Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Karl Chevrolet

Ankeny, IA

not yet
rated
96 Reviews

1101 SE Oralabor Rd

Ankeny, IA

50021

Directions

96 Reviews of Karl Chevrolet

Sort by
March 16, 2021

"I have spent over a year of trying to get compensated for..."

- 69TOMFORD

I have spent over a year of trying to get compensated for a repair covered under a class action suit on my Chevy Equinox. The Karl service manager refuses to provide documentation necessary to complete my claim. The overpriced service was performed in Feb 2020. Obviously Karl is not a company you want to do business with. If you must buy a chevy (check out all the recalls and class action suits), go elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joel Heaberlin
1.0
March 14, 2020

"I have purchased 2 vehicles now from Karl Chevrolet in..."

- Thorntondt45

I have purchased 2 vehicles now from Karl Chevrolet in Ankeny, Iowa. My sales associate that I worked with each time was Mark Van Gorkom. He really values each customer and is amazing at what he does. I felt very comfortable and valued during my vehicle purchase. Mark has a remarkable sense of compassion as a key advocate in your car shopping experience. I would highly recommend this dealership and would tell anyone to work with Mark if you get the chance! I won't want to work with anyone else!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mark Van Gorkom
Mar 20, 2020 -

Karl Chevrolet responded

Thank you for the feedback! We are happy to hear about your positive experience at Karl Chevrolet, and we are grateful you chose us for your automotive needs. We look forward to working with you again in the future! Sincerely, The Karl Chevrolet Team

December 08, 2019

"World class"

- chevyride95

I purchased my 6th new car (2019 Corvette Grand Sport) from Karl Chevrolet recently. This most recent experience was by far the "BEST". I worked with Gene Klein via the Internet Sales. This was my first experience using this approach. I had been watching several different approaches to buying a new car on U Tube. I thought I was a well educated on car buying however the internet purchasing was: smooth, easy and very professional. I worked with Gene Klein and found him very receptive and professional. The deal was worked out on the telephone and internet. Gene was able to meet my target price goal. When I arrived at the dealership I was met promptly and taken to the delivery area to view the car I purchased, the Delivery Rep was very knowledgeable and helpful after we completed that step I was taken to the Finance Director who also was very knowledgeable. Using the Internet approach took all of the fuss and drama out of car buying. The Karl slogan "Your Dealer For Life" I guess is true, I wouldn't consider buying a car from any other dealer !!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gene Klein
March 18, 2019

"Tire Program"

- Jim

I just received new tires under the tire replacement program. The car drove and handled perfect until they put on the new tires. Now it will try to follow the grooves on concrete highway sections and throw the car back and forth. It is very unsafe and I contacted the service department who sent me to the tire department who first said new tire treads are different and also my car may need a alignment. He then said he would look into it and get back to me, which he didn't.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service representative and tire representative
January 27, 2018

"Totally mislead"

- Randy

I have bought several vehicles from Karl, new and used. I have a guideline when I buy a used vehicle. #1 local trade only #2 never buy one that was bought at an auction #3 never been wrecked Well guess what, I was told this vehicle wasnt an auction vehicle and that it was a local trade. This truck had been on the lot for 5+ months. I didn't understand why. My salesman said I don't know why it has been here so long either.....B.S. Well when I received the title in the mail it was from a lease company that the lease was turned in and Karl cheverolet bought it at the auction. It was from Michigan. So..... not a local trade and it was an auction car. Now I see why it was on the lot so long.I called Karl cheverolet up and had a discussion with them about what I was told and the truth of the vehicle came out when I received the title. They said I could trade it back in for another vehicle, they were going to give me $3000,00 less than what I bought it for 3weeks earlier and I only put 1200 miles on it. I guess Karl cheverolet is becoming just like any other car dealer. No matter how many vehicles you buy from them they will do whatever they can to unload an unwanted vehicle on a many time repeat buyer. Karl Moyer, I am amazed at how I was treated and such a misleading deal that Was made to get old inventory sold. I sure wish you would read these reviews, maybe you would sell more cars when you correct these type of sale antics.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gary Cron
December 19, 2017

"Great Dealership"

- Scoobydoooo

I have purchased 5 vehicles from dealerships. I have never seen one as busy as this. Due to this the process took a while. I was kept updated on the progress. I never felt that I had been forgotten in all the hubbub. Every member of the staff was courteous, friendly and professional. I did a lot of research on trade in value as well as new truck costs. Our numbers were almost identical. I feel I got a great deal. I got one sweet Colorado. I purchased some extra maintenance coverage. I didn't feel pressured at all. It was a good deal on things that would need to be done anyway. The truck is a lot smarter than me but I got a good tutoring on all the things it can do. Karl's Chevrolet won me over from a dealership where I purchased my last 3 vehicles. More than anything, that says a lot.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kate Smith
December 12, 2017

"Excellent "

- Tahoe Buyer

We received an excellent price, good communication and attention to detail. Our sales person Steve Simmons was very Real without the typical high pressure attitude of many car sales people. The onboard specialist, Colton was knowledgeable and got us up and running with all of the new technology that our new Tahoe has. Definitely a 5 star rating from beginning to end.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steve Simmons. Colton.
November 30, 2017

"Leased a new truck! Awesome!"

- Kristi K Allen

Buying a new vehicle is overwhelming,but everyone we worked with at Karl's made it easy! They listened to what we needed and wanted, visited with us like we were old friends, making it a very positive experience for us! Shout out to Joe, Ray & Levi! You are amazing! Thank you, everyone!

Read More
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joe, Ray, Levi
April 27, 2017

"Service Experience was AWFUL"

- ServiceSucked

Took my new vehicle in for service due to transmission issues. It is still under warranty. The first time, they said they did a software update and that should fix the issue. Oddly, enough the software update didn't fix it. So, I had to make ANOTER appointment to take it in again. When I took it in the second time, they said they were unable to recreate the issues I was seeing and I had to take a service manager on a drive with me. I showed him what it was doing and what my concerns were. He told me that everything it was doing was completely normal. I disagreed. A vehicle that I brought brand new should be idling properly, shifting properly and not jerking when it does shift. I was told they were not going to do anything to fix the issues because they deemed them perfectly normal on a new vehicle. So, I told them that I would be taking my vehicle and my business elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Not sure the employee
December 26, 2016

"Bought a new car....horrible!!!"

- Keysran

I bought a new car from Karl (actually bought one new and one used car for my fiancé). The sales experience was a bit "salesy" but it's a car dealership so it was expected. As soon as the sale was made it all went down hill. We were to get an under coating installed... a month later they still weren't returning calls. On top of that the breaks on my new car made noises (squeaking) the service department had my car multiple times and couldn't get it to make the noise. I had to drive there and show them the noise (which magically happened and they all could hear it the second I arrived). After telling me "what the fix is" they did what they needed to. I picked the car up and didn't even make it a mile away and there's the noise. I called and they had me bring it back. Here is their answer "GM said do nothing the breaks are squeaking and are supposed to". After complaining on a "customer experience" call I received... magically there was a fix that the service department (yes the same people) knew was an issue on these cars!!! WHAT??? You knew this was an issue the whole time and didn't propose to fix it correctly from the beginning? Then lied and said GM said it was normal? To add to the insult when I told the salesman I didn't want the car (before the fix was found) and wanted a trade in offer they offered me $18,000 less than what I paid (and I was willing to buy another new car from them) two of their competitors offered me pretty close to what I payed just to get me in a new car that I liked. Their response: "their trying to buy your business" yeah because I just bought a sports car and know I want to buy another next year. I guess Karl doesn't care about my future business just the sale today. I will tell everyone I know to keep away from "The largest GM dealer" (which was told to me about 20 times when I asked why they can't find the noise). I guess bigger isn't always better!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Taylor in service as well as others
1
...
1 - 10 of 96 results