Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Mazda and Kia Of New Bern

2.0

11 Lifetime Reviews

1715 Hwy 70 East, New Bern, North Carolina 28560 Directions
Call (252) 633-6161

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

11 Reviews of Mazda and Kia Of New Bern

Sort by Write a review
October 09, 2019

"Can’t speak for buying a car but I can definitely say the..."

- Eric S

Can’t speak for buying a car but I can definitely say the service department is a joke. Based on this event we will never buy a car here. They had my car for over 2 months with no communication. Me or my wife would call about a once a week for an update and they’d tell us they needed to speak with their regional service manager about a noise issue from the right rear suspension. On and on this went, literally for 2 months. At some point they blamed the part they needed being on backorder. They made us pick up the car before hurricane Dorian for liability reasons and a week and a half later called to say this magical part had arrived. Turns out it was a shock and a spring. The most basic of suspension components. It took almost 3 months to decide to replace those parts? Seriously? I pick it up feeling hopeful that this frustrating saga is over with and the issue is fixed. Nope. Worse than before. Go back by and Jay (who is a nice guy) promises me they’ll get it taken care of. I send a video of the noise issue plain as day. I wait over a week and call back in on a Monday after once again having heard nothing from them. Jay tells me I need to speak with the service manager, Jennifer, but she’s at lunch and he’ll have her call me back. Call back Friday afternoon (exactly two weeks later) and speak with him. He puts me on hold to go find her. Comes back and says “I know we both heard the sound in the video, but she can’t hear it.” Basically, she won’t even show me the decency of taking my call. I’ve been beyond patient up until this point with their many shortcomings. He asks me to bring it back in and go for a ride along with both the tech and her. I’m now 3 months in to this issue and 2.5 months without the car. I have no more patience left for them and their inability to replicate the noise, when I can replicate it with ease every single day. The video I was courteous enough to record demonstrated the sound over and over again in succession. I’m now going to Kia corporate and will be working with the mid-Atlantic rep to pursue a resolution as well as file a warranty repair failure complaint against Kia of NB.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jennifer Treadway, Jay Staten
July 03, 2019

"Not the worst, not the best"

- JR

Bought a 2020 Kia Telluride. It was the only one on the lot, and the color I wanted. I went to this dealership because the dealership in my town (Jacksonville NC) was charging almost $3,000 over MSRP. I am glad that Kia of New Bern sold me my Telluride at MSRP. There was no market adjustment. However, they absolutely refused to remove a $999 “New Bern Package” that apparently is a paint and dent protection, includes car washes, and nitrogen in tires. When I asked does it cover door dings and a possibly keyed car, the answer was no. When I asked for some type of pamphlet on this package, they said there is no pamphlet. Ok, but I’m not going to drive an hour for nitrogen and a car wash. This package is useless to me. If I were able to have some type of documentation on this package, it would soften the $1,000 blow. Maybe a suggestion for the future. They were able to get me dealer cost window tinting whenever I want, at a really good price. I also got a few grand in rebates so I was pleased with that. I took Kia financing for the rebates. Even with 2 excellent credit scores, the rate was stupid. But I planned all along to refi through my credit union, and did. My sales guy really was awesome, I didn’t feel pressured from him at all. Honestly don’t have a bad thing to say about him. I would buy another vehicle from here in the future, probably within the next 3 years - but only if I don’t have to pay for this “package” again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Marco
June 25, 2019

"Shyster alert, stay away"

- Newbernkiaisascam

Absolutely do not do business with new bern kia or New bern auto group. They sell cars that are unsafe to drive, with known issues

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tony Brady
January 23, 2019

"Transparency "

- Transparency

Received another call from Newbern Mazda Kia, asking that I come look at there vehicle. I informed him that my previous conversation with his company ended because they refused to answer my question. What was the question he asked? What did you pay for the vehicle? Claimed he’s only ask $900 over what they gave for it. Nice round number. Here’s the kicker the last associate offered $1000 off of the internet price. Advice: I’m not in a pickle for a vehicle and I’m not going to make dealers rich any more. A fair amount of transparency is in order to insure a fair deal not just for the dealer but also for the consumer. No one is watching out for us. Don’t think for a minute that NADA and all those other price deciders are what the dealers are paying. It’s no where close. You get bent when your trading just for them to make round figures of profit. Start asking to see the cost sheet ( what they paid) or the trade in value. Legally required to answer you with written proof. Work back wards. Don’t get emotionally attached to the vehicle. Don’t live above your means.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Over the phone with several:
Jan 24, 2019 -

Transparency responded

Authentic sales person. The following day I received a pleasant call inviting me to visit and that the price is reduced by 2 thousand. I’m intreaged because, who wouldn’t want to see what it is like if their vehicle was SUPER-Charged. Turned out to be a cool sound but not as aggressive as I’d Hoped. The sales person was relaxed, personable and overall deliteful.

December 28, 2017

"Lunch Hour Purchase"

- Speedy Buyer

Looked online at a sedona,good price,very low miles,got a call the next morning,went to the dealership at 1pm,left at 2:30 with it, Jeff Taylor was very helpful and between him and the sales manager I was able to trade in my older truck and finance the new sedona within that time, Just Great

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jeff Taylor and Aaron Perry
December 07, 2017

"Miata MX5"

- Carol

The service department of Mazda of New Bern has always been helpful and efficient with my past Miatas. Last time needed a replaced thermostat and they gave me a ride home and came back for me when it was done. Two days ago went for a new Miata RF. Rodney and Arron both very easy to work with and very pleasant. Got me exactly what I wanted and went out of their way to make the process smooth and easy. Mark was quite reasonable in the "dickering" phase. I did not feel taken advantage of at all which is so easy for women in this car buying stuff. Go see Rodney, he'll get you what you want.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rodney Holloway , Arron Perry ,and owner Mark
June 26, 2014

"Kia Rio"

- LillyWhite

I was given a free oil-change on my old car if I test drove a new car. Nice! I left that day with my oil change and information. After doing some research, I found that the car we had been talking about actually was a great deal, especially after they also lowered it and threw in some Gap insurance. It was a pleasure dealing with them, and the service on my old car I received this year was always great!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
The tall former baseball player and the new guy who's wife also works there.
July 18, 2013

"Took Kia to have air conditioning belt adjusted. Told..."

- moorejt

Took Kia to have air conditioning belt adjusted. Told there was no adjusting and wanted to sell me three new belts. The belts were replaced only 6 months ago. Took my vechicle to another repair center. Belt was adjusted and at no cost. Be cautious of the service department's recommendations at the New Bern, NC dealership. I will not return as I feel I can not trust them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brett
April 10, 2012

"Offered a great deal of leniency for my work schedule,..."

- Cottocod

Offered a great deal of leniency for my work schedule, and even offered me a ride when i could not manage to get one for myself. Provided good information, and gave what i believe to be an honest point of view on the car. Will recommend more customers; great dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Albra Stocks
March 12, 2012

"I purchased a Buick from Mazda & Kia of New Bern, and..."

- gasimmons

I purchased a Buick from Mazda & Kia of New Bern, and in less than two months: *I have run out of oil in my vehicle. Upon taking it back to the dealership, they claimed that there was oil in my vehicle, despite my witnessing my oil being checked, and there being almost no oil in my vehicle. *My brakes have begun giving me problems. *I am having problems with my car accelerating. *My air conditioning has begun making a loud vibrating noise. Upon calling to make an appointment, the service department could not fit me into their schedule into the next day. No warranty on my vehicle due to the high mileage..definitely not a recommend.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bob Hart
1
1 - 10 of 11 results