Highway 1 West, Iowa City, Iowa 52246 Directions
Sales: (800) 798-7278

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

23 Reviews of Carousel Motors

Sort by Write a review
May 16, 2018

"Smooth Transaction - Highly Recommended"

- mccaw

We had a quick and easy transaction with Nathan at Carousel! They treated us fair and made it a pain-free process. ( I'm not a fan of car purchases... It always has seemed painful) They were very willing to help and make sure that we were taken care.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nathan
November 09, 2017

"Good experience"

- Scooba

My first time taking my Audi to this dealership for scheduled maintenance. All I can say is that they did a good job: easy to schedule using the Internet, they give you all the options (loaner, shuttle, rental) during the scheduling process and there is always an opening that can fit with your schedule. Brent was great during the drop-off and pick up of the car: no pushing of services that I did not want and was ready to assist me. I opted for a shuttle and it was very clean and the driver was a nice person. No complaints and the car was ready before the estimated time and was delivered clean.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brent Lybarger
October 23, 2017

"Read all reviews!!!!"

- Carlos1523

I normally don't ever write reviews, however I believe everyone should receive a heads up. Honestly I should have read the reviews prior, because it would have saved me a lot of money. What ever you do, do not buy any reaquired vehicles aka lemons from this dealership. They will provide you with all the necessary documents and tell you that the car is sound, but they are not. Chris Hester is a bully and the one that will ultimately try to convince you that there is nothing wrong. This has already happened to a couple other people from reading the reviews I see. Anyway I bought my vehicle there and within 200 miles check engine light comes on so had to immediately be serviced for 2 days. On top of that, upon researching I found out that I paid retail value for this car, but for some stupid reason I believed the sales guy when he told me I was already saving a couple thousand by buying a manufacturer buyback car, which I believed. I would also name the sales guy, but he is honestly a good sales person and told me he was new to the place so I don't believe its his fault because most likely he didn't know. Now I am stuck with a very overpriced lemon vehicle and probably one that will have more problems to come. If this review doesn't stop you from buying a lemon (manufacturer buyback) then please make sure that they price appropriately because you should not be paying retail value for a lemon and don't let Chris convince you other wise. By the way Chris is also the one buying the manufacture buybacks so its in his benefit to convince you and tell you that he prices everything very competitively. ***Also beware that the cars paint may look in pristine condition when you pick it up, but its most likely a glaze they put on the car. After one wash my exterior showed buffer marks everywhere with holograms. May not be a big issue if you don't buy a black car or if you don't care about exterior, nonetheless would like everyone to learn from my mistake. (and once again another review was also left on this issue).

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Yuchen and Chris hester
September 10, 2017

"Highly recommend "

- fredg

Sales rep Dustan Fogle is outstanding. He is very professional, patient & proactive, answering all questions and providing requested information. Vehicle was accurately represented & described by Dustan. Dustan was even generous enough to come in before hours on Saturday morning to accommodate our driving in from out of state. Many thanks to a great team.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Harvey in Finance & Bill Williamson
September 06, 2017

"Excellent sales experience!"

- VW Believer

Allison Barnes was an exceptional sales person and worked hard to ensure I was comfortable and well-taken care of throughout the sales process. I would highly recommend Allison to anyone interested in purchasing a car from Carousel Motors. She's knowledgeable, honest, and a joy to work with. Thank you, Allison! You made my buying experience a wonderful and stressfree one.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Allison Barnes, Harvey Ireland
July 31, 2017

"No deal"

- Scooba

Looking for a lease deal to replace my car for another in the brand, I sent emails to a number of dealers even 250 miles from home. But Carousel had the car I wanted and, as advertised in their website, for $4,000 off the MSRP. I had heard bad things about the dealership but tried to check with them anyways, as they are local to me and the price was really good. Waste of time: first, they stated that the price was only for purchase, so, did not honor their ad, which did not state anything about these differences. Then, I asked what would be their best offer: they just sent me the monthly payments, which I calculated as MSRP. It is their option to not give any discount but, when I said that I would be traveling to lease a car almost $3,000 under MSRP, they said that no dealer would do that (they did). Dealers should know that in the internet age, we have all the tools to know what is a good deal. It looks like Carousel does not know that and still believe that nobody would travel to get a better deal. I just got an email from another dealer with an offer even better than their advertised price and will be closing the deal in the weekend. [UPDATE: I was contacted by the sales manager Bill Williamson, who explained the reasoning for their advertised price and he apologized for any misunderstanding. He went through the quote and gave me his best price. Although it did not match the other offer, he was transparent and clear, more concerned about my impressions than with the deal. I can say that he provided great customer service and I would probably give another try in the future].

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sonny, Bill Williamson
December 23, 2016

"REPORTED FRAUDS to VW of America"

- Hotskillet

I purchased a "Certified" Preowned VW from Vince S. Th Carfax was clean single owner no accidents, and Vince S. Claimed it was perfect. After delivery of the Vehicle, it was discovered the the entire body of the car had been repainted and tried to cover obvious damage. The paint job had sandpaper scratches, paint sags, runs, and poor bodywork still showing dents. The "certified" car was missing the VIN verification stickers since car had been repainted. It was also missing a key, battery cover, parcel shelf and had broken lumbar adjustment. Because I gave them negative feedback, they basically told me I'm stuck with the car- have a nice day. I had to file a report with VW of A to resolve them being frauds.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Vince, Chris
September 11, 2016

""Easy deal at Carousel Volkswagen.""

- The Wad

After doing at least 50 car deals the deal I did at Carousel Volkswagen was the best deal I have ever done. I dealt with Harvey Ireland, the Sales Manager, and did the entire deal over the phone for my son Nicholas. There was no pressure and just all straight talk. Harvey hit me with a sales price, the first time, and it was a fantastic price. When we discussed the financing once again he gave me a terrific rate. The entire deal was done in 20 minutes and my son Nicholas was also ecstatic about the whole deal. All I can say was that it was an extreme pleasure all the way. Tom Wadler

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Harvey Ireland
August 02, 2016

"Not bad, "

- Maximustache

You might have to grind out your deal, but if you seek out a good salesman at least he'll be polite, crack jokes and be a genuinely nice person. I can honestly say that my experience here was excellent and I would recommend seeking out Dustan specifically.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dustan
May 11, 2016

"Not again"

- Honest Buyer

Was not satisfied with purchase of vehicle, several little issues arised from purchased and went unresolved. Customer needs to further look into their purchase to avoid hassles afterwards

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Harvey Ireland (Finance Manager), Chris Hester (Used Car Sales Manager)
1
1 - 10 of 23 results