Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

F H Dailey Chevrolet

3.0

5 Lifetime Reviews

800 Davis St, San Leandro, California 94577 Directions
Call (866) 627-6817

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

5 Reviews of F H Dailey Chevrolet

Sort by Write a review
June 04, 2019

"Wonderful buying experience!"

- Dee

I had a great experience at F.H. Dailey this past weekend. My husband had been dealing with Tim Boone, the corvette manager, working out the details of our lease. Tim set us up to meet with a gentleman Sandy Heller over the weekend at the dealership to finalize the deal and pick up the car. Sandy was very professional and made it a flawless transaction. We also had a great conversation with Larry the finance manager and Terry who was a gear head like my husband. These guys made the entire experience enjoyable and I am very happy with my new corvette.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tim Boone, Sandy Heller, Larry Diamond
April 01, 2019

"Worst car buying experience. "

- Richard

I live about 1.5 - 2 hours away, one-way (depending on traffic) and drove out to buy a car here on 6/25/18. The car was clean and staff was friendly, did the deal and went on my way. Two days later (6/27) I hear a noise every time I accelerate and it became worse and worse throughout the day and the car started to smell of mildew. So I call them and let them know what is going on and they tell me to come back the next day (6/28) so they can fix it. I am told if i bring it in by 4pm they can check it out and let me know what is wrong that day. So I drive out and arrive by 4pm and am told it cannot be looked at till the next day (Friday 6/29) and that they will call me in the afternoon to let me know the issue. So they lend me a car to drive home and the next day (Friday 6/29) I hear nothing from them, I try to call and my contact is "out of the office" and "will be left my message" So I call multiple times and after a few tries throughout the day I am told it wasn't looked at because "they didn't have time" and "they will check it tomorrow first thing". The next day passes, same issue with phone calls and I am told the same thing. But this time my car won't be looked at till Monday 7/2 because "Sunday 7/1" the next day the shop is closed. (Mind you, it was supposed to be looked at Thursday 6/28) So Monday (7/2) comes around and they fix the problem but did not wash the car (it wasn't detailed the day I picked it up because "Detailing was closed") but they claimed the smell was from the car being washed and not fully dried. So they wan't to keep it till Tuesday 7/3/18 so they can wash it. Whats another day right? So I go Tuesday 7/3 to get my car, it sounds, smells and looks good. They tell me the "Exhaust shield was bent and hitting the catalytic converter" and again, the smell was from it being washed prior. This was a week ago it is now 7/10/18 and the car is making the noise again and still smells of wet towels. I believe that they never fixed the issue, they just patched it knowing before they sold the car about whats wrong and sent me on my way to void the 3 day warranty they offer. I drove 10+ hours, 3 days for this car to be fixed and they didn't do their job! I am disappointed, I wasted my time thinking they are an honest place that would help with the problem. I will be calling today and let them know of the issue. But since I am out of the 3 day warranty period I'm sure they'll say it's not their problem. *UPDATE* F.H. Dailey told me I could bring it back and they will take it back to the company they hired to fix my car and basically do the same thing as last time. Go through the same exact process. I decided to not trust them and waste hours and days of my time on a gamble that it will be actually fixed. So i'll put more money into the car to fix it myself the correct way. *Additional Update* 4/1/19 I have taken this car to Toyota because I do not want to deal with these guys anymore and was told there has been a leak for sometime coming inside the car and Toyota took it apart and found that the sunroof was taken apart improperly and pieced back together and is now costing over $19,000 because of moldy carpets, headliner, pads, new sunroof and everything that goes with fixing the issue and replacement of ruined carpets and headliner. I called FH Dailey and notified them about the issue the car had prior to me purchasing and gave them all the information about what caused the issue and was told they can and will do nothing. I believe this car was sold knowing there was issues with it and they just tried to cover it up. This has got to be one of the worst experiences I have ever heard of. They claimed the car was sold as a "Certified Toyota" which I never heard of another brand dealer being able to certify another brands vehicle before. Yet, my insurance and Toyota dealer have both said the issue has been long existing since there was mold built up and rust where screws were never put back. This is in no way defamation to their company, just my on going money pit a car I was sold.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
na
September 23, 2017

"Doubly bad customer service"

- David Steinberg

I brought my Chevy Bolt to FH Dailey for service under warranty. I was offered a loaner car, which I accepted. On the "rental agreement" (no charge as it was under warranty), it clearly said NO SMOKING (charges apply). I don't smoke, no problem. When the service was completed I was out of town so my housemate returned the vehicle. He was told that there was pet fur in the car, which violated the rental agreement. No one told me pets weren't allowed in the loaner car, and I wouldn't have put my dog in the car if I had known, as I have another car. Unfortunately, my friend said he had no choice but to pay the $160 penalty. This is ridiculous -- first, we never would have had the pet in the car if anyone had told us; second, we would have vacuumed the car had we known it would have been an issue. I called to complain and was bounced to a couple different people. The final person, an assistant manager, said he felt confident that the rental staff would have told me there were no pets allowed. Well, they didn't. He didn't have any evidence that they had said anything, but said he discussed the issue with them. He then "monitored" their actions for a day or two to see if they routinely issued the warning to customers. He said he observed them telling every customer that pets weren't allowed. Well, that doesn't prove anything, other than the fact that: 1) he had just told them this information was required, and 2) the Boss was watching them while they signed out cars. It's not remarkable that the counter "girls" (as he referred to them) were careful to issue all the required warnings. Being my word against theirs, he refused to reverse the $160 charge. What makes this all the more frustrating is that it is the second bad customer service experience I have suffered at FH Dailey. When we bought our Bolt, the salesman goofed and ordered the car in the wrong color, despite our clear instructions. Because we wanted to close the sale before the end of 2016 in order to get the tax credit that year, we had just two choices: Accept the car in the color we didn't want or wait three to four months for a new car with the color we had ordered, and thus delay our tax credit by about 15 months. Totally unacceptable customer service on both occasions, and very little concern expressed by the dealership. I would never buy a car or get service from this business and feel they have engaged in deceptive practices.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gabe, Jessica, Steve Myers
November 21, 2013

"PROS: Excellent "in-store" customer service...."

- Lawyer1

PROS: Excellent "in-store" customer service. Very friendly staff. CONS: FH Dailey Chevrolet sold me a vehicle with a defective turbo engine that died only 10 days after purchasing the vehicle. FH Dailey's refusal to return my phone calls and ensure customer satisfaction is unconscionable; HORRIBLE "out-of"-store customer service! I recently purchased a used 2005 Subaru Outback XT 2.5 (70k miles) with a 36k mile extended warranty from FH Dailey in San Leandro on October 20th for my cross country move to the midwest; 10 days later, on October 30th- only 7 hours into my road trip- the car was sluggish, the engine began to smoke, & the turbo engine died. I was left stranded at a gas station in Carlin, Nevada, over 1000 miles from my midwest destination. To make a long story short, the mechanic and warranty adjuster concluded that the vehicle was sold to me with a preexisting condition. A representative from the warranty company stated that I should be angry at the dealer who sold me a vehicle with a bad engine. At the expense of my warranty provider, my car, which I bought 10 days prior, was towed to the nearest Subaru service center, over 180 miles away in Twin Falls, Idaho. I arrived in Twin Falls, the next day on Friday, October 21 at 3 a.m. I waited until the Subaru service center opened at 8 a.m. My car was inspected by Subaru specialists who concluded that the turbo in my engine died. I needed a new engine. The repair costs were over $2,000. Because my vehicle required a major repair, my warranty provider had to send out an Adjuster to ensure that such a repair was warranted. Unfortunately, the adjuster, would not be available to inspect my car until the following week on Monday. Therefore, I was given a rental car via Enterprise, which I had to pay a portion out of pocket. I drove the rental vehicle 1000 miles to my midwest destination, while the car I bought from FH Dailey only 10 days prior was awaiting turbo engine replacement. I kept the car for one week before having to embark on a 2000 mile round trip to return the rental vehicle and pick up my car in Twin Falls, ID. It was a long trip; I left my home at 4 pm on Friday and arrived at the Subaru dealership in Idaho at noon on Saturday; I made it back home Sunday afternoon. I drove 40 hours and spent $250 on gas to pick up my vehicle. In addition, I had to pay a $100 on the warranty deductible. Prior to my drive to retrieve my car, I politely contacted FH Dailey to see if they would either help finance the $1000 cost to ship my vehicle to me at my address or help finance my 2000 mile drive to pick up the vehicle in Twin Falls, ID. I asked to speak to a manager but no one knew where the manager was. I was told that they gave the manager my message and that he would get back to me. Unfortunately, FH Dailey has neither replied nor returned my calls. I'm still waiting...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Manager
June 19, 2012

"Located the vehicle I was looking for on the internet..."

- 732grl

Located the vehicle I was looking for on the internet (Autotrader.com). Contacted Roger Horn by phone to verify vehicle details and establish a price. Visited the dealership (160 miles from home) to inspected vehicle. Agreed to purchase the vehicle at the established price. Roger Horn and John Eggers (Finance Manager) were straight forward and accommodating. Purchasing a vehicle long distance can be a troublesome experience but these gentlemen made every effort to have the deal go smoothly. John Eggers went the extra mile and was able to find an interest rate that was better than my credit union rate. A busy day but a satisfied result.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Roger Horn, John Eggers
1
1 - 5 of 5 results