Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Cavalier Mazda

Chesapeake, VA

4.4
52 Reviews

1552 South Military Highway

Chesapeake, VA

23320

Directions

52 Reviews of Cavalier Mazda

Sort by
February 21, 2021

"I went to Cavalier Mazda to look at a 2018 Mazda 6..."

- imjerryloo

I went to Cavalier Mazda to look at a 2018 Mazda 6 Signature. Car is gorgeous. Bobby Bell my salesman greeted me while looking at the car. Suggested I drive it, which I did. I liked the car so much i bought it. Bobby was great, along with the manager LeAnn, and the finance manager Jacob. All were very nice, easy to work with without any pressure whatsoever. Got a very fair offer for my trade in, and a very fair price on the Mazda 6. I highly recommend Cavalier Mazda to anyone wanting a no pressure and fair process buying a vehicle.. Great little dealership.

Read More
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
LeAnn, Bobby Bell, Jacob
November 03, 2020

"This is a reposted review from my last one that the..."

- A Yao

This is a reposted review from my last one that the dealership asked me to reconsider after they fixed the brakes. Additional customer service issues have been added 11/2020 Again their service department needs work. I am now having issue with my side mirrors not folding all the way with a lot of play in the mirror housing that they are currently unable to replicate, which I will say fixes itself every so often so that I will just need to video tape for conclusive evidence. If it was just that, I wouldn't be as annoyed as I am. The issue is that my driver side mirror vibrates at highway speeds which causes the image to be shaky and disorienting. It happens to me everyday on the highway at 60-70mph and sometimes 55mph, but apparently neither the technician nor the manager are able to replicate it. I am annoyed because this issue disorients me every single day I drive the CX-5, but they say that compared to the other CX-5s, they see no difference. Be prepared to pull teeth and videotape the actual issues with your Mazda if you expect proper warranty service at this dealership. Invest in a wide view dash cam so you can document these issues as they come up. I know I will now since I am never believed at this dealership. 11/2019 The sale service is great, but the service department is a mixed bag. The first oil change I had with them, they had used the wrong filter as they did not realize my CX-5 was one of the new Turbos and they may have used the wrong oil as well according to the paperwork. The wrong filter had also been installed when I had the oil replaced after finding out about the incorrect filter and oil after the first change. On an additional note, I have had a brake squeak since a few months after I purchased the car. The dealership has apparently been unable to replicate the issue every single time. I've had the squeak daily since and it's getting frustrating since I know 100% that this squeak is not normal. It's not rust-related nor is it wear and tear since I am now just into 12000 miles on my vehicle (8 months after I started having this issue). There is even a service bulletin describing my exact issue (04-004/19). Mazdas drive great, but if I knew the warranty service and dealership after-service were going to be like this then I would have reconsidered the purchase here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Scott
Nov 04, 2020 -

Cavalier Mazda responded

Mr. Yao, we believe you. Your warranty is still good for another year and about 11,000 miles. The proper procedures for repairing a car is: 1) get a description from the customer regarding what's wrong. 2) Technician confirming the issue. 3) Technician repairing issue. 4) Technician confirming issue is corrected. Please understand our dilemma. If we cannot make it act up. We would be guessing on a repair and there would be no way to confirm the repair corrected it. We want you to be happy with your car and our service department , but we have to follow the proper procedures as outlined by Mazda and common sense. Scott Benson Service Manager

Nov 06, 2020 -

A Yao responded

I am quite aware of the diagnostic and repair processes. It is the fact that the dealership has misdiagnosed on multiple occassions at this point as well as did not use correct parts previously. Both of which are signs of poor service work and attention to detail That's why I have now posted the various issues I have had and not just the recent one. You asked me last year to retract a review and I gave you the benefit of a doubt. Now more issues have come up and I feel obligated to make people aware of how issues and service may be handled at Cavalier Mazda. You also told me that there isn't a TSB for the mirrors when there is in fact one for the folding issue (Bulletin No. 09011/20). I do my homework when trying to figure out the issue before bringing in a vehicle and I am not the only one with a 2019+ Mazda CX-5 with the above issue just as with the brake squeal that you were never able to replicate, but happened to me every day. It was finally fixed when I had to contact Mazda Corporate regarding the whole process and the time I wasted even when I already told your service desk about the Bulletin describing my issue. It sounds like the same exact timeline of events happening with these mirrors now.

September 24, 2020

"Excellent customer service from all of the staff here at..."

- The Rockstar

Excellent customer service from all of the staff here at Cavalier Mazda especially Phil Wilson, LeAnn Schimmel, and Beau Daniels from whom we had the pleasure of working with on trading my wife's 2017 Mazda3 for a beauitul 2020 Mazda GT CX-9. This is our second brand new Mazda from Cavalier and have always been treated like family. Phil is very professinal and courteous! He was able to get the deal we wanted with no pressure and in excellent timing! LeAnn helped sweeted the deal and I was sold! I want to give a special thanks to Beau for finding my daughter's Switch that was left in our loaner vehicle. This was something he was not obligated to do, but goes to show you that he cared about getting that Switch back to my daughter and that means a lot to me and my family. Another thing that I won't forget is the bond my daughter and LeAnn had with their love for Pokemon Go! My kid will forever remember that moment in her life. To me this experience was more than just buying a new vehicle, it was a life moment that I'll always hold true to my heart. And that feeling is something you can't get from just anywhere. If you are reading this and you're on the fence about which Mazda dealership to go to, go to Cavalier Mazda. Talk to these people and get to know them. I'm glad I did and couldn't be more happier with my purchase! Thank you Cavalier Mazda Team!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Phil Wilson, LeAnn Schimmel, Beau Daniels
February 26, 2020

"GREAT SERVICE!!! KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK. WORLD CLASS..."

- JWAY1984

GREAT SERVICE!!! KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK. WORLD CLASS PROFESSIONAL AND TRUSTWORTHY. THE ONLY PLACE I TRUST TO SERVICE ALL MY VEHICLES. VERY HIGH STANDARDS

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Morgan Beale
5.0
Lisa Haeusser
5.0
Other Employees : SCOTT, CAITLIN, STEVE, JOSH
Mar 02, 2020 -

Cavalier Mazda responded

Thank you for choosing Cavalier, we appreciate your 5 star review!

February 26, 2020

"Great service department had my rx8 in because it wasn’t..."

- emerica9

Great service department had my rx8 in because it wasn’t starting, cavalier was able to figure out the problem and get me back on the road.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Morgan Beale
5.0
Lisa Haeusser
5.0
Other Employees : Mike Josh Scott benson
Mar 02, 2020 -

Cavalier Mazda responded

Thank you for choosing Cavalier, we appreciate your great review!

February 26, 2020

"Came in for an oil change and they were very thorough..."

- RdRocket

Came in for an oil change and they were very thorough explaining about services I needed and glad I came in. Everything was done on time and they were perfect. Definitely will come back to this place.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Morgan Beale
5.0
Lisa Haeusser
5.0
Other Employees : Scott
Mar 02, 2020 -

Cavalier Mazda responded

Thank you for choosing Cavalier, we appreciate your 5 star review!

February 26, 2020

"Scotty and josh have been taking care of my mazda 3 since..."

- Perez

Scotty and josh have been taking care of my mazda 3 since 7 years ago and they've never failed me. Keep up the good work. These are honest and hard working people.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Morgan Beale
5.0
Lisa Haeusser
5.0
Mar 02, 2020 -

Cavalier Mazda responded

Thank you for choosing Cavalier, we appreciate your great review!

February 20, 2020

"I was leaning toward a different product, I stopped at..."

- berniejacques

I was leaning toward a different product, I stopped at Cavalier Mazda on a whim, I am glad I did. Fred Saunders was great! No pressure, very informative and understood that I needed information to make a good decision. Very positive car buying experience.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Fred Saunders
Mar 02, 2020 -

Cavalier Mazda responded

Thank you for choosing Cavalier, we hope you love your new car!

January 07, 2020

"Great buying experience"

- Mike

The purchase was great and the people were friendly. Fred Sanders was great to work with. We told them where we need to be and they met it.

Read More
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Fred Sanders
Mar 02, 2020 -

Cavalier Mazda responded

Thank you for choosing Cavalier, we appreciate your great review!

September 09, 2019

"Car Broken into and not repaired"

- Dominick

****DO NOT have your car serviced here!!!**** My 2009 Mazda 3 was brought here for repairs after my wife went through a flood. My car arrived on a friday and was broken into the radio was stolen and the window smashed. I was not informed until I called late the next week to get a status on the repairs.The police weren't called. When I asked when they were going to repair the window and radio I was told its not their problem. When I asked about the repairs to my car I was told the TCM was bad and tha it was internal to the transmission. The TCM on the car is not internal. They then filed a poor report when sending my car back to the collision center causing the repairs needed to not be covered due to an inconclusive report.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager
Sep 18, 2019 -

Cavalier Mazda responded

Mr. Lucurto - The body shop towed your car to us Friday evening. We saw the window had been broken Saturday morning when we went to get the mileage to write it up. Saturday morning we called the body shop and got their voice machine. We left a message stating that the window was broken. At that time, we did not know whether the window was broken before or after they towed it. The body shop was our customer and we called them as we should. We are sorry that someone broke into your car, but it has always been our policy that we are not responsible for loss or damage due to fire, theft or any other cause beyond our control. We did not see any evidence that your transmission problem was caused by driving through water, nor your insurance adjuster or the body shop. It was sent to us for a third opinion. We again would like to apologize about your situation but we did not create or cause it. If you have any other questions or comments please contact our Service Manager, Scott Benson.

1
...
1 - 10 of 52 results