Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Johnson Subaru of Cary

Cary, NC

4.7
228 Reviews

5010 Old Raleigh Rd

Cary, NC

27511

Directions

228 Reviews of Johnson Subaru of Cary

Sort by
April 27, 2021

"We are new to this area since our move to NC in December...."

- annette.naik

We are new to this area since our move to NC in December. We have over the last several years been leasing Subaru' s and so far so good in NJ. Pleased to say our experience at Johnson Subaru was a pleasant one.We would recommend this dealership to our friends and family.Our salesman Jaime Hackney was awesome.Friendly , honest,and easy to work with.. He was kowledgeable and if he was unsure of something he knew the right person to ask.He truly took a sincere interest in the customer and helping us to make the right decision in leassing our next Subaru.Good customer service is so important and beneficial not only to the customr but the institution for further referrals.Let's face it no one wants a horrible experience and if so there goes future sales.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
JAMIE HACKNEY
Apr 28, 2021 -

Johnson Subaru of Cary responded

Thank you for your 5 star review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with our team. Welcome to the Johnson Subaru family!

March 07, 2021

"Poor Service & unprofessional conduct! I dropped off my..."

- Win Ray

Poor Service & unprofessional conduct! I dropped off my fleet vehicle for windshield calibration. Appointment was made by Glass America. Long story short, Cary Subaru dealer & Glass America are twin duds. They failed to coordinate payment for service & my vehicle was impounded for two days instead of 2 hours! Initiative & coordination is NOT a STRENGTH of Subaru of Cary! Southern States Subaru is only 10 miles away--go there! Don't hire Cary Subaru!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager
Mar 09, 2021 -

Johnson Subaru of Cary responded

Thank you for reaching out. This certainly does not reflect the standards of service we hold ourselves to and we have shared your feedback with our service manager. If you need any further assistance, please contact Jay Mayercsik at 919-447-7050 or jmayercsik@johnsonsubaruofcary.com.

January 14, 2021

"This dealership is absolutely amazing! I never really..."

- pdefina

This dealership is absolutely amazing! I never really thought the dealership could make much of a difference when buying a used car, until now! In NC, used cars are sold "as is". Basically, once you drive it off the lot the dealer doesn't have to provide you any services. I pride myself in being able to choose a clean used car, but this doesn't mean it won't have some minor issues. Clean simply means it's not been in an accident, not painted over, and not messed with. A clean car is not hiding anything, especially wit ha new paint job. What you see is what you get. But, even the cleanest car can have some issues that go undetected by the dealer and during the test drive. In this case, I bought a 2009 Cadillac xxx with 73k miles, and it is a CREAM PUFF! Like new, never painted, etc.... It drove perfect during the test drive but on my way home a cylinder started skipping. The salesman ( Dylan) was right on top of it, even messaging me (at 9pm!) to make sure I made it home okay. They sent a tow truck and offered me a Courtesy car! They replaced the spark plug and I picked up the car. WELL! A week later another cylinder started skipping. THIS IS NOT THEIR FAULT! THIS CAR IS CLEAN! But the plugs and coils are just going to start going bad at this mileage. This time, they gave me another Courtesy car (2021 Subaru SUV with 141 miles!), and they decided to replace ALL of the plugs and coils!!! No dealer has EVER been so amazing! No salesman has ever been so concerned! These people are the BEST! I bought a car for $6500.00 (A great deal for this car), and they rolled out the red carpet to make me happy, and by law they didn't have to! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!! Thank you Johnson Subaru for being so awesome!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dylan
Jan 15, 2021 -

Johnson Subaru of Cary responded

Thank you for your review! Your kind words have made our day. We are so glad you had a great experience with our team at Johnson Subaru. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to assist you!

December 22, 2020

"We were searching for an SUV. Thomas Card helped us make..."

- MCE

We were searching for an SUV. Thomas Card helped us make an informed selection in the Forester. He searched throughout the state for a color and style we wanted. He answered all our questions and was very attentive to our needs. We greatly appreciate Thomas and his efforts.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Thomas Card (Not sure of his last name)
Dec 22, 2020 -

Johnson Subaru of Cary responded

Thank you for 5 stars! We are happy to hear you had a great experience at Johnson Subaru. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to further assist you.

October 15, 2020

"I bought an used AUDI S5 from the dealership and the..."

- lodossyu

I bought an used AUDI S5 from the dealership and the whole experience was excellent. It took a little longer than expected but that is partially my fault and also the fact that I am from out of state. Sales specialist Olvin Cruz was extremely friendly and professional. He picked my family up from the train station and dropped us off at the hotel. He then took us from the hotel to the dealership the next day to complete the transaction. Definitely going above and beyond and I highly recommend him to be your next sales buddy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Olvin Crus, Carly Ricker
Oct 16, 2020 -

Johnson Subaru of Cary responded

Thank you for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Johnson Subaru. Thanks for sharing!

August 31, 2020

"The parking lot and facilities were very clean and tidy...."

- Kwoot

The parking lot and facilities were very clean and tidy. Our sales representative, Godfrey, was incredibly nice, helpful, and accommodating. This is the second time I’ve leased a vehicle with them and I plan to do so again once this one is up.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Godfrey Akenabor
5.0
Sep 02, 2020 -

Johnson Subaru of Cary responded

Thank you for your 5 star review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to serving you again!

August 27, 2020

"I am generally not the type to write reviews however,..."

- cnkongnchu

I am generally not the type to write reviews however, after my experience with the service department, I couldn’t let this go. I came to Johnson Subaru of Cary because my 2013 Forester was producing an unusual noise from the engine. When I got there the check-in was smooth however when the diagnostics came back, I was told I needed a new engine which would cost $6500 just for the parts alone. When I asked why they thought I needed a new engine when the noise only came on at about 1500rpm, they could not tell me what exactly was wrong. They also charged me $172 for this diagnostic which was very vague. When I left Johnson Subaru, I decided to seek a second opinion and when I started the car the second opinion guy immediately checked the oil levels and it was getting low which is why the unusual noise was heard coming from the engine. After adding some oil to the engine, I haven’t had any problems and I have put over 500 miles on the car and it still runs and sounds great. I would not recommend this place at all for any type of service. According to the diagnostics, the technician said the oil level was good and everything else was ok but yet I needed a new engine. How do you come to that conclusion without knowing what part is broken in the engine? I am highly disappointed with this place. Some recalls were also done on that same day by the same incompetent technician and I’m not even sure he did them correctly but unfortunately, with recalls you cannot proof whether or not they are done correctly. I wonder how many people have lost their cars at this place because of wrong diagnostics like mine. It’s really disappointing when the main Subaru dealerships like this can’t even hire people who know about their engines. I would have accepted this from the neighborhood mechanics not from the main dealership. Word of advice: DO NOT USE THEIR SERVICE DEPARTMENT

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Phill Guins
1.0
Aug 27, 2020 -

Johnson Subaru of Cary responded

Thank you for reaching out. We have shared your feedback with our service manager and he would like to reach out to you. If you would, please send your best contact information to ahaddock@johnsonautomotive.com.

August 23, 2020

"Great experience. Godfrey was attentive and helpful. The..."

- annf

Great experience. Godfrey was attentive and helpful. The entire transaction took less than 3 hours. Highly recommend this dealership, this is the second purchase I’ve made here and wouldn’t go anywhere else for my Subaru needs.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Godfrey Akenabor
5.0
Aug 24, 2020 -

Johnson Subaru of Cary responded

Thank you for your 5 star review! We are glad you had a great experience at Johnson Subaru. We look forward to serving you again.

August 21, 2020

"It’s truly one of the worst feelings having to write a..."

- SNajera

It’s truly one of the worst feelings having to write a review like this, but if I can prevent others from experiencing what we have then I absolutely will. At first we thought we had made the best decision picking Johnson Subaru as the dealership we wanted everything to take place at (we live a hour away and could have easily gone to Cross Creek Subaru which is less than 30mins from us). Our sales rep was Jake, he greeted us and spoke to us like we’ve known each other forever, didn’t even attempt to pressure us or rush us...which was absolutely amazing, and honestly he has legitimately been the only person throughout all of this to be incredible. The GM (Ryan) even came out and talked with us for a couple of minutes which is again why we thought we made the best choice. We knew we wanted a 2020 White STI, there were a few at surrounding dealerships but Johnson didn’t have one; so they did a dealer trade. That wouldn’t have been a big deal if we would have been made aware of the fact that the STI was going to be driven over 168 miles PRIOR to the event taking place and more than 2-3 days before we purchase the vehicle. Fast forward to the purchase day, we seen Ryan (the GM) for literally less than 2mins, and all he came to speak to us about was money. Once we obtained the vehicle and got home we realized there was damage to the front bumper and that the car had been eaten in (have to love melted chocolate and crumbs in a brand new car). Thankfully we had a photo taken of us with the car prior to leaving the dealership and it clearly reflected the damage. When we went back to the dealership to speak with the GM, it was obvious our situation wasn’t going to be taken seriously. We sat in the show room and spoke, we were told “I’m sorry and take full responsibility for the damages and will get it detailed and fixed for you” but the biggest thing was the statement that shortly followed from the GM “people treat things differently when it’s not theirs”. That statement in itself answered every question we possibly had. Ryan made us feel as though they did us a favor by having the car driven to the dealership (when in reality we know it could have been brought in from a flatbed, or better yet we could have been contacted prior to someone driving it and at that point we would have explained we weren’t ok with that), and that they are detailing the car again and fixing the bumper. You’re right...you fixed the damages that were directly caused by your negligence to a what was supposed to be a brand new vehicle. I even reached out to the regional manager after feeling as though our situation was a joke to them. The regional manager was no different, I was told again “what else do you want us to do, we’ve detailed it again and fixed the damages to the front”. Are you kidding me! You’ve done NOTHING for me, you’ve offered me NOTHING, you’ve only fixed what YOU caused. It’s absolutely horrible that I’ve been in a loaner for a week and haven’t even made the first payment on what was supposed to be a brand new car. Not to mention their finance department is something else....I e-mailed Julia 13 days ago letting her know a check had cleared, yesterday I was called back to back twice and so was my husband, then we were both sent text messages and a email from Julia. She said “hey it’s Julia from Johnson. When will you be bringing in the 1000”. Are you freaking kidding me! 13 days! I emailed you 13 days ago and you found it in your junk folder AFTER I told you I emailed you, when you specifically told us that emailing you is the best way to reach you and we did exactly that. At that point it should have fallen on you because we did what was asked of us. Update: After Johnson Subaru of Cary having my vehicle for 8 days to fix the damages, even more damages occurred due to the pure negligence of their own employees. The list of things that need to be replaced on my vehicle easily is in the thousands, and all I got was an apology and was told when we bring it it for the first oil change they will fix it. Absolutely sickening to say the least, and as of today (12/11/20) nobody has reached out to myself or my husband. I’ve been sending everyone I know to Cross Creek Subaru to do business and so far 6 people have purchased a brand new Subaru from them, 2 of the 6 had actually went to Johnson of Subaru first and then reached out to me to know everything that took place and after throughly telling them they never went back! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE consider going to another Subaru dealership prior to coming here, I don’t wish my experiences upon anyone. This isn’t what Subaru is or what Subaru stands by.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ryan M.
August 12, 2020

"Great customer service! Big Thanks to Sebastian Morales..."

- Gergana Slavova

Great customer service! Big Thanks to Sebastian Morales and Stephanie Johns! I bought the first Subaru in my life and I heartily recommend Johnson Subaru of Cary!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sebastian Morales
Aug 13, 2020 -

Johnson Subaru of Cary responded

Thank you for 5 stars. We are happy to hear you had a great experience with our team. Welcome to the Johnson Subaru family!

1
...
1 - 10 of 228 results