Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Gillman Subaru Southwest

Houston, TX

2.4
143 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

10565 W Sam Houston Pkwy South

Houston, TX

77099

Directions

143 Reviews of Gillman Subaru Southwest

Sort by Write a review
August 02, 2020

"Seriously awful"

- sammie.

To mad at them to write a full review but be careful and i would look at other options. Would not recommended this dealership at all.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Nguyen
Aug 03, 2020 -

Gillman Subaru Southwest responded

Sammie, I apologize that you did not receive the level of service you expected and would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns further. Please reach out to me at a time that is convenient for you. Best, Feedback@gillmanauto.com (713) 776-6300 Eliel Ramirez

July 18, 2020

"unprofessional & low quality maintenance service "

- Molshan

Subaru Gillman Southwest delivers poor service that does not meet any expectation. I never recommend coming here with your Subaru, if you have any other choice of service. This is one of very few locations in the area, where one can serve a new Subaru. Keep this in mind, while shopping for a new vehicle. Below my last experience with Subaru Gillman, if you are curious. Right after the maintenance of my Subaru Forester at this location, condensation water from A/C started flooding the interior. The service representative claimed right away that this cannot be the result of the maintenance (although the coincidence was striking – it was not a sign of water for six years before visiting the Gillman service) and suggested me the only option of doing another diagnostic of the A/C at my expense. I agreed. Another day, the diagnostic was done and the technician recommended the replacement of evaporator core and expansion valve (estimating it about $1.5K). I declined. Right after, I requested my local autocare to check the A/C drain and they simply removed the clog (and charged $60). There was no other A/C issue and it is not leaking anymore. From my experience with Subaru Gillman Southwest, Houston, the staff I communicated in this location is either unprofessional or deceiver, or (likely) both.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nancy Marinez-Mendoza, technician Fernando Crespo-Ramirez
Jul 19, 2020 -

Gillman Subaru Southwest responded

Hello, I regret to learn about your disappointment regarding this situation with your A/C and the services we provided. Your feedback is important to us and I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you directly. Please reach out to me at your own convenience. I look forward to connecting with you. Best, Feedback@gillmanauto.com (713) 776-6300 Eliel Ramirez

June 16, 2020

"This review is from an used car purchase perspective, and..."

- kailoki

This review is from an used car purchase perspective, and I strongly advise you to not purchase an used vehicle from this dealership. Do not be fooled into believing that this is a great dealership based on Subaru purchase reviews, that is how I was taken advantaged of. We went in two months ago because of an used car we thought was priced well and solely went to the dealership for this particular vehicle. After having a car for 20+ years, it finally went out on us and we wanted something we could pay off quickly and sustain us until we purchase a like-new vehicle down the road. We were paired with John Nguyen. The vehicle was brought around to the front, and this should've been our first flag. Be warned, the pictures that are posted online deliberately do not showcase the imperfections of the vehicle. The vehicle had a cracked windshield, missing door leather, dents, paint chips, rusting in the door, cracked trunk plastic, etc. John informed us of the exuberant inspection that is done on every Gilman Suburu used vehicle before it is listed on their site for sale (remember this, it will be important later). This inspection is an added fee to the vehicle of nearly $1,000. We make it to the financial advisor and go over all financing details. We purchased an extended warranty and asked if we would come back to Gilman Suburu for repairs, he said yes (this detail will also be important). We leave the dealership in our new car. Two weeks later, I'm informed that my tag and plates have arrived. I leave work and make it there in the evening. I head to the receptionist who asked John to help me with my plates. John, unfortunately, seems frustrated and irritated to assist with this. I do understand wanting to get off at a certain time OR possibly being busy, but as a professional, I've never dealt with my customers as if they're a nuisance. This, will be flag number two. Two weeks later, the car begins to smoke for no reason out of nowhere. I bring in the vehicle, extremely confused, because a vehicle I've purchased a month ago is already smoking randomly, which is definitely cause for concern. Especially considering this vehicle was only taken to Southwest Louisiana once and a few trips to Katy from the Galleria-area. Other than that, this car was used for commuting from Galleria to Sharpstown, straight shot, during the work week. I make it to the service check-in area and wait to be assisted. As I am waiting, a service attendant tells me that I should look into getting an alignment and new tires since they're worn and asks me when was the last time I got an alignment. Now, after a nearly $1,000 fee for the mechanics to do this phenomenal inspection, you'd think that something as simple as an alignment would be basic to a dealership selling cars to the general public. I inform her that I purchased the vehicle from this dealership a month ago. She gets frazzled and proceeds to tell me that driving down a bad road for a month can make a car require an alignment. That didn't make sense to me at all (flag number three). I am no car expert, but according to this employee, if you commute to work, in Houston, you should expect to get an alignment every month because of bad roads. This let's me know that this wasn't done before the car was listed for sale. She was able to tell me this in fifteen minutes of my time being there, so, apparently this issue wasn't noticed during an used car inspection? It gets better. I'm finally called to approach the desk by Mr. Diaz (if I recall his name correctly). I explain that my vehicle is smoking and I am very concerned. Everything was fine, until he found out I didn't have a Suburu vehicle. He smugly let me know that I was taking my Honda to a Suburu service center. I informed him that I purchased this Honda vehicle from this dealership, and was informed by the financial advisor that I could return the vehicle to this service center for service. He then attempted to get the used car manager on the line, but, he was off but I overheard him say "as-is" in their conversation. He then informed me that it may take awhile to look at my car because it isn't a Suburu vehicle. Apparently, Suburu has Tony Stark-level technology in their cars, so, the Honda build would take so much longer to figure out since non-luxury car companies such as Toyota Chevy, or Honda, aren't built very similarly. I had a V6 engine, no hybrid, no electric, a good old standard gas vehicle. All of this to say, I've taken our vehicles to different service centers of the years, and I've never been told by a service person in my life that because the car was different from the specializing dealership, the time working with the car could take longer. Some time goes by and Mr. Diaz pulls me outside to show me the engine and let's me know there appears to be leakage from a gasket which may be causing the smoke. Now, Mr. Diaz was able to look after five minutes to make this assumption. So, how wasn't this noticed during an used car inspection that tacked almost one grand into my purchase price? On top of this, they wanted to charge me to look at a car that I brought from them thirty days ago that has begun smoking. He then tries to find Mr. Nguyen for me who was working that day, but couldn't be found during the time I was there to see him. A "coincidence", I suppose. I was then pulled by another salesman who was trying to sell me a car as I sat at Mr. Nguyen's desk waiting to be helped. He didn't know what I was there for but was helping John by trying to sell me a car. Little did he know, I had already purchased my vehicle and went into the same dismissive state as Mr. Nguyen and Mr. Diaz. I left after becoming frustrated with the whole situation, since I strongly believe that if I am coming back a month later with issues, I should be assisted and not dismissed. Three weeks later, the car begins not to start, nearly stalling in the middle of the street, and we barely made it home. I refuse to return to this dealership, so I schedule an appointment with Spring Branch Honda. On the day of the appointment, I call Gilman at 9:00 AM on the dot, because I was having issues confirming the details of my extended warranty and wanted to be clear on what to expect as I brought the car to the new dealership to possibly get a new alternator (the issues I was having coincided with a bad alternator). I was told by the receptionist the financial advisor wasn't in yet but she asked for my name and number and he should be in around thirty minutes later. Do you think I received a call back that day (the answer is no). I make it to Spring Branch Honda and an hour later, the lead mechanic confirmed it was the alternator and guess what else he confirmed? My gaskets were leaking. He asked how long we had the car and was surprised when we said we purchased the car a month ago, not from a corner used car lot, but Gilman Suburu. Now, recall the mind-blowing inspection that was supposed to have had taken place before the car is placed for sale at the dealership. Now, remember a month ago, Mr. Diaz was able to tell me after fifteen minutes that my gaskets were leaking. I'm no car expert again, but these things can happen within a month, two months of purchase without showing any signs of issues before our purchase? You'd think an issue like this would be fixed before putting for sale OR informing a potential buyer of the issue. Well, since my car is over 100,000 miles, I'm looking at $2,000+ in repairs to my car. Spring Branch took care of us in an hour, and let us know to come back soon to see what they can do about to gaskets. I've had more customer service in three hours at Spring Branch Honda than the multiple instances of going back and forth with Gilman Suburu and trying to get assistance. Moral of the story is: If you're buying a brand-new or certified used Suburu vehicle, you're going to be treated like royalty, I assume from reviews and from the experience I had when employees were under the impression I was a Suburu owner. If you dare step foot in that dealership to purchase an used vehicle, be prepared to be discarded as you walk off the lot with your purchase and pay for what was clearly neglected during the used car inspection. Now, I had no expectation of the engine being disassembled and rebuilt before sale. Not at all. But, for me to be told an issue after fifteen minutes, AFTER paying nearly one grand for this up and down inspection of the vehicle a month prior, then the issue being confirmed after a diagnostic at another dealership, is despicable and outrageous. Don't waste your time here, or your money for an used vehicle. If you're dealing with anything that isn't Suburu here, AFTER you purchase the vehicle, of course (they're all bubbles and sunshine before you purchase), you'll be met with an elitest attitude. Believe all of the negative reviews, they're not exaggerating. Also, avoid Mr. Nguyen, as we asked questions, all we were met with was, "I have no idea, you'd have to ask ____________". He definitely won't want to do anything for you after selling you the vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Nguyen
Jun 17, 2020 -

Gillman Subaru Southwest responded

Hi, Please know that we take your feedback very seriously, and we're concerned to learn about your disappointment with your vehicle and customer service after purchasing the vehicle. This is not how we want our customers to feel. Will you reach out to us when you have the chance to discuss it further? I look forward to hearing from you. Best, Feedback@gillmanauto.com (713) 776-6300 Eliel Ramirez

June 02, 2020

"Always a pleasure"

- soxyandlilly

This is probably not something to brag about but honestly it leads to why I'm willing to give a car dealership a 5 star review. I recently just finished purchasing my 4th car in less than 4 years from Gillman and I have had nothing but the best treatment each and every time. All the staff there are very professional when I come in, I never feel any pressure to purchase upgrades or get a better model. I do not feel accosted they I do at some many other dealerships. I've worked with a number of different sales individuals, finance individuals as well as service professionals and never felt like anything but an extremely valued customer. Both Javier and Eliel have taken fantastic care of my husband and I (my husband has his only stories to share that Subaru can back up, we're coming for that 20 car punch card!). I have never been a repeat customer with a car dealership before but because everyone there is so fantastic and the deals they work in addition to taking care of me when I need work done on my car I will not go anywhere else. Thanks guys!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Javier, Eliel
Jun 02, 2020 -

Gillman Subaru Southwest responded

Hello there - thank you for sharing your detailed and positive experience with our team! We greatly appreciate you continuing to come back over the years and providing quality service to wonderful customers such as yourself. Please let us know if there's anything else we can do for you in the future.

November 11, 2019

"Bait and Switch Dealer - Beware"

- T Sor

Classic bait and switch. The prices this dealer lists on autotrader are false. It is false advertising. The cars they list are not for sale at the prices they list the car. They list the car cheap and then when it comes time to complete the sale they will come up with some made-up adder to the price, so you will have wasted your time. It should be illegal and it probably is. My specific case, I chose to look at a specific car (Jeep Grand Cherokee) that they advertised on Autotrader for $15991. I went to see them because it was a good price (on the lower end of the KBB estimates) and was prepared to pay the advertised price plus tt&l. Once we test drove the vehicle etc., we then sat down to complete the sale. I had the printout of the advertised price and vehicle with me. They made we wait while the salesman talks to the manager like every other "bad" dealer out there. Salesman came back and said that they were adding $1600 to the advertised price for something called "MVA". He explained that the advertised price is what they (dealer) paid for the vehicle and the MVA was the amount they had to invest in the car to get it ready. All lies, but to which I answered "I don't care what you paid for it. You advertised the car for sale at $15991 (advertised price) and I come out here and you switch it to a higher price." They don't care. It's just a classic bait and switch operation. Stay away. Their prices they advertise mean nothing. The prices are only the "bait" to get you to come to them. They know most people don't have enough time to walk away and I guess most customers just swallow hard and take it. Unfortunate that we (consumers) have to deal with dealers like this. I explained that the whole transaction was a bait and switch (in no uncertain terms on the sales floor), but neither the salesman nor the manager care. They are there to screw you. Beware.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tony and whoever the manager on duty
Nov 12, 2019 -

Gillman Subaru Southwest responded

Hello, It is a disappointment to learn you felt our advertised prices did not meet your expectations. Rest assured, we do care about our customers and I would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns about the differences. Please reach out to me when you have a moment to discuss further. I hope we can come to an understanding. Best, Feedback@gillmanauto.com (713) 776-6300 Eliel Ramirez

September 14, 2019

"Great, quick experience"

- Kplange

Great experience with zero intimidation or pressure. I would definitely use this dealership again and recommend it to my friends and family. Super easy process buying and trading in.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Antonio Nunez
Sep 15, 2019 -

Gillman Subaru Southwest responded

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with Antonio! We greatly appreciate the positive feedback and glowing recommendation. We look forward to taking care of any of your auto needs in the future.

August 23, 2019

"LEFT IN THE DUST"

- Houstoncustomer

I purchased a 2016 Subaru for my grad school bound daughter. We did a trade-in and made full payment on the balance of the Subaru. All I can say is the salesman and finance manager were all about getting the trade-in handled and our payment and not at all about providing what we needed as their customers (which involved timing of getting the title and license plate and which we advised them at the time of the sale). The information provided by both at the time of the sale was not accurate and communication to get accurate information very difficult and it cost us time and money down the road. If we had not reached out to someone else at Gillman, we would still be sitting and waiting for the title and license plate which had not been applied for until we inquired further. Also, the car we purchased immediately starting showing signs of issues, starting with the ignition. I will never use Gillman again for any vehicle purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Do not wish to put names
Aug 24, 2019 -

Gillman Subaru Southwest responded

Hello, Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We want our guests to enjoy their purchasing experience. I regret to learn that yours has fallen short of your expectations due to your tags and title. Please reach out to me when you have a moment so that we may discuss your concerns. Best regards, Feedback@gillmanauto.com (713) 776-6300 Eliel Ramirez

August 23, 2019

"Love it "

- Jessica Palacios

Me and my Husband just purchased a 2019 Forester ,I highly recommend this dealership, Very good customer service ,very informative . We were helped by Jaime Escamilla and Eliel Ramirez .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
JAIME ESCAMILLA , ELIEL RAMIREZ
Aug 23, 2019 -

Gillman Subaru Southwest responded

Congratulations on your new Forester, Jessica. We are confident that it will meet all of your automotive needs. Jaime an Eliel will be happy to receive your feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future.

December 28, 2018

"******DO NOT TRUST GILLMAN******"

- THETRUTH

I purchased a two year old Subaru and had a few hiccups but didn't think anything of at the time. Now that I have bigger issues, all the pieces are forming a picture of this company and it's employees. First of all, my second set of keys didn't work and I was told they would be reprogram them. I called week after week just to be given excuses...eventually, the salesperson told me there never was a second set of keys with the remote starter. The salesperson told me the car was Certified Pre-Owned as it was labeled on the windshield--just found out Gillman cancelled the CPO warranty just after I purchased the car. Yet, when I went in with minor issues, I was always told we'll take care of it under your warranty! Before I finalized the sale, the salesperson stated he would have service fix the side view mirror control as it was broken. Excuses again....and it never was repaired. I have been taking my car for an ongoing issue that they haven't been able to resolve. I've taken it many times but they haven't been entering all my visits as I now have found out. Dealing with a few different service advisors, I've been told various things regarding how the issue was fixed. They never have a loaner to give out except one time when they kept my car for over three months!!! This was for another issue and every week...I was told they had to change a sensor or another part because the problem was still present. Due to the first persistent issue, I've had to involve Subaru of North America. Because of the pending case, I now am finding out about the lies I have been fed and how they didn't leave a paper trail with all my visits. One of the things I found is that they changed the timeframe of the loaner given to me from Sept 2017 - Jan 2018 to Dec 2018 - Jan 2018...they claim they only had my car for about three weeks. Subaru of N.A. contacted Gillman Subarau Southwest and was told they had my car about three weeks. I'm glad this conversation happened because it shows Gillman does lie about what actually happens. I say this because I have proof that has been verified when I received the loaner and when it was returned. After being given a run around, I finally received my service history or what they selectively entered. I called today for the fifth time and put on hold.....a guy comes on the phone and is complaining to me. It was another customer they connected to me and he thought I was an employee at Gillman!!! I told the other gentleman that I am a customer that was put on hold. I definitely don't recommend Gillman in any way. FYI...they have an extremely high turnover rate with service advisors and members of management on the sales floor as well as the service department. ******I will update once my case is resolved.******

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Hussein, Edson, Roland and a few others who no longer work there including three managers., Customer Service
Dec 29, 2018 -

Gillman Subaru Southwest responded

Hello, I am extremely disappointed to hear about your experience with us. Please call me ASAP, or provide me with your best contact info. I will help. I can be reached at 713-776-6315. Thank you. Eliel Ramirez General Manager. Eliel Ramirez General Manager Gillman Subaru 713-776-6315 ph 713-776-4899 fax

November 21, 2018

"Best Salesman Ever!"

- tlarsen

I just had the best car-buying experience of my life. I had leased a vehicle from these folks last year and I received a call last week asking if I would like to "upgrade" my lease to a new model for the same price. I, obviously, thought this was just a ploy to get me on the hook, so I spent some time texting and chatting over the phone with the salesman, Wyatt Bryson. He assured me that he and his manager had drawn up a new lease on a brand-new Forrester matching exactly the same terms as my old lease and that my monthly lase would only be going up by $13. I told him I would come in, but that he had better not be messing with me, because this all sounded WAY too good to be true. I also told him I had very limited time, since I have two small children. He told me he would have the car washed and gassed-up for me when I arrived and that all I would need to do is sign the paperwork they had already drafted for me. Well, believe it or not, it really did happen that way! I showed up at 8:15pm, Wyatt showed me all of the new features on the new Forrester, we took it for a spin, and I signed a new lease for just $8 a month more than what I was already paying on my old Forrester. And the 2019 model is WAY nicer than my 2018 model. Wyatt had all of my questions answered and sent me off in my new car VERY happy by 9:15pm. That's right, I was only at the dealership for one hour! Like I said, the BEST experience of my life. I will definitely be sending all of my friends and family to see Wyatt at Gillman Subaru. I also have to give a shout-out to Taha in financing for explaining all of the paperwork so seamlessly, for helping keep my payment low, and for throwing in the extended maintenance for free! These guys are awesome!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Wyatt Bryson, E. Taha
Nov 22, 2018 -

Gillman Subaru Southwest responded

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're happy to hear our team was able to meet your expectations and get you into a shiny, new Subaru Forester! We hope to see you again in the future.

1
...
1 - 10 of 143 results