Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Hunter Volvo Cars

Fletcher, NC

3.3
63 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

208 Hunter Airport

Fletcher, NC

28732

Directions

63 Reviews of Hunter Volvo Cars

Sort by Write a review
October 06, 2018

"Disappointed Volvo Client"

- Unhappy Volvo Client

We are writing this letter to make you aware of the recent experience we had at Hunter Volvo in Hendersonville, North Carolina.  Originally, we had traveled to this dealership in search of a new Subaru to replace our existing one. But as we were walking the lot, the Volvo S60 sedan caught our eye. The salesman did not seem inclined to want to show that particular car to us. We had to ask repeatedly for them to take us over and get acquainted with the car. Our salesman, Alex, had some knowledge of the Subaru, but had never been inside of a Volvo. Whatever questions we asked were answered with, “I don’t know,” and we had no demonstration of the features that the car was equipped of. Please note, we are not blaming the salesman for this, but rather the dealership for their lack of training.  In the past we owned a Volvo, and were happy with the quality, performance, and the dealerships. So, we expected nothing less than a very pleasant experience, and a high level of customer service. Sadly, this was not the case. As noted above, we did not receive any education on the car, the options associated with it, and where to obtain knowledge or general or information. in addition, there were several areas of contention with the dealership. - The 2018 model S60 sedan had a sticker with an advertised price that they claimed was for a different car. They refused to honor that price. - The dealership claimed the car was new, and we had to point out to them that it had 6000+ miles on it. - We finally agreed upon a price and signed up for an extended warranty. The experience we had with the financial representative was courteous and professional. - Since it was late at night, we were told to bring the car back for detailing in to get a 2nd key fob. As we drove away, we realize that the tire pressure indicator warning signal was on, but the dealership is closed so we could not go back to have this adjusted. This light was not on when we test drove the car. We are not sure why it would come on in between.  - No one physically examine the car with us, and when we got home we noticed two scratches gouged into the front bumper on the driver side, and that some trim on the interior moonroof was hanging down. - The following morning we call the dealership to alert them to the issues we had found and have the car detailed. Alex instructed us we to drop the car off and it would be cleaned up for us, but that his manager would have to address the imperfections issues. - When we brought the car to the dealership, we felt very unwelcome. No one greeted us or thanked us for our business. There was no clear communication on the status of our car, and we kept asking for an update so that we could leave and then return. We were repeatedly told that it was almost finished and ended up sitting around the dealership four hours. No one even indicated the lounge or offered so much is a bottle of water to us. We had come in very excited about our new car but the experience became very negative very quickly.  - When we brought up the issue of the scratches, we were told that we had to direct our concerns to our sales agent, Alex. But we had to wait for Alex to free up from several different customers and kept trying to reach him in between Road demonstrations.  - When all is said and done, we were there 3 to 4 hours waiting for car to be detailed and some updated regarding the scratches. Finally, Alex told us that detail and could not get the scratches out and that we could either take the car as is or get our check back. We ask him to be very clear on this, and to double check with his superior. That these were our only options. When he returned with the floor manager, their exact words were to “ take it or leave it.” - Again we asked for clarification as to that being our only two options. They affirmed that this was their stance. No negotiation, apology, or alternative options.  Needless to say after our long afternoon there in lack of warmth or appreciation, we left with our check back in our hand.  In closing, we wanted to make you aware of our issues and also to express how tired we found the show room to be. Our perception of Volvo has always been that is a luxury car, and should have associated show rooms in service. We were very disappointed to leave without our car, but have no intention of doing any further business with this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Alex, John, and Joe was the only professional in the organization
Jan 01, 2019 -

Hunter Volvo Cars responded

We apologize that your experience was not satisfactory. Please feel free to reach out to me at 828-693-8661. Regards, Randy hunter

November 15, 2017

"Liars and Cheaters Abound Here"

- koolteach

Three years ago, I leased my Volvo from Hunter when they were still in Asheville. The experience was worse than poor, but I needed a car, I was there, so I continued with the lease even though their finance guy was rude and demeaning. I wanted the car loaded, so I agreed to pay for adding a navigation system and a back-up camera. I paid additionally for these items. It took what I was told a few days' job about three weeks. They finally delivered my car. I had been told the Volvo car had the Volvo items of a nav system and a back-up camera added. Checked out at delivery, and I took possession, finally, of my car. I loved it. Due to the negative experience I had had with the finance guy, I decided to take my car to Greenville for all the service needed. I was treated much better there, and every single time, I was treated respectively and politely. Fast forward to the past couple of weeks - I purchased the car after the lease term was up, since my credit union claimed the car was worth a couple thousand more (probably due to my additions before I took possession of the auto) than the pay off and I still love my Volvo. As fate would have it, the back-up camera went out on the car just a few weeks after buying it. I depend on that camera, more than I should, but it's a great tool for safe driving. I called both dealers, Hunter and Greenville. I was told the same thing by both that the camera was covered by the warranty and I should bring it in for replacing. So, I decided to go to Hendersonville since they are slightly closer and easier for me to get to than Greenville. I arrived at my appointed time, was issued a loaner to go shop in Hendersonville while my car was repaired. While in town, I received a call from my ridiculously deficient service agent. He informed me that I did not have a camera, had never had a camera, and that they could not replace what was never there and had never been there! To say I was stunned is an understatement. I told him there was a camera there, had always been a camera there, and that it was not working and they needed to repair it under warranty. He just kept repeated his robotic lines of "there is no camera, there has never been a camera", and that he could even show me the original work order where their service folks had written that a camera could not be installed on my car. He went further and said they had even called Volvo that day and been told that a camera could not be placed on my car. I told him a camera could be installed on any car, and indeed, had been installed on my car. He insisted by stating, "I couldn't tell you." I told him to come with me as I walked behind the car and pointed to the camera lens on the back near the tag. I asked him what that was. He replied, "I couldn't tell you." I then asked him why would I drive all the way to their dealership from my home (about two hours travel) to have them repair something that was not there. He replied, "I couldn't tell you." That was all he would say. He just repeated these few lines as written here and continued to stare at me as he repeated his rehearsed lines. In the middle of this conversation, he stated that I needed to sit down with the finance guy and talk to him about the matter so that they could give me a check for $900.00. It seemed that Hunter's conscience had kicked in after three years and since they had charged me for the camera, they now wanted to reimburse me for it. So, are you following me here? They are now offering to reimburse me for a camera that they said I'd never had and could not have in my car, even though I have driven it for three years with a camera. I told him that fraud had been committed by Hunter, either the day I bought the car or that day of service, but I would get to the bottom of it. In the meantime, a guy in a tie had walked over and was standing off to the side while his puppet service guy repeated his stale lies to me over and over. The service guy looked at the suit and asked if I did not have to sit with the finance guy to get the check. He replied, "No, we don't need her here for that; we will just send the check." Apparently, these crooks can't even get their lies straight before approaching this customer. I walked off and got in my car and drove home. About two hours after returning home, I got a call from a guy who said he was the sales manager. He said that he wanted to get to the bottom of this for me and he was contacting the people who put the camera in my car. I asked him this: "What camera? I was just told two hours ago that I did not have a camera, had never had a camera. " He then screamed at me, "I'm just trying to help you!" Yep. he was being helpful by now calling everything I'd been told by Hunter up to that point a huge lie, but he was going to set it straight. He said he'd contact the camera guy and I reminded him that I was told it was put in by their tech folks, not an outside company and that they had to fix it, since I was under the impression that Volvo still had the camera under warranty. He said he would call me within the next couple of days. I have yet to hear from him about the result of him trying to get to the bottom of it all. So, I called Greenville and made an appointment with them to fix the camera. Took my car there for them to look at it. They ordered the camera and contacted me when to bring it in for replacing. I returned for the camera to be installed. I went to a local shopping center while waiting. for the camera to be replaced. I got a call from the service guy. He said that the camera in my car is not a Volvo product and could not be replaced by a Volvo camera. He had contacted the sorry people at Hunter to get more info about the camera and gave me the name of the folks. I called the company and explained the issue I was having and was told it would be $1100.00 to replace it. I called Hunter and tried to reach that sorry service guy I'd dealt with there, and he wasn't available and funny thing, but I was told by the woman on the phone that he did not have voice mail, so she would take a message. I told her to write it down because it would be long. I informed him that they would send me a check for $1100.00 within the week. Of course, I did not get it, but I did get a call from the sales manager again and he told me that they would send the $1100.00 check within the next two days. That was last week. I gave them plenty of time to pay up, and it did not happen, so I know without a doubt now that they are only liars and scammers. I will never darken their door again and I am now in the process of seeing an attorney about this matter. There is no way I would ever refer them to anyone and I hope that the word is spread. Stay away! You will regret it eventually, if not sooner. . . EDIT: I received a check today for $1100.00 from Hunter Volvo. While I'm glad they finally came through, I still would never recommend this business for anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kevin
Jan 01, 2019 -

Hunter Volvo Cars responded

We apologize for your experience . We dropped the ball here multiple times. Please feel free to reach out to me a t828-693-8661 if I can ever assist. Regards, Randy Hunter

March 15, 2017

"Amazingly Easy"

- Vinnieeatsants

I purchased a preowned Volvo from this dealership and it was Amazingly easy. There prices were the lowest in over 200 miles and the sales person took the time to walk me through the buying process and knocked down the fourth wall of the buying experience. This couldn't have been a better process.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Vin Parish
March 15, 2017

"Great Service"

- confectionatecarnation

I came in not expecting much. The staff was very nice and answered all my questions with confidence and without hesitation. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for new or used cars.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Vin Parish
March 14, 2017

"Feeling Blessed...and Thankful."

- 279Devoe

I was greeted by a lovely individual who took the time to listen to my financial situation, asked me what my needs were....and if I had any idea of what type of vehicle I looking for. I purchased a sweet Santa Fe which fit--both my life style and, most important, my budget. I have referred my friends and family.to your dealership. I trust they will have an excellent experience as I did.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Amber
June 21, 2016

"Purchased used car"

- J32016

Purchased a new to me car from Hunter Volvo- had to clean it out when I got home. 2 water bottles under the passengers seat, a ziplock bag of candy in between the back seats, a child's toy and numerous pens and toothpicks were everywhere. Have been trying to work out a windshield issue which has proved fruitless, do not appreciate the tone I was talked to by the manager. Will resolve our windshield on our own without Hunter Volvo. Very disappointed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Amber was great, no issue with her. The manager Phil was not so great.
Jan 01, 2019 -

Hunter Volvo Cars responded

We apologize for the experience. Please accept our apologies. Please feel free to reach out to me at 828-693-8661. Regards, Randy Hunter

April 01, 2016

"Above expectations"

- South Carolina

I traveled several hours to purchase a used vehicle from this group. Long story short, I got what I wanted in a short time. They were very professional and anxious to do business with me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Todd Barrett
March 24, 2016

"Excellent service! "

- Steph0722

Found the perfect car me and my family within just an hour or so. Will be referring everyone here whenever they need or want to look at cars!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Worked with most employees in the building
March 16, 2016

"My purchase of a CANAM ATV Outlnder."

- Thor Eie

My experience at Hunter Volvo, also a CANAM ATV dealer was nothing short of professional courtesy and knowledge to help me achieve my purchase to fit my needs in recreational atv sport riding. A winner in great service wth professional staffing and great mechanics! Proudly, Mr.Thor Eie.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Todd Barret, Cody the pro mechanic!
March 15, 2016

"Great people - Easy process!!!"

- JadesNana

Everyone at Hunter Volvo are super nice,easy to talk to and very accommodating. I recommended them to my daughter and am currently recommending them to a friend! Very satisfying experience!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Todd, Kevin, Phil
11 - 20 of 63 results