About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Goldstein Subaru

4.8

72 Lifetime Reviews

1754 Central Ave., Albany, New York 12205 Directions
Sales: (518) 690-2244

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

72 Reviews of Goldstein Subaru

Sort by Write a review
December 29, 2017

"Good Service Experience"

- Mark

It was a shorter stay than I expected. I worked with Kyle, who was very knowledgable, friendly, and looked out for me, the customer. I would certainly recommend.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kyle Garcelon
October 24, 2017

"new car purchase"

- carbuyer,eth

friendly and knowledgeable sales person,no sales pressure,no intimidation about type of car selection, no hassle in agreeing on price ,generous trade allowance, car ready for delivery on time

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
joon
October 17, 2017

"Unprofessional and false advertising."

- DJ

We went to Goldstein to look at a 2017 Subaru STI limited leftover and possibly trade in our 2015 WRX Premium. Sales consultant, Joe Khattar, met us at the front desk to assist us. We told him the car we were interested in, what we had and what we owed on it. He asked how long of a loan we wanted and we told him 72 months, with 0 down, we just wanted to use the equity on the trade in. Joe took our keys and said he’d be back in 10 minutes. Prior to coming to the dealership, we had done our homework. The car we were looking at had $3017 of rebates for being a leftover, with a sticker of 41,925. Our car had a value of 19,500-22,000. Joe took about 45 minutes to return. When he returned, he showed us a deal for 38,908 for the 2017 STI and only receiving 18,000 for our 15 WRX. When I expressed concern with how little we were receiving for our car when it books for ~2,000 more, and I’d like to see 21,000 for it. Joe rebutted with that he was giving us the extra money in the rebates. I expressed to Joe that isn’t correct, that the 2017 is rebates because it’s a leftover. I asked him if he’d give us 21,008 for a 2018 and he said yes. I told joe that was essentially falsely advertising a leftover, that it’s discounted due to already having lost value compared to 2018s, regardless of being new. Joe changed the subject and asked where we got the value of our car from. We told him KBB and NADA and that we had it pulled up on our phones. Joe immediately said “read the fine print, auction prices are much lower”. Joe went on to state that our 2015 WRX had tires that were no good, brakes that needed replacing and was overall in poor condition. Our car is in pristine condition, there is not one scratch, dent, stain missing anywhere. The tires were new in June, 4000 miles on them, and the brakes have well over 75% life. I told Joe all of this. At this point, Joe said this is the best he could do, so I told him we wanted to leave. Joe went and got the sales manager who tried to tell a sob story about selling cars, rather than make a deal. We told them that we wouldn’t make a deal and wouldn’t waste any more time here and left. Joe Khattar’s title is “Master Peak Performer”. I don’t think this is accurate at all. Joe was very unprofessional, arguementative, and didn’t care to make a deal. I would not recommend Joe to anyone. I would not recommend Goldstein to anyone either.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe Khattar
Oct 19, 2017 -

Goldstein Subaru responded

Hello Kateri, We are sorry you were not happy with your experience with us. We try to be clear with our numbers with our customers but sometimes information can be misunderstood. The 2017 Subaru WRX Sti you were interested in did not have any rebates from Subaru. The $3017 you referred to was a Goldstein discount from the MSRP. Although your 2015 WRX was in nice shape and may have only had 4000-5000 miles on it, the tires showed signs of wear. We would not be able to retail the car that way and had to take that into consideration when determining our offer. Additionally there are also other costs to recondition a vehicle. Our estimate of those costs and replacing your tires was approximately $1300. The “Subaru Guaranteed Trade in value “ of your vehicle was $19300. We deducted the $1300 from that and arrived at your $18000 offer. When looking at a total trade allowance for a vehicle, you will find used car guides show trade in values including any discounts from MSRP. So, if you took the $18000 actual cash value of your vehicle and add in the $3017 Discount off MSRP, the total trade allowance for your 2015 WRX is $21017. Many dealers will only discuss Trade allowance and not discuss Actual Cash Value. We put a lot of thought and consideration into our numbers, that is what took the time to give you every dollar we could. Believe it or not, we really do try to work hard for our customers and appreciate your time, sometimes it just does not work out. We wish you well.

October 01, 2017

"Extremely Pleased"

- vinbon

Great service yesterday--super friendly, accommodating, fast, and thorough. That on top of this great car I got from them last year, a 2017 Forester. Extremely pleased on all counts.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Igor, and service reps.
September 16, 2017

"Joan Putnick Thanks Patrick Comas"

- Joan

Patrick Comas was very helpful. He listened to what we wanted and why we wanted certain features. Wanted a sedan with a trunk that would hold a bicycle and 3 large suitcases. Patrick showed us the trunks in a 5 door and a 4 door. Wanting a 4 door, he suggested we bring the bicycle and see if it fits. He always thought it would. He was right. With the back seats down we are ready to transport bike and clothes to Florida. He spent a lot of time, letting us test drive a couple of cars, going over the features and the difference in price. He was friendly, knowledgeable and listened to us.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Patrick Comas and Joe Papa
September 03, 2017

"Awesome experience!! - Wm. Monaghan / Thanks Patrick Comas"

- OutbackVelo

Aaron Butler and Patrick Comas were two of the best. We shopped all around and they were happy to spend the time to keep us at this dealership. This is our 4th Subaru and we are very happy to have purchased here at Goldstein. I also had a few accessories installed and they did a great job.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aaron Butler, Patrick Comas
August 30, 2017

"Service with a Smile"

- Fran Kieltyka

I found the salesman, Patrick Comas to be professional and friendly. He answered all my questions and spent the time finding what I wanted in a vehicle , with a price to match.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Patrick Comas
August 27, 2017

"Roger & Roberta Ehlert - Patrick Comas, Thank you! "

- Roger & Roberta Ehlert (Thanks, Patrick Comas)

We knew we wanted a Forester, and the features, in general, that were important to us. Patrick worked with us to fully understand the features and packages that were available. He met with us several times and answered all our questions, narrowing down the choice of cars that were available that met our needs. We were particularly interested in the many safety features offered in the All Weather and Eyesight packages, which we have never had before, and Patrick not only fully explained how each feature worked, he demonstrated the adaptive cruise control for us in traffic and explained how the features interacted together. His going this extra step was very much appreciated. Patrick was knowledgeable, pleasant, and very low-pressure. We are happy with the final "deal" we were offered, and we are very happy with the car so far (it has only been a couple of days). We would happily deal with Patrick again in the future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Patrick Comas, Aaron Butler, Joe Papa
August 23, 2017

"GREAT TEAM!!!!!"

- Jnelli

Aaron B.- Sales Mgr Spot -On! No hassle deal Larry D. Sales - good deal Joe Papa - Finance Mgr pleasure to work numbers- with a smile

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aaron Butler, Larry Dudley, Joe Papa
August 10, 2017

"Jason Gerloff & Jenn Boland-Happy Goldstein Subaru Customers"

- Jenn & Jay

Jay and I knew we wanted a Subaru Forester, knew what we would like for our trade, and knew what we wanted to pay. Goldstein Subaru stepped up to the plate. Patrick Comas made the car buying process very simple and efficient. He was genuinely friendly, pleasant, and knowledgeable. Never once was my patience tested. Goldstein was able to find the vehicle which fit our specifications and most importantly get it back to Goldstein Subaru in time for our trip to Cape Cod (and put a trailer hitch on it, too). Thank you, Aaron, for that! I would highly recommend this dealership. They make buying a vehicle hassle-free.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Patrick Comas, Aaron (?)
1
...
1 - 10 of 72 results