Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Fox Subaru

Grand Rapids, MI

3.1
29 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

6045 28th St SE

Grand Rapids, MI

49546

Directions

29 Reviews of Fox Subaru

Sort by Write a review
April 23, 2020

"Service Department "

- Jack Loresto

If you want good work done on your vehicle, take it anywhere but Fox Subaru. They have damaged multiple vehicles that we have brought in, nearly caused an accident when a repair failed and have never taken any kind of responsibility when they are confronted. Recalls that were quoted to be done in 2 hours have resulted in cars staying at the dealership for 7 days due techs breaking components. They will try to hide their mistakes and unless you inspect your cars after getting them back, I would have no confidence in their work. My family has bought no less than 5 Subarus and we have loved the cars over more than 15 years of ownership. We do our own maintenance on the vehicles and know the cars inside and out, and really take pride in keeping them immaculate. We only take the cars to Fox Subaru for recalls because of the poor experiences we have had there. The first problems with this dealership were when there was a recall on a brake line that could rust and burst. Within 3 years of having the dealership "fix" the brake lines, both vehicles that had been serviced experienced brake line ruptures, exactly where the recall had specified a problem, in one case nearly causing an accident. When confronted about the botched repairs, the service manager said that "other things cause brake lines to rupture" and only relented when I brought documentation from Subaru of America with how they should have repaired the lines. With the Takata airbag recalls the entire dash has to be removed on Gen 4 Subarus to replace the passenger airbag. On all 3 cars we brought to Subaru, they damaged the dashboards when prying them, leaving chunks missing right in the center above the radio, and broke the mounting tabs for the dash leaving it loose.The dealership actually returned all the cars to us without mentioning the obvious gouges in the dash. Their only excuse when asked why they were damaged it is that "it is difficult to take the dashboard out". They seem to forget that it is their job to not damage your car when working on it, and try to make you feel bad that you would want your car returned to you how you brought it in. Also worth mentioning is that the "repair" they do to the dashes after damaging them involves essentially a hot glue gun melting in some new plastic. This then degrades after 6 months and does not match the pattern of the surrounding plastic, leaving a permanent blemish. This service department has been deceitful, disrespectful and tried to hide their mistakes thinking that you will take their word at face value, and not know how to call them on their poor work. If you value your vehicle take it anywhere else.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Various
Apr 27, 2020 -

Fox Subaru responded

Mr. Loresto, We've received your comments and are reviewing your feedback with our team. I ask that you reach out to me directly to discuss your visit and the opportunity to help. Thank you for taking time to provide us with valuable feedback. Ryan Coe General Manager Fox Subaru 616-988-0340 direct line 616-745-8833 mobile

April 15, 2020

"Too many mistakes, not customer friendly."

- gary n

After an oil change on March 4 at Fox Subaru noticed some oil spots on garage floor on April 2. Took it back to service department that day, and was told it was not from their work but another location. Scheduled first available appointment for April 10, 8 a.m. when they would also do a recall repair. Estimated time: 1 and 1/2 hours. On April 10 they had no record of my appointment and said I would have to leave the car till Monday the 13th. Later on the 10th received an estimate of more than $1600 for fixing leak. Also a notice that car was due for major 60,000 mile service for another $600. I said I just had that. Response: oh, our tech must have missed that. When I went to dealer to pick up car, entered wearing a mask cause of virus. Got to hallway to service where there was a tape barrier, and someone without mask tells me i will have to go back through showroom cause they are closed. I point out that the entry door should be locked with a sign telling people how to enter. He says "don't get pissed". All in all, not a good set of experiences. James was the service adviser and did a good job.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
James
Apr 21, 2020 -

Fox Subaru responded

We’ve received your comments and are reviewing your feedback with our team. Please reach out to us directly as soon as possible so we can discuss your visit.

October 23, 2019

"Great sales experience and ongoing good service"

- Michal Enders

Haley Kuppler is a wonderful salesperson - great ongoing communication as I was coming out of my 2017 Outback lease and ordered a 2020 Outback,. Very professional, informative and helpful. I love the car! It came in about a month earlier than promised. I also have had great experiences with the service department here over the last few years with my 2017 Outback and expect the same for the next 3 years with the 2020. I highly recommend Haley and the sales manager Derrick Ferrel for an easy no pressure car purchasing experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Haley Kuppler
Oct 24, 2019 -

Fox Subaru responded

Michal, thanks for this marvelous review and congratulations on your new car! We are so pleased that Haley and Derrick were able to provide you with such exceptional service. Enjoy your new 2020 Subaru Outback! All the best, Ryan Coe, GM, rcoe@foxmotors.com

June 28, 2019

"Awful communication and service"

- shuanchava

I had heard many great things about Fox Subaru so I was initially excited to purchase a car through them. My experience has been less than stellar. Once the final quote was settled, everything went downhill. 1) Paid a deposit on a Tuesday. Car was scheduled to be delivered to dealership on Friday. I had to ask the salesman what I should do to speed up the process once the car arrived. I supplied all the information I was told to provide. Friday comes, no call. Reach out once again and told I won't be able to pick up the car (initially planned to have out-of-state co-signer) until possibly Monday but they would send the paperwork Saturday. Salesman said I would be contacted Saturday. Next day, no call. Send email stating my frustrations and expecting a call Monday morning. Monday: No call until 3:30 PM when I'm already driving to dealership to get my deposit back. They say I can finally meet with the business manager. Wait for over 2 hours for a 5 minute conversation to then wait another 2 hours for paperwork. But we finally get the car that night. 2) Chose to get a hitch installed. Salesman told me to call the shop to get part ordered and then dealership would handle everything else. I did this, and the shop had no clue what I was talking about. Called salesman who said he would take care of it. Parts came in, still in the time period where I did not have the vehicle, shop still had no clue what I was saying. 3) Paid for extra service requiring another appointment. Day I picked up vehicle, salesman said he would call me the next day (Tuesday) to schedule this service and hitch installation for Friday. Did not get a call. I called and sent an email Wednesday and did not get a reply until Thursday. Said there was an appointment Friday morning, I asked about a loaner, at first seemed hesitant about this but would follow up with me to confirm. I get no confirmation so I don't think I have the appointment set. Sent text Thursday night, no reply. Friday morning after I have now driven to work, I get a reply that he has a loaner vehicle for the appointment I didn't know was confirmed. 4) Only received 1 key, was told 2nd key would be ordered. Can you guess if I've heard back about this key yet? I was mildly frustrated before, but this whole experience has completely made me lose any trust in Fox Subaru. All in all, not impressed. Salesman: Armani Johnson

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Armani Johnson
Jul 02, 2019 -

Fox Subaru responded

Thank you for alerting us to this issue, Shuan. Our top priority is delivering 100% customer satisfaction and it’s concerning to hear you feel your experience does not reflect that. I would really appreciate the chance to speak with you regarding this matter. Please contact me at your earliest convenience. I look forward to speaking with you and regaining your trust in our business. Sincerely, Ryan Coe, GM, rcoe@foxmotors.com

June 01, 2019

"Excellent service"

- MommyE

Recently bought a used vehicle from Fox Subaru and we were so well taken care of. I when there when my three kids and not only but we made sure my three kids were taken care of. I am sure that they went through to give us the best price possible and explained everything in great detail. They made shopping for a vehicle for the whole family. I highly recommend Fox Subaru in Grand Rapids.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Pam,
Jun 03, 2019 -

Fox Subaru responded

Thanks for the wonderful review of your recent visit to our dealership. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction for each and every experience and we hope you enjoy your vehicle for a long time to come. It was truly a pleasure working with you. All the best, Ryan Coe, GM, rcoe@foxmotors.com

August 23, 2018

"I don’t want a new car"

- Fixmyown

I used the online message option to ask about a part for my car this morning and was very specific even providing the item number. The gentleman in parts got back to me as soon as they opened, and sent me an email with the price and the time it would take to order it in, I really appreciate that. However, I now have been contacted twice, first by phone, second email, about coming to look at some specific vehicle. I have no idea what they are talking about, but if it’s what I’m assuming and it’s a “don’t fix it buy new!” Thing, I have never met anyone who would give up a car for a bad o2 sensor. In the future stick to what the customer asked for please, this has left a bad taste in my mouth.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jeff, Brittany
Aug 29, 2018 -

Fox Subaru responded

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. Our customers are our greatest asset and we value your business. Your feedback will be reviewed with our team and please don’t hesitate to call us if you’d like to discuss them in greater detail. Sincerely, Ryan Coe, GM, rcoe@foxmotors.com

March 23, 2018

"WORST AFTER SALES SERVICE ..."

- Legacyowner

I like my Subaru, but i did not buy it from this dealership due to the same kind of poor customer service. I live in grand rapids but went all the way to kalamazoo at Maple hill auto just because of this reason. I thought their after sales service would be better, but it is even worse. If you go in just for an oil change, go for it but if you need major repairs, or warranty replacement don't bother. Service writers are rude, impolite and treat you like they are doing you a favor. I would give this place a negative star if there was an option.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dave
Jul 19, 2018 -

Fox Subaru responded

Thank you for alerting us of this issue. Our top priority is delivering 100% customer satisfaction, and I'd like to extend my sincerest apologies for your recent experience. I would really appreciate the chance to speak with you regarding this matter so we might work toward a resolution. Please contact me at your earliest convenience.

December 17, 2017

"Nice Place"

- The Bings

The people at the service desks are always courteous and professional, The customer waiting area and facilities are very nice, and the servicing time is reasonable.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
No Comment
October 23, 2016

"GOAT!"

- RuthieB

That means Greatest Of All Time!! Friendly fun and genuine people. I love my Outback. The whole experience was top notch. They were flexible with my work schedule and stayed late on a Saturday to complete paperwork. I can't recommend them enough! GOAT!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Russ
May 31, 2016

"Terrible customer service "

- Ednudna6

I recently went in to purchase a 2016 Subaru Impreza sport on June 26. I waited for a sales rep to help me out but it seemed like nobody wanted to work for a sale. So I walked inside and talked to the receptionist about talking to someone so I could take it for a test ride. Jen came out to give me the whole speal about the car. Took it for a ride and instantly knew it was the car for me, but ended up taking a different one for a test drive. After the test drive i told her I was interested and we needed to talk numbers. She then asked me how I wanted to pay, and with my response her whole attitude changed. I told her I wanted to pay cash for the car She then told me that they have a 0% financing up to 36 months blah blah. NO I don't want a car payment Anyways, after tax and everything it came out to 1500$ more than what I wanted to pay. Now I have bought a couple vehicle brand new in my lifetime and never have I once payed sticker price. So I know there is a little room to work with. I told her I have 25k cash right now for the vehicle. Sticker price was $24,999. She wasn't budging and kept insisting for some reason that I finance. Are you joking?? I then told her I would have to think about it as it was higher than what I originally intended on spending, hoping that she would change something and help me out. She didn't! Later that night I left her a message telling her I really loved the car but just couldn't spend the extra $$ and maybe she had a 2015 with the same features just a little less expensive for me.. I have still gotten no response from her. So not only was I upset that I waited over half hour in the lot before I went inside to get help but I WAS another sale for Fox Subaru Grand Rapids and the terrible customer service turned me to go somewhere else. 😕

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jen? Claims she's too salesman in the state
1
1 - 10 of 29 results