About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Charlie Obaugh Chevrolet Buick GMC

3.9

15 Lifetime Reviews

410 Lee Jackson Highway, Staunton, Virginia 24401 Directions
Sales: (540) 885-8893

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

15 Reviews of Charlie Obaugh Chevrolet Buick GMC

Sort by Write a review
June 08, 2018

"Excellent service"

- Rvers

Outstanding service. Great communication. Mechanic worked overtime to get us and our truck back on the road with our RV to Canada. Cannot thank them enough.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dave wood and Stan shifleet
Jun 11, 2018 -

Charlie Obaugh Chevrolet Buick GMC responded

Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate your business and are so happy that our team could provide great service to you and your vehicle. We look forward to serving you again! Regards, Eric Obaugh, Vice President, (540) 860-4286, eobaugh@charlieobaugh.com

November 27, 2017

"Promises Made - Promises Kept"

- Very Satisfied Customer

We recently purchased a car from the Charlie Obaugh team in Staunton. They were terrific despite a hiccup mid-transaction. In short the pre-owned vehicle we initially decided to purchase turned out to be unacceptable. The disqualifier for us to purchase it was not discovered until we were literally signing the papers and after a great deal of effort by the dealership to meet their commitments prior to sale. Suffice to say stopping a transaction at that point could have easily resulted in the team at the dealership simply moving on to the next customer. However, Mark Brooks and Brad Bahle simply took the situation in hand and proceeded to understand my (the customer) concerns and what I wanted. They made a commitment to follow-through and find another vehicle. Given previous experiences with unfulfilled commitments/promises from other less committed dealers, I was skeptical. However, before we could complete out 40 minute drive home they called to tell me they had found a suitable pre-owned vehicle and could have it at the dealership within a few days. It turned out to be a better vehicle, at the same negotiated price of the previous one and they completely restored my belief that there are still car dealers and sales staffs committed to quality service and customer satisfaction. In today's car buying environment finding folks like Mark and Brad, that are committed to customer satisfaction, is remarkable. To be honest I had become somewhat jaded with car shopping experiences, having tried larger dealers hoping for better savings. Yet Charlie Obaugh provided a hassle free experience, with pleasant and knowledgeable sales team members that did not undertake some of the high pressure tactics often seen in other dealerships. From start to finish MY DESIRES were their paramount concern -- not simply selling a car or meeting a quota. Having run a very large customer service organization myself, there is a notable difference between team members who "say" the right thing make a sale and those that "DO" the right thing to make the sale. The Obaugh team is clearly in the "do the right thing category." My confidence was restored. I don't like car shopping. I went to Charlie Obaugh on the references of about 20 friends in Charlottesville that have made repeated trips over the mountain to purchase their automobiles in Waynesboro and Staunton and the Obaugh dealerships. I now understand why they have such a large following of fans. I have about 4-6 car purchases left in my lifetime. My children are just beginning theirs. All of my remaining purchases are likely to be a Charlie Obaugh as long as it retains its current local Shenandoah Valley character and integrity. And since ole Dad may have to co-sign when it comes time for the kids to purchase their first new car, their first car shopping experience will likely be at Charlie Obaugh. If Mark and Brad are still there, I would feel completely comfortable leaving the kids on their own to learn through the experience. Adam Moquin the Finance Manager - handled the paperwork side of our sale superbly and I would be equally comfortable having him guide the kids through a transaction. I know mine is but one experience. But it was a very good one. In short as a result of Promises Made and Promises Kept and the fact that the Charlie Obaugh team "walked the walk" of top quality ethical customer service with my transaction, they have earned my admiration, thanks and repeat business. Charlie Obaugh Chevrolet in Staunton is what the car shopping experience should be......the Obaugh family should be happy with the manner in which their employees performed. Thanks

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mark Brooks, Brad Bahle, Adam Moquin
October 31, 2017

"Carloyn Thompson"

- Alicia Adam

Carolyn is an awesome salesperson! She's so energetic and sweet. She is jewel and excellent to work with! I don't think she ever stops smiling! Thank you Carolyn!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Thomas Ballengee
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Adam Moquin
Oct 31, 2017 -

Charlie Obaugh Chevrolet Buick GMC responded

Hi Alicia and thanks for the great feedback! We're very happy that Carolyn was there to give you excellent customer service we know you deserve! Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again! Best, Eric Obaugh, Vice President, (540) 860-4286, eobaugh@charlieobaugh.com

April 06, 2017

"Sales and Services"

- Return customer

I have been dealing with Charlie Obaugh for years.. I do the lease program and get a new truck every36 to 39 months. Charles Sipe, Tee Ballengee, Brad, Clyde everyone is ready to help you. Heather Weaver in service takes great care of me when I call and need service work done. Great experience both sales and service. SB

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Thomas Ballengee
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Sales and Services
Apr 10, 2017 -

Charlie Obaugh Chevrolet Buick GMC responded

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. Each employee is a valued member of the Charlie Obaugh Chevrolet Buick GMC team and we all strive to provide excellent service! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thanks again! Best, Eric Obaugh, Vice President, (540) 860-4286, eobaugh@charlieobaugh.com

March 31, 2017

"Michaela was a lifesaver"

- Lydz90

I was in such a jam and she went the extra mile to make a great deal happen!! The staff was amazing and the car is perfect for what I needed! My family had been a one car family for way to long and She saved us!!! I will be forever indebted to her and Charlie Obaugh and they have secured a repeat buyer!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Michaela Robinson
Apr 10, 2017 -

Charlie Obaugh Chevrolet Buick GMC responded

At Charlie Obaugh Chevrolet Buick GMC, our number one goal is customer satisfaction. We train our staff to go the extra mile and give the customer a positive experience. We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent visit and we hope you will continue to use our dealership for your parts and service needs. Thank you for your great review! Best, Eric Obaugh, Vice President, (540) 860-4286, eobaugh@charlieobaugh.com

March 13, 2017

"BUY FROM BETH!"

- Wsimmons2014

A few days ago my dad and I went to Charlie Obaugh and purchased a new Kia from Beth Clemmer! It was the most pleasant car buying experience we have ever had! We appreciated all her kindness and willing to working with us throughout the whole process. And to top it off she was very knowledgeable. Our finance experience was great as well! Especially after my dad had a bad experience at Steven Kia when my parent purchased their new Kia (They were lied to buy the salesman about financing). From now on we will always buy from Charlie Obaugh and always ask for Beth! The radio ads for Charlie Obaugh are 100% True! We had the best experience we could have asked for. Thanks again to Beth Clemmer, Adam Moquin, Glen Wood, Jacob Swatrz and the entire staff at Charlie Obaugh Kia who made it a great experience!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Beth Clemmer
Mar 16, 2017 -

Charlie Obaugh Chevrolet Buick GMC responded

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave us a great review! We are pleased to hear about your great experience at Charlie Obaugh Chevrolet Buick GMC! If there is anything else we can do for you just give us a call! Best, Eric Obaugh, Vice President, (540) 860-4286, eobaugh@charlieobaugh.com

March 06, 2017

"Warranty repairs"

- Matt Mader 2016

Bought New on 12-22-16 a GMC Black Widow 1500 Sierra. My salesman was excellent (Mike Guerrero). He got me the amount on my trade that I was looking for. There were a few minor flaws on the vehicle : fender flares had to be replaced, paint issues on the hood and driver's side door, 18" scratch on the hood,dash had a clip that had come undone. Since my purchase, my vehicle has been to the body shop numerous times to address the issues stated above. Upon removing the hood, technician noticed chipping of the clear coat finish on both sides of the hood scoop. The entire hood was repainted and a film was placed on the hood to provide a barrier between the hood and hood scoop. When the scoop was reattached the film had shifted around the edges from where the bolts were torqued too much. When the new fender flares were installed, the left rear flare had gotten a small fine scratch. I had to bring the vehicle back to have the scratch buffed out . Also, the rubber seal between the fender flares and body of the truck are lifting/separating from the adhesive strip after less than 2 weeks of being installed. I came in on 3-6-17 and talked to the owner (Charlie Obaugh). I wanted to make him aware of all that has happened since taking ownership of this vehicle. He stood in front of me fiddling with an LED flashlight installing batteries as I spoke of the issues with my vehicle. I got the impression that he really wasn't concerned with my issues just from his lack of paying attention and his verbal response of "I'll look into it". I left his office and I returned the truck to the body shop to have the film under the hood scoop replaced. It was at that time I pointed out the lifting of the rubber seal on the fender flares to the body shop manager Kim Dryden. His response was basically, "it's aftermarket parts and there isn't anything I can do to make it right." " All I can do is put on the parts that the supplier sends me. It had issues from the beginning so naturally according to the supplier it's going to have the same issues when I put the new parts on." "I'm going to attempt to fix it one more time but if it doesn't work this time, there isn't anything else I can do to make it right." Not the response a customer who has purchased 3 vehicles from this Obaugh dealership wants to hear. So basically I'm being told that even though I purchased a $69k vehicle, I'm going to have to accept that there will be flaws in the appearance and there isn't anything this body shop can do to make it right...even though the entire after market package is covered under the factory warranty. I've owned the truck a little over 2 months. Almost half of that time, this vehicle has been sitting in the body shop. I was told by Kim Dryden that his guys had put a lot of time into my truck making it right and in his opinion they hit a home run. A home run is when you pick up your vehicle and all repairs are done correctly, the truck is detailed as it was on the day you first took possession of it. Not the case here at all, not even a detail. Just a basic wash but there was buffing compound dust on the inside of the vehicle on the dash area and compound residue still around the edges of the hood when I picked it up last time from repairs. I've never experienced the attitude and quick change of demeanor when I confronted Kim Dryden on the flaws. He was noticeably irritated that I had the nerve to insinuate that his team had done a below average job on previous repairs. The fact that his shop has to redo a repair of the same area is proof enough that it wasn't done properly the first time. I am scheduled to pick my vehicle up tomorrow. I am less that hopeful that the repairs will be perfect but there is always that chance. I can assure all that has taken time to read this that this will be my last purchase from this dealership because of how I have been treated by both the owner and the paint shop manager.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kim Dryden (body shop manager)
Mar 10, 2017 -

Charlie Obaugh Chevrolet Buick GMC responded

We are sorry we came up short in the eyes of Mr. Mader, as all we were trying to do is repair his vehicle the way he want it, and that takes some time when dealing with aftermarket companies as was the case with his truck. We feel we have attempted to the best of our ability and what was offered us to address his concerns each time he has visited in an efficient, detailed manner. His first visit concerned a fender flare fit stripping that seemed not to fit properly. We ordered all new flares from the up-fit company, and replaced them as items like this are not GM and are under the GM factory warranty. While the truck was here during the first visit, Mr. Mader noticed a spot or two on the hood he wanted us to take a look at it to see if we fix it for him. Once we removed the hood scoop, we found it needed a little more attention. We contacted the up-fit company and they approved the repair and sent in a new part to install under the hood. Once completed, we noticed where we reinstalled the hood scoop we had damaged the new part and need to order a new one. This is where we had to bring the truck in for a third time to correct. During this time, we reworked the strips on the fender flares, fixed the hood scoop, and painted another item Mr. Mader had noticed where there was thin paint on the B-pillar. As for timing of repairs and time at our shop, we just wanted to make sure Mr. Mader's truck was repaired properly, and we're truly sorry that this inconvenienced him. We are are also sorry for his perceived treatment with our staff. In business we sometimes try too hard and we come up short in the expectations of our customer, and it seems we have done so in this case. We hope he accepts our apology and continues his business with us as sometimes things are in our control and out of our control, but when it comes down to it, we truly care for every customer that comes through our doors. Respectfully, Eric W. Obaugh

January 14, 2017

"NOTHING BUT BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE"

- Mandy2

Sometime ago, I spoke with a salesman at Charlie Obaugh Auto Group. I heard the radio ad "Make $2,000 a month and have $500 down, which is completely a lie! I gave them my credit information and they ran it all over the place. I got a call saying my score was too low and even with a co signer, they were not interested in my trade at all of which they never even saw. I would never reccomend Charlie Obaugh to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jacob Swartz
Mar 15, 2017 -

Charlie Obaugh Chevrolet Buick GMC responded

I apologize for Ms. Lundy's experience. I also, have to apologize for not responding in a timely manner, no excuses. I have to respectfully disagree with her comments towards our marketing. We help people out every day that make $2,000 a month and have $500 of positive equity to add to a deal. We never run an individual's credit all "over the place", as we do not engage in that type of business practice. As for needing a co-signer, that is a standard practice for an individual if they have less than stellar credit or just don't have any credit and need to build their credit. As for her trade, it could have been she wanted more than what the market value was worth on her vehicle for her to think we did not want her trade, not sure here, but it does happen. Perception is in the eye of the beholder, and we are sorry we have not left a good perception for Ms. Lundy. We wish her well. Eric W Obaugh

May 26, 2016

"AMAZING SALE!!"

- Mia.Windley

This place is amazing! Everyone dropped what they were doing in order to help me. They got the ball moving so I wouldn't have to be there all day and did everything in their power to get me the lowest price. They beat out all the competitors. Customer service was their key to everything. They offered to take me anywhere I wanted to go so I didn't have to wait at the dealership! This is family owned and you can honestly tell due to the exceptional customer service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Charles Sipe, Bradley Ewing, Adam Moquin, Te Ballengee
May 23, 2016

"Horrible Customer Service"

- mguerrero9

I turned my truck in for repairs with the service department here. My truck was under warranty at the time. After they looked at it, for 5 days, they continued to avoid to provide me a estimate to fax to my warranty company. On the 5th day, it was obvious they were not going to fix my truck. The service writer himself, would not even look up from his desk to acknowledge me. On my way home, a belt snapped on my truck thus causing brakes and power steering to go out. I immediately called the GMC manager, Brad Hull. He thought it was funny because I owned a Dodge Ram. I asked him if the thought a negative review would be funny and he said he didn't care. I could have been involved in a serious auto accident or even killed. I spoke to Charlie Obaugh himself about this issue and he told me that his service department let him know they knew my auto warranty company and that they wouldn't pay, being the reason they never sent them an estimate. I showed him a repair bill of more tan $10,000 paid out by my warranty company to another repair shop and he just walked away. STAY AWAY PEOPLE!!!! If Service doesn't care and the OBAUGH's don't care, noone at Charlie Obaugh will!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brad Hull, Charlie Obaugh
1
1 - 10 of 15 results