About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Gateway Buick GMC

3.0

36 Lifetime Reviews

820 James S McDonnell Blvd, Hazelwood, Missouri 63042 Directions
Sales: (314) 895-1600

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

36 Reviews of Gateway Buick GMC

Sort by Write a review
April 09, 2018

"The worst year long repair service I ever experienced! "

- TANNELLE

Have been dealing with this dealership for over a year; specifically the service dept. I have had the same issue duplicate itself 5 times and each time this dealer replaces a part that is not correcting the issue. I understand diagnostic codes and everything, but on multiple occasions they have all pointed back to the throttle needing to be replaced. They even wrote on one of my repair tickets that if "this repair" did not fix the problem and it resurfaced again they would replace the throttle. Well the issue did resurface a couple months later and we took it back assuming they would replace the throttle. However, they replaced something totally different and charges us a 5th time for something that did not correct the problem. So the most recent visit, the decided to go ahead and replace the throttle. After 5 -6 failed attempts and $2700.00 of my extremely hard earned money they replaced the throttle at the tune of $391.00 and that was only for the part. Nevertheless, I have yet to find a throttle that cost over $244.00 on any parts website. They seem to run between $112 - 244.00 for my vehicle model. After so many epic failures at repairing my vehicle, they did "waive" the labor rate on the 6th attempt. However, I don't doubt they more than likely added it back in as a hidden charge with the part cost, considering the huge difference in what they charged for the parts and the average price several parts websites offer them far. Tricky tricky deceptive company. All I have to say is God don't like ugly. This dealership is as ugly as they come! Did someone say bankruptcy!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
service team
April 05, 2018

"Terrible Dealership "

- Lindsey

Terrible place to do business...read reviews and get on the Better Business Bureau website before purchasing here. They do not pay off loans and managers do not return phone calls!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Moe, Erin, Ashley, Fred
March 29, 2018

"Refuse to Pay Off my Trade-In"

- jhuddleston

I traded in my Town & Country on 2/17/18 for a new 2018 GMC Acadia. This is when the nightmare began. When the payment for my Town & Country rolled around on 2/28 and the vehicle had not been paid off, I became suspicious. We spoke with our salesman and the general sales manager on 2/28 and 3/1 about this. They advised that the pay off may take a few weeks, but they would make payments on the vehicle until then. On 3/7, we contacted the dealership again as no payments had been made. Our salesman advised that they would not be paying off the vehicle, but sent out the monthly payment on 3/5. The bank finally received payment on 3/12, but it wasn't for the full amount. On 3/19, we were told that they dealership had sold some vehicles in order to make some payoffs and our Town & Country might be one of the ones they paid off. The General Sales Manager said that he made the owner, Don Davis, aware of the issue. However, on 3/28, we were told by the General Sales Manager that they still could not pay the vehicle off and would be making another monthly payment; this payment is now 1 day overdue. In addition to all this, it took three weeks for use to receive our title paperwork. In addition to these prior two issues, the vehicle was purchased with a chip in the windshield. They were unsure if it was filled or not, but we were told to bring it back the following week and they would fix it. A day or two later, the chip turned into a crack that spanned the windshield. We dropped the vehicle off for repairs on 2/27 and were told it would be fixed by 2/28 or 2/29. We advised we needed a loaner that can hold three car seats, but were given one that could only hold two. Since the repairs should have taken a couple days, that was fine. On 3/5, the repairs still were not done. They told us they would not put an aftermarket windshield on the vehicle and that it must come from GMC. They exchanged our loaner for another one that could hold three car seats. On 3/7, my wife was pulled over by St. Charles County police in front of her workplace because the plates on the loaner were expired. Luckily, she was only given a warning. The dealer drove over our third loaner and still did not have an ETA on repairs for our new vehicle. On 3/9, our vehicle's windshield was finally replaced, almost 2 weeks after we had dropped it off.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Don Davis
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Patrick - Sales, Michael Quinlan - General Sales Manager, Ken Placke - Financing, Doug Smith - Finance Manager
March 14, 2018

"Took 2 hours 20 minutes to get oil change"

- Upset,randy18

Had a 8:30 appointment for oil change, got there at 8:15, and people were all standing around waiting to get there vehicle in for service, I didn't have a 8:30 appointment they just let you pick your time on line and day, then you come in and wait they everybody else! After 2 hours 20 minutes it's was serviced, said that it was not right, but they didn't seem to care!! WILL NOT GO BACK WITH THESE KIND OF GAMES!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ryan Young
March 08, 2018

"5TH TIME FOR EXACT SAME REPAIR ISSUE"

- TANNELLE

I have been dealing with this company for over a year in regards to the same problem concerning my vehicle. They are charging me for repairs but are not fixing the problem with my vehicle. This will be the 5th time I have had the exact same repair issue and I take it to this shop to be corrected. I am billed large amounts for labor and parts and they have yet to resolve the repair issue. Every time I go they say "this" should fix the problem, yet 1-2 months later the problem duplicates itself. This will be the fifth time I bring my vehicle in for the EXACT same issue; check engine light, stabilizer track system, and power reduced/failure lights are on. They have replaced several parts while charging enormous amounts in labor cost and I keep hearing "this" should fix the problem. The most recent "fix" taking place in Jan 2018, they assured me that I should not have any additional problems. I have made several complaints and it seems as though this company takes my money and does a temporary fix to move me along. I don't know where else to go or what else to do. I just want my car fixed. I have spent thousands of dollars with this company in hopes that the problem would be resolved. They are making money with deceptive repair practices off the backs of hard working citizens. Unfortunately, all of the exact issues duplicated themselves this morning when I went to start my car; service engine light, stabilizer tracking failure, and reduced power. I could not drive over 40mph. It's the same problem over and over and they keep replacing parts and charging large amounts of labor but not fixing the problem. I have to take off work, while sacrificing money and vacation days that are needed for my five children. It's a terrible world we live in when large companies take advantage of hard working citizens. I want my car repaired and repaired 100% at their expense. I have already given them thousands of dollars to only be slapped in the face. Either fix my car at no expense to me or refund me the money I have already paid for repairs they did not provide. THIS IS COMPLAINT AND DUPLICATE REPAIR NUMBER 5!!!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
SERVICE TEAM
January 18, 2018

"NOT GOOD! EXPENSIVE! SURPRISED!"

- vall1017

We took our Acadia Denali on January 5th, 2018 for replacement of the front right headlight that was not working. Our surprise was the invoice that total $1,074.61. We were leaving town the next day so we agreed with recommendation of the Service Advisor as he was going to try to get us a lower cost by talking to the Service Manager. That did not work. The labor cost was $260 as in order to get to headlight, they have to remove front end..bumper etc. What floored me was the cost of two parts...the ballast was $431.02 and the Bulb was $292.26. If you look for those parts on the computer you can find the new Ballast for $34 at Amazon and $30 at Ebay.. The new bulb can be found for $129.47 at Amazon. Talking to the General Manager and Parts Manager, we were told that the reason for high cost is the design of the GMC vehicle, the cost of parts that GMC sells to them, and the reason we can find cheaper parts on Amazon is that GMC sells their parts at bulk prices to Amazon and that is why Amazon can sell parts so cheap. Workers at Gateway are nice and courteous but their prices for repairing a headlight is outrageous. Talking to a private mechanic, he tells us that he could have done the same job for around $200, so I guess we will be going to that mechanic from now on.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Blake Ebenkamp, Jaime Juarez, and Craig Shield
November 28, 2017

"PLEASANTLY SURPRISED"

- jason

Came from nebraska because they had exactly what I needed and it was a hard to find truck. I was really worried about driving so far , but again they had what I needed. The truck was exactly how they described it . Some times you don't alway see everything in the pictures. I was in and out in no time and the staff treated me like a just bought a brand new truck. Thanks again and it was definitely worth the drive.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Fred Butler
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Ryan Young
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Don Davis
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
October 27, 2017

"Not Good"

- 123456

This is the worst dealership around. Do not waste your time even looking here. They take cars on trade so they can use your money to float their dealership. Took 6 weeks for them to pay my trade off. I have bought and sold over 25 cars and not one transaction has been as bad as this one. Someone needs to step in and shut this place down. I will be notifying the Secretary of State police about this dealer as well as gm corporate who I have family that works there about their horrible practices using their customers credit to float the dealership from collapsing. Pure definition of robbing Peter to pay Paul! Certainly do not buy a used car from them because I can guarantee you will not receive a title for weeks to months because they don't have the money to pay it off atleast until they sell it and get paid on it a second time. I am not one to normally leave bad reviews but people really really need to be cautious about buying a car here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
N/a
Nov 03, 2017 -

Gateway Buick GMC responded

Good Afternoon Brad, I wanted to make sure I had time to review our records about this situation. We very much appreciate you as our Gateway customer. We know you have a choice when choosing to purchase a car. Our goal is to have our customers drive off our lot happy with their purchase. We are proud to have one of the highest Customer Survey scores in our region. It is always discouraging to read that one of our customers is not happy with their experience. We are not perfect, but we definitely make it our job to do everything we can to make sure our customers are completely satisfied. If there is anything else we can do, please do not hesitate to contact us. Ryan Young Customer Service Manager 314-801-1836

October 26, 2017

"True to their word."

- Scott H

Appreciative that the salesman stayed true to his word regarding price. I called beforehand- came in, and the price remained the same as what we had discussed. This did not happen at several other GMC dealerships I attempted to do business with. This is what made my decision to do business at Gateway.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brandon
October 12, 2017

"new car purchase"

- mark w

I bought 1 new car from gateway out of many in the past. I spoke with Gene the same sales person we used before. I am a regular guy with not much money and I was treated like a king. It was the best buying time ever for my wife and I. We were in and out in record time even with a trade in to appraise. There was no pressure or untrue buying gimmicks to deal with. We ended up with a great new car at a great price which makes them a great dealer. Its hard to find a good one. We thank you so much and if I could type better I would write much more. THANKS !

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gene Staten
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
1
...
1 - 10 of 36 results