Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Gillman Subaru San Antonio

Selma, TX

1.3
97 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

16048 Interstate 35 North

Selma, TX

78154

Directions

97 Reviews of Gillman Subaru San Antonio

Sort by Write a review
February 19, 2020

"If I had an option to give this place a ZERO, I would! If..."

- Er217541

If I had an option to give this place a ZERO, I would! If you consider yourself to be smart, STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE! DO NOT FALL FOR THE LIES THEY SAY JUST TO TAKE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY! They are not honest and as soon as you drive off with what you believe is a descent car, it breaks down! It's a clunker! When you try taking it back to get repaired, they want to blame everything else around them, taking absolutely ZERO responsibility, and they still ask for more money!! Horrible service! Will NEVER EVER go back to this crooked dealership again! Be smart, STAY AS FAR AWAY AS YOU POSSIBLY CAN FROM THIS PLACE!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Everyone
Feb 19, 2020 -

Gillman Subaru San Antonio responded

Hello, I extend my regrets to find out about any disappointment related to your recent purchase. I'd like the chance to connect with you directly about your concerns. Will you please reach out to me directly when you get the chance? Your time is truly appreciated. Best, Feedback@gillmanauto.com (210) 651-9345 Tony Osborne

September 22, 2019

"Buyer beware"

- LeongofMaui

I bought a Subaru from Gillman in 2004. I am 56 years old and have owned a lot of cars in my lifetime. That Subaru has had more recalls in the 5 years than any other car I have ever owned. In addition, it seems to me that every time I brought my Subaru in for a repair other stuff would need to be fixed. In fact, in August I brought the thing in 3 times and spent over $800 getting stuff fixed that were not on the recall. In fact, after my first visit in August I wasn't even 30 minutes out of the repair shop and the stupid warning light was back on. And the next day another warning light came on. That was the case for each of the three times I was in your Subaru service center this August. In fact, now not only is the same warning light on the check engine light is on too. This is after I asked y'all to change the oil during my second visit in August. Plus I paid to have the air conditioning fixed during my first visit. The air conditioning stopped working 2 weeks after having that repaired. Fool me once, your bad, fool me twice... Three strikes and Gillman is out for the rest of my life! If y'all offered me a car for $100 I wouldn't take it because I know that y'all are planning to make it up in recalls and car repair fees.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Desk staff were very good at blowing sunshine
Oct 23, 2019 -

Gillman Subaru San Antonio responded

Hi, ​ ​We regret to hear that you aren't completely satisfied. It's always our goal for our customers to love their vehicles and to receive the highest level of care at our dealership. We would appreciate a chance to speak with you further, please contact me so I can work on fixing anything that went wrong. ​ ​Best, ​Feedback@gillmanauto.com, ​(210) 651-9345, ​Kevin Justice

May 16, 2019

"They will sell you Anything to make money. Worst service!"

- Carguy

Crooked sales people who will lie to your face, take your money and sell you a piece of junk! They clean it to look nice and shiny on the outside, but is a complete piece of junk under the hood where it's most important! Will never go back to this place. I will never refer anyone that is human with a heartbeat to this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
All
September 27, 2018

"Do Not Trust Anything They Tell You "

- Firefighter27

After a two week text and voice conversation agreed on a price on a used vehicle at Gillman Subura. I live out of state. Everything agreed on changed once I arrived. After stalling and making excuses for an hour and 45 minutes and me walking out to wait on my Uber, the salesman finally took me back to the Finance Manager. Finance manager treated me like I was some kind of criminal, very irate and angry. Salesman and finance manger kept saying my Cashiers Check has a lien against it? Then the title would have a lien!? Then she stated she was told this was going to be a cash deal? Why would this matter? Doesn’t just about every vehicle on the road have a lien against the title? I took a cashiers check from my bank to pay for the vehicle and had arranged to pay my taxes in my home state. Still really not sure why they wouldn’t sell me the car. Very strange ordeal. Wasted a day off work, airfare and had to rent a car to drive the 500 miles home. Definitely would not recommend Gillmam Subura to anyone. Very shady operation. Never experienced anything like this.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Steve Patterson
August 30, 2018

"Busted Used Car"

- DigiT

Bought a used car from them. I was told it was inspected and working great with no issues. Come to find out a couple of days later the car had an oil leak. Took it to them and was told it was a class 2 head gasket failure and needed to pay them 2500$ to get it fixed. Now the transmission is going out on it. I would not expect this from a big dealership like this.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Derek
August 24, 2018

"Trade in Rip Off"

- AaronB

While my sales person Albert provided me excellent service I felt the appraiser/manager who dictated the offers for my trade in was trying to rip me off, offering me insultingly low offers claiming my car had almost no market value at all, while Northpark offered me 3x what they would and my car was appraised for 4.5x at CarMax what gillman was attempting to offer me. I just can’t give my business to a dealership that tries so obviously to rip me off, makes me feel like I can’t trust thru the purchasing process let alone trust them once I leave the lot with a car. Again, excellent service by the sales person, but can’t make up for the insultingly low trade in offer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Albert
August 03, 2018

"Unexceptional "

- jsantiago

Less than a month of buying a used car, the front passenger window doesn't go up. I asked the dealer for assistance only to be denied. Not to forget that the tires weren't aligned or balanced. This is just another dealer that makes false promises.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jim Montemayor
October 13, 2016

"After Hours - Helped a Damsel in Distress!"

- Damsel-In-Distress

On my drive home from work, my vehicle started having problems (overheating). My husband was out of town, so I called Gillman Service Department (we had just had the vehicle there that past weekend for an oil change and at the time, I didn't know who else to call or what was wrong with the car [we just moved here recently]). Sales Rep/Technician Jay came to my rescue to look at my car for me and even followed me home to make sure I got home safely. While I did have to have the car towed into the service department that night (radiator issue), the fact that he went out of his way to help me spoke volumes on how they value their customers! Truly thankful for their help!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jay and Donald
September 23, 2016

"I don't trust them"

- Customer

We dropped off our Outback to have the airbag replaced under the recall on a Thursday night so we could pick it up after work the next day. They said it would take two hours. When we called on Friday at 3, they said it wasn't done and that it takes 10 hrs. I don't think so! 2.5 hrs later they said it was done so we went to get it. Upon inspection, the previously immaculate dash now has large gashes in it in more than one place, and just like previous reviewers have said, they tried to sneak it past. No one pointed out their damage or mentioned what they were going to do about it. My wife had to confront them. And, by the way, the dash feels funny now. I mean squishy and rubbery. I'm not even certain it's the same dash the car went in with anymore but I could never prove that. But it sure did undergo a strangle transformation over night. After we pointed out the sticky, rubbery feel and the gouges....well NOW they say there's a recall on sticky dashes and they're ordering a new one that will take 6 months to get here. No mention of that BEFORE we pointed out the damage they did. I have several Subaru owner friends that have all said the same thing about the Gilman service department......they won't let them touch their car. Add one more to that list. Follow up. The wife went in the next day and talked to the service manager about our concerns. He apologized, had the car cleaned and located a new dash in Dallas to have sent here so we have a new dash in a week instead of 6 months. So they're attempting to make it right and I'll give them credit for that. I'm still not happy with how things were handled upon front or with the quality of the work done the first time. Final words: So, we now have the car back after the put in the new dash. My wife is more than happy. They gave her a loaner, detailed/washed the car and filled up the tank to boot. So, in the end, they resolved the issue in an exemplary manner. I do want to say that I'm still very unhappy that we had to jump through the hoops the get the results we got; they should never have tried to pass off the terrible job they did in the first place. So I'm leaving my original ratings the same based on that. But it appears that if you complain to them about terrible work, they'll do what they can to fix it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brandon
August 14, 2016

"zero integrity"

- yeehoo77

they'll try to sneak any flaw past you that they can get away with and will not respond after sale is complete. calls are transferred to deadlines

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
rick
1
...
1 - 10 of 97 results