Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Ike Honda

Marion, IL

not yet
rated
20 Reviews

4407 W Deyoung St

Marion, IL

62959

Directions

21 Reviews of Ike Honda

Sort by
October 16, 2021

"Everything went as they told me it would. It was a great..."

- papalam3

Everything went as they told me it would. It was a great experience. I would recommend to anyone, especially if you own a Honda.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Wayne - Service Manager Caleb Sanders - Tech.
October 15, 2021

"Fast, thorough, and kept me informed. Very pleasant and..."

- Hugh1946

Fast, thorough, and kept me informed. Very pleasant and professional. Definitely would recommend this dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Fred Demic
5.0
April 01, 2020

"Well unfortunately, my experience with Ike Hondas has not..."

- Dissatisfied with Ike's Honda

Well unfortunately, my experience with Ike Hondas has not been very good... I being a 69 year-old Widow with cancer and PTSD brought ( what I thought) my seemingly sweet running van, which yes is an older van, but with records of being well maintained, by the previous owner, and that I had no troubles with it as far as it was running for it actually ran very well, and other than a check engine light that came on I had O complaint's. I took it to both AutoZone and Kelly's, four different stores in different locations, they all came up with the same thing it was an emissions problem, two or three copied the forms off of their computers and gave them to me stating that it was an emissions problem, and that it could be as simple as a gas cap, O other problems. so I bought one of the off-market gas caps which worked for about a week, week and a half and then the check engine light came on again. Now desiring to see my daughters and her three boys in Hollister Missouri and having PTSD, l took it to the local Chevy dealer teffertillers in McLeansboro Illinois, who has a very clean and fair reputation of treating people with respect and dignity and ripping them off, no matter male or female dumb or Dumber. I took it to them the year previous to give me an idea as to whether it was roadworthy to take a trip to Michigan, the service manager after they checked it out( but couldn't do a diagnostic, because of it being a Honda, but "they" have a sure reputation, for being honest and having very good mechanics, he had his mechanics put it on the Hoist and go over it with a fine-tooth comb, they listen to the engine cked the fluids, brakes, took her for a drive, did as much as he could possibly do for the old lady with the Honda, that's how Chevy's Teffertillers in McLeansboro rolls, they care no matter what somebody's driving whether it's their product whether it's 20 years old, they do what's right. and since I had told the manager of the service department that I was hoping to take a long trip, and was nervous about it he came out and told me face-to-face that he had found no problems whatsoever with my van for a fact, that he would actually have no qualms, in putting his wife in that van and drive it to New York and back. This was in the middle of of April 2019 and I have receipts to validate that. So I drove my van 1.014 miles round trip to Michigan and back on April,20th 2019. had zero problems zero. Buy my records the check engine light came on August 14th,2019 I pulled into AutoZone and they checked it out and it came up evap, emissions that was right after my check engine on. three, Weeks Later I went to Kelly's in Carmi and actually bought a Honda off Market gas cap for like $7. which worked for maybe two to three weeks and then the check engine light came back on, just be sure I took it to two the AutoZone in Mount Vernon and a month later to the Kelly's in Mount Vernon, just to see..? Why because I have been ripped off by so many mechanics previously that I wanted to know for sure what my problem really was, Evap Emissions As I said before I've been wanting to go to Hollister Missouri to see my daughter and her three boys and I thought I'll take it to Chevy that's when I was informed, very sweetly and politely that they could not possibly, do any of that kind of work on it, they didn't even have the diagnostics for it. Crap right!! I was about to find out the real Sorrows of owning a Honda. While sorting through old mail to dispose of, I came across a recall from Honda for the driver's seat airbag, I called and made an appointment for the 14th of February,10:30am. Talk to a "service advisor" initials, j s number 978. And this is where my good fortune departed, and my sorrows began I told this young man about the recall, also that the check engine light was on, told him, that I had, had it checked at two AutoZones in different places and two Kelly's in different places, and it always came up the same, emissions . He had a diagnostic test run And a Honda multi-point vehicle inspection. and even though I paid for the diagnostic test a whopping $126. I never got a copy of or even a look, at it. That was my first mistake, if you don't count taking it to Ike's. now being old and with a bit of a mental disorder and other worrys such as cancer and life in general, and remembering the respect and dignity that was showed me at Tefatillers, I obviously let my defenses down, and unaware sat down with a smooth talker, who told me that the diagnostic showedthat it never had what he called the 105k, priced at $1,200. I in turn brought up the admissions several times and finally he told me that I would need to get the gas cap for $49 and I told him I'd bought a gas cap, "oh well the off-market ones don't work" he says. And that was the answer of anymore questions on the emissions I asked what the 105k included, he verbally gave me a whole list scrumptious of things, that sounded good but not worrisome, until he came to the timing belt, and how serious this was, and yes I've had timing belts go out on me before and yes it can be a very detrimental problem especially for a Honda I was told. Well when you suffer with PTSD it doesn't take a whole lot to go from rational to in rational, reiterating how serious this was I begin to think that I really did have a problem and was afraid of even driving it home much less driving it anywhere else, in my mind I didn't even think I would be able to get it back to the appointment to get it repaired, in my opinion he played me like a fiddle, as I look back. J.S.#978, hit the mark!!! straight on!!! I was scared. Then inspection told me that I had a broken motor mount that my battery wasn't working full on and that I needed front end struts because they were leaking, I had had no problems with any of that. Nor did Teffertillers say anything about the struts the year previous but. I can reason now that if they were leaking it wasn't as bad as the one that I knew ineed repaired on my previous car if e had told me that I desperately needed my EGR valve replaced I would have waited on the struts, that had to have shown up on the Diagnostics if it shows up on a little handheld at four different places, in four different places why wouldn't it have showed up on their equipment?? Of course now this is all hindsight!!! so by God's grace I was able to come up with the money I'll told $2.500.38cents and had the work done. My joy was short lived. In less then a week I started noticing that my gas seemed to be surging, first it started in park and then iin drive, quietly at first, but progressively getting worse, to the point that people who knew me and my van were asking me, what is going on with your van. So I called Ikes and made an appointment, and with all the confusion about this virus, got confused myself and took it in early, they did fit me in though, the mechanics looked at it found it was the EGR valve and therefore not responsible, oh and that they didn't think it would blow up on me, would not guarantee that in writing of course. but didn't think!!! another $713.. At this point I have $2, 538 invested into a van that ran sweet when I brought it in, and hardly runs at all now, and Ike's Honda saying it's not their fault??? Yeah you"FIXED IT !!!"all right, Punks, well this review is the only thing I got left to give back!!! And I hope it bites like a +&@!*/... NOW HERE IS THE SORROW, I get less than 800 a month with both Social Security widow's benefits and SSI. I had to go to two benevolent funds in order to ask for $1,350 to get work that I was told it needed,that money and my emergency fund I was able to cover the total $2, 538. Since my last appointment with Ike Honda I've done some investigating talking mchanics that know and getting on the computer and I found out that before doing 105k they should have at least checked the EGR valve, And that the EGR valve would of automatically pop up on the Diagnostics, it had to of unless the machine was broke. I am in no means trying to blame the mechanics I'm sure they're very good at their job but they do what the service advisor wrote out be done, but what a blessing if one of them would have checked out what was on the diagnostic report themselves, because it was an older vehicle!!!. but I'm sure Ike Honda does not pay them to think, so that makes them exempt in my opinion. At least until the day I brought it back in, then they should they had to have known that doing the 105 K on top of the mess that they revealed was the cause of my problems, but obviously taking the blame would not have been easily swallowed by Ike's Honda. So more or less I paid them $2, 538 to let me out of there with a dysfunctioning van that I'm afraid to drive, because by what they showed me, the whole thing was clogged up with what looked like tar and black gum t the surging I hear is the xxxx thing strangling for breath. And I know that it could very likely blow up my engine. And here I will sit with over $4, 000 in what you call a dead horse... I believe, that the service advisor, MR. J.S. #978, had his own interest at heart, he had told me that he got a percentage of the sale, so in his interest he ordered a $1, 200 job as opposed to a $713.00 job,if honesty would have been present instead of greed he would have seen that I could have put off the struts and had both the EGR in the 105k, my car wouldn't my van would now be running as sweet as sweet could be and I would be saving my pennies to go back in and get me some struts So whatever your percentage or your values were that day. I hope it was enough Pennies on the dollar mr. J.S. because the few bucks you walked away with, I hope it comes back to bite you in the xxx a hundred fold. God watches over the poor and the old widows, and if Ike's is going to insist on turning the other way, and making me pay for their shoddy service, and not putting better rules and regulations on their staff, well let their reputation go to ruin too. Is it all worth going to xxxx for?? And the reputation of Ike's Honda,in even one persons eyes isn't that much, but everybody, she's tell. And they tell.on Facebook and Twitter and in senior groups and organizations, I hope you at least get your patties slapped. Me!!! I'm going to copy this review and send it to the Honda Corporation website because they say they want to know!!!!. and on top of that I will copy it and repost it as many times on this website, as I can until I'm not scared to drive my van again, I might be a easy Mark to some people, just a dumb ole lady but I'm not stupid. Or shy about speaking my after all I've been in counseling for over 3 years if nothing else I've learned to defend myself and I feel God's on my side this time. so mr. JS you count your pennies, cuz you sure put this ole woman into a real bind. I have no emergency fund, I cannot apply for a benevolent fund over again, not for the same problem, and quite frankly I'm so ashamed and embarrassed at how badly I got ripped off, that I let shysters get their money, when they were so proud that they could help somebody that really needed help, and a Christian to boot, I am horrified to even think that they have to know, and they won't know because I feel guilty and ashamed of my irresponsibility, in trusting that the "Honda" icon was a good place just because it was a dealer and they had rules and regulations that they were supposed to comply with, like being fair and truthful, upright and honest. Giving the customer's good service being proud of the job that they do. Shame on you, Ike Honda, last message I got from your people was basically was get the $713 and we'll fix you right up, Ms Francisco, and the message from your mechanics was they really don't " think" it'll blow up!!!!. I have no faith what soever in you Ikes Honda! I Will never recommend you to anybody that I know or any senior or anybody saying they're taking it up to ikes I wouldn't even recommend you to Satan.. And though I personally believe Honda might be the best vehicles on the road,( in my opinion,) I'll never get another one, because if you're the Honda corporations example of quality service, they have no, solid backup, apparently no consequences for the lousy stinking xxx service Ike's Honda gave me. I have valid witnesses as to how my van performed, before taking it to Ike's,,, as I said I'm copying this off and taking and sending one to the Honda Corporation, maybe nothing will be resolved but at least I'll know that I stood up and said what was done to me. thank you senior enrichment for my counseling and my abilities that you have showed me how to be a person with a voice. And I don't care how old my vehicle is, it didn't seem to bother you when I brought it in. I have read enough of their reviews to know that not everybody is overjoyed by the service that they have received, and if Ike's really cared they would have had it taken care of a long time ago, long before this ole lady would of walked through your doors, if my van blows up or I can't get it fixed. if I ever get another vehicle it'll be a Teffertillers car,in McLeansboro, know how to run an honest and fair and clean shop that doesn't rip people off, they're repair services are always busy, because they're honest and sincere about what they do and they do it with pride in their product and service and in their people they hire they always have people coming to them for their repairs. As for you all I know you probably won't even let this post stay up, more than one day if that, it's telling my truth. They supposedly had good mechanics but not for me and not on that day!!!, but I seen the EGR valve, it is so packed up with crud that it can possibly cause my engine to blow up. then I am living out in the country with no vehicle to take me into town or to the doctor's or any of the above, happy JS Happy ikes Honda I hope so because I sure the xxxx ain't....!!!!! ,

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Advisor, Jackson Street,number 978
June 27, 2018

"grest service"

- Typer2017

out standing customer service will recommend to family and friends the service parts department is super thanks for the great customer service please to your self a favor and check them out i sure dont regret it

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
graham
May 31, 2018

"What a GREAT Service Department!"

- bandmandq

The service department is just outstanding. They really worked at making sure they knew what I wanted done and then explained what all they did and the condition of my vehicle when the service was complete.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joe
April 04, 2018

"Great place to buy a new car!"

- Happy New CR-V Owner!

We love our new Honda CR-V. Our salesman Jeff was very personable, easy to work with, and very knowledgeable and patient when answering all our questions.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jeff
March 12, 2018

"Outstanding & very personable sales associate!"

- Pro1driver

I would have to start with Shirlee, my sales associate who was very personable, not pushy, and listened to my concerns & got the answers to things like warranties, etc. She went beyond my expectations in her desire to make things more presentable & helped me in making my decision. Shirlee is surely a keeper!! And my decision to buy my truck was soley MY decision...not the sales associates, etc.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Shirlee
February 20, 2018

"A superb car-buying experience!"

- Recycled Hoosier

What initially attracted me to Ike Honda was a great price on the exact Certified Used Honda HR-V model I was searching for, even though the dealership is more than 4 hours from my home in central Indiana. Penny Garcia, the Internet Specialist quickly responded to my initial contact with the detailed price quote I requested, even though it was late on a Friday afternoon. When we arrived at the dealership the following Monday, Penny introduced us to Sales Professional Shirlee Rieggers. Shirlee is a very outgoing person who loves helping people. She really understands the products she is selling, and she thoroughly explained and demonstrated all the features and technology in the vehicle during our test drive. It was a busy day at the dealership, and when we returned from the test drive to complete the purchase, we had a great conversation with Shirlee while our car and the paperwork were prepared. Then Shirlee spent additional time with us before we departed, to make sure my phone was paired with the car, and that I understood how to use the features of the touch-screen interface. Shirlee went well above and beyond the call of duty after the sale: I accidentally left two garage-door remotes in my trade-in, and she retrieved them and mailed them to me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Penny Garcia, Shirlee Rieggers
February 04, 2018

"perfect buying experience no matter what your age"

- Tabitha Montalbano

I recommend this place to any age driver needing a vehicle. The sales people and financial staff respect and help you no matter your economic status. when you leave this place you feel like you were respected on all levels. You feel confident in your purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Caleb.davis@ikehonda.com and Eric in financing
January 24, 2018

"Always Excellent!"

- HondaGirl

James was the Customer Service Tech that took care of everything. I always appreciate his friendliness and thoroughness. He has assisted us multiple times and we are always happy(relieved) to see him when when we come in. I always appreciate that he talks straightforwardly and doesn't "dumb it down" for me as a woman. (My dad worked as a mechanic and made me learn to change the oil/sparkplugs/tires and other things before I could get my license. Of course that was over 30yrs ago, and I have no desire to do that today, but the general knowledge still applies.) I appreciate the way James treats me. I've had other service techs, at other businesses offer to "call my husband and tell him what needs to be done", without attempting to tell me. Fastest way to lose my business. Bottom line we both appreciate him.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
James
1
1 - 10 of 21 results