Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Maxwell Ford

Austin, TX

4.2
585 Reviews

5000 IH-35 S

Austin, TX

78745

Directions

585 Reviews of Maxwell Ford

Sort by
June 21, 2021

"Oscar was great to deal with and answered all my..."

- Justinwadeterry

Oscar was great to deal with and answered all my questions. The rest of the process went very smooth as well. This is the second vehicle that I have purchased from Maxwell Ford and I will not only be back but will recommend to others.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Oscar
Jun 22, 2021 -

Maxwell Ford responded

Congratulations on your new car, Justin! Thanks for the review and kind words for Oscar.

June 20, 2021

"Extremely friendly employees who work hard to satisfy..."

- jskforrest

Extremely friendly employees who work hard to satisfy their customers. We worked with Oscar and Tony and they were wonderful! Would definitely buy from them again! Such nice people!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tony, Oscar
Jun 22, 2021 -

Maxwell Ford responded

Thank you for your kind words for Oscar and Tony! We are thrilled that they provided you with a great visit. We look forward to your business with us again!

June 19, 2021

"Oscar at Ford Maxwell was helpful, tentative, friendly,..."

- agault

Oscar at Ford Maxwell was helpful, tentative, friendly, and showed a genuine interest in my needs. He worked really hard to get me in the car I wanted! Salesman of the year? He’s got my vote!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Oscar
Jun 22, 2021 -

Maxwell Ford responded

Thank you for your kind words! We'll be happy to pass your positive feedback to Oscar. We thank you for your business and look forward to your next visit!

June 14, 2021

"Treated me like family right when i walked through the..."

- carli.pittman

Treated me like family right when i walked through the door. They were very informative over the phone, and extremely professional. I would highly recommend buying your next car from Maxwell ford. Oscar helped my family and i get exactly what i needed. Thanks again for the hospitality!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Oscar
Jun 17, 2021 -

Maxwell Ford responded

Thank you for your kind words! It is always great to hear that we were able to make a customer’s experience truly exceptional! We thank you for your business and look forward to your next visit!

June 12, 2021

"My experience with Maxwell Ford was very good. Oscar in..."

- grantclark99

My experience with Maxwell Ford was very good. Oscar in sales was helpful and provided the right vehicle with options that fit my need. Management worked with me to get the deal I wanted and I’m very happy with my F150. — Very Satisfied in San Antonio —

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Oscar
Jun 17, 2021 -

Maxwell Ford responded

Thank you for your kind words about Oscar! We are thrilled that you had such a great experience here with us! We thank you for your business and look forward to your next visit!

May 13, 2021

"Terrible experience with an online purchase. I bought a..."

- mike.principato

Terrible experience with an online purchase. I bought a Mach E a year ago online. I picked this dealership, what a mistake. I called 60 days before delivery, everyone was clueless, I called 30 days before delivery again clueless. I sent an email and a manager contacted me an assured me everything would go smooth. I trusted him. About 2 weeks later I received an email from Ford that my car was at the dealership. No communication from Maxwell at all. So I called and sure enough the car was there. I was told they would have it ready in 5 hours. I said I’ll be there in 6, and reminded them that all financing paperwork was completed online and ready to go. We arrive at 6 and nothing is ready. After waiting 3.5 hours we said we were leaving because things still were not ready. Had to go back 3 days later and the contract was still not correct. The mileage allowance should have been set at 30,000 but it was 49,000 so the basically gave us 19,000 extra miles. Probably won’t matter because we plan in keeping the car but I can not recommend this dealership. I really feel like they were just screwing with us because they couldn’t mark the car up or charge us more interest, I had everything completed online. Even when we tried to leave at 9:30 at night they had our car blocked in and “lost the keys”. Kept us another 20 minutes. It was a joke. My last interaction was trying to get our plates. We were told they would call us when they came in, guess what. They didn’t. I called and asked the nice young lady if we’re in and they were. Instead of driving to this horrible place I asked if she could please mail them to me. She said sure no problem and then placed me on hold. When she came back, she asked is this Mike. I told her it was and she responded I just want to let you know this could take 14 days. I laughed and said it better not. She said it was because the mail is slow. I think I was because she talked with Steve, the clueless manager and he told her to tell me that. Guess what, they came in 2 days. Steve the typical car dealership manager did not say one word to us the first night we sat there for over 3 hours and then left before things were taken care of. I wouldn’t let him manage my pets feeding. I spoke with him numerous times months before the car came and he just says it’s a new program for the Mach e. Unless you enjoy trying to get 50% of what you’re trading is worth and then dealing with a typical car dealership management and finance departments I would avoid this dealership at all costs.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Steve- GM
May 17, 2021 -

Maxwell Ford responded

Mike as I have explained many times to you over the phone, the Mach E program is a brand new vehicle and program to the Ford family, as such the program continually evolves. The program started over a year ago but has been delayed due to Covid and some microchip shortages. The first time you called in, in mid-March you spoke to a salesperson who was not advised of the latest developments of the Mach E program. When I found this out I called you back and let you know about the new ford options program (with the correct information) that had just come out a few days before. I myself had just found out about this program shortly before, as I was looking at this program for my wife's own Mach E purchase. I then let you know that your vehicle was scheduled to be in around mid-April, and we would reach out to you shortly before or the day that the vehicle got here to prepare all the details. The vehicle ended up coming in early. Ford and we reached out to you to let you know the vehicle was here. When Ford does this they send you an email, along with the ability to figure out the majority of your car purchase (eventually at some point in the future to complete online entirely) in the email link. When you came in late Friday evening (April 2nd) we were extremely busy and a little backed up in our finance department. Also, the manager that prepared your paperwork had not performed an option purchase yet as there was only one other Ford option contract in the state that had been done (since it was a brand new program). The only other such option contract that had been done in the state was the one I had done only a few days earlier. Because of this our finance manager was trying to verse himself on this program through a myriad of phone calls he placed one of which to the other manager and myself who was having dinner with my family. When I received the call I told the finance manager that it would probably be best just to finish the paperwork tomorrow as it does take a little time to prepare. At this point, you became irritated and verbally abusive to the staff and salesperson. The finance manager was able to calm you down and let you know that I would contact you the next day and go over everything. I called you the next day and let you know the complications and let you know that we would have the paperwork ready on Monday for your wife to sign. I even sent you the spreadsheet of how the option would break down so that there would be no issues. Your wife called and let me know that Tuesday (April 6th), she would be in. She came in and she was out in 10 minutes. I then received a VM from you about a week or so ago, asking about some mileage on the paperwork. I called back and said that it should not matter as the system has the correct mileage. Then last night, I received this review, about your experience and interactions with me. This morning I investigated what happened when you called in on May 11th about your plates. When you called in you spoke to our receptionist in training, who just started this week. When she put you on hold she asked our other receptionist (next to her) if we could mail the plates. The old receptionist (Kelly) told the new one (while you were on hold) that we do mail them, but we mail them certified, and because of this depending on where you are located in Texas or outside the state ( since we sell to multiple states), that it could take up to two weeks or sooner. The new receptionist then came back on the line and relayed this information to you. She never spoke to me about your plates. Mike Principato should you need any assistance in the future please let me know. Steve Cargo New Car Director

May 17, 2021 -

mike.principato responded

Steve, I appreciate the long response which is full of fluff and inaccuracies and short on facts. “The Mach e program is constantly evolving”. You can’t be serious.Ford sent me a short email explaining Ford options that was a 30 second read. Ford came up with the Ford options program. It’s a lease that allows the purchaser not the dealership to take the 7500 tax credit. I explained this to you 3 or 4 times. Your entire dealership, or the finance department at a minimum could be trained in the program in a well written one page document. If your sales people a d finance department don’t understand this program you are doing a disservice to your customer and your dealership. It’s a great program that should have been taught and understood as soon as it was released, nothing confusing or complicated about it. No one contacted us from the dealership to tell us the car was there. I called and by accident your Internet manager checked and confirmed it was there. He then told me to come pick it up at 5o’clock and he will have everything ready to go. We had already completed all the paperwork including finance online. We said we would be busy until 6 and we came at 6 PM. After being told for 3 hours, you are next, you are next. We became upset. The entire 3 hours associates and finance managers walking past us smiling. No one at all other than the internet manager talked to us. And he just kept apologizing. I didn’t become abusive to anyone. After waiting three hours and being told we were next, I walked up and down your finance hallway and 4 “finance managers” just kept ignoring me. I finally asked who was in charge because we wanted to leave. That’s when one of them said I’m trying to do your deal l just can’t figure it out. This was extremely silly. The Ford options program is a lease. Its a lease that is allowing the purchaser of the car to take it advantage of the 7500 tax credit. I understand one of your finance people wanted us to do a traditional lease the car and then the you the maxwell dealership would’ve received the tax rebate but that doesn’t make a lot of sense does it. And when we went to leave one of your associates blocked us in and lost the keys to the car he parked in front of us. You did make it aware that no one in the dealership understood how the ford options program worked even though it should be very easy to understand for anybody that works in the finance department. I promise you I will never be back to your dealership and anybody that I talk to about our car I will make sure they stay away also. This all could’ve been avoided if you provided a somewhat decent level of service. Lastly, after speaking with you numerous times about the purchase in the weeks before delivery. You didn’t even introduce yourself or say hello when you knew we were in the dealership. You left and went home. Maybe if you knew we were buying the car with the Ford options program and no one was in the dealership other than you that had any knowledge of it. You should’ve stayed. Sorry we interrupted your dinner. You ruined our weekend.

May 17, 2021 -

mike.principato responded

And, after we showed up and you had three days to work on the contract the mileage is still off by over 18,000 miles. I’ll make sure to send copies of these reviews to Ford corporation and Ford finance also. You obviously need to be retrained Finally......I’m not sure what system you are talking about. But our contract says 49000 miles. That is what are allowances for the next 48 months. If you have a different understanding of how contracts work please email me and I’ll put you in contact with our attorney. Don’t call or text me anymore I’m done with your dealership

May 17, 2021 -

mike.principato responded

Just out of curiosity, where in Texas do you ship from Austin that takes 14 days? Typical car dealer full of excuses. I also heard from three associates complaining while we were there how you aren’t making any money on the Mach e. Especially the online orders. They also tell you in the same conversation how they’re the top 5% of the country in total sales. Too bad the customer service is SUFFERING. I bet Steve has been in the car business for a long time and doesn’t understand the business is changing extremely quickly. People have an option not to deal with that type of experience. I promise we won’t ever again

April 23, 2021

"Great experience, took my truck for service and both..."

- tqleuffer

Great experience, took my truck for service and both Hector Lozano, my salesman, and John Sullivan, my service advisor went above and beyond!! Thanks guys!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Hector Lozano, Sales and John Sullivan, Service.
May 26, 2021 -

Maxwell Ford responded

Thank you for your kind words for Hector and John! We thank you for your business and look forward to your next visit!

February 26, 2021

"Great experience with Taylor, she got me in the truck..."

- spicer80

Great experience with Taylor, she got me in the truck that I wanted at the price I was willing to pay with a lower interest rate than I was already approved for.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Taylor
Mar 01, 2021 -

Maxwell Ford responded

Thank you for your kind words for Taylor! We are thrilled that you had a great car buying experience!

February 13, 2021

"Took my vehicle in three times for the same thing, two..."

- Ford focus

Took my vehicle in three times for the same thing, two times on the warrenty . the third time they charged me 200 on my extended warrenty. Why should I have to pay when they didn't fix it the first two times.I called the GM, ford customer service, just a run around. I WILL NEVER BUY another car from them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jackie
Feb 19, 2021 -

Maxwell Ford responded

We're sorry that after further attempts to resolve your concerns that we were unable to meet your expectations. Jim May Service Director

February 01, 2021

"100% the worst vehicle transaction I have ever done...."

- Brentp1980

100% the worst vehicle transaction I have ever done. First off, the salesman Mark G. had asked me a couple of days before 12/31/2020 if we could get this deal done by the end of the year his boss would really like it and it would really help him out. I replied saying I would try. As the days got closer the weather turned bad, making it extremely hard for me to leave my job due to me being a first responder for customers that loose electricity in this type of weather. I kept in contact with Mark saying I cannot make any promises but I will try and make it by 2:00 p.m. or so depending on the weather. His reply was that the dealership was going to try and close early that day, if I was going to try and help him I would have to come earlier. The morning of 12/31 rolls around and there was a break in the ice/snow to where my family and I could leave, so we took the opportunity. Once we were about an hour and a half away from the dealership I called Mark and told him and if he could please pull the vehicle into an enclosed area where my family could look at it without getting rained on and the vehicle’s electronics not get rained on I would appreciate it and to please gas it up cause we may try and drive it back home today. Once we found our way to the dealership around 11:30. we were escorted to the vehicle outside in the rain where everyone got rained on and also realized it had not been filled up and was not clean on the inside. I said nothing about not parking under an area where we could look and not get rained on or feel rushed and I also said nothing about the gas. I did however ask him if he could get it properly cleaned before we took the car. He sent the car to the back to get cleaned, my wife and kids left to do some errands before leaving Austin. Then, we went on a test drive and waited on him to finish up with another customer. In previous conversations I had told Mark that I would be paying cash and financing the remainder of the balance and also asked if I could get $500.00 off just to help with the T/T&L. He said no, not at all. He asked if I had a trade in, once I told him no he told me he would have to go up in price about $1,500.00 on the internet price! Once we agreed on the internet price again, we had a deal. He did ask if I could do the financing through Maxwell Ford and I told him I would check but RBFCU usually does pretty good for me. After the test drive he comes back and forth asking for different bits of information each time. One time he comes back and ask me to fill out a credit app through Ford. I tell him I do not need that because I feel I got a good deal through RBFCU and I have my own financing, he then gets agitated. He goes on to tell me I must fill this out and sign it either way, if I am going to take the vehicle today. He states that it is a policy at Maxwell to fill one of these out even when financing is already taken care of due to the fact that they don’t get their money for 3-4 days and I would still be getting a car. I remind him that I am paying about ¾ of the vehicle in cash and should not have to do this. I also remind him that I woke my family up and drove four hours through rain, sleet, ice and snow to help him out and I felt he was wasting my time which was ridiculous. So I started to walk out. Mark told me not to leave. One of the finance/business managers Danny came over after talking with Mark and said he needed some IRS information since I was paying so much down in cash, which I have done before and I was fine with doing until he put the Ford credit app in from of me again and told me to fill it out cause this is what he was going to use for the IRS form. I asked to get the IRS form and we could fill it out here and he refused. Long story short I fill it and state DO NOT RUN CREDIT. I also verbally told them many times not to run my credit. Once this debacle was complete and the salesman told me they DO NOT give discounts for first responders, especially on used vehicles. I told him I felt this was all very one sided. Once we continued, I signed all the necessary paperwork and thought I was ready to go. They told me I would not get the keys till the P.O. had been sent to RBFCU, they received it I signed it and then sent them the approval and drafting directions. I waited another hour and a half, once it was very clear they were not going to help me at all. I got back on the phone with RBFCU to make sure they could help complete the transaction, which they could. Fast forward to the next morning we notice there is condensation in the taillight due to a hole in the taillight. This should have been replaced while it was on their lot for a month. Also, the CD player does NOT work which should have also been replaced while it was on their lot for a month. Also, the wireless phone charger does not work which should have been fixed or replaced while on their lot before selling it to anyone. We have had the vehicle 4 days not and have noticed something wrong with it every day that they could have fixed. We have made contact with the dealership and the salesman and they refuse to work with us or fix any of the issues on the vehicle they sold us. By the way, I did not leave the dealership until after 5:00p.m. I was there six hours or more and not ONCE did they offer me a bottle of water, snack or tell me where the bathrooms were. I will never do business in a big box store in a big city and I will probably never buy another Ford again and this is truly sad because I am a Ford man and that is all I have ever driven my whole life. When it comes time for me to buy myself a vehicle I will buy a Toyota or a Chevy thanks to the fine establishment at Maxwell and their associates.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mark G., Danny S.
Feb 03, 2021 -

Maxwell Ford responded

Thank you for your feedback about your shopping experience because that should not have happened. I need to use your case as a learning opportunity, so we can fix the issue in the future. Could you please contact me so I can learn more? John Haines General Sales Manager jhaines@maxwellford.com

Feb 03, 2021 -

Brentp1980 responded

I have responded to you once before on Google reviews. You posted the exact same reply. Must be a copy and paste or auto generated because you never re replied to the Google one. Hopefully we can come to an agreement.

1
...
1 - 10 of 585 results