Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Jay Wolfe Acura

Kansas City, MO

4.6
2,290 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

1029 W. 103rd St

Kansas City, MO

64114

Directions

2,290 Reviews of Jay Wolfe Acura

Sort by Write a review
February 20, 2021

"I had been looking for a TLX A-spec AWD and found the car..."

- Brandon Rose

I had been looking for a TLX A-spec AWD and found the car online and called Jay Wolfe ACURA about the vehicle. It was listed at one price and after driving an hour and a half to look at it, they said the internet department listed the car for the wrong price. After the salesman showing us “how good a deal” this AWD A-spec was by showing us other FWD ones, we agree to the amount with a window tint. I specifically asked if this vehicle was AWD because we live in MO out in the country and I need to get around. The salesman told me the All Wheel Steer was the exact same as AWD. It’s just Acura’s version of it. 3 months later, we have all this snow and my vehicle will not go anywhere. It spins and gets stuck. My husband has the car scanned and it is FWD!! None of my original paperwork says FWD anywhere!! I called and spoke to a manager about the issue and was told too bad pretty much. Offered cars not even close to the caliber of car I wanted and thought I was buying. I was then offered $25,000 for the car I just paid $32,000 for because it was FWD. I was also offered an A-Spec with double the miles in an AWD system at $28,000. I asked if they saw an issue with the pricing. Why would I have paid $32,000 for a FWD vehicle at an AWD price? I offered to pay for the mileage and usage of what I put on the vehicle if they would buy it back, but no. I am very frustrated with being over charged for a vehicle I was told was something different, and then offered way less because of their mistakes and lies. It’s rude and disrespectful.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
General Manager
February 08, 2021

"My story sounds very similar to the gentleman's posted..."

- AcuraNoMore

My story sounds very similar to the gentleman's posted below in Nov 2020. I have been a Jay Wolfe customer for 33years and we have bought 5 new vehicles from them in that time. My older Civic was totaled out in an accident in mid-2020 so I decided to buy a "pre-owned" acura to replace it. The Overland Park dealership advertised a 2010 TSX which appeared to be in pretty nice shape, with about 133K miles (not that many for an Acura or Honda!) and only 2 owners. I test drove it and decided to buy it. However, due to the "high mileage" they only offered a 1000 mile/30 day warranty. I drove it for about 3500 miles the next few months and suddenly the transmission went out! When I called the dealership about this, they connected me to Jim Mattson, the Sales Mgr. I explained the situation to him and questioned how "thorough" their used car check was before they put this car on their lot. He stated that it underwent "a multi-point check" and close examination, as well as a review of the service records, before any car was put on Jay Wolfe Acura's lot for sale. Jim then told me he would have Matt Donovan, the Service Mgr, call me. Matt stated that since the 1000 mile warranty had expired the best he could do was source a used transmission for it. I questioned whether the car had really been "thoroughly" checked before putting it on the lot and he repeated the same line as Jim Mattson. Matt later called to say he had located a used transmission and that they could install for $2900! I suggested they help me with the cost since I was a 33 year customer and had only driven the car 3500 miles, but Matt stated that they already had a "$1000 of unrecovered cost" in the repair and could not do any more than that. So I decided to call Lee Hubbard, the General Mgr, but they would not connect me to him and said "he doesn't take messages.". So I wrote an email to Lee Hubbard and Jim Mattson, but apparently Lee is too busy to speak to a 33 year customer and, instead, had Matt Donovan answer my email. I understand the car I bought was used, with 133K miles on it. And anything could happen as soon as you drive off the lot. But I thought 33 years of customer loyalty was worth something to Jay Wolfe. Apparently not! As a result of the way I was treated, I will no longer do business with Jay Wolfe, which I regret.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lee Hubbard
1.0
Jim Mattson
2.0
Other Employees : Matt Donovan
January 05, 2021

"Our family has purchased 4 vehicles from Jay Wolfe and..."

- ianweiner

Our family has purchased 4 vehicles from Jay Wolfe and always have a great experience. They worked with us and found a way to make the transaction a great experience for everyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Norm Dean
5.0
November 10, 2020

"I have done business with this particular dealership for..."

- Cooper, C.

I have done business with this particular dealership for 16 years and have documented maintenance costs exceeding $60,000 dating back only a few years. In totality over the years, my maintenance border $80,000-$100,000. I have purchased 5 from and serviced 6 automobiles at this dealership. My parents and son have also purchased automobiles from this dealership upon my recommendation. Most recently, after a $2000 maintenance visit in late September, 2020, I was told my 2014 RLX required a new (used) motor. It was communicated to me that a few of the contributing factors could include: (1) Not checking my oil levels at every fill up. (2) Being over a scheduled oil change once by 3000 miles. (3) The vehicle was bought used vs new (although Acura Certified). Considering my documented and very thorough maintenance history, it didnt add up. So, I inquired as to the real cause because the three possible causes outlined above is a bunch of double speak nonsense. Yet, no one knew nor was anyone willing to provide me an answer other than "it wasnt us"...and subsequently, they offered $1000 toward the $6000 used motor replacement which is called "costing it out" meaning it cost the dealership essentially nothing. My proposed solution was to hire an independent engineer to inspect the motor and to provide us the cause. If I caused the damages, I'd pay 100%; if the dealership caused the damages from the earlier $2000 maintenance visit, they would pay 100%. Or, I would accept 50%/50% contribution...which calculates out to a $1950 difference to avoid further delay. I was told a stern "no" with it being communicated that it had nothing to do with the dealership. I disagree but I needed my car back so I agreed to the used motor as a replacement and subsequently paid $4931.93. My service writer, Dusty, is and has always gone above and beyond. Here, it was obvious that his wings were clipped. I would follow him to whatever dealership he worked for. Matt, the service director, tried to solve the issue but he was too motivated by telling me "no" while saving money or his reputation on the back end. Customer interface is not his forte. Jimmy, my salesman, has always been top notch to me and has advocated on my behalf...until now. His follow up has been over promised and most definitely underdelivered upon. Lee Hubbard, Managing Partner, refused to call me back after I left a voice message on his office phone. Rather than call me back personally, for which I asked, he had Matt call me. It's obvious Lee and the dealership blow hot air pre sale and cowers on the back end when the rubber meets the road. If you're an Acura person, go to Hendrick...see Dean Sadler... and avoid the double talk promises at this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dusty Hancock
5.0
Lee Hubbard
1.0
Other Employees : Matt (service director)
October 23, 2020

"Very calm, pressure-free transaction. I came in about..."

- Patrick

Very calm, pressure-free transaction. I came in about 99% certain of the Acura that I wanted to purchase, and the dealership had exactly what I was looking for in stock. Norm Dean (salesperson) was very attentive, and also provided a stress-free encounter. I had dropped by in the afternoon and was able to drive away in my new Acura later that same day.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Norm Dean
5.0
October 04, 2020

"If I could give a negative rating, I would! Expressed..."

- chrisusn1

If I could give a negative rating, I would! Expressed interest in an RLX (initially) over a week ago, gave them my trade information, then waited (and waited, and waited) as they said "we want to get the best deal possible for your trade." As of today (Oct 4), I am still waiting on that phone call! But its way too late now..........I took my business elsewhere. Not impressed at all! Good thing I decided not to drive the 4+ hours from where I live...........I would like a call from senior management regarding this lack of customer service. Thank you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I don't even remember..........
September 27, 2020

"Norm Dean is the consummate professional who made my..."

- rhuber

Norm Dean is the consummate professional who made my experience purchasing from Jay Wolfe Acura one of the most stress free and enjoyable I’ve had.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Norm Dean
5.0
Jeff Johnson
5.0
September 23, 2020

"Not impressed so far. After several years of great..."

- samweb2017

Not impressed so far. After several years of great service with Molle VW, we are really having a hard time with the lack of good service from this place. Our oil cap was not replaced after an oil change. We had the auto back gate fixed and the gasket was torn, dirt on the material and not clamped back in correctly on the plastic pieces. No one calls to let us know when our parts are in. We have to call. We do not get status updates on when the car is ready. We have to call them. For one thing to be fixed I feel like we end up having to drive back at least 2-3 times. Hopefully this will improve.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dillon
September 13, 2020

"Norm was an excellent & generous sales representative who..."

- Lewi

Norm was an excellent & generous sales representative who enabled me to get my dream car at such a young age. Many years to come with Acura😄

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Norm Dean
5.0
September 09, 2020

"Norm was so helpful and made sure I found the exact MDX..."

- Candace

Norm was so helpful and made sure I found the exact MDX I was looking for. He was so patient and positive. Very good experience

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Norm Dean
5.0
Jeff Johnson
5.0
1
...
1 - 10 of 2,290 results