Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Classic Ford Lincoln of Columbia

2.3

541 Lifetime Reviews

177 Greystone Boulevard, Columbia, South Carolina 29210 Directions
Call (803) 779-5977

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

541 Reviews of Classic Ford Lincoln of Columbia

Sort by Write a review
October 01, 2019

"Terrible Car Buying Experience"

- BC

I bought a 2017 Ford Escape SE from this dealership in February, the initial car buying experience was ok, paid a little more then I would have liked, but overall, was average/mediocre. About 1 month or so after I bought the car, it started having major issues with the power, electrical systems, and the computer system. In about 7 months time, I had the car not start, a key replaced, ignition switch replaced, battery replaced, and about 5 computer updates done. After the last time I took it in, the service rep told me that they very rarely send out notices about computer updates and that because of that it was very possible for the computer system to cut out and cause the car to die on me at any time. So after the car dying on me 4 times, no real fix, terrible gas mileage (I would get 75-100 miles on a FULL tank), I could no longer rely/trust the car so I took it back to the dealership looking to get rid of it. The first person I spoke with was Justin from their Finance dept. I was asking for roughly the value of the car when I purchased it because they had sold me a Lemon (SC doesnt have Lemon Laws for Used cars so you are screwed). They laughed at me and gave me a considerably lower offer that was insulting. Next I spoke with William Doggett, who again laughed at me and said that there was no way the car was having these problems as Escapes never have these issues. So essentially he was calling me a liar and trying to belittle me. He even said that I should essentially just deal with it and take the car back. After threatening to bring a lawyer in I then spoke with Bruce Johnson the Manager of the dealership. He said the typical things you would expect to hear "we are sorry", "this is really unusual", "we want you to have the best customer experience" blah blah blah. He told me that they would not even come close to giving me back anything near the value of the car when I purchased it because he said that they wouldnt even put it back out on their lot for sale (Shows what kind of used car they sold me). He then pushed me off to a sales person who tried helping me find a new car. They told me that the car I was looking for was not at their dealership but instead in NC, so they would have to drive it down to Columbia. So essentially they wanted me to buy a "New" car that would have roughly 170-200 miles already on it which at that point is no longer a new car, it may be "newer" then other used cars, but not new. The price they quoted me before add ons was about $1500 above the MSRP on the car that was even on the window sticker (or atleast the sticker they showed me). Then they wanted to add roughly 2k more in add ons that I couldnt opt out of. I left and went to Jim Hudson got the same year, model, and make as the one they were showing me and it had additional features for roughly $5,000 less (Give or take $500). DO NOT GO TO THIS DEALERSHIP, INSTEAD GO TO JIM HUDSON OR FRANKLY ANY OTHER DEALERSHIP.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
William Doggett, Bruce Johnson, Justin (From Finance, dont know last name)
June 21, 2019

"Terrible terrible customer service"

- Hughes

Every promise they made they broke. From Celeste Chandler, Mr Dodgett to Kip. Would not return calls after repeated tries. I went in to buy a used truck and had 2 in mind. Never got to see either of them because they were not on their lot. Typical bait and switch. They showed me a more expensive one and I did like it and ended up buying. They said there was a 12 month warranty and that they would repair a gouge on the rear quarter panel. When I went to pick up the truck a week later I was told there was not a warranty but I could purchase one. They gave me a decent price for the warranty so I accepted. When we saw that you could still see the gouge Celeste stated that they did not do a good job and that they would send someone to pick up my truck, bring it back and have it looking like there was never a gouge. I took their word, brought the truck and went back home. When I called back several times they would not return my calls. I guess I’m screwed. I went to a dealer because they generally treat their customers right. Boy was I mistaken. Do not buy a car from these people! Brutal!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Celeste Chandler, William Dogget and Kip
January 24, 2019

"DO NOT CALL THESE PEOPLE, INVASION OF PRIVACY"

- Wayne

WARNING DO NOT CALL THESE PEOPLE. I called this dealership, when asked for my name I only gave my first name. I was not asked for my phone number nor would I have given it. I asked one question about Explorer, whether or not back glass on lift gate opens separately, I was told " no " so I said I am not interested in it and hung up. Next day they called me at 1:03pm and asked for me by my first and last name. Again I said I am not interested and hung up. These people not only caller ID my call to them to get my phone number they also did a reverse look-up to get my last name and most likely my address to send junk mail. They did all of that without my knowledge or permission. Next day this sorry dealership called me again at 7:31pm from a different number than the day before so I would not recognize number and not answer. All I did was call them to ask one question and they turned it into invasion of my privacy to harass me. I would never buy a vehicle from these people.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
new car sales
December 27, 2018

"Bait and Switch"

- John

I emailed Classic Ford in Columbia on the 23rd of December to confirm the availability of a 2018 Ford Fusion Energi that was listed online for $27500. I received an email the next morning from Shauna Kirton at Classic Ford stating the car was in stock. My wife and I drove 30+ minutes to the dealership and spoke to a Mr. Thomas Burton. Mr. Burton said that the vehicle had been traded to another dealership and was not available for sale but we could test drive it and he would find us another similar car. He then proceeded to show us two similar vehicles for 34k+ and 37k+. Neither of these two vehicles are priced similar to the advertised vehicle but were similarly equipped. We stated that we were not interested in paying any more than $27500 unless we were getting a vehicle that was better equipped and even then the price would have to be close. We then left the dealership when Mr. Burton said there was nothing that he could do. On the 26th of December I emailed I emailed Classic Ford in Columbia on the 23rd of December to confirm the availability of a 2018 Ford Fusion Energi that was listed online for $27500. I received an email the next morning from Shauna Kirton at Classic Ford stating the car was in stock. My wife and I drove 30+ minutes to the dealership and spoke to a Mr. Thomas Burton. Mr. Burton said that the vehicle had been traded to another dealership and was not available for sale but we could test drive it and he would find us another similar car. He then proceeded to show us two similar vehicles for 34k+ and 37k+. Neither of these two vehicles are priced similar to the advertised vehicle but were similarly equipped. We stated that we were not interested in paying any more than $27500 unless we were getting a vehicle that was better equipped and even then the price would have to be close. We then left the dealership when Mr. Burton said there was nothing that he could do. On the 26th of December I emailed Shauna Kirton at Classic Ford and explained the situation. She said that we should return to the dealership and that they could get us a Ford Fusion Energi for the listing price and that it’s “not a problem”. We returned to the dealership after I got out of work on the 26th and asked for Shauna, after a few minutes of waited Mr. Burton walked out and asked us what we are doing there and what we are trying to accomplish. We stated that we are here to buy a vehicle today. Mr. Burton again said that the vehicle that is still advertised is not available and then said that the $27500 price is not that actual price because of an unmentioned “dealer add-ons” which add another 2k to the price. We asked what sort of “add-ons” were added and he stumbled around various things like tint (there no tint on the windows). He then went to a office out of our sight and came back out with three sheets of paper. One of them was the vehicle that was advertised at $27500 and the other two were vehicles in New York and Massachusetts that were priced $36k+. He stated that those two vehicles are the only two Ford Fusion Energi’s in the country (not true there’s many according to a quick internet search. Mr. Burton said which one do we prefer and he would see how much he can get the price down to. We chose the vehicle in Massachusetts and after 15-20 minutes he came back and asked if we were recent college graduates or military. We stated no and he walked back to the office. After several more minutes he came back and said that the vehicle would be $32k+. We said that was not the advertised price of $27500 to which he responded that the price would be lower but since we weren’t recent grads or military we couldn’t lower the price and further. After wasting two days dealing with the dealership we have nothing to show for it but wasted time and frustration. at Classic Ford and explained the situation. She said that we should return to the dealership and that they could get us a Ford Fusion Energi for the listing price and that it’s “not a problem”. We returned to the dealership after I got out of work on the 26th and asked for Shauna, after a few minutes of waited Mr. Burton walked out and asked us what we are doing there and what we are trying to accomplish. We stated that we are here to buy a vehicle today. Mr. Burton again said that the vehicle that is still advertised is not available and then said that the $27500 price is not that actual price because of an unmentioned “dealer add-ons” which add another 2k to the price. We asked what sort of “add-ons” were added and he stumbled around various things like tint (there no tint on the windows). He then went to a office out of our sight and came back out with three sheets of paper. One of them was the vehicle that was advertised at $27500 and the other two were vehicles in New York and Massachusetts that were priced $36k+. He stated that those two vehicles are the only two Ford Fusion Energi’s in the country (not true there’s many according to a quick internet search. Mr. Burton said which one do we prefer and he would see how much he can get the price down to. We chose the vehicle in Massachusetts and after 15-20 minutes he came back and asked if we were recent college graduates or military. We stated no and he walked back to the office. After several more minutes he came back and said that the vehicle would be $32k+. We said that was not the advertised price of $27500 to which he responded that the price would be lower but since we weren’t recent grads or military we couldn’t lower the price and further. After wasting two days dealing with the dealership we have nothing to show for it but wasted time and frustration.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Shauna Kirton, Thomas Burton
October 06, 2018

"Great body shop service."

- noscreenname

I recently took delivery of 2018 Ford Edge from another dealer. Within 1 day we had an issue with the front doors. They had come out of alignment. I took the car back to the original dealer only to be told it needed to go to a body shop. I called the folks at the body shop at Classic Ford and they told me to bring it in. When I arrived I was greeted promptly and professionally. Within 45 minutes they fixed the issue with the doors and I was on my way. If you need to have body work done of any kind I would highly recommend the body shop at Classic Ford. Those are great!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
The guys in the body shop/
August 02, 2018

"Great Dealership"

- john & joey

First time meeting Kelly Hale, Sales Consultant at Classic Ford Lincoln of Columbia, proved to be a winner. She is a right to the point kind of person and helps you through any & all questions you have. Gave us exactly what we wanted after test driving different models of new Lincolns and a great trade in price for our older car and a fabulous price on the new car. She is so professional and pleasant to work with going way beyond to make sure everything was perfect. So if you're in the market to buy a Lincoln or Ford, remember Kelly and you'll have the same great experience we had. Dealership is very clean and all the sales representatives we met were very helpful; professional and friendly!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kelly Hale
June 22, 2018

"The most idiot/unprofessional general manager I have never“"

- Lim

Bought a car that they lied about the auto check. After 4 months of used the A.C wasn’t working anymore..... to make it short Ford is one of the best brand but this store doesn’t reflect they products because the manager is just a ignoble stupid person.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Billy
June 15, 2018

"Excellent Customer Service"

- M&M Owens

My husband and I have purchased 5 vehicles (over the past 10 years)from Classic Ford (New & Used ). The experience that we have had with Classic Ford has been excellent!! Andy Wilson Service Manage has always shown excellent customer service very willing to get any issue resolved as well as Jamil Stanton Sale Department Manager has always shown my self &family great customer service and always professional. Everyone in this dealership has always been kind and courteous.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Andy Wilson, Jamil Stanton, Chris Hickerson (service dept speciist)
June 14, 2018

"Dishonest service dept"

- R.e. Rawlinson

Took vehicle in for airbag recall and new tires- got vehicle back with airbag and tire lights on! They got airbag light to go out but who knows if it will work if needed? Said tire monitoring module “probably “) bad - asked if the sensors were checked and was told they were- brought it back later and this time they said the sensors were bad and would replace for $95 a wheel- coincidentally the same price other tire service quoted even though they would be dismount & program again when Ford had already done it. No respect for customers or their time 👎

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Andy Wilson and “Dean” service manager and asst. service manager
May 22, 2018

"Tried for 2 days to get appointment for safety recall"

- goatrael

I've been trying for two days to get an appointment for a safety recall--2017 MKZ steering wheels come off due to short bolt. (No big deal, right?) Every time I call, I get sent to an extension that never answers; I've left voicemails that are not responded to. xxx, people??

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service adviser, don't know name; get hustled off the phone before I can get a name.
1
...
1 - 10 of 541 results