About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Charles Toyota

1.0

180 Lifetime Reviews

500 W Thames St, Norwich, Connecticut 06360 Directions
Sales: (860) 889-8375

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

180 Reviews of Charles Toyota

Sort by Write a review
September 20, 2017

"Terrible Experience - Shady Sales & No Honesty"

- Ramrock212002

Would never go back. Spent three hours talking with Ray and when I started asking about price, he said, "I don't do that. You talk to the finance guy when you go in the room." Finally got into the room and that guy thought we'd already made a deal. More waiting while they go find the sales manager. We agree on a price, shake on it, start filling out paperwork and he comes back into the room and says, "I'm sorry, I just can't do that price." We'd already agreed and started the paperwork! He apologized and said he'd be happy to sell me one model lower for the price we agreed to. I agreed to a nicer car at this price, why on Earth would I accept a lower model for the same price?? He asked if he could call me later to talk about another car and I told him he could (why not, never hurts to hear what they have to say), but he never called. Total waste of my time and absolutely no credibility, accountability or morals. If you want the stereotypical "shady car salesman," this is the place for you. Otherwise, stay away!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ray McLean, Sean Wells
Sep 21, 2017 -

Charles Toyota responded

I regret to hear of any confusion or miscommunication that occurred during your visit. We value your time and would never intend to make you feel as though we do not. Thank you for your feedback; it helps us to improve and better serve our customers. We hope to have the opportunity to prove to you how much we care in the future. Best, Charles Toyota Team.

August 13, 2016

"outstanding and very frindly"

- sheepdog

I went to a different dealer and waited 45 min. and no one came out to help me . I went to Charles Toyota in Norwich ct. they came out right away and everyone in there said Hi to me as they walked by and by when I left and asked if they could get me anything to drink. Very outstanding dealer ship

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mr costello
April 11, 2016

"Great Salesman/Up Front Dealership"

- KIA Kid

When I arrived at Charles Toyota I was pleasantly greeted by Shelton Watrous. I had several questions regarding purchasing a 2016 RAV4. Shelton answered all my questions accurately and provided valuable information about the RAV4 that I wasn't aware of. Extremely knowledgeable and sincere. He is not your typical (You must buy it Today) salesman. It was a true pleasure dealing with him. If you are looking for a great dealership with fair prices go to Charles Toyota and ask for Shelton...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sheldon Watrous/Sales Manager
February 17, 2016

"first Class"

- pgorman

Sales men are very friendly and are able to answer any questions. I have purchased 4 cars over the years from here and always get a great deal. Service there is also quick and efficient

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Thomas Couture, Dan Bilicki, Chris Lillibridge
February 10, 2016

"totally ripped off "

- john

this is the worst mechanic business i have ever seen . they destroyed my car. i asked for a head gasket estimate and instead the mechanic flooded my engine block and hydrolocked my motor , killing it. they pushed it out of the shop , told me it wasnt their fault and made me tow it away . when they drove it in to the shop it was running .they have the nerve to charge me 63 dollars for that and i could say alot more .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
mechanic , scheduler , payments
December 12, 2015

"Excellent customer service"

- "Suzanne"

We purchased a new car & traded our older one easily & efficiently at this dealership. Mike went out of his way to transfer items from the old to new car including our EZPass.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Collins
May 04, 2015

"Excellent Dealership !!!!"

- Al

Purchased a 2013 tundra on 4/25. Shopped around and priced several trucks and talked with several dealerships. The staff at Charles Toyota found me the right truck at a great price. the buying experience was wonderful , no pressure up front pricing and very nice people to talk with who took care of all my concerns. I DEALT with Tommy, Eian and John. If every dealership treated customers like they treated me it be a much easier buying exp. Thanks again guys for a great truck . Al

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tommy, Eian, John
December 11, 2014

"Hands down, best car buying experience ever"

- bfrechette1129

The staff at Charles Toyota was a pleasure to work with after we needed to replace my wife's Lexus following an accident. We originally were looking at higher mileage, used 4runners, and test drove a Rav4 as well, but ended up purchasing a certified pre-owned Highlander that will fit our growing family. We are very happy with it, especially the warranty that came with it being certified. Ray was not pushy at all, answering all of my wife's questions, and being extremely knowledgable about all of the vehicles we looked at, which is something that I greatly appreciate - too many salesmen these days care nothing about the cars they sell and all about the financing. The sales staff was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our two week search, and gave us a great deal that I didn't even have to haggle on price. Tommy was super helpful, even going so far as to check out what other dealers had to find exactly what we wanted. In the end, we went with the first Highlander we drove, and my wife loves it. Sean was very friendly and professional and explained everything about the financials and answered all of our questions. After the sale, we noticed a small problem - the driver's visor wouldnt fully flip up; Tommy told us he had already ordered a new one for us and it will be replaced at no charge. Ray even paired my wife's phone with the Highlander's bluetooth for her before we left. I have had some pretty bad customer service from other dealers in the past (both shady, used car dealers and even other Toyota dealers - I'm looking at you, Middletown Toyota for not fixing the backup mirrors on my Lexus GS less than a week after purchasing it and for not replacing my Tundra's water pump barely 100 miles over the powertrain warranty), but the level of customer service, honest and knowledgable salesmen, and ease of making a decision is the reason we expect to keep coming back to Charles Toyota for for years.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tommy Couture, Ray McLean, Sean Wells
September 02, 2014

"DO NOT GO TO CHARLES TOYOTA IN NORWICH CT!!!"

- kingdd627

On September 2nd 2014 I visited Charles Toyota of Norwich CT to pick up a refund check (which took me 1-1/2 months to get due to issues with Toyota Financial). As I walked into the dealership I was stunned to find out that not a single salesman, or anyone for that matter, asked me if I needed anything. I wasn’t dressed like a hobo or anything. Anyway, after finding the person I needed to find and going to the ATM I pulled out the check only to realize that it was made out to the wrong person. I took it back and calmly explained that I couldn’t cash it because it wasn’t made out to me. The lady who wrote the check apologized and I told her it was “no problem, accidents happen”. Shortly after this, Harold Winslow (General Manager) comes in and his first words to me are “have you been in here yelling at my staff”. I said no and that we’d been having a pleasant conversation. His staff even backed me up and said that I had been very polite. He had a few more things to say about how he didn’t need people harassing his staff and other stuff. At no point in time did he even remotely attempt to apologize for accusing me repeatedly even after his staff backed me up. After a few minutes I got my check and headed out the door. On the way out something finally asked me if they could help me, I explained to him what had just happened. He told me that Harold Winslow is a “senile old man” and tried to apologize on his behalf. The bottom line is this, I had a decent experience when I bought my car but after they got my money it seemed that they no longer cared about me. Most phone calls lacked critical information and most face to face interactions lacked even the remote kind of pleasantries would give a strange that holds the door for you. I’m not asking for much. I’ve spent a lot of money there and had the potential to spend more but I will take my business elsewhere in the future. I am encouraging all my friends to do the same. Additionally, I will be contacting Mr. Winslow personally to tell him how I feel about this but I cannot stress this enough, DO NOT GO TO CHARLES TOYOTA IN NORWICH CT!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Harry Winslow
July 03, 2014

"Disappointed "

- jessleo28

Walked in ready to purchase a 2011 Corolla cash that week. I came in my work clothes so I could make it before dealership closed. I guess because my attire was messy, having come directly from work, I got no greeting; in fact many salespeople walked past like I wasn't there. The dealer that I did finally deal with started with a price much higher than the car's listing. After that he continued to push financing on me when I made it clear I wanted to pay cash. He never made eye contact me, and made me feel like he had something better to do. Used this dealership years ago; will not again. Got a great 2012 Honda Civic from Cardinal where they were warm and courteous.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Anonymous (don't want to put his name out there)
1
...
1 - 10 of 180 results