Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Classic Subaru of Atlanta

Atlanta, GA

2.7
226 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

7700 Roswell Road

Atlanta, GA

30350

Directions

226 Reviews of Classic Subaru of Atlanta

Sort by Write a review
January 27, 2021

"I initially posted a nasty review due to a major issue..."

- garner.lyon

I initially posted a nasty review due to a major issue with the car's taxes, but I was able to sort things out with the dealership and the Dep. of Rev. 4 stars because it was such a difficult process to sort out.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Quigley
5.0
July 10, 2020

"Customer Service is very unprofessional"

- Howard

I initially called to obtain the number for my warranty, the customer service rep was super unprofessional. She didn't answer my call until the 3rd time calling. When I finally spoke to her she transferred me to a number and no one answered. Whenever I would try to call back, she simply did not answer the phone. Maybe she recognized my number. I had to have my cousin call from a different number to finally get through. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, she transferred me to a sales person. They transferred me to another sales rep. When I finally got in touch with the supervisor, I was simply brushed off and not taken seriously. It is very disappointing for me to be calling this place of business for the sole purpose of getting an 800 number, and having to go through this ordeal. Felt very disrespected and not taken seriously. Word of advice, do not do business with this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Scott Shepherd
1.0
January 19, 2020

"Awful experience with their finance department! "

- marilyn1973

I was lied and misled regarding the 0.9% finance offer. I went to the dealer on Dec. 31, 2019 and clearly told John Boyer that I was looking to purchase a car before January 2nd in order to get the 0.9% finance offer. He told me the offer was valid only for the Outback. I choose a 2020 Outback XT and left a $2,000 deposit. Early morning on January 2nd, I called the dealer and spoke with John to ensure the car was arriving on that day (it was coming from NC) and my finances were in order. I was told everything was good and needed to come that day to get the finance offer. After waiting most of the day for the car to arrive at the dealer, I was told to come to the dealership at around 6:00 pm. I drove to the dealership in torrential rain. After being there for an hour doing some paperwork (traded in my old car, cancelled and updated insurance, purchased some other items) with John, Charlie from the finance department came and said that the 0.9% was not applicable on the Outback XT. John claimed that he didn't know. I rushed into the dealership because as John told me the last day for that offer was January 2nd. Charlie offered 5.4% rate which I refused, then he offered 4.99%, then he made a call to his boss and offered 3.99% which I accepted. When checking the total amount I noticed Charlie increased the price by $3,000 for extended warranty, gap protection and DuPont protection. I told him I only want to buy the car. Now, we were back to 5.4%. Out of anger and total frustration, I burst into tears. Charlie left his office and came back with a note with 2.99% and 3.29%. I felt I was negotiating with a bunch of dishonest cliché car salespersons in a dirt lot. I purchased the car. Later that night, I explained to my 18 year old son what happened. He checked on the Internet and found that Subaru was offering 2.99 and 3.29% for the XT. I spent two months researching brands and cars. I knew about the Consumer Reports rating for Subaru. I am happy with the car. I am also happy with the professional treatment I received from Sergio and Scott at the dealership. I truly hate the unnecessary and dishonest way of how John and Charlie managed this purchase for no other reason to make more money out of me. John later tried to defend Charlie's actions by saying that they had an awful last few months because people were buying their cars with cash and not financing them and Charlie was "just trying to take care of his family". I wonder if all of this was done because I was a woman purchasing a car on her own. Do you think a man (or any woman) will be willing to pay a higher finance fee just because Charlie or John are not getting well paid by Classic Subaru or Classic Cadillac of Atlanta?

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Boyer, Salesperson and Charlie from the Finance Department
January 16, 2020

"Go to Subaru of Gwinnett instead"

- Mike F.

Much better experience at Subaru of Gwinnett. SOG has been the most honest dealer service center I've encountered and their waiting rooms always have drinks and snacks when I go. Classic Subaru has been my worst dealership experience by a long shot (I've purchased from Tesla, Subaru, Nissan, Honda, Toyota, Chevrolet, and Lexus). Classic Subaru was months of lies and misdirection from the finance manager, Jason Strong. read on if you want the story: ~4-5 Yrs ago - purchased a WRX at Classic and gold warranty coverage the following day (finance manager had left by the time I finished purchasing WRX). They said the printer was off and that the warranty went through so I had no receipt. I kept my pay statement from CC just in case. Recently: 5/24 The finance manager at Classic asked me to submit a bogus warranty return request. Fake form that was never submitted for refund. 6/3 Finance manager told me it would take 10 weeks 7/29-8/15 Finance manager says it went to accounting and the 'warranty company' needs to issue a refund. I had purchased a Subaru Gold warranty, not a 3rd party. 8/16 Finance manager lies to me telling me that Corporate doesn't have anything to do w/ warranty cancellation and tells me that contacting them will have no effect (Later turned out to be true that contacting Corporate was useless). 8/16 Finance manager contacts me again saying that warranty refund has been processed and that the delay was caused by turnover within the accounting department (I would later find that the ACCT dpt has nothing to do w/ the cancellation process) 8/26 more lies about not knowing why I haven't received refund 9/3 I contact Corporate and they tell me that they haven't received anything from Classic Subaru 9/4 I submit the warranty cancellation forms to Subaru Corporate 9/26 Corporate asks me for payment statement that I had saved from years ago. Apparently Classic Subaru had entered my warranty as $0 purchase price. Corporate then asks me to wait until November/December after accepting my proof. 12/19 I ask about the refund and Corporate tells me they credited $923 back to Classic Subaru for my refund mid-October and that I should've received a check already 12/19 Corporate steps off and leaves it in Classic Subaru's hands Xmas - I call it quits. Not worth it any longer. Lesson learned. Subaru cust. service proved useless and it was all a waste of time to get a few hundred $s back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jason Strong
October 31, 2019

"Excellent buying experience"

- Subaru Review

Very positive buying experience at Classic Subaru. Sales Consultant Mark Campbell is knowledgable, straightforward and extremely helpful. Low pressure approach to sales and very responsive to questions and information requests. I would highly recommend working with Mark. RPD

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mark Campbell
August 06, 2019

"New Car Buying Experience"

- JMA

Just bought a new Outback 2019 from Classic. Was very pleased with my experience. A pleasure working with Steffon Stevenson. Worked hard for my business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steffon and Ted
July 15, 2019

"Run while you still can: Update"

- Afd

Update: I finally got a new temporary tag a few days after the old one expired to make the 600 mile drive to the DMV (yes 600 miles, this is why I triple checked everything beforehand). I get to the DMV and it turns out that the tag that I paid $300 for when I bought the car was in fact not paid for (at least to the DMV), so I had to pay for the tag AGAIN at the DMV. Meanwhile I have unsuccessfully been trying to get a refund from the dealer for over a week... The only good news is the car is running great. Not only will this dealership try to rip you off with added packages that they claim are required but they are also unable to give clear and direct answers about essential details for financing. When all was said and done (or so I thought) it was a fight to get my paperwork that was promised to be "overnighted". Furthermore when trying to get my tag I confirmed that everything was set and I didn't have to do anything both in person and in a follow up email. 10 days prior to my temporary tag expiring I tried to confirm again that nothing was required of me to get my tag since I still had not gotten it, but I did not get a response. 5 days before my temporary tag expired I emailed again just to confirm only to find out an entire list of steps I needed to take to get my tag and that it would not be mailed to me as promised multiple times before. With such short notice I am unable to do what is needed because I have work every day during regular office hours for 2 weeks straight and am unable to step out even for a phone call. Now my temporary tag is expired as of tomorrow and I conveniently am not getting a response about a new temporary tag or any other solution. This is the situation I tried to avoid in the first place knowing I wouldn't have time if something happened last minute. They do not know how to communicate with customers or between each other at this dealership, run while you still can.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jason Strong, Kody
July 03, 2019

"Mediocre sales and service experience at best"

- sajousart

Salesman failed to explain basic functions in the car. he was always busy answering another call or taking care of another customer, to concentrate on my purchase. he will not return calls and claims to have forgotten this or that details in the sales process. He has never been able to make the blue tooth feature work and claims only the service dept can help me with it. The service department guy, David is an expert at wasting the customer's time with endless and unnecessary waits during service that should take no more than a half hour. After they tell you the car is ready there is always some new reason why it is not

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian Foster
May 07, 2019

"Leave message with James Smith for Kody"

- DerrickG

I left a message for Kody with James Smith and I never got a return call. So I tried to call the sales dept just now and all I get is a recorded message to leave a message. I want to talk to someone in sales! I don't want to leave a message.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
James Smith
February 04, 2019

"Nina & James Were my last shot at the Subaru Brand"

- scaryman

After my experiences with every other Metro Atlanta Subaru dealer I called and spoke to James and Nina and vented about all the ridiculous games the other Subaru dealers were playing, plus the fact they all had to "talk to their Managers" to do every single thing on a sale was beyond childish. The games being played with my trade in, the games with not returning calls. It was very frustrating and Classic Subaru was my last shot before I went with another brand. ( keep in mind this was end of month, and they still played these games.) Once I got done venting James (The most amazing unbelievable, FLEXIBLE, patient General Sales Manager) understood. He mentioned they have been around for 36 years and don't have time for games. He apologized for the Brand and other dealers. I told him he had no need to apologize for them, that's on them, not you! He promised he'd try and be flexible as much as he can be. THAT WAS ALL I WANTED FROM THE OTHER DEALERSHIPS!!! Nothing ridiculous like trying to buy a car below dealer cost or something unreasonable. The core of the issue was not so much the price on a new forester or options as much as it was with the games the other dealers were playing with my BMW m3 trade in. James was very honest and forthcoming. I cannot give you a price on your car without seeing it, I didn't want him to. But when I told him the range I was in, he understood and said that is a fair number. But I have to see the car....Ok I understood, But just be fair and take 5 days if you need to provide a number I don't care. I am in no rush. So I go in a few days later and sit down wtih Nina and Poor Nina had to listen to be vent about the horrible experience up until that point. SORRY NINA! I didn't mean to be a POMPOUS A**. So James does his thing with checking the BMW out and when he came back with the number I wanted I was pleasantly surprised and I said Congratulations James. You have just overcome the biggest obstacle for me to purchase a Subaru. Once we had the trade in number agreed upon I felt confident that we could come to terms on the sale. With my situation there is a lot of complicated parts to me trading in the BMW, and purchasing a Subaru. But Nina and James said this is not their first Rodeo. So we agreed on the color and the Sport trim I wanted with the options I wanted which were none (standard sport trim) and agreed on price. Classic Subaru, Nina and James proved to be the only Subaru in Metro Atlanta willing to prove they could be flexible. So if your in the market for a Subaru in the ATL, and looking for a Flexible dealer You must give James and Nina a chance to prove to you they can be flexible. They will be up front and honest on what they can and cannot do. You will not be left feeling confused, lost. Like I said Classic Subaru was my last shot, then I'd reevaluate my options. But Nina and came in at the ninth inning and saved the sale.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
James Smith, Nina ( forgot last name)
1
...
1 - 10 of 226 results