Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Harte Volkswagen Of Meriden

Meriden, CT

2.5
12 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

375 S Broad St

Meriden, CT

06450

Directions

12 Reviews of Harte Volkswagen Of Meriden

Sort by Write a review
March 11, 2021

"This is a "VW service Xpress" location, which explicitly..."

- TheyDontHaveHeart

This is a "VW service Xpress" location, which explicitly states there is NO APPOINTMENT NECESSARY for basic maintenance services such as oil and filter changes, and tire rotations. This is not only on the Corporate VW website, but also reiterated on this specific dealers own website. I arrived on a weekday early afternoon and there were ZERO customers in the building or service waiting area and I was told they were TOO BUSY and I needed to schedule an appointment to have them perform a basic oil change, the first date of which they could do that being 6 (SIX) days in the future. I drove 20 minutes down the road to a competing VW dealer and was in and out in less than an hour. Harte VW and the rest of the entire Harte Auto Group will never see a single dollar from my pocket, but according to them business is booming and they don't need my money or new customers anyways.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Department
May 14, 2021 -

Harte Volkswagen Of Meriden responded

We are sorry that we were unable to perform the oil change for you. Every now and then there are compounding reasons that will lead to a shop being overbooked such as more issues arising on a scheduled repair, parts delays or errors etc and ultimately we want to deliver said vehicles at prior promised times. "To err is human, to forgive is divine" is one of my favorite sayings and everyone here at Harte VW appreciates new and current customers understanding when this rare occurrence happens. If you have a change of heart let us know as we will happily help anywhere we can.

March 01, 2021

"Purchased a new GTI from them a couple of years ago and..."

- roussjp

Purchased a new GTI from them a couple of years ago and it was a terrible experience. The salesman and gentleman who showed me features of the car were nice enough but the salesman who was supposed to have paperwork ready was completely ill prepared and the process took nearly two hours. I was very frustrated when I realized they didn't prep the car, at all. Shipping pucks were left in the suspension, there was no washer fluid, packing material was left everywhere inside. Okay, mistakes happen I figured, I brought it for its first oil change and they got oil everywhere, on the windshield, on the bumper, all over the engine. The service advisor couldn't have cared less. I haven't stepped foot there since and I highly recommend you don't either.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Salesman not listed
Mar 08, 2021 -

Harte Volkswagen Of Meriden responded

Hello Roussjp, If we have matched the records correctly, it looks like you took delivery of your car in early to mid 2018. This was prior to or when Harte was in transition of purchasing the store from the prior owner. Nevertheless, we happily invite you to visit us now. We are in the top 10% in all categories (service, sales and parts) in customer satisfaction in the country. This is definitely a very different place from what it once was years ago. We are hoping you are enjoying your GTI as it is one of the most fun cars in the world too; great choice! To err is human, to forgive is divine; we hope you will try us out years later and give us the opportunity to impress! Thank you for reaching out.

Mar 08, 2021 -

roussjp responded

It was very much under Harte control when I purchased and took delivery of the vehicle in July 2018.

December 19, 2020

"I was looking for a new Volkswagen and found the exact..."

- Kushal

I was looking for a new Volkswagen and found the exact spec I was looking for at Harte. I reached out to the sales department on a Sunday and was happily greeted by Bruce Williams. He immediately sent actual pictures of the specific car I was looking for with all details before I made a trip to see it in person to see it, and made a deal that day. Bruce was very professional, courteous, and knowledgeable, and provided a very fair and transparent price. It was an excellent experience doing business with Bruce and Harte Volkswagen, and I will be a return customer!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bruce Williams
September 04, 2020

"Bought a car from Bruce who was a phenomenal salesperson...."

- MyWifeHatesMeNow

Bought a car from Bruce who was a phenomenal salesperson. Days later brakes began to squeal. Reached out to Dylan Harte and George Blackwell III the service managers and was told that my brakes squealing was normal and to get use to the sound. As a previous employee of the Harte Autogroup I expected more out of Dylan Harte and George. Instead I was mistreated badly. Avoid this dealership because if they mistreated me they will do the same to you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dylan Harte George Blackwell III
Sep 09, 2020 -

Harte Volkswagen Of Meriden responded

Hello, Thank you for your positive comments about Bruce; we were happy to offer you a purchase price well below market value and to match exactly what you requested for a trade-in value. To be direct, we cleaned the brakes and took care of the problem on 8/27. We declined applying all new brakes for you because the current brakes have extensive life left on them. At this point it is our understanding that the squealing problem has been fixed. Please reach out to us if that is not the case.

Sep 09, 2020 -

MyWifeHatesMeNow responded

Let me begin by saying the sales process was great however it was how I was treated by Dylan Harte and George Blackwell III, both service managers, days after the purchase. I had to visit service sept twice. First I went and they said the cleaned brake pad area but noise still persisted. I called back and made a second appointment where I stood around for an hour and nothing was done to car. Let me also be clear and state that I never requested brakes to be replaced. All I wanted was the brakes not to squeal since car was bought weeks before from your dealership. I wish you had exhibited this same concern when I was actually at your dealerships service standing around while Dylan Harte and George Blackwell III gave me the run around then me having to write this review could’ve been avoided. The problem has been resolved but I had to go to one of your competitors where they did work free of charge and did not have to replace pads to get rid of squeal. Confused as to why Dylan Harte and George Blackwell III, both service managers at Harte VW couldn’t do the same? You guys tried to charge me $500 for new pads to get rid of squeal when another CT VW dealerships service dept solved issue FREE. Your managers either need training or were just trying to rip me off. Either way shame on them and found a new VW dealership to do my business at. Thanks for your response though however late it was still appreciate it. Have a great day.

February 02, 2020

"Disappointing. Beware."

- JR

Unfortunately a typical car buying experience where they slip items on the price of your car without going over your purchase item by item. We got stuck with a $350 vin etching because they did not disclose. Roger Pace is a shady salesman. Avoid or be on your guard.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Roger Pace
Feb 19, 2020 -

Harte Volkswagen Of Meriden responded

Hello John, We are sorry you felt all fees were not disclosed. Although you were not here, please know that all fees were disclosed through our entire process (from our proposal sheets through the actual delivery) to the customer who was very happy when they left. If the buyer would like to discuss the matter, please have them contact us and we would be more than happy to talk as customer service is very important to us. Your initial interaction on the phone with our representatives places us in a position where we would prefer speaking with the buyer. Thank you.

Feb 19, 2020 -

Harte Volkswagen Of Meriden responded

-

January 12, 2020

"Fantastic experience! Highly recommend them. Treated..."

- Harrismg

Fantastic experience! Highly recommend them. Treated great and made the purchase easy. Salesman Mark Gentile and GM Nate make sure you’re happy with everything. The finance manager was great as well.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mark, Nate
August 15, 2019

"Good Service Until Deal was Finalized"

- Mike16

The sales person was very helpful and accommodating in finding the right vehicle for us. We went on many test drives. After that, service was not good. I had a 4:30 appointment to sign paperwork and pick up the car. No paperwork was prepared ahead of time. I did not go in to see finance manager until after 5:15. There was am extra $299 on sales contract. It was for VIN etching. On a used car? Etching was surely done when car was new. The interest rate at closing was higher than salesman lead us to believe. Finance manager said it was because VW was paying first month's payment. So, basically VW was giving me a loan on my loan. If I knew rate was going to be higher, I would have found other financing. After almost 2 1/2 hours, the car was finally ready to leave. The low tire pressure light was on. it was already late. I figured I would just add air when I got home. Turns out, the tire had a nail in it which makes me question if the dealer really did a 100 point inspection on this certified pre-owned car. Looking closer at the inspection report, they also checked that wheels had no damage. Two rims were damaged, probably from scraping curb at some point. I knew the rims were scraped but took that into consideration. Anyway, the point is that the whole 100 point inspection needs to be questioned. About two weeks after the purchase, I received an email with a survey from the dealer. In the questions, it asked if I had received the CPO warranty booklet. I had not. I checked box to have someone contact me. Two weeks and nothing. I would recommend the saleperson but not the dealership for used car purchase. I would also question service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rob
April 17, 2019

"2016 VW Jetta Purchase"

- The Counselor

I saw the exact car I was looking for on their web site on a Saturday morning. Drove home that afternoon with the car I wanted at a great price. I highly recommend my salesperson, Nick Hammond.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nick Hammond
January 19, 2019

"Awesome service! "

- Debra47

My grandson has had work done here on his VW CC. I continue to be amazed at the top of the line service we have received. I wouldn’t go anywhere else! Thanks to George and the rest of the crew for the amazing service!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
George
July 31, 2018

"Service is the very best!"

- Debra47

We just had our grandson's VW serviced and as usual the service department continues to amaze us! Every time we get the car in they are professional, knowledgeable and give us a fair price. This place is really a 5 star situation. We are so confident the repairs and service are done right. Wouldn't even think of going anywhere else. As a matter of fact after a half dozen Toyota's we will be going VW next time and it will be from Hart. Thanks guys!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Service department
1
1 - 10 of 12 results