Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Hodges Subaru

Ferndale, MI

2.9
66 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

23100 Woodward Ave

Ferndale, MI

48220

Directions

Is this your dealership?

66 Reviews of Hodges Subaru

Sort by Write a review
September 13, 2020

"The experience started out well,took a turn not so good...."

- jimu0601

The experience started out well,took a turn not so good. But in the end David and Mark made the deal right. Wife is happy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mark, David
July 20, 2020

"Bad customer service"

- diehardfan

I was trying to get info on a car I wanted to buy, and asked if they would be willing to explain the differences to me between models by email so that I could avoid coming in to the shop cuz of COVID. The sales person Corey gave me a list of car terms like Xmode off the website with no explanation of anything, so I said I would look up the information myself. They kept trying to get me to come into the shop physically when I explained I wasn't comfortable with that. I wrote the manager but he didn't respond. Eventually, I just said, I'm sorry but I gotta go with someone else... I recommend you do too!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Corey, Dave
February 06, 2020

"This has been the best experience in purchasing a new car..."

- Doubleaa

This has been the best experience in purchasing a new car in decades John Gawaran our salesman could not have done more for us He handled it all

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John Gawaran
June 29, 2019

"RUN! Dangerous. Negligent. Liars. Thieves. "

- Pixelpixie415

RUN! Dangerous. Negligent. Liars. Thieves. Everything in this review is supported with data: email, service records, audio recorded conversations, notes from talking with other experts in the Used Car Dealership and Service Centers/Mechanics industries. If the alternator hadn’t failed, a $ 650 repair, would not have known the vehicle was dangerous all along; Hodges failed to properly, adequately repair, lied about it, and knowingly kept me in a dangerous vehicle for five months. Upon discovery, demanded a refund. Per other experts, I am fortunate that the rear wheels did not come off, rear suspension and steering shaft did not fail while in use. Hodges Used Car Salesman John Gawaran referred by a trusted neighbor as a “honest guy who will take good care of you” said Hodges rigorously inspects & safety tests prior to listing and won't sell a car that needed significant repairs. I mentioned on the test drive the steering felt funny. John said it was tested & ok, he drove it too & felt nothing. We closed the sale & dealership. 20 minutes off the lot, going 70 mph on the highway, it felt like the back end disconnected and swayed horizontally like a patio glider. It was terrifying and felt dangerous. A Toyota mechanic examined the car & said "any dealer worth their salt would have caught the steering shaft & rear end issues during the pre-sale inspection, safety-testing. That car is dangerous. Nobody should drive it. I can’t believe a dealer sold you that, I’ll email you the needed repairs declined by the owner, tell the Hodges Service Manager to call me to discuss this.” Greg refused to talk with the Toyota mechanic. Greg worked on the vehicle himself and said “I almost xxxx my pants driving that thing, all the rear links came off. It’s fixed, nothing else is needed or required.” I pressed about the safety, he said it was OK. Not so; the steering shaft, rear end struts, mounts, shocks etc. required replacement. Subsequent, numerous times I took the car to Hodges about the steering, told by Greg and Andrew Augustine Service Advisor there was nothing wrong, and no recommend repairs were needed. They also assured me the back end was ok and properly repaired. David Mendiola Used Car Sales Manager refused a full refund & said “I need my profits”. A futile two-hour conversation with Phil Mendiola Dealer Principal culminated when he yelled at me in an open roomful of a dozen men “how unsafe was the vehicle, really? You’re not dead, are you!? You weren’t killed, were you!? You’re still alive aren’t you!? It couldn’t have been that dangerous. Go take this up with the person that traded in the car to us”. Phil extended rudeness, abuse, harassment, misogyny, no apology, evasiveness, flip-flopping, word salad, no concern, responsibility or good faith to remedy. Greg said “I don’t know what you’re talking about lady, I’ll go along with whatever Phil says”. Bill Garcia Dealer Principal who I've never spoken with, maliciously piped in & shouted “lady, give it up”. I ended the conversation, walked down to the showroom building to see David Mendiola about a refund. I paid $ 8, 700 cash; twas a beast getting David from the low $ 5, 000 to $ 6, 000. Nichole Garcia, Human Resources (Profit Retention Resources) derisively interrupted our conversation, threatened to call, then called the police after David & I said it was unnecessary. 10 minutes later, 1 Officer stood near us, the 2nd played a Subaru video game. I called out David’s abhorrent justifications. He said “I could refund all of your money, but I won’t because I need my profits”. This has been detrimental; lost wages, dropped out of last college semester to work due to alternator repair cost, forcing me to graduate in December, entering career-field later, rendered Financial Aid award moot, & unable to get a comparable car replacement. Although functional, AC is broken & precludes having my elder Service Dog with me on hot days. I can't afford the $ 1, 800 repair. Profits over women/people, safety, & integrity at all costs, would be a fitting mission statement for Hodges.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Gawaran, Felipe Mendiola, David Mendiola, Bill Garcia, Nichole Garcia, Greg Kracht, Andrew Augustine,
December 29, 2017

"Outstanding Professionalism"

- D G Patterson

We recently purchased a new American made Outback at Hodges Subaru. My wife and I were extremely pleased with the professionalism of everyone we spoke to at this dealership. They spent as much time as we needed, and answered every single question we asked. I have purchased numerous cars throughout my lifetime, and was overly impressed with this experience. In addition, the Outback is a phenomenal car to drive. We both love driving this engineering marvel. When I need a new car in 300,000 miles, I will definitely return to Hodges Subaru.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Corey
August 18, 2017

"Bad Service"

- MDM

I made a 9:00 am appointment for my 60,000 mile maintenance on my Subaru Forester. I was told that the service could take a couple of hours and that I would be called when the car was ready. Eight hours later I had yet to receive a call. I called Hodges (it took three tries because I kept getting "disconnected.") They told me that they had not even looked at the car and would not be able to get to it that day because "they had several cars before me." I could understand if I had just walked in off the street for the repair, but I had an appointment that was made two weeks in advance! I will NEVER service my car at Hodges again and will probably never buy another one from them as well.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jill, Jeremy
June 15, 2017

"Amazing Experience at Hodges Subaru!"

- Sunflower33

I was at 170,000 miles with my 2006 Toyota Matrix and I needed to get into another car. I went to Hodges Subaru, located in trendy Ferndale, Michigan. I got an great trade on my Toyota, and the whole team at Hodges made my experience nothing short of amazing! Their new dealership is urban cool too! Everyone involved including support staff were helpful, caring, and knowledgeable. Honestly, this has been the best buying experience I've ever had. I love my 2017 Legacy, the ratings and reviews of this car are excellent. I love the fact Hodges Subaru is family and community focused too! I would highly recommend anyone to buy from Hodges!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Michael Garcia, TJ Mendiola, David Mendiola, Jeff Peterson, and John Garawan.
March 22, 2017

"Low Pressure / High Reward"

- Bstinebaugh

Thank staff at Hodges, and I love the new car lot! I've bought new and used cars from Hodges and get all my service work done there as well. Great family owed business, not a mega dealer with locations all over the place! U won't be disappointed, awesome cars!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tj
March 15, 2017

"Worst experience - not interested in selling cars"

- M J

I was interested in purchasing a specific car. Called several days ahead of time to schedule an appointment and indicated the car I was interested in. Upon arriving, the sales person did not appear to be interested in selling the car, pointing out how long it has been there and overall delaying the process, all while pushing different cars on me. After an hour and not making any progress, I was asked if they could have a couple days to research pricing further on the car that I was interested in. I was asked if I wanted to leave a deposit, although it did not seem needed as the car had sat for so long already, and I wasn't ready to lock into it since they didn't seem to know what was going on with the price. The next day, I noticed they posted this exact car on sale on their website, although we didn't receive a call from the sales person - and upon calling the dealer, learned that the car was sold already. I found it interesting that they couldn't figure out pricing the night before, but were able to figure out they could post the car on sale the next day, and take the time to update the website, and sell the car, but never reach out to me at all, not even as a courtesy that it had sold. I ended up purchasing the same car package at a different dealer a couple weeks later, which was a much more pleasant experience. I would not waste my time at Hodges ever again, and would recommend others to look elsewhere as well.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chuck?
March 08, 2017

"Best car buying experience. "

- Stephen Howlett

Where to begin. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. I did not come in intending to buy a car and I hate pushy sales people. Not only were they happy to hear I was just looking, they were more than happy to just talk and make sure I knew what I was looking for in a car. When we finally got around to my budget, they worked with me to help find something that I could afford and would enjoy driving. At no point was there a pressure to buy a car, let alone from them. I ended up purchasing a 2014 Subaru Forster. If you are looking for a friendly, clean, reliable dealer, there are no other options. Not only do they treat you like a friend, the treat you with respect. I will be purchasing any future vehicles from Hodges Subaru and I will recommend them to everyone I know.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
I worked with Sheri G and Jeff in Finances.
1
...
1 - 10 of 66 results