Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Five Star Auto Sales

3.0

44 Lifetime Reviews

451 Alfred Street, Biddeford, Maine 04005 Directions
Sales: (207) 283-1777

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

44 Reviews of Five Star Auto Sales

Sort by Write a review
May 17, 2019

"OMG Knock your socks off service!"

- James Waterman

For the second time, we drove 102 miles to Southern Maine to get another fantastic deal at Five Star Auto Sales. They live up to the Company Name. The price on our most recent purchase was $3,500 less than those in Augusta and Waterville. It was the best deal for our budget, low mileage, lots of bells and whistles, super clean truck. Worth the drive. Patrick Donahue was the ultimate professional. Service was prompt, easy through, friendly, accurate, and comprehensive. It was a pleasure to do business with him. We will continue to recommend this amazing company. They remain in contact to ensure that we are happy customers. And we will continue to accept compliments on the truck and pass on our advice - to save money - do yourself a favor - shop at Five Star Auto Sales. Thank you, Patrick, for saving us thousands. We have a houseful of kids; we appreciate the savings.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Patrick Donahue
December 14, 2018

"Great Service"

- Rbinette3340

I recently purchased a plow for my truck. I received great service with no issues. The staff was helpful and friendly. They went the extra mile to make sure that I was satisfied.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
I worked directly with the owner Pat
December 12, 2018

"Congrats to Five Stars Autos! "

- Elleanna

I had Patrick Donahue as a student in Scarborough High School and am so Proud of his High Ethic Standsrds in ownership at Five Stars Autos in Biddeford, Maine. I wouldn’t hesitate buying a vehicle from him! Eleanor Koutalidis!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Patrick Donahue
December 05, 2018

"Always knew they were corrupt"

- Hwkyplrs

So I've lived in biddeford most of my life and always heard horror stories about this place and went with my sister to look at a car when I was much younger and remember the experience being bad. Well my wife recently decided on a certain vehicle which they had at a fair price given the year and mileage so we went and looked at it and the salesman was trying talk to me as if I'm stupid (the only reason I am is for giving them a try) and tells me I need to give them a yes or no answer if I will be buying the vehicle and if I don't the rates will go up tommorow and the price won't be the same as well as other bs he tried to feed us. They have the vehicle listed for 10k but put down on paper they are selling it for 13k not including tax and everything else. They said nobody will sell a vehicle like it for that price. All I can say is this place is a complete joke and I can't believe it is still in business. I highly doubt anyone has actually had a good experience buying here and if they have then their naive and believed their bs.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Russell
October 25, 2018

"Great company, would buy from them again!"

- Steve h

Great company. I bought a 2013 gmc sierra from them. My credit union wanted 10% down . I texted bob the salesman told him I didnt have $2100 to put down I would have to pass. He texted back said if I can get you 0% down would you still want the truck. Said yes. Within 30 mins he called me back with an approval with 0% down and interest rate was a little high but that doesn't matter in a few months I'll refinance through my credit union. Above all he worked to make sure I got this vehicle because he knew I wanted it. Very nice guy , very professional. Would highly recommend!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bob Mahoney
June 18, 2018

"Terrible service over priced cars and they don't honor warra"

- Fy1860

Brought a Kia through them made it known it had a blower motor problem and they did not honor the warranty. Terrible C.S. Run the other way

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service manager
May 18, 2018

"DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY"

- Barry

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. I had 5-Star Direct look for 2015 Subaru Forester. They found the car I was looking for at a Pennsylvania Auction. They make it clear that they would have a mechanic look at the car three times. When I received the car, I signed papers with the understanding that the car was a 4.5 star vehicle. Once they left, I decided to have my local mechanic, (a trusted seven-bay repair shop company) which had been looking after my vehicles for over 15 years. 30 minutes into the review of the car, the owner of the shop came to me and said we have a major problem. Your car looks like it is a flood vehicle. The lower third of the engine and complete underneath of the vehicle was solid rust. The bolts in under all the seats were rusted. There was a flood line in the car which also had a musty smell. In addition to the water damage, the brakes and rotors where shot. The tires that were supposed to have 20,000 miles left, had less than 5,000 when I took it to the local tire store to have them checked. When I called 5-star to tell them about what my mechanic had found, I was told that was I was describing was not possible. I had my mechanic talk to 5-Star and he was treated unprofessional. I wanted to bring the car down 5-star and have them look at what I had be told. The response was that they did not have place to hoist the car up to look at what I had describe. They instead pulled the paper trail of the car and told me that it was impossible that the car was in a flood. When I pushed to have the car looked at, they said it would not make any difference. I was reminded that I signed papers that I accepted the car as is and that I was now the owner of the car. There was absolutely no recourse I had on the car. Their paperwork is air tight on 100% in their favor. I was able to talk to the President and shared that I believed strongly that I had been sold a flood car. He simply replied that the paper trail was all he had to go on and that car was mine. I was told the car was Subaru certified. When I had the paperwork of the car checked of the dealer who put the car up for auction, the car was not Subaru certified, it was simply looked at by the dealer. My mechanic confirmed that he believed it was a for sure a flood car based on everything he had seen in 30 year career of having his company take care of 1000s of cars. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. If you, do not accept the car until you have your own personal mechanic look at the car and confirm that you have been given a car that meets your approval and not just the promises of 5-star. PS. Even the professional cleaning of the car was done very amateurishly. I had spay and wipe marks all over the interior.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Management team
November 20, 2017

"Rip off Artists"

- Liam P Sullivan

I bought a Tundra from them with the extended warranty. It literally died while driving on a highway going 70 mph. No power brakes, no power steering...dead...barely got it out of traffic. Dealer looked at me like I made it up...sent me home with the truck. It happened 2 more times. Long story short, they wouldn't fix the truck I bought, but did end up selling me a much uglier truck that I later found out, had parts stripped off of it (ie. the bed liner, brush gaurd, etc) for a higher interest rate...Their excuse for the higher rate was that I had just taken out a loan for the original truck, so the bank needed a higher rate to give me a new loan on a truck that worked...huh??? The second truck needed a new radiator within a year, so I had to still pay another $100 for the warranty deductible...smh! This place will not only rip you off, but will act like it's your fault they sell so many lemons.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales manager, service manager
April 24, 2017

"DO NOT BUY FROM THESE PEOPLE"

- DO NOT BUY AT 5 STAR

This dealership commonly uses unethical and illegal practices, then lies to try and protect themselves. My wife bought a vehicle a few months ago, and just found out it had been involved in an accident, causing structural damage to the front end. Finley denied any prior damage, saying the use Auto Check which he claims was better than Car Fax. He told me he had just started working there in January (2017), but I now see complaints with his name on them dating back to 2011. When I showed him the Car Fax report showing accident history and how it was reported at the Auction in Massachusetts of "structural damage disclosed at Auction" (when Five Star purchased the car), he said Car Fax was lying. I have the paperwork (Buyers Order) from Five Star, showing no historical information available, and lists no prior accidents or repairs. We have contacted the BBB, as well as the Maine Attorney Generals Office. We are currently in the process of hiring an attorney. Five Star has offered buy the vehicle back for much less than she paid. They have been caught in several lies during our conversations, from no damage, to they repainted the bumper due to scratches, to well, yeah, it had been repaired. Save yourselves the headache we are going through, and STAY AWAY FROM FIVE STAR AUTO SALES.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Finley
February 12, 2017

"Great used vehicles "

- The Millers

Have purchased 2 cars through capital one auto finance. Easy people to work with. My cars were in mint condition and still look and run great. My second vehicle needed an oil change and an interior light..I left it there and they gave us a Rav to drive until we get the car back. Now I want the Rav! They also report to credit bureaus which is helpful in building credit.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dan
1
...
1 - 10 of 44 results