Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Gateway Classic Cars

O'Fallon, IL

1.9
214 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

1237 Central Park Dr

O'Fallon, IL

62269

Directions

214 Reviews of Gateway Classic Cars

Sort by Write a review
May 05, 2021

"This dealer is clearly not legit. Who calls a car dealer..."

- OklahomaCity

This dealer is clearly not legit. Who calls a car dealer and makes an offer and doesn't hear anything for 7 days? Who tells multiple BS stories and none of them make any sense. Come on, if you are going to lie at least do it well. Every classic car vendor and website says to stay away from these people and I 1000% agree. They are bad news. I called, texted, and emailed. They just ignore you. Part of the problem is it's a bunch of millenials who have no idea how to run a business and several used car guys that are teaching them lots of bad habits. When they do answer the phone they won't answer your questions, or they answer them in a way you can tell is not truthful. They really don't give two xxxxs if they sell a car or not. And if, as the owner, you need to leave yourself a 5 star review to bring your average up....maybe you need to read the xxxxty reviews and actually fix your business. Jessie in Denver is horrible.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jessie George
April 27, 2021

"Stop using lopsided consignment agreement that allows..."

- Bertsiebert

Stop using lopsided consignment agreement that allows them to claim all money over the NTO (net to owner amount they get you to agree to as the least amount you will accept for the vehicle) as commission. The 12.5% commission language is a sham. Deceptive practices.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joshua G, Gateway Classic Cars
April 07, 2021

"TRIED TO PURCHASE A 41 WILLYS FROM THIS DEALERSHIP AND..."

- slashleybodyshop

TRIED TO PURCHASE A 41 WILLYS FROM THIS DEALERSHIP AND MADE AN OFFER TO THE OWNER AND THEY CALLED ME BACK AND BUMPED ME UP $10,000.00 MORE,SAID HE WOULD NOT ACCEPT MY OFFER . AND TO FIND OUT THE OWNER ALLREADY ACCEPTED THE FIRST OFFER . CODY THE SALES MANAGER WAS TRYING TO MAKE THE EXTRA MONEY OF THE CAR ! THEY WERE TRYING TO MAKE ALMOST $20,000 OFF OF OF ME AND THE OWNER ! THEY WILL SCREW YOU BIGGTIME !!! WATCH OUT FOR THESE GUYS ,ESPECIALLY CODY !!! AND THEY REFUSE TO REFUND ANY OF MY $1000.00 DEPOSIT EVEN AFTER I FOUND OUT THE HAD BEEN DAMAGED AND REPAIRED !!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
CODY
April 05, 2021

"I brought my 1967 Chevelle up to have them sell it. Tyler..."

- Andy18_00

I brought my 1967 Chevelle up to have them sell it. Tyler was excellent and did a great job expanding everything to me. Would recommend to anyone who does not want to mess with people when trying to sell a classic car

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tyler, Gateway Classic Cars
March 30, 2021

"After I bought a car there, they damaged the car before..."

- tooltime35

After I bought a car there, they damaged the car before pick up. After that, no answer from anyone. They didn't assume responsibility nor did they answer any emails or calls. Eventhough I wrote the general manager, the operations manager ... no answer. No after sales. Stay away from that company.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Michael Wahlen, Gateway Classic Cars
January 29, 2021

"I recently purchased a 71 plymouth cuda from gateway..."

- sadanco5

I recently purchased a 71 plymouth cuda from gateway classic cars in Chicago. First off, I can't tell you how pleased I am with the car. Thank you nic, my sales person for your honestly in describing the car to the letter. It is as advertised, beautiful !!! Also a big thank you to matt at JTD logistics for shipping it so quickly as a snow storm was on its way. And to my driver Vadim from alpha trans for delivering the car safe and on time. So yea, I would definitely recommend gateway classic cars of Chicago and nic for making this happen. Its now safe in the garage waiting for spring show season to start Mike D

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
all who were involved in the process, Gateway Classic Cars
January 25, 2021

"Told me a car was sold yet continued to auction on Ebay...."

- brian_hurren17

Told me a car was sold yet continued to auction on Ebay. Then wont answer emails about it. Not a good look by the look of these reviews.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gateway Classic Cars
January 01, 2021

"on their website it states that they take trade-ins,..."

- green8man7

on their website it states that they take trade-ins, however when you email or call them, they tell you they don't! that pissed me off! as soon as I got that treatment, I searched gateway classic lies and found this website. also, someone from gateway bragged on and on about how great a company they are, been in business 22 years, 18 locations, 250 websites worldwide- blah blah blah... but when I told them about my classic car they told me I wouldn't get much for it on a trade in unless I listed it with them on consignment for the $400 fee. yeah right, I make zero due to covid and I'm gonna give them $400?? I don't think so! and my car is in just as good of a condition as theirs! then they annoyingly said they had another call, would call me back- I said oh sure... they never did. one lady was pushy and rude. I noticed they raised the price of a car I liked by $1000, we've lost jobs due to covid and many companies tighten the noose more by raising prices! it's just ridiculous! I think I'll stick with my classics, paint them as I wish, and gateway can stick it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
some rude woman who called me., Gateway Classic Cars
December 31, 2020

"LIARS!!! I went into their dealership and I told them I..."

- jnd21820

LIARS!!! I went into their dealership and I told them I wanted $35k for my truck. They talked to me into lowering my price by $2500 before I even walked out the door. They said if I start high and they start high that we would be over priced and nobody would even look at the truck. I had no idea they wanted to make at least 12% on my vehicle or else I never would have even went in there. A couple weeks later they called and said they had a guy in there with a trailer and a cashiers check that was wanting my truck. They gave me a number of $29500 in my pocket, which was $2000 less than what we agreed on. I told them to let him walk. They called a couple hours later and gave me a price of $31500 which was $1000 lower than what i was asking. They said to just take the offer cause who knows when the next buyer was going to walk through the door. I took the $31500. I just found out today after talking to the guy who purchased my truck from them that he paid the asking price. Gateway Classic Cars made over $10,000 off me! I can not believe that anyone would lie to me like they did. The customer paid full price, but they lied to me and made more money off me. I will never use this company ever again and I recommend nobody else does either.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chelsey Schniers, Gateway Classic Cars
December 21, 2020

"Absolute xxxx of the earth !! Don’t walk away, RUN!!..."

- Moneyrocket3

Absolute xxxx of the earth !! Don’t walk away, RUN!! Corporate wide deception ! Unscrupulous! greedy! Poor ability to advertise ! Mid titled vehicle ! Didn’t advertise anywhere other than there site which was titled incorrectly. No one could find it even when they knew it was there!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gateway Classic Cars
Dec 21, 2020 -

Gateway Classic Cars responded

Moneyrocket3, we are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your recent Gateway Classic Cars experience. We strive to provide nothing but the best customer service and quality classic cars. Please contact us at reviews@gatewayclassiccars.com so we can discuss your specific experience in more detail. Thank you.

Dec 23, 2020 -

Moneyrocket3 responded

You do a terrible job !! Can’t believe you’re still in business!!! you have countless horrible reviews !! Wish I would have checked them sooner ! Karma. Good Luck!! As terribly this business is run, you’re going to need it !!

1
...
1 - 10 of 214 results