Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back

Gateway Classic Cars

O'Fallon, IL

1.6
199 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

1237 Central Park Dr

O'Fallon, IL

62269

Directions

199 Reviews of Gateway Classic Cars

Sort by Write a review
July 24, 2020

"They up charge what you want by 20% tell you it’s a..."

- Dabluride

They up charge what you want by 20% tell you it’s a buyers premium. Your car is then too overpriced to sell and they hold the car hostage to get 12% buyout fee back. Scam consignment dealer

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chelsey Schniers
1.0
Gateway Classic Cars
1.0
Other Employees : Tony Gordon
June 29, 2020

"purchased a car on February 22nd. It is now June 29th and..."

- Gatewaysucks

purchased a car on February 22nd. It is now June 29th and I still don't have my title. Been calling for 4 months and each time they say I'll have it in two weeks. These people don't give a crap about you after you pay for the car. I'm a collector and have bought from Streetside, GR Autogroup, Mecum and others with no issues. Be warned truly don't give a crap about you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chelsey Schniers
1.0
Gateway Classic Cars
1.0
May 13, 2020

"Terrible dealership. untruthful and deceitful sales people."

- upset consumer

In June of 2019, I signed a contract and put a deposit on a 1966 Ford Tbird, with the agreement the owner would make certain repairs. Gateway continued to advertise the car, but told me they had no control over that, but there was a "Deposit hold" on the car and it would not be shown. Given several excuses and after months of my inquiries as to when I would get the car, I found out they sold it to someone else who didn't require the repairs. Isn't this illegal? When I complained to the Corporate office, I received conflicting stories. Much later, Gateway finally returned my deposit falsely stating I didn't want the car. When I asked where they got that information from, whom did I allegedly make that statement to, etc., they ceased any and all contact with me. It is also my understanding the architect of this deal was released due to this transaction. Gateway has a nice selection of vehicles, but be VERY cautious when dealing with these people.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gateway Classic Cars
1.0
Other Employees : Ayhan (Ozgen), Sarah Frainey, Shawn Beach, and a couple others
February 26, 2020

"Seller Beware!!!!!!!"

- Jackson

After having my mint condition, classic Mustang for a year with no sale, I decided to remove it from their Dearborn, MI showroom. When the transport company brought it back, there were paint chips on the hood and someone at Gateway broke off the antenna on the car. After admitting to the damage, Zac and Chelsea at this location, both told me to send them the invoice and they would reimburse me for my costs. Now I am getting the runaround. I doubt if they are going to pay for the damage to my classic. Avoid using this company at all costs. They do not deliver on the sale or the service you are promised. Also, once I told them that I would be removing the car from their facility, they suddenly came up with a lowball offer. I think the company tries to purchase some vehicles for themselves at a low ball amount to sell. By the way--I sold the car for $15,000.00 more than their offer with no commission!!! AVOID THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gateway Classic Cars
1.0
February 25, 2020

"bad people"

- billbilly2432

I got a car from them & when it got here I could not even put it on the road,it would not pass inspection cost almost 4000 dollars to fix.Please if you are a good honest person do not buy from these people ,there are to many other sites you can go to.As for putting on the contract" as is",to them means they can cheat ,lie ,& steal from you....Please, please as a good honest Christian we have a duty to stop people like this & if we band together we can Thanks & God Bless

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gateway Classic Cars
1.0
Other Employees : russel
November 27, 2019

"Good car, minor issues, listing issues, timely resolution"

- carybaker

I bought a 1980 Chevy Z28 sight unseen and had it shipped to me. They have lots of pictures to see and a good video. I worked with Nic Thom out of the Chicago showroom. The listing for the car said it had "cold A/C" which in fact it never had A/C even installed from the factory. I told them I would need $1500 back to avoid the courts, they offered $1,000, I then said $2,000 and we agreed on the $1,500 in a weeks time. Error on their listing but they resolved the issue with me receiving $1,500 back. The car had a few problems that I feel should have been noted, like the wiper switch not working, the heater switch stuck, the clock not working, and the window seal dry rotted. Overall though, it is a great car. Runs great looks great with some minor issues. It is a 40 year old car after all. They could do a better job listing the cars good attributes as well as its faults. Overall though I'd buy another from them, but would advise having a mechanic looking at it or going there in person to see the car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gateway Classic Cars
4.0
Other Employees : Nic Thom salesman
November 26, 2019

"1981 CORVETTE"

- lawrencetotaro

BOUGHT A CORVETTE FROM THE PHILADELPHIA STORE, RECEIVED CAR THE HOOD WOULD NOT OPEN. WORST THAN THAT THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP BRAKES WERE SHOT STRAIGHT OFF THE SHIPPERS TRUCK CAR WOULD NOT STOP. HOW CAN THEY LET A CAR GO FROM THERE SHOWROOM THAT WONT STOP. ALSO THE BATTERY WAS DEAD. TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE SALESPERSON ANSWER MY QUESTIONS WERE SHORT AND EVASIVE. I WOULD NEVER BUY ANOTHER CAR FROM THEM....STAY AWAY THEY ARE SCAM ARTIST.. I WOULD GIVE THEM NO STARS IF I COULD.. WORST EXPERIENCE EVER

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
NONE
October 26, 2019

"Seller Beware!"

- Fastone2007

I want to post a warning about doing business with Gateway Classic Cars in Denver. In July I decided to list my 2007 Shelby GT (CSM3184) with Gateway. I dealt with Devine and Scott. I was very clear with them before I consigned my car that I wanted to talk to the new owner. I’ve made a lot of upgrades to my SGT and wanted the new owner to understand everything. Not once did Scott or Devine ever mention that I would not be allowed to speak with the new owner. In our conversations about pricing I set a top dollar and bottom that I wanted out of the deal. Gateway adds their commission on top of what I want with a minimum of $2,500 coming to them. I was told that if I was asked to drop my price they (Gateway) would take an equal price reduction. When Scott called me and told me that there was an offer on my SGT but it would require me dropping to my bottom price. I asked Scott if Gateway was taking an equal price reduction. His answer was yes. A complete LIE! Gateway will not put the deal in writing. They call you and ask you to answer yes via text if you agree to the sale. They won’t disclose the sale price or any details. Fast forward a few weeks ago the new owner tracked me down through facebook and we started talking. I was glad as I wanted him to know everything about the car as I was the original owner. Eventually the discussion turned to price and I found out that in fact Scott LIED. Gateway took ZERO reduction in price and I took ALL of the hit. I’ve called Gateway and emailed them but of course they’ve gone dark. No response. So be forewarned this is not a good and honorable group to do business with. Please share with other regions, car clubs etc.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Scott and Devine
October 12, 2019

"95 Cadillac Fleetwood "

- Eddie

In August I purchased a 95 Cadillac Fleetwood from tony at the Detroit location had asked him for details on the car I should have hired a inspector to go over the car but I trusted tony and everything he said the car only has 72250 miles on it so I bought it paid to have it delivered to so California that car is all bad the passenger window fell in the door when we rolled it down amongst all sorts of problems paid cash so when I called tony he said it must have been a bumpy ride don’t buy don’t trust what they say have the car inspected before I was told bye my machanic to just call it a loss and buy another one so be careful when you deal with gateway crappie cars

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gateway Classic Cars
1.0
Other Employees : Tony
July 21, 2019

"1968 Coronet - Orlando store - July 2019"

- JEFFREY MCLAIN

Yes, I purchased the car "AS IS", I understand that with a used car, especially one that is 50 years old there is a high opportunity for issues. I also expect the sales guys to have enough integrity when it comes to classic cars to be up front and honest not your typical "used car salesman". The car is great as far as the undercarriage, body is in good condition, the paint is very nice and the interior is fair to good. The dash will need a lot of electrical work, but it was purchased as is. However, the engine does NOT have only 500 miles since overhaul or restoration, like the add clearly states. The car arrived with very little coolant in the system, what was there was dirty and thick like mud. The oil was about a quart low and also very old and dirty. I am very concerned about the engine, I have built photos and it appears that the engine has been misrepresented. I have reached out to Kevin the sales guy, isn't it funny when I have a concern they go radio silent, but when I am buying the phone hardly rings before I have a reply.....the customer service should go well beyond the initial romance for the sale, the sale, but well into the delivery and follow up.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gateway Classic Cars
2.0
Other Employees : Kevin, the sales guy
1
...
1 - 10 of 199 results