Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Gengras Volkswagen of Plainville

Plainville, CT

4.4
130 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

245 New Britain Ave

Plainville, CT

06062

Directions

130 Reviews of Gengras Volkswagen of Plainville

Sort by Write a review
April 03, 2021

"I have no complaints and overall my experience was a..."

- Ben Pollard

I have no complaints and overall my experience was a positive one. I bought a used 2015 Jetta TDI and had the opportunity to work with several people ranging from a sales person to the general manager. Tim Fogarty, my sales person was especially helpful and honest about admitting when he didn’t know the answer right away to a question and he was quick to find out! My advice, do research on the vehicle(s) you are interested in and if you’re in a hurry, bring your own financing merely because this is a busy dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom, Dameon, Tim and Chrissy
Apr 05, 2021 -

Gengras Volkswagen of Plainville responded

Ben, It was wonderful getting to work with you! Tim and our team are happy you found a great Jetta TDI! We appreciate your patience during your shopping experience and value your feedback! We hope you'll let us know if you need anything! - Gengras Volkswagen

March 23, 2021

"First everything was going well with Gengras VW. I had..."

- Shizz1718

First everything was going well with Gengras VW. I had help from Chrissy Sansabrino. She had me fill out a quick application online. After filling out the application that states “they will not hit your credit “ . Shortly after filling out the application she contacted me telling me that “ you should definitely be good to do $0 down, the interest rate might be a little higher, that's all. Can you make it in today? We take appointments until 7pm. -Brooke @ Gengras Volkswagen” I told her give me sometime to coordinate the financial situation. I wanted to check my credit union or my own bank to MAKE SURE I GET A GREAT INTEREST RATE. They responded that she was Going send info to her finance manager because now she didn’t think about it, the bank would have to approve a 2014, it could be too old but She wasn't positive & her sales executive or my finance manager will follow up with me shortly. -Brooke @ Gengras Volkswagen Shortly after I was told to send over a picture of my license. We briefly went over a estimate - so it looks like with all my taxes and fees included i would be around $373 a month with no money out of pocket which could fluctuate depending on what kind of rates they would get me but they quoted this at a higher interest rate. I was busy with work so it was taking me a while to respond back. I felt like I was being rushed. The sale rep messaged me stating she didn’t wanna be pushy but they had a appt for the vehicle at 4pm with someone coming from NEW YORK. After hearing “high interest rate” I took it upon myself to hold & check my own banks. After checking my bank “Capital one” I was pre approved for well over the out the door price. So I communicated that over to the sale rep. She told me if it was possible to send over a screenshot of this fact. After sending the screenshot she contacted her finance manager Damian. Damian ran the approval with capital one. It came back that capital one did not want to approve the car due to the age of the car. Ok that’s fine? I wasn’t contacted and told this. I received 3 hard inquiries notifications on my phone from the credit bureau stating my credit was ran through other banks looking to approve a loan. Not once was I contacted & told that the bank that I myself was working with didn’t approve my loan due to the age of the vehicle from Gengras. So the finance manager took it upon himself to run my credit without my approval. Is this not fraud? Now I feel like I’m obligated to getting the vehicle in the two weeks so my credit won’t be affected with these inquires. The best part is that they approved me with a different deal that I didn’t agree for. I got a 10% interest rate (crazy). Not even under 5% with great credit. I have family in the car dealer finance world. I was warned before hand. These dealerships are scams and look for a sale. They’re not in it to help you. For anyone looking to buy here or anywhere don’t fill out any application that involves your social because you’ll end up like this. Go straight to your own bank, receive a check & go to the dealership & purchase the vehicle you like with no special info. Credit is important to me. Now I have 3 credit inquires for 7 years that’ll hurt. I’m disappointed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Michael Collins
1.0
Adam Fredrickson
1.0
Michael Parrell
1.0
Mar 24, 2021 -

Gengras Volkswagen of Plainville responded

Thank you for your honest feedback. We always have the best intentions and try to be as honest and transparent with our customers as possible. We apologize for this experience and will be looking into it and addressing your comments with our team. Please reach out to me directly if you wish to discuss this, Tom Backer - General Manager - 860-410-2000

January 31, 2021

"Used car purchase, BUYER BEWARE. Bring your own mechanic...."

- Sunshine

Used car purchase, BUYER BEWARE. Bring your own mechanic. They were not honest and upfront with issues with the car. Worst dealership, would not recommend. 0 Stars

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales and service dept
Feb 01, 2021 -

Gengras Volkswagen of Plainville responded

Thank you for reaching out. I'm sorry to hear you're having issues and would like the opportunity to speak with you in greater detail. If you could please give me a call so that I can better address your concerns, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Tom Backer - General Manager - 860-410-2000

January 11, 2021

"This experience purchasing a new car and trading in my..."

- From Boston, 2020 VW GTI

This experience purchasing a new car and trading in my old one has been the fastest, easiest and most pleasant car buying experience I've ever had. Everything discussed in advance for the purchase of my new GTI - done completely over the phone and email due to COVID - including pricing, fees, trade in allowance, etc was exactly what I expected from those discussions.  I worked with Tom Backer and Chrissy Sansabrino and they were both fantastic in all aspects.  There wasn't a single "surprise" or hiccup in the process and it made the experience the best.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom Backer, Chrissy Sansabrino
Jan 11, 2021 -

Gengras Volkswagen of Plainville responded

We're so happy to hear this! Thank you for the awesome feedback, and also for trusting the Gengras Volkswagen team with your business. Enjoy your new ride!

October 14, 2020

"I give them zero stars if I could. Awful customer..."

- LM

I give them zero stars if I could. Awful customer service. Gengras doesn't care about former Crowley VW customers. I did purchase an extended warranty and paid $900 for a total care plan that included free oil changes, inspections and tire rotation. Gengras won't honor those of us who bought the total care plan.Will no longer be bringing my Tiguan there for any services now. Gengras maybe you should rethink your policy ... you just lost all my business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
General Manager
Oct 15, 2020 -

Gengras Volkswagen of Plainville responded

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback. We apologize that we didn't honor your extended warranty package, therefore lost your business. We wish you the best of luck with future service needs. Tom Backer - General Manager - 860-410-2000

March 03, 2020

"Our salesperson, Chrissie, was great - professional and..."

- Bob & Jan

Our salesperson, Chrissie, was great - professional and personable, responsive to our questions and always followed up with a call to make sure we were on track with our purchase. Tom, the Sales Manager, was accommodating and flexible. Overall, a most satisfactory car buying experience!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chrissie, Tom, Damian
January 24, 2020

"Great experience purchasing a car from this dealer."

- larry.campagna@snet.net

I had a very positive experience purchasing my Tiguan from Gengras. I found Owen Warner to be a very patient and knowledgeable sales person who kept me informed during the whole process and was always there when I needed some information. There were a couple of items that they had to go find for the car. They were very persistent in these efforts and they were able to obtain the items and add to the positive experience of my purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Owen Warner, Brooke Burns, Finance Service Desk and Customer service
January 20, 2020

"Car starter did not work. They fixed it and said range..."

- Jlo

Car starter did not work. They fixed it and said range was 2 cars. They got there money and told me distance was correct. Would not correct issue. Will never go back again

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Milly and adam
September 27, 2019

"worth a trip"

- peter914

i wanted a alltrack wagon especially since they were to be discontinued. i went to my local dealer who i thought gave me a fair deal. tom b. followed up an internet inquiry on a certified car. we started talking and over the phone and tom me gave a far superior deal on a new car then my local dealer from whom i had bought 2 cars.. drove 30 miles and made a deal. extremely satisfied.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
tom b and tom g
September 26, 2019

"Gengras damages my car"

- VW

I brought my car to Gengras VW for an oil change and tire rotation. Gengras also without my knowledge or consent ran my car through their car wash. My right front rim sustained damage either during the service or while the car was going through the car wash. They have offered to repair the rim however, this is a big inconvenience for me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Betty
1
...
1 - 10 of 130 results