Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Ken Garff Volkswagen

1.9

73 Lifetime Reviews

115 E University Pkwy, Orem, Utah 84058 Directions
Sales: (801) 714-2300

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

73 Reviews of Ken Garff Volkswagen

Sort by Write a review
May 26, 2019

"Salesman very patient and helpful "

- Read this

Chad Tone our salesman was very helpful and patient and not pushy and annoying like most salespeople. Very professional. Job well done. Thanks so much Chad!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sherry Kerbo
May 23, 2019

"Unethical and misleading salesman"

- SLCtimewasted

Worked with Chad over email, came to an agreed upon "out the door price" before I made the trip from SLC to the dealership. At the end of signing all the paperwork, the price was $1,000 more than what I was quoted. Was told by Chad that "out the door" doesn't "always include the down payment". LOL. After calls and emails to various people throughout the location, it became painfully obvious that no one cared about this unethical behavior whatsoever. Save yourself the hassle and take your business elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chad Tone
January 24, 2019

"bad dealership"

- Joey

This place is a joke and either racist or just ignorant. I saw a car they had for sale verified it was available, received a sales contract and offered to put a 500$ deposit on the vehicle but was told I couldn’t because there were other people taking 5 hours to decide on a purchase. (Obviously in-house financing so they could make more money off the deal probably). I had been talking to the sales rep for three days about this vehicle. I was told its first come first serve basis and basically who comes with the money first gets the vehicle. I have certified check in hand took the train from Layton to Orem so I can drive it briefed the insurance company of the information to let them know I purchased or not. Meet my fiancé some other couple was interested but wasting time on deciding and applying for again in house financing.. So they tell me I can’t look at it.. I said why? I told them I’m going to look at what I’m interested in. after the test drive and looking over the vehicle I go in and they have us stand around for 10 minutes.. After I told them I have money already to go.. They want to tell me the other two are trying to finance it and unfortunately the banks are closed, I informed them again I was talking about this and came prepared that they refused to take my 500$ deposit and are wasting my time. The difference was, I had money other dude didn’t, other than that I am brown and other dude is white.. So I ask him I have money now all you have to do is sign the paperwork and hand me the keys. He said sorry offered to pay for my fiancé’s gas tank as if I can’t. on the way home they call and tell me that the dude they wanted to sell to didn’t get approved and that the vehicle is available if I want to come get it.. The manager’s name is Taylor very incompetent. Do not go to this place.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tyler Barker
1.0
Other Employees : devin
Jan 30, 2019 -

Ken Garff Volkswagen responded

Hi Joey, I take this very seriously and would like to speak with you to understand what happened and help. Please contact me directly at carlosi@kengarff.com. Thank you. - Carlos Iglesias, General Manager

October 23, 2018

"Abysmal Service and Incomprehensible Followup"

- Brian Hunter

Update to below: not long after this review went live I was contacted by dealership. They confirmed my mailing address and sent me a refund check for 90% of the service cost. Pleased that they have largely made it right, sad that it I had to go public with the problems that could be resolved privately. My 02 Eurovan was throwing a couple OBD-II codes and EPC light was intermittently on. We were traveling from Las Vegas to Calgary, Alberta in May 2018. I thought it prudent to seek "professional" help for repairs. I booked an appointment at Ken Garff VW in Orem, Utah for the next day. It was easy to book an appointment, not busy? That should have been a clue I guess. I brought the vehicle in at 8:30AM. It took a couple hours for them to evaluate, then a further 5 hours to apparently randomly select parts to replace. Back on the road the vehicle was still short on power, when I got to I-15(a few blocks from dealership) the EPC light came back on. Over the next 6 hours the P0101 and P0171 codes were again active. The service done did nothing to solve the problem. The vehicle limped back to Calgary with the same issues it had prior to the visit to Ken Garff VW. Once back to Calgary I responded to the dealership email request to evaluate their service. I advised them that the repairs had no effect. I was then contacted by dealership "Brand Advocate Manager" Cortney Allan on how she would assist me in resolving the issue. Sounded to good to be true, and of course it was. I had several pleasant discussions with her but no efforts were made to resolve the situation. At end of the day there was no substance to their "reaching out" as they call it. Cortney is more of a goaltender than a problem solver, keep the customers away from talking to those that do the work and/or make decisions. Why do they bother "reaching out" for feedback if no action is planned? Save the money spent on Brand Advocate salary and hire competent mechanics. Clearly, from the performance of my vehicle, the issues were not dealt with. Just changed a few parts (O2 sensor, Vapor Purge Valve) hoping that it may solve the problem, and sent it out on the road without so much as a test drive. Who knew that this '60s style of service is still a thing? I spent an unnecessary $550US+ for no improvement in my vehicle performance, and they just shrug their shoulders and are onto the next one. Back in Calgary I had a local non-dealership service company repair the problem, turned out to be a faulty Mass Air Flow Sensor. Cost was $330US. I have driven the vehicle over 9000 miles since with no problems. I had hoped for a reasonable response from a venerable dealership like Ken Garffs when Cortney contacted me. One would have thought that may have included some form of compensation for the lack of useful service by Ken Garff VW and the wasting of 7 hours of my time. But no the end result was nothing, Too much to ask for fair treatment I guess. They actually wasted much more of my time with the fake pretense of concern and in the end after dragging this out for 3 months, they stopped answering my calls. To my amusement, just today, Cortney sent me a solicitation email to attend a Halloween event at the dealership. Too funny, I'm sure a business like this was founded and built on greater principles than I have seen. At some point it will come around to bite them. Will not be doing further business with them and would strongly caution others to avoid.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Cortney Allan, Steven Toller
January 02, 2018

"Very poor customer service"

- Gina N kanakis

I was buying a new GTI Golf and put $500 down for a shipping fee and the car i signed for had been sold. When I received the call I was instructed to come back to the dealership and sign more papers for another car which matches description of the one that was sold. I then decided to take my business else where, then I got an ignorant call at my lunch break from Chase (who I never met) telling me that they have already secured the replacement car that I never agreed to take and asked me why I done them dirty by not going through with the sell? Turns out Chase was lying to me and I went in and got my $500.00 back. Thanks to Devin (as he congratulated me on my purchase and gave me back my check.)

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bryce Cook
1.0
Chase Cornett
Other Employees : Devin
Jan 04, 2018 -

Ken Garff Volkswagen responded

Gina, we are so sorry for any confusion or frustration—we’d really like to speak with you about this and apologize. Please contact our Brand Advocacy Manager, Cortney, at callan@kengarff.com or 801-714-2388. Thank you!

June 19, 2017

"Best car buying experience ever!"

- Matt Roylance

This was the third dealership we went to and the third time was definitely a charm! It was the smoothest car purchase ever. We started in finance with Sherry and she thourouly dicussed all our options and explained everything, she is amazing! Chad Tone was our sales man and I didn't even feel like he was trying to sell me anything, I think that is the best type of car salesman! He listened to what WE wanted and took the time to search his inventory to find the exact car for us! Unlike the previous dealers who wanted to sell us what they wanted. Thank you so much Chad and Sherry. You earned customers for life!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sherry Kerbo
5.0
Other Employees : Chad Tone (salesman)
May 13, 2017

"bad financing practices"

- lk123

I went in looking for a convertible bug. I thought the price was reasonable and the estimate for the trade in was fine however, they were trying to mislead me when it came to crunching numbers... after a down payment and trade in.. plus taxes and all that jazz we estimated that I would owe 12,500 on the car .... she pulled up the payment and tried to tell me that my payment would be around 330 a month for a 60 month loan or 275 for a 72 month loan... which is the same as an 18000 k loan at the interest rates she was quoting.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Samantha Peterson
April 19, 2017

"Awesome customer representative!"

- Cambridgeboy

I love the Passat! But all my high praise goes to Bryce Cook, our salesman. Extremely knowlegable, patient, friendly, courteous, fun, and sensitive to our needs and desires. Bryce understands how to be the right kind of salesman - first, genuinely take care of the customers interest, treat them with respect and concern, THEN sincerely help them make the big decision without pressure or constraint. Bryce is amazing - your greatest asset! I'll buy all my cars from him. This is the second car I've bought from Bryce. There will be others.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bryce Cook
5.0
Other Employees : Bryce took care of it all. We only worked with him.
April 15, 2017

"Will come back again. "

- Tiffany21

I haven't always had the best experiences with dealerships. This one however was very different. Devin our salesman did everything we wanted. We had him running back and forth moving cars so we could get better angles and grabbing different ones to compare styles. It didn't matter he just did it and it helped the process move quickly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Devin knight.
March 01, 2017

"Best service around! "

- Colton-knighton

Every time I had had a problem with either of my cars a 2013 jetta and a 2014 passat, they have taken care of them quickly and very cost effectively! I will not take my cars anywhere else. I tell everybody with a vw to come here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Naomi
1
...
1 - 10 of 73 results